BBB Accredited Business since

Oregon Pike Motors, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 859-3600 Fax: (717) 859-3763 3919 Oregon Pike, Ephrata, PA 17522

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oregon Pike Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oregon Pike Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Pike Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1994 in PA Business incorporated 12/05/1996 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Drive Clean Pennsylvania
Riverfront Office Center, 1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
The number is Station # 0580.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gary R. Redcay, President Mr. Jason Redcay, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary R. Redcay, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Redcay, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 3919 Oregon Pike

    Ephrata, PA 17522 (717) 859-3600

  • PO Box 655

    Brownstown, PA 17508


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2014, I purchased a vehicle from Oregon Pike Motors in Ephrata, PA. – A 1999 **** ******** for $5,000.00 and Gap Insurance for $605.00 While looking at the vehicle, I noticed that the vehicle had a 6/14 inspection sticker. I questioned both, the sales guy and the owner about this and they BOTH gave me their word that I could come back, drop it off and get it inspected in March because it was 2 and half weeks too early (according to the state guidelines) to allow them to do the inspection. They made it very clear that the vehicle was in pristine condition; yes the word they used was “pristine” and that the only thing it would likely need to pass the next inspection would be two tires. My father was a little hesitant about taking it off that lot like that so we told them that we would come back after it was inspected. BOTH said, “No, it's fine; you can drive it off the lot right now and bring it back in the next weeks or so for us to buff out the headlights, detail it, take care of the tires and inspect it.” JD continued with, “We will put it up on the lift to reassure you that everything is perfect and go over the entire car again especially since you have a child in the car. We will take care of all of it, no worries! This car, only six months ago had and entire stainless steel exhaust installed it, new brakes and new ballpoints, it’s a great car!” We did voice our concerns that we didn’t want to get up caught in them just trying to make sure they got the sale, especially since they were staying past closing hours and that then no one would really be worried about the car needed fixed once we drove it off the lot. JD continued to tell us that wasn’t the case and he wanted his customers to be able to drive their newly purchased vehicle off the lot right away therefore not having to wait for all other “little things” to be done. Especially for me because I didn’t have a car and they said could fix those minor issues (headlights buffed, right break light bulb out, and getting it detailed) at another time. They also said that they would put everything we discussed in writing and put it with the sales paper work… including allowing me to have copies of the previous service records on the vehicle. AND they also stated that they would give me a vehicle (“a loaner”) to use while doing the inspection. My father even witnesses the “verbal contract” AND shook his hand over it! They asked for a down payment of $ 1000.00, stating that they would hold the check till the minor details were fixed, which I gave them and I drove off with the car. So one, they cashed the check immediately and two, a few weeks go by and I call numerous times to make the appointment and they keep saying they are very busy, not this week. I wait and call back and I also tell them that issues are coming up with this car that they needed to be looked at and fixed. I was getting the run around, going on 3 to 4 months since I had the car now, this included me driving the vehicle there with my father twice, and each time they told me/us nothing was wrong. They again added that they knew the woman who had owned the car previously and nothing should be wrong with the car. Since they kept putting me off, in August I decided to have another shop look over my vehicle because at this point, I am pretty sure that I was sold a lemon! Needleless to say the list (which I have to provide if needed) I received from the “second opinion” service shop, was very long and I was looking at well over $1,300.00 to fix everything that was wrong with it. I was also told at that time that the issues with the vehicle HAD in fact been there for quite some time, much longer than 3 months or 5,000 miles! When taking this information to Oregon Pike Motors I was told that that information couldn’t be true and that I must NOT have gone to a trusted shop and/or person, because everything on the vehicle was new. OPM then told me if I wanted to, I could still bring the vehicle to them and they would inspect it. I told them I was not sure how I felt about that because of all of the games/issues and since they had previously told nothing was wrong with the vehicle and they don’t fix it, I would be driving a broken vehicle! Nonetheless, I did take it back to Oregon Pike Motors; they looked at it and it needed EVERYTHING that the other shop had told me it would need in order for it to pass inspection. However, OPM claimed that this was all maintenance related issues and that there was nothing that they could do about that the expensive repairs (ball joint/muffler-exhaust/tires) because it was my fault for having put close to 5,000 miles on it. I did tell them that I would greatly appreciate it if they would fix my vehicle, at no cost or even minimal cost because I didn’t think I should have to pay for all the repairs that were needed on a vehicle that I was told was in “pristine” condition . I reminded them that I had the vehicle for less than seven months, while trying for the past 4 months to have it looked at and worked one, under their limited warranty that I never got a copy of. This vehicle was NOT an “as is” purchase! I told them that the 5,000 miles had NOTHING to do with the vehicle needing such expensive repairs AND that they gave me their word they would take care of the vehicle. They hemmed and hawed over what they would and wouldn’t do, including that they couldn’t verify anything the sales guy (JD) told me and to stop telling them what JD said because he “dropped dead” last week. (So disrespectful) Needless to say, ironically they couldn’t find any of the paper work that they needed to confirm the agreement/conditions for the sale! THEN…. the last thing the owner’s son yelled at me was, “Look, if you don’t like that way we do business, go somewhere else and get your car serviced !” After he yelled that another employee/salesman said, “Hey, hey now, there is no need for that, come on” We then told the salesman “We’re done, you’ll be hearing from us” The salesman again said, “Let’s talk about this.” As we were leaving we saw the mechanic that was there at the time of the sale and the two times we tried to get it in to be fixed, we tried to talk to him, have him confirm what had happened and that he looked at the vehicle and yup , of course he said he didn’t remember us. At that point, we left the lot and I started to write this complaint. I know- I know… shame on me for not following my gut. Anyway, I called you, (the BBB) and began this report against OPM online. Apparently the BBB notified OPM of my initial call/complaint. …even though I didn’t finish the entire form yet, not sure what happened there but anyway, OPM, (Jason) then called me on my cell phone and stated that you (the BBB) called them and told him that I filed a complaint. He then asked me, “Did you file a complaint?” I said, “I absolutely did” He said “Well, just so you know, they threw away your complaint, it's in the trash, don’t bother with your it because they won’t do anything, we have an A plus rating” I replied, “I absolutely will continue with my complaint. If you think I am going to stop and that I’m not going to keep taking this further you’re clearly mistaken! Have a good day, Jason.” and hung up. I plan on following up with this by formally sending this letter to the BBB. I find it highly unlikely that the BBB notified OPM and told them that my complaint wasn’t valid and that they already threw it away. They BBB may have notified OPM that I started a complaint but the threat Jason made against me to NOT file the complaint clearly didn’t to stop me from doing so. Thank you for taking the time to read the primary nature of my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle fixed with a "Pass" for inspection for under $200 at Oregon Pike Motors or $1,100 to fix it at the "second opinion" garage/shop that already looked over my vehicle.

