BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC.

Phone: (717) 681-9610 Fax: (717) 681-9135 806 Lancaster Ave, Columbia, PA 17512 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mmsmotorsales.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mountville Motor Sales & Broker, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 17, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2001 in PA Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated: 07/01/2001 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Smiley, Owner/Member Ms. Brianne Rettew, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Smiley, Owner/Member
Related Businesses
MM Auto Financing, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
BUYING A USED VEHICLE

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing with a complaint due to the fact in February 08, 2013 I paid 1,300 and my balance owed was 3,436.26 and then on February 13,2013 they then said my balance was 4,994.41... I have print out of payments made and my truck also needs work done and my warranty was good until August 2013.. they had me get an estimate around April/May and because the repairs was over 2,500 they would not honor it.. I feel that when they where doing the repairs to my truck that instead of using the warranty to pay for the work that they where attaching the repair bill to the end of my payments and not to mention when I got my truck back from them in February I had belongings stolen out of my truck and I had confronted them twice about it... I know others that also had issues with this comp

Desired Settlement: to purchase a more reliable and safe vehicle as it won't pass inspection and they somehow had it reinspected in february and the inspection was good until sept 2013

Business Response: August 22,2013

RE: Response to complaint ID ******* from ****** **** ****
I have examined and reviewed **. ****’s complaint and will respond accordingly.

First of all, much relevant information was omitted in the complaint, starting with **. *****s vehicle was currently impounded *********, Maryland at the time and her account was past due (9) payments. I can provide a detailed ledger to support that statement. Communication with **. **** was that she did not have the money to get her car out of impound status. We proceeded with repossession procedure of first paying the impound fees of348,00 to ********* ****** invoice ***** in addition to repo. Fees of $450,00 to get the vehicle back to our lot.

At this point we were assuming contact with **. **** was past and we proceeding to refurbish the vehicle for resale. At the 11th hour, **. **** said she could put 1300.00 towards her past balance if she could get her vehicle back.

We agreed to give her another chance but she would need to be responsible for part of the repair bills. See attachments for the two invoices: #**** on 2/19/13 for 1829.91 was not charged to **. ****. But invoice #**** in the amount of 1200.62 we did go over with **, **** and she agreed to take responsibility. Furthermore, she states she had an extended warranty which was passed its term. Enclosed is a copy for your review,

**. **** states things were stolen out of her car when she got it back. Hard to take that seriously when I just graced her by eating an 1800.00 bill. My opinion is that whatever was missing probably happened at the impound yard in *********.

In conclusion, we gave **. **** a second chance, even moving several past due payments to the end of her note to give her a fresh start and she quickly feel behind in her payments again. As of today, she is over $400.00 behind along with an unpaid repair bill from 2011 that she has never paid.

**. **** would serve herself better by having open dialogue with us and being fiscally responsible, We are a second chance lender and I believe we have done much for her as a customer. I would agree that the life cycle of the current vehicle she is driving is nearing the end, but she needs to be in good standing in order to upgrade.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I gave 1,300.00 dollars on February 08,2013 to ****** ******* and when I questioned anything I always got different answers from different associates.. I have talked to ******,******,*** and ****** but no one ever is on the same page.. How am I  to know what is going on if no one sticks to the same story.. as far as the towing company I called the towing company and they said how did they steal anything when my truck was locked and they had no access to my truck.. I talked to the owner of the company and as far as the repair bills pertaining to  the 1200 and 1800 I had no idea of this conversation.. as far as me getting behind they are talking about my payments being paid a couple hours later then scheduled and I called to let them know what was going on



Regards,

****** ****








Business Response: See attached. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/30/2011 Delivery Issues
1