BBB Accredited Business since

Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC.

Phone: (717) 681-9610 Fax: (717) 681-9135 806 Lancaster Ave, Columbia, PA 17512 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mmsmotorsales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC. include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2001 in PA Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated 07/01/2001 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Smiley, Owner/Member Ms. Brianne Rettew, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Smiley, Owner/Member
Related Businesses
MM Auto Financing, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
BUYING A USED VEHICLE

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2015 Delivery Issues
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing with a complaint due to the fact in February 08, 2013 I paid 1,300 and my balance owed was 3,436.26 and then on February 13,2013 they then said my balance was 4,994.41... I have print out of payments made and my truck also needs work done and my warranty was good until August 2013.. they had me get an estimate around April/May and because the repairs was over 2,500 they would not honor it.. I feel that when they where doing the repairs to my truck that instead of using the warranty to pay for the work that they where attaching the repair bill to the end of my payments and not to mention when I got my truck back from them in February I had belongings stolen out of my truck and I had confronted them twice about it... I know others that also had issues with this comp

Desired Settlement: to purchase a more reliable and safe vehicle as it won't pass inspection and they somehow had it reinspected in february and the inspection was good until sept 2013

Business Response: August 22,2013

RE: Response to complaint ID ******* from ****** **** ****
I have examined and reviewed **. ****’s complaint and will respond accordingly.

First of all, much relevant information was omitted in the complaint, starting with **. *****s vehicle was currently impounded *********, Maryland at the time and her account was past due (9) payments. I can provide a detailed ledger to support that statement. Communication with **. **** was that she did not have the money to get her car out of impound status. We proceeded with repossession procedure of first paying the impound fees of348,00 to ********* ****** invoice ***** in addition to repo. Fees of $450,00 to get the vehicle back to our lot.

At this point we were assuming contact with **. **** was past and we proceeding to refurbish the vehicle for resale. At the 11th hour, **. **** said she could put 1300.00 towards her past balance if she could get her vehicle back.

We agreed to give her another chance but she would need to be responsible for part of the repair bills. See attachments for the two invoices: #**** on 2/19/13 for 1829.91 was not charged to **. ****. But invoice #**** in the amount of 1200.62 we did go over with **, **** and she agreed to take responsibility. Furthermore, she states she had an extended warranty which was passed its term. Enclosed is a copy for your review,

**. **** states things were stolen out of her car when she got it back. Hard to take that seriously when I just graced her by eating an 1800.00 bill. My opinion is that whatever was missing probably happened at the impound yard in *********.

In conclusion, we gave **. **** a second chance, even moving several past due payments to the end of her note to give her a fresh start and she quickly feel behind in her payments again. As of today, she is over $400.00 behind along with an unpaid repair bill from 2011 that she has never paid.

**. **** would serve herself better by having open dialogue with us and being fiscally responsible, We are a second chance lender and I believe we have done much for her as a customer. I would agree that the life cycle of the current vehicle she is driving is nearing the end, but she needs to be in good standing in order to upgrade.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I gave 1,300.00 dollars on February 08,2013 to ****** ******* and when I questioned anything I always got different answers from different associates.. I have talked to ******,******,*** and ****** but no one ever is on the same page.. How am I  to know what is going on if no one sticks to the same story.. as far as the towing company I called the towing company and they said how did they steal anything when my truck was locked and they had no access to my truck.. I talked to the owner of the company and as far as the repair bills pertaining to  the 1200 and 1800 I had no idea of this conversation.. as far as me getting behind they are talking about my payments being paid a couple hours later then scheduled and I called to let them know what was going on



Regards,

****** ****








Business Response: See attached.