Business Response: In response to the complaint filed by ***** *******:

***** purchased a 1999 **** ******** from Oregon Pike Motors on February 1, 2014.  The vehicle was sold with a 30 day/1000 mile powertrain only warranty.  We have a signed buyers order that states a 30 day/1000 mile warranty was included with the vehicle purchase.  Within 2 months of her purchasing the vehicle she called us to notify us that Credit Acceptance Corp was at her place of employment to pickup the vehicle because she had not made her payments.   The vehicle was repossesed by Credit Acceptance Corp and at some point she did get the vehicle back.   We did everything we could to help her get the vehicle back.  The vehicle was never brought back to OPM for inspection, she scheduled several appointments but never showed up or cancelled them.  At some point she did show up for a appointment and at that time we looked at her vehicle and gave her a estimate for the repairs.  We also agreed to fix the vehicle at our cost.  She had put over 5000 miles on the vehicle since it was purchased and the warranty would not have covered the repairs as it was a power train only warranty.  The salesman that sold her the vehicle is in fact deceased so we can't question him about what promises he made.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not mention the Credit Acceptance incident because it was NOT related to fixing the vehicle I purchased from Oregon Pike Motors, which is the primary issue of the many issues I have with poor business practices while dealing with Oregon Pike Motors.   However, since OPM brought it up in an attempt to stay off the topic of their inept service and unacceptable lack of customer care; which is typical of their unprofessional behavior, I will respond to that.   As a first time car buyer who had no credit rating (no other loans or line of credit), JD strongly encouraged me to go through Credit Acceptance.  He said it was a sure way for me to get approved and work on my credit. I had to give him paper proof of my service/utilitybills showing my good payment history. I believed JD when he said that it was best thing to do to improve my credit.  I honestly was not mindful of the outrageous rate of interest attached to it but I believed him when he said that it would help my credit. It is a simple as that.  So kudos to JD for being that kind of salesman that could sell sand to someone in the Desert!  JD also told me that my first month payment was in the down payment and that the first month was deferred. I took that to mean that my first payment was covered and my second payment was deferred therefore the next payment I would have to send would be by I believe the first week of May. However, that was NOT how my down payment was applied and or how the Credit Acceptance  terms of the loan were.  When I called Credit Acceptance that day they had no idea what I was talking about.  All they knew was…I owed them a past due payment immediately!   I also called JD who DID call Credit Acceptance and the towing company and tried to tell them that I thought there was a one month deferred payment, let him go over the loan agreement with me and that I DID have the funds for the vehicle and to leave it.  The towing company for Credit Acceptance refused to hear him out.  JD apologized for the incident and apologized profusely for the behavior of the towing company.  JD and only JD tried to help me with THAT incident. Honestly, I thought about letting Credit Acceptance take it/ keep it (the car) so that they could deal with the issue and the needed repairs.  Furthermore, the Credit Acceptance incident was resolved quickly that day of MY own doing and IT IS NOT what my complaint is about.  My complaint is about fixing the broken car for no more than $200.00 at their garage like JD said he would or pay to have another shop fix OPM estimated $1,200 worth of repairs at another garage.  This is a car that was pitched as being “in pristine condition”… a car that they knew needed work done on it when it was sold to me.  A car they promised to fix after I took it off the lot but instead got the run-around about bringing it in for service.  Yes, JD was the one who agreed to fix it but it kept getting put off. Then JD died (so I am told) during these shenanigans so therefore, clearly the way Oregon Pike Motors sees it, they don’t have to honor his word to do anything to fix it even though they knew/ know it was supposed to be fixed.  ~Added note: I’m still trying to get a copy of both my bill of sale and the GAP insurance!



