BBB Accredited Business since

Ricke Bros. Auto Sales

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 755-6199 Fax: (717) 755-7372 View Additional Phone Numbers 4449 Lincoln Hwy, York, PA 17406 http://www.rickebrosinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ricke Bros. Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ricke Bros. Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ricke Bros. Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1988 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/1988 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
PO Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/account
Phone Number: 717-783-1404
Fax Number: 717-705-5540
ST-ACCOUNTANCY@pa.gov
The number is Lic# VDO-17832L.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ray Ricke, President Mr. Larry Ricke, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Larry Ricke, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Ray Ricke, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Manchester Auto body Royal Motorcars Select Motor Cars Spry Motor Cars

Additional Locations

  • 2265 S Queen St

    York, PA 17402

  • 2503 S Queen St

    York, PA 17402

  • 3901 E Market St
    Royal Motors Cars

    York, PA 17402

  • 4449 Lincoln Hwy

    York, PA 17406

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had decided to purchase a used vehicle from this business. I was extremely interested in a 2006 ***** **. This vehicle was modified and has a supercharged attached to it. The asking price was 7900 dollars. my fiancee and I traded in her car for this vehicle. I had pointed out that the exhaust had damaged the bumper but we agreed to look past that part. The only damages we were told about was the radio was stolen and that they agreed to put a cover in. we purchased this car on March 25th 2015. my fiancée started noticing the car was acting up and she took it to a mechanic on April 2nd 2015. She noted that she was hearing a belt squeal and was concerned. The mechanic said it may be a bad pulley on the vehicle. As the days went by the engine started sounding strange. The mechanic wasn't sure about the anatomy of the car due to it being modified, so I had called ****** ** **** to discuss the car. we had them look up the VIN number and found out that the dealership we bought the car from, took it to ****** due to customers complaining about the noises. They said they told the dealership that there may be a bad bearing in the car and they were notified about the damages. They did not inform us about this problem. We took it to Scion April 30th 2015 to get a diagnostic test. They could not give us a quote due to the damages and that ****** no longer carries a kit we need and that WE need to do research to find a kit for it. They said the best bet is either taking the car back to restock (which would be the car price) or researching for a kit and finding it ourselves for the car. The car is having difficulties running and we can't use it. the belt itself is rubbing against the plastic cover of the engine and turning the cover into a soft material that falls apart in your hands. we signed a buy as is paper under the impression that there was no damages to the car. if we knew this car had problems we would have not bought it. we have only put 2000 miles on the car due to work and school and today, May 1st 2015, would be our first car payment. the dealership said they are not paying for the damages even know they were made aware by ****** the problems with the car.

Desired Settlement: my desired outcome would be for them to fix the vehicle. we bought the car as is however I feel that this is unacceptable. I was told that they were under the impression that is how the car was made (modified with a supercharger) yet they were told by ****** that the car was indeed modified and that there are problems with the car. they purposely did not disclose information about the vehicle. they were made aware of the issue and they refused to resolve it. we love the car but we would love it to run. if there is a way to repair it and not cost us or take the car back, or even do a replacement. we got a loan for a car we thought was going to run yet we are about to make our first car payment on a car that isn't running. I feel that they are responsible for informing us about costly damages and selling a car for 7900 dollars. if there is a way to fix this I am willing to cooperate. One of my biggest fears is that my car (2005 *******) was used as collateral for the car that is not working, my fiancee can not get to her job due to the fact we have to share one car. Again if there is a way for them to fix this problem and for it not to cost us thousands upon thousands of dollars we will cooperate. we feel that we bought a lemon and we want it fixed.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


This letter is in response to the case ID number ********.  The customer and Ricke Bros did agree that there was bumper damage, and customer was okay with this.  The customer did purchase the 2006 ***** ** on March 26th 2015, and did sign an agreement that the vehicle would be purchased AS-IS.  Customer states in their complaint that Ricke bros took the 2006 ***** ** to **** **** ***** due to a noise complaint.  Ricke Bros contacted **** **** ***** and spoke with a service consaltant, whose name was ****.  We then gave him the VIN number.  ***** then stated the only record of **** **** ***** servicing this vehicle was 6/6/2014.  Ricke Bros did not purchase the 2006 ***** ** until 6/11/2014.  Therefor Ricke Bros had no awareness of this issue with the vehicle. 
Ricke Bros sold the 2006 ***** ** to the first customer on 7/18/2014, and he drove the vehicle with no issues.  On 3/7/2015 the customer traded in the 2006 ***** ** on an SUV that they wanted.  ****** purchased the vehicle on 3/26/2015 then.  He came in on 5/5/2015.  We discussed the letter from BBB, and he stated his mother made the complaint.  Ricke Bros did offer to help ****** find the kit for the super charger, and extended the offer for a mechanic that would charge him a reduced rate.  There is a company called ******************.com that rebuilds super chargers.  

Thank you,
Ricke Bros Auto Sales

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ricke Bros. Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)