BBB Accredited Business since

Highline Imports, LLC

Phone: (610) 250-5600 Fax: (610) 250-8782 805 W Canal St, Easton, PA 18042 http://www.highlineimports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Highline Imports, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Highline Imports, LLC include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Highline Imports, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Highline Imports, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2003 in PA Business started locally: 10/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/01/2010 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter Kern, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Kern, Owner/CEO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 805 W Canal St

    Easton, PA 18042 (610) 250-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hopefully, this won't come across as a rant. I am not mad and am not trying to do anything other than to provide an honest assessment of my transaction with Highline Imports. I am sure they have many very happy customers, but I am not one of them. I reached out to Highline Imports on Oct 24 after seeing a nice looking Audi Avant on ****.com, **********.com and ****. After a nice chat with one of the sales staff, I arranged to have the car inspected by ***** *****. The car recieved a B rating from the inspector because of two things, tires and the interior. He felt the interior looked a little less than an A. Quite frankly, the car presented much better than what he described. I am very happy with the cosmetic apperance of the car. The tires needed replacing as they were down to 4/32". I called the salesman and explained what the inspector had found and asked that he reduce the price. New tires would cost about $800. He thought the would be considerabley less, if I bought from **** ****. Honestly, by the time you pay for shipping and mount and balance, there is no savings. I was offered a set of used tires, mounted and balanced for free or $300 off the price of the car. You don't put used tires on an all wheel drive car. I opted for the $300 discount. I gave them a $500 deposit via credit card and arranged for transport. Dealer prep and the fees associated with the purchase totaled $398. That breaks down to $249 for dealer prep (wash and vacuum), $20 for some sort of tax and $129 for a notary fee. The car was picked up on Nov 8 and arrived Nov 12. Before the car was shipped, I asked the salesman via email about any servicing that was done at Highline and how the serpentine belt looked as it might need replacement. He replied, " oil and filter change was done already as well as all fluids topped. i just went out and checked the serp belt and it is in good shape as well. we can get you a price on a new serp belt or any other audi service you would like before it ships. once we have a pickup date we will detail car again for you as well." I was told by the dealerships document handler that she would overnight the transit tag to me on Monday, Nov 11th. The car arrived the next day, but the overnight package did not. I emailed and asked about the transit tag to which she replied " your plate is on the way. Should be there within the next day or two." I reminded her that she promised me overnight shipping. Her reply " There was no mail Monday so I sent this USPS priority yesterday. Which is a day or two." She ended up mailing it priority, but she never went to the post office. It was picked up by their letter carrier and stamped at the post office the next day (Weds). When the car was delivered, the truck driver started the car, I thought I heard a strange sound from the engine, but was not certain as it was a rather noisey parking lot. So, I drove it less than a quarter mile to my house and parked it. The car has a great cosmetic apperance. I opened the rear of the car to inspect the spare tire and found a ten plus year old looking tire on a 16" rim that didn't match the rest of the rims on he car. It actually looked like one from a wrecking yard as the tire had something marked on it in red paint. I emailed the salesperson and sent pictures of the spare provided with the car. The saleman said he would be happy to send one out, but I'd have to pay $70 for shipping. I told him I would not, I paid a premium price for the car and I expect the correct and proper wheel for the car. Later that day, I received and email from the owner, “ Glad to hear you like the A4. We located the same wheel at our local wheel supplier and mailed it out today. Sorry for the inconvenience.” After that I bantered back in forth with the document gal and told her that the spare tire and transit tag issue affected my buying experience with Highline Imports. Her reply about the spare tire was, " As for the spare tire, the car did not come with one, meaning when we took the car in we did not take the car in with nor did we photograph the car with a spare one however Highline provided a spare for the car as a courtesy. We are sorry it was not the size that the car was made with but we took care of it as a courtesy to Highline and sent you out, yesterday, the size that comes with the car." The transit tag arrived Friday, Nov 15th and I was finally able to legally drive the car. I started the car and heard the dreaded sound of a failing timing chain tensioner. While the car was turning over, I could hear the chain, tack, tack, tack. When the engine caught and fired, there was a very distinctive rattle that lasted about 1-2 seconds. . I emailed the owner about the noise on Nov 18th and informed him I was taking it in to a shop to have it looked at. I got no reply. I took it to a well respected shop and had it looked at. I don't think they let the car set long enough as they weren't able to reproduce the issue. The car needs to sit for a least a full day to allow the oil pressure in the tensioner to seep out. While the car was in the shop they inspected it and found the following was needed; Valve cover gaskets $728.68, rear main seal $2690.63, serpentine belt $515.46 and left upper arm bushing $486.90. I don't mind absorbing some of the costs of repairs. But, I was told by the salesman the serpentine belt looked ok. I sat on the estimate for a couple of weeks and finally emailed the owner of Highline Imports. In my email I said, "I'm attaching a pdf of the repair estimates for some very leaky gaskets and worn bushings. The shop has not completed diagnosing the rattle in the engine at start up, as the car needs to sit for a couple of days to replicate the issue. Quite frankly, I've been much too busy to leave the car with them for a week. If the car does have failing or failed chain tensioners, this could cause catastrophic damage to the engine if not a horrible accident should they let go at highway speed. Since the engine compartment was detailed as part of Highline Imports refurbishment, it would have been impossible to detect such leakage until a few miles had been put on the car. Please review the attached estimate and get back to me." The reply I received from the owner was, "Please refer to the terms and conditions in your applicable warranty documents. " This clearly is not a warranty issue. The car was shipped to me in this condition. I have scarcely put 500 miles on the car in the month I have had it. On Dec 9th, I took the title to the DMV to get the car registered and titled in my name. The title had no notary seal on it. In its place there was stamped verbiage that read, "Verification in leiu of notarization" name of document person" Highline Imports LLC *******". I was charged $129 for notary, but there was no notary seal on any of the documents that I was sent. To say the least, I am deeply disappointed that *** ****, the owner of Highline Imports isn’t stepping up to take some of responsibility for the needed repairs on this car. It needs several thousand dollars in repairs. I paid a premium price for what I though was a premium car. It’s bad business practice to sell cars that need this kind of work. The car was delivered with these issues and thus they should not be a warranty issue. In my email to the owner, I asked for nothing. I gave him an opportunity to step up and he did not. This says a lot about the integrity of the company.

