BBB Accredited Business since

Select Auto Imports Inc.

Phone: (703) 971-9100 5630 S Van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310 http://www.selectautoimports.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Select Auto Imports Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Select Auto Imports Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Select Auto Imports Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 12/19/1986 in VA Business started locally: 12/19/1986 Business incorporated 12/19/1986 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. M. Hajimohammad, President Mr. Robert Samerele, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. M. Hajimohammad, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Samerele, Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 5630 S Van Dorn St

    Alexandria, VA 22310

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This establishment has received $11,000 of my down payment, in addition of a trade in of my Toyota Avalon 2011 with an equity of approximately $5,000.00 I have returned both vehicles back to the owner ( **** ****). He is refusing to return my deposit as well as the car that I traded in, even though all the vehicles have been returned.

Desired Settlement: Return of the cash deposit of 10,000.00

Business Response: Dear **. ******, The claims made by **. ********* are absolutely false and his complaint is without merit.  First and foremost, he did not return his vehicles as he stated “He is refusing to return my deposit as well as the car that I traded in, even though all the vehicles have been returned.”  Actually he purchased his first car 2012 BMW 535i, damaged the hood shortly after, traded it in for the 2013 Mercedes Benz E350, then nearly a month later decided to sell that car, which we agreed to sell on consignment for him.  The complete chronicle of events is as follows and copies of supporting documentation attached.        Saturday 8-17-2013, **. ********* visited Select Auto Imports.  He worked with salesperson ****** ******** and purchased a 2012 BMW 535i xDrive (stock #*****).  **. ********* left happy and pleased with his purchase.  As customary, ****** sent him a Thank you and Congratulations email and **. ********* responded with a complimentary email thanking everyone for all of their help.  
 
Monday 8-19-2013, **. ********* contacted ****** and informed him that while driving on the highway on Sunday (8-18-2013), a stone hit his hood and subsequently damaged it.  Even though it was understood that damages are covered under car insurance policies and not warranties, he asked ****** for advice and assistance in getting the hood repaired.  As a courtesy, ****** offered to get **. *********’s car hood fixed at our wholesale (discounted) rates and also get him a rental at our wholesale corporate rate.  **. ********* said he would drop his car off later that day but instead of a rental car asked if we could give him a ride to his home in *********, VA… 60 miles and 1 ½ hours away.  Despite the impractical and logistically challenging request, again as a courtesy we agreed we could.  All that being said, **. ********* did not show up for his appointment. 
 Friday 8-23-2013, **. ********* came to Select Auto Imports and spoke to me regarding the hood.  He stated that he’d taken his car to a body shop and they informed him that in order to match the color, the hood and both fenders would have to be painted.  I told him that I agreed however I could save him considerable money by getting his car fixed at wholesale cost and providing him with a rental car.  However, **. *********, said that “the damage has left a bad taste in my mouth and I think I should just sell or trade the car”.  I told him the damage was repairable and didn’t merit losing money to trade in the car. He said that he had “a bad vibe about the car due to the accident and wanted to trade it in”.  I made very clear that trading in the car would be more expensive in the end and explained in explicit detail how he would lose thousands (from trade in value, repair to hood, tax, tags and fees).  He said that it wasn’t a problem and he wanted to trade in the car, regardless of the cost.  So, **. ********* traded in his BMW 535i for a white 2013 Mercedes-Benz E350 4Matic (#*****).  However, BEFORE he signed the paperwork I asked him several times if he was absolutely certain about his decision.  I told him that he could take the E350 home to his family FIRST just to make sure they liked it.  He said he was 100% sure, happy about his decision and did not need to take the car home first.  He completed the trade and new purchase and left happy again, saying “I LOVE you guys for taking care of this for me, this makes me happy”.    
 
Wednesday 8-28-2013, **. ********* sent us an email saying he had gotten the VA Emissions completed and would email it.  He also asked us about getting new Mercedes Benz floor mats.  We agreed to deliver the mats to him as an extra service.
  
Friday 8-30-2013, **. ********* sent us an email regarding his Emissions Test and asked us to “Proceed with getting the tags from DMV”.  We coordinated a location in ****** to meet up with ****** ******** to get the floor mats and Tags (instead of driving to dealership).
Tuesday 9-17-2013, **. ********* calls and tells me that he and his family don’t like the Mercedes Benz anymore and he’s decided to sell the car to us or ******.  I made very clear to him that doing so would cost him more money and thought he was making an impulsive decision.  That being said, he did not agree and said he was selling his car.  So as a courtesy, I offered to sell his car on consignment for him.  He was concerned about his car payment being due, so I also offered to pay off his car loan prior to the first payment due date, regardless of whether the car was sold.  He gratefully accepted my offer and we made arrangements to pick his car up the following day.  

Wednesday 9-18-2013, we picked up his Mercedes Benz E350 from his home.  We emailed him the Consignment Form.  He signed and emailed back to us. 
 
Tuesday 10-8-2013, **. ********* emailed me and said that he was not happy about losing money in the two transactions and demanded $10,000.00 cash back or he’d file charges.  Wednesday 10-9-2013, I called **. ********* and made very clear that his email was full of false and inaccurate accusations and that he was not due any money.  I recalled how he was the only person who made the decisions that resulted in him losing money.  I reminded him that he disregarded all my advice, warnings and recommendations and instead based his decisions on his “bad taste and bad vibe” for his BMW that he damaged and his revelation (nearly a month later) that “he didn’t like the Mercedes Benz anymore”.  Then, after I reminded him that I had already taken his Mercedes Benz as a consignment and had already paid it off for him, I offered to sell him his original trade in back, Toyota Avalon, at same cost (the same amount I gave him).  He refused.  In closing, the claims made by **. ********* are dishonest, his demands are outrageous and baseless and request is denied. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.    Sincerely,  *. ************Owner, President & CEOSelect Auto Imports, Inc.###-###-####Fax ###-###-####**************** P.S.  Attachment includes copies of purchase orders (for both cars), consignment form and emails. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Select Auto Imports Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)