***** Gaenzle

Business Response: We offered to fix the customers concerned problems at cost (approx. 350 dollars). It is also a concern to us that the possibility of the towing company may have damaged the vehicle through the repossession. The buyers guide and gap insurance copy are readily available if the customer asks for it. They were given a copy at the time of signing and we have ours on file. The signed purchase order does not state any of the presented promises nor does any employee here recall them being said. The offer we originally gave to fix what we agreed upon at OUR cost is no longer valid. We have built this business upon doing the right thing and keeping our customers happy. In this instance, we do not believe in submitting to hearsay and accusations/lies to "fix" this customers experience. We exceeded most peoples expectations in this case. The vehicle is fully under the responsibility of this customer, our services are available for repair/service at anytime!

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

BUYER BEWARE, BUYER BEWARE, BUYER BEWARE of Oregon Pike Motors, it is that simple! NEVER did Oregon Pike Motors offer to fix ALL of what was wrong with my vehicle (the way they sold it to me) at a cost of no more than “approx. 350 dollars.” Sadly, it is Oregon Pike Motors that is lying.  If that was the case I would have had my car fixed at OPM and NONE of this would be happening!  After OPM refused to honor their word, I took my vehicle to TWO other shops for estimates to fix the car and BOTH came in at over $1,000.00! Again, NEVER did Oregon Pike Motors offer to fix ALL of what was wrong with my vehicle (the way they sold it to me) at a cost of no more than “approx. 350 dollars."  Never did OPM tell me they had concerns that the towing company may have damaged the car..."damages" aka repairs that were needed BEFORE the towing company touched the car! Clearly they are trying to place the potential for blame on the towing company for selling me a car that they KNEW was in need of repairs!  I made it very clear in my first comment/complaint… that it was STATED (key word STATED) that the issues with the car would be fixed as a part of buying the car! Again, BUYER BEWARE of Oregon Pike Motors, it is that simple! 

Added note:  Interesting that this complaint IS in fact showing up on the BBB.  Because I received a phone call from Jason asking me, “*****, did you report us to the Better Business Bureau?  To which I replied, “I absolutely did!”  Only to be told, “Well, I am calling you to tell you, don’t even bother with your complaint! The BBB threw away it away.  It’s in the trash!” 
I replied, “If you think that I’m not going to follow through with this complaint, you are clearly mistaken!  Have a good day, Jason.’” and I hung up.  I then immediately called the BBB and summarized the reason why I had called them initially and that they instructed me to make sure to file the complaint in writing on the website but I had to ask, “How is it that you “threw away” my compliant when the written complaint wasn’t even filed yet?” I proceeded to tell the BBB about the above phone call I received from Jason…. Interestingly enough, they confirmed to me that nothing was thrown away and that NO SUCH THING HAPPENED! They did inform me that often a business will be notified of a complaint even if it is initially placed though a phone call and that it was in all probability an attempt to fool me into not filing the written complaint!  Based on the level of dishonorable behavior I was already dealing with, I wasn’t shocked to hear that! Anyway, while on that second call a BBB representative talked me through their websites written complaint links/process and I filed the complaint like I said I would.  Again, BUYER BEWARE of Oregon Pike Motors!


***** *******