Desired Settlement: I feel I have been sold a car that has some very expensive repairs. These repairs call for the engine to be removed and will cost $3k-$4k. I paid a premium price for what was described to me as an excellent car by the salesman. I am not against absorbing some of the costs of the repairs. Afterall, it's a used car. The owner of the company needs to step up and make some sort of equitable restitution so that I can get the car repaired.

Business Response: This car is a fairly rare 2007 Audi A4 3.2L Avant with 87,865 miles.  The vehicle was checked over by our shop and was found to only need an oil change and valve cover gaskets, which we took care of.  The car was then driven over 100 miles, without any issues at all.  The buyer contacted us with interest in the car, and ordered a professional independent pre-purchase inspection.  The buyer's inspector reported the vehicle to be in excellent condition, only noting tires with low tread remaining.  We offered to replace the tires with a matching set that had greater tread depth.  The buyer declined our replacing the tires, and instead agreed to a $300 discount for the tires indicating he planned on installing new tires once he got the car.  He purchased the car, and declined purchasing a long term extended service contract.  The car was sold with Highline's standard free warranty that covers internal engine components for a duration of 3 months or 3000 miles.

 
The vehicle was shipped, and once the buyer received the car he indicated he was happy with the purchase, however was unhappy with the non-matching spare tire that came with the car when we got it.  We immediately located, purchased, and shipped a matching spare to the buyer.  Within several weeks, the buyers complained that the car needed several maintenance items (including valve cover gaskets which were already replaced) and was seeking reimbursement from Highline.  Given the circumstances of the purchase described above, Highline declined to reimburse the buyer for unnecessary and elective maintenance work on the car.  The customer persisted, and on November 18, 2013 Highline offered to take the car back from the buyer for a full refund.  After not receiving any response, we assumed the buyer decided to move on.  The buyer then disputed his credit card charge for the purchase, which is now an ongoing issue with the bank.
 
