BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

SK Motors, LLC

Phone: (301) 464-0400 View Additional Phone Numbers 10805 Lanham Severn Rd, Lanham, MD 20706 http://www.skmotors.cc

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SK Motors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SK Motors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 09/30/1998 in MD Business started locally: 09/30/1998 Business incorporated: 08/08/1997 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen J Kemp, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen J Kemp, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Warranty Service


Additional Locations

  • 10805 Lanham Severn Rd

    Lanham, MD 20706 (301) 464-0400

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 237-8098(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/05/2013 2001 Cadillac Catera Another complaint about the 2001 Cadillac Catera that I bought from **. **** of SK Motors in ******, Maryland on 5/18/2013. The vin # of this car is *****************. After I bought the car off the lot for $6600 on 5/18/2013 with 56270 miles on it, the car have been giving me problems every sense. Below is a list of problems that the 2001 Cadillac Catera have been giving me: 1. About two weeks after I bought the car, the engine light comes on. 2. About two weeks after I bought the car, the transmission started slipping. 3. On 6/16/2013 I took the car back to SK Motors to have the Scan Control Modules replaced. Repair miles was 57,216. The cost to me was $89. 4. On 6/16/2013, I took the car back to SK Motors to have the Crankshaft Position Sensor replaced. To cost to me was $106. 5. On or about 7/2/2013 the engine light comes on again. 6. On 7/2/20 I took the
Cadillac back to SK Motors, and Bora the mechanic tells me that the Vacuum control Valve need to be replaced for $194.88. He said, "that should solve the problem". At the time of the repairs, the miles on the car was 57352. 7.On 7/4/2013 after coming back from the fireworks at the Baysox stadium in Bowie, Maryland, the transmission started slipping again. 8. On 7/5/2013 I took the car back to SK Motors to have the mechanic look at the transmission problem. He tells me that the transmission needs to be flushed. However they did not offer to fix the problem without cost to my pockets. 9. So on 7/9/2013 on the way to the ******** service center, the Engine check light comes on again. I took the car to ******* ******** in ********* Maryland to have the transmission flushed.

Desired Settlement: So...SK Motors, I believed that I bought a Lemon and I would like the following options to be delivered to me: a. Fix the transmission without any addional cost to me because the transmission started slipping about 2 weeks after I bought the car. Under the month warranty. b. Or Put me in a newer model car around the same price or more because of the complications I've been having with the 2001 Cadillac Catera. c. Or, refund all of the monies that I used to buy the car and the monies I used to repair the 2001 Cadillac Catera.

Consumer Response: ******** ******* <*********************>12:04 PM (2 hours ago)to me**. ******, This email is about that 2001 Cadillac Catera that I bought from SK Motors a couple of months ago. We spoke on the phone today around 11:30 a.m. on a conference call with ***** ****, the owner of SK Motors about the problems I had with the car. **. **** and I have worked out a solution to the problems that I was having with the 2001 Cadillac Catera. SK Motors fixed the sensor problem, which rectified the problems of the car cutting off. Thank you for your quick response to this matter at hand. I look forward to contacting BBB again in the future should I have any problems with a product or service from any BBB member. Have a great day. Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1