In summary, the buyer purchased the vehicle only after he had it professionally inspected, declined returning the car for a full refund, and now after owning the car almost two month seeks reimbursement for MAINTENANCE work that was not needed at the time of sale.  We respectfully decline the buyer's efforts to extort funds related to this purchase.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply comes as no surprise.  I find it sad that the only time I get any sort or response from Highline Imports is only after contacting the BBB.  I got no reply to my email to *** **** sent on 11/18/2013.  I got no reply to a letter I mailed (certified) to the owner of the company dated 12/9/2013.  The I cc'd the BBB, the Chamber of Commerce of ******, PA, The Attorney General's Bureau of Consumer Protection and the State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons.  The only reply I got from *** **** was, as I stated, on 12/10/2013 after sending him a repair estimate.  The estimate included replacing the valve cover gaskets that I am being told were already replaced.  His email on 12/102013 did not mention that the gaskets had been replaced.  Given that the car was detailed, which included cleaning the engine and the engine compartment, there is no way that the leaking gaskets would bee seen by the inspector.  Quite frankly, there is not enough room in that engine compartment to see anything.  The car was not put on a lift for the inspecter to view the undercarriage.  This is not something that they do.


Yes, a spare tire and matching wheel was sent to me for free and I thanked them for that.  This was only after the salesman told me it would cost me $70 to have it shipped out.  That was on a phone call, so I have nothing in writing.

Please provide written proof that I said I was pleased with the car.  I only said it is in good cosmetic condition.  All of my communication with Highline Imports was via email.  I have all email exchanges with Highline.  I would also be happy to contact my email service provider and have them forward any email exchanges between me and Highline Imports.

The car was delivered 11/12/2013.  I did not wait several weeks to complain to Highline Imports about the car.  An email was sent to the owner of the company within days of recieving the vehicle (11/18/2013):

From: ***** ******** <******************>
Date: Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 6:23 AM
Subject: Re: Balck Avant on ****
To: ***** **** <highlineimports@hotmail.com>

Good Morning, *****.  I hope you had a good weekend.  Friday I got my transit tag and was finally able to drive my new car.  The spare tire arrived and is sitting in the spare tire well of the car.  I appreciate your extra effort to do the right thing for me.  I have been enjoying the car and made a couple of 20+ mile round trips in it over the weekend.

There seems to be an issue with this car upon starting.  Shortly after the engine fires, there is a rather loud rattling sound that comes from the front of the car.  This seems to happen when the car sits for a significant amount of time, say 12+ hours.  When the car was started on the transport truck, I thought I heard something, but wasn't sure as there was some racket in the parking lot where the driver parked his truck.  Friday evening is when I started the car, there was a pretty loud clatter coming from up front.  It did the same thing yesterday and this morning.  There are a few things that it could be:

1) Piston Slap

2) Valve lifters

3) Timing chain

As far as I know, this particular engine has not been reported to have piston slap issues, but can have lifter problems.  I am hoping that if it's a lifter problem, it might be remedied by an engine flush.  I am hoping it is not a timing chain issue as the repair is very expensive.  The timing chain is on the back of the engine and the only way to access it is to pull the engine.  Thirty some-odd hours of labor and several hundred dollars in parts would be needed.

I am going to call a well respected independent Audi shop this morning to get the car in for evaluation.  Hopefully, it's something simple for which I am happy to absorb the cost.  *****, I really like this car and am looking forward to owning it for a very long time.

I will be in touch and let you know what the shop finds.  I hope you have a great day.

 

I reveived no reply to this email from *** ****.  On 11/18/21013, the car was left a reputable German car repair shop.  On 11/20/2013, I picked up the car.  They included an estimate for necessary repairs.  The estimate is date 11/20/2013.  This is not weeks, it is days.  Yes, I had the car inspected and yes, he missed the leaking gaskets and the failed timing chain tensioners.  The tensioners use oil pressure and if the car has been stting for hours, the symptoms will not been seen.  If the car sits for more than a day, the symptoms show.

I recieved no offer to buy the car back by anyone from Highline Imports.  That statement is an absolute fabrication.  No phone call was made to me no letter was sent and no email was sent with such an offer.  It is absolutely shameful that someone from that dealership would say this.  It is untrue.  Please produce the proof that you contacted me regarding this offer.

Whomever wrote the response to my complaint to the BBB it is just shameful that you said an offer to to buy back the car was made.  SHAMEFUL!  I asked for nothing from Highline Imports, only that they step up and do the right thing.  I never asked for a refund, I never asked for full compensation for the repair work.  STEP UP and show some good business ethics, here.

***** ********







Business Response: This was the e-mail sent to the buyer on 11/18/13...the same day he sent his e-mail.  Our responses have been timely and to the point.  This buyer is seeking to reduce the purchase price of this car through these tactics.  We have responded the the Attorney General, and as well as all other parties involved.

 
Hello ***** - The car did not have any issues when it was checked by our shop, nor when I drove it a total of about 100 miles over a 2 day period.  Additionally, your independent inspector confirmed that the car was fine as well.  In the event you wish to return the car, you may do so within the next 7 days for a refund of the $13500 you paid for the car.  Once the car and title is back and confirmed to be in the same condition is was when sent to you, we will issue a check for your refund.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 BMW X3 from Highline imports on 4-18-13 I have had several issues with the vehicle since purchasing the vehicle and Highline has made several promises which were never fulfilled. The car had some minor issues that were scheduled to be repaired when parts came in for the front passenger airbag and rear windshield wiper, rear windows which were not operating and rear charger in back seat. I was never contacted by dealership when parts came in. Less than 1 week after purchasing the vehicle it began giving me difficulty starting. I contacted Highline and spoke with **** ******* the salesman that I purchased the car from. I had scheduled to bring in the car, but the car died on me before I could bring it in on 6/25/13. I ended up being stranded on the road and having to purchase a new battery for my vehicle at ********** **** *****. I immediately contacted **** and informed him of the situation. He stated that I would be reimbursed for the battery to bring in the receipt and bill of sale when I come down to have the other parts on car repaired. I inquired about the parts that were being ordered and he claims that he would need to check on status of parts and call me back, which he never did. I finally contacted dealership in early May and scheduled appt for car repairs on 5/10/13 at 10. At that time I spoke with **** ******* again and discussed the battery for car and stated to bring copy of reciept with me for reimbursement. I arrived at Highline on 5/10/13 for repairs and was at dealership from 10am until 3pm. The only item fixed was the rear wiper. **** from the service department and ****, the salesman from Highline informed me that there was a recall on the passenger air bag and that I had to take the car to a BMW dealer ship to be fixed. I inquired about the windows and rear charger and **** from service stated that he was not informed of those repairs by **** and they were never done. He took the car into the service shop and stated that he would have to order new motors and parts for the 2 rear windows along with a kit for the rear charger which was broken. I spoke to ** **** ******* about the reimbursement for my battery and showed him a copy of the receipt for the battery I had to purchase less than a week after owning the vehicle. He stated that he would speak with the owner ***** and that a check would be mailed to me as compensation for the battery I purchased. Several weeks went by and I did not hear from the dealership or recieve a reimbursement check, again I contacted the dealership and inquired about the repairs for the window, charger kit in rear and reimbursement of battery and spoke with **** *******. He stated that he was only a salesman at Highline and that he does not make any decisions when it comes to reimbursement for the battery and that I needed to speak to the owner, *****. He took my phone number and stated that ***** would call me within the hour to discuss the matter. ***** did not call me back, so after 4 hours I called ***** back who was very rude, abrasive and yelling at me on the telephone. He stated that he was not giving me a reimbursement check for the battery despite what I had been told by **** several times throughout various calls. He stated that he did me a favor by trying to fix the rear wiper and passenger air bag. He would order 1 motor and part for the passenger rear window, but that was all the service I was going to get from them. He repeatedly yelled no, no, no you are not getting a refund and stated that he had to go and was not going to continue this conversation with me. I at no point raised my voice or became belligerent during our call and asked him to lower his tone to the same manner in which I was speaking to him. I reminded him that when I first purchased the vehcile they were informed of repairs that needed to be done to the car and they wrote them down and ordered the parts the day I picked up the vehicle. I was also planning on purchasing another vehicle from Highline, but since then have changed my mind after the quality of service and vehicle I have received from them. I picked up the part for 1 window and spoke with **** ******* and **** from the service department about the parts for the other window and rear charger kit. I gave **** my contact information again and he stated that he would order the parts and contact me when they came in. Till this day I have not receved a call back. The part that I picked up in early June was the track for the rear passenger window and a used motor that they had taken off another vehicle, as per **** from service. When I intially purchased the car I gave them a $500 deposit, traded in my 2008 chevy malibu 2lt and gave them an additional $3500 cash. I financed the rest through a lender called ******. I did add a platinum service plan to the vehicle for up to 120,000 miles of the vehicle. The deductible I am only resonsible for is $100 when brought to any auto repair center, or if I brought the car to them for repairs they would waive the $100 deductible being that I purchased the vehicle from them. I took the car to *** ****** BMW on 6/25/13 to have the airbag recall fixed. During the repair the tires were all rotated and noticed that everyone was dry rotted and 1 tire in the passenger side had all the metal wire exposed throughout the tire. I then had to purchase another tire for the car to be able to drive safely and now need 3 additional tires which cost $200 a piece. I took my vehicle to ********** **** ****** for an estimate on 6/29/13 on the rear windows and rear charger to be repaired. When taking the rear door panels off the auto center contacted me and stated that it is impossible for the rear windows to have ever worked when purchased from Highline being that the windows were being held up with 2 x 4 wood planks. I attempted to contact Highline import in regards to this serious matter an spoke with **** ******* and informed him of the situation. He had no response to what I told him and said that I would need to speak with the owner and that he was away on vacatiion. He was very short with me and then transferred me over to a female who took my name and number down and said that she was unsure when ***** would be returning my call being that he was on vaction. This whole purchasing experience has been a nightmare when dealing with Highline Import. They do not return calls and talk in circles. I have one staff member telling me I am getting a refund and then another stating the opposite. I have anoth staff member saying that they are ordering parts, but I do not get any calls from them when parts are coming in. I do not trust to leave my car there for repairs being that they do not have any credibility with any work that they have stated they would do thus far.

Desired Settlement: To Whom It May Concern, I just want my vehicle to be in working condition. I am asking for the reimbursement of the battery that I was promised several times by **** *******. I would like to have all of my windows working in my vehilce. I would like ********** **** ****** to complete the repairs on my vehicle. Highline is very far from my home and I do not trust the quality of work that I would receive from them. ********** **** ****** has completed an estimate on the repairs and taken pictures of the condition on the inside window panels. I just want my windows to go up and down and my family to be in a safe vehicle. I completed my obligation in paying for the vehicle with down payments and trading in a vehicle. I make my payments on time and was planning on paying off my lien in full, but not until the vehicle is in proper working condition. Thanking you in advance for time and cooperation in assiting me in addressing this manner. Sincerely, ****** ********-*********** ###-###-####

Business Response: On April 18, 2013 ** ******** purchased a 2004 BMW X3 with about 47k miles.  The vehicle was sold "AS-IS", as the buyer purchased a top-level 120,000 mile aftermarket warranty.  At the time of purchase, is was noted that the driver's side rear window was not operating and we agreed to take care of the repair free of charge.  ** ******** was contacted when the part had arrived, however failed to show up for several scheduled appointments.  In the meantime, **. ******** reported the car failed to start due to a weak battery.  She contacted our office, and we told her that we would gladly replace the battery free to charge when she brought the car back for the window repair.  Several weeks later, she contacted us insisting upon a reimbursement of the battery which she had done at another shop, at a cost of nearly $200.  It was explained to **. ******** that Highline is a full service facility, and as such was willing to replace the battery free of charge, however would not reimburse for repairs done elsewhere.  Despite this, we offered to cover half of the battery replacement cost, or $100.  **. ******** refused the offer, and refused to bring the car in for the installation of the window part, and said she would come in to pick up the parts and have the job done elsewhere.  Apparently, ** ******** took the parts we gave her and had another shop do the work, however put a claim into the warranty company for full reimbursement.  It would appear that the warranty company might have a counter-claim in the event they discover that they paid for a repair that would have been done free of charge by Highline.  In any case, our offer to reimburse half of the battery replacement (or $100) still stands.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because the information given in the statement by Highline Imports is not only inaccurate but out right lies.  When I purchased the vehicle on 4-18-13.  The dealership was made aware of several items that were wrong with the car and at the time of purchase they were ordered.  The items I am referring to are the pin for front air bag, the front cup holder, the rear charger kit, the spare tire cap in rear of vehicle and rear wiper blade was not operating.  At no time was I informed that there was an issue with any of the windows.  The vehicle was not purchased as is.  I have reviewed my contract at length with the dealership and there is not section that states the vehicle was purchased as is.  In fact there is a box to check that the car is being sold as is and that section is not mark, but the section that states that the car is being purchased with a warranty for 120,000 miles.  I have attempted to contact this dealership several times after purchasing the vehcile to inquire when the parts were coming in to repair the car and have yet to recieve a call back.  I have printed out all of my cell phone bills from the months of April till the present to show all communication made between myself and Highline Autn being that my cell phone number is the only number I gave them as a means of contacting me.  I did contact Highline on 4/23/13 reporting that my vehicle was giving me a difficult time to start or would just stop operating.  I scheduled an appointment with ****, the salesman I purchased the car to have the vehicle looked at on 4-27-13, however my car broke down on 4/26/13 at 7am in the morning while I was enroute to take my child to day care and myself to work on a rural road.  I had the vehicle taken to an auto center where I was informed the battery was completely dead and needed to be replaced.  I purchased a new battery and have a receipt which totaled to a little over $182.00.  I contacted the dealership when they opened and spoke with **** where he informed me to bring in the receipt and I would be refunded fully for the battery.  I cancelled the appointment for 4/27/13 because obviously it was a mute point bringing the car in now that a new battery was installed by ********** **** **** Center.  I inquired if the parts for the initial repairs had been received and was told by **** in sales and **** in service no they were still not in.  I again continued to contact Highline from cell phone and home and finally brought vehcile in on 5/10/13 at 10 am with my son and was at dealership until 3 pm.  At that time I was informed that only the rear wiper was repaired and that I needed to contact *** dealership to have airbag reparied due to recall on part.  I spoke with **** in regards to refund for battery at this time and showed him receipt and he stated that he would speak to ***** the owner of the dealership and I would be mailed a reimbursement check because he was out for the rest of the day.  I have never received any check in the mail and $100 was not the agreed upon reimbursement for the battery.  I did contact *** ****** *** in ********, PA and car was brought in on 6/12 and 6/25 for air bag repair which I have receipt of work.  Throughout that time I continued to contact Highline about remaining repairs for vehicle and did not get any repsonses back.  On 6/17/13 I contacted dealership again about parts and reimbursement for the battery and spoke with **** in sales, he stated that he did not inform me that I was getting check and that he was only a sales man and that he would have owner, ***** contact me in an hour, he also stated that the parts were not in yet for the car. Several hours past and I contacted ***** in the afternoon who was very rude, abrupt and disrespectful to me on the phone, he stated that several times during the phone call yelling no, no, no that I was not getting a reimbursement for the battery and that he would do me a favor and give me part for 1 of the windows to be fixed.  He stated that the part was in and that was my only option take it or leave it.  I picked up the part from dealership on 6/20/13 where I was given a box with a window regulator and another used part.  **** at not time made any attempt to speak with me and ***** was not in his office.  **** from service came out to look at my car and noticed that all four windows were not operating correctly and that the 2 rear windows would not go down at all.  I opted to take my vehcile to another shop to have the window part installed  that the dealership gave me due to the manner in which I have been treated by this dealership since purchasing the vehicle and not finding them a credible dealership and poor workmanship when it came to repairing vehicles. Since then I have had 1 tire needing to be replaced being that it was totally dry rotted and the wire mesh was showing completely through the tire.  The remaining 3 tires need to be replaced and I unforntunately have not had any luck with this dealership resolving any issues for the defective vehicle they have sold me.   I dropped my car off at ********** **** **** ****** on 6/28/13. Since then they have discovered that the rear windows were never operable being that they were being held up by 2 x 4's. I have contacted the dealership in regards to this and the owner I was told he was on vacation the first week of July and has never replied to my message.  Lighteneing has had to replace the regulators for both windows being that the part given to me by the dealership was broken. They have replaced the broken rear charger kit, and kit for spare tire. The tires have not been replaced yet, but I do have the invoice for the 1 tire that was replaced which cost $206.00. I did contact my warranty to inquire if the would cover any repairs needed for the car being that the dealership has never responded to any of my calls. The only covered the price of the motor for the windows and I had a $100 deductible. So they only covered $179 of the total bill. Highline has never contacted me to repair vehicle for free. The first time I had contact with Highline was yesterday when I contacted *****, who was very aggressive over the phone.  He claimed that he offered my $100 at one point and that is an out right lie, and I told him to lower his voice and stop speaking to me in a disrespectful manner. He stated that I can bring the car down to be repaired, but I informed him that it was already beingsince he has never returned any of my calls he left me no choice but to take the car to a different auto care center to be replaced. I scheduled an appointment to come down and meet with ***** for later today at 5:15pm in the afternoon. He originally stated that he would not be available and then stated that I could just send him the bill and he would send me what he thought was fair for the repairs. He attempted to bully and strong arm me over the phone stating that I have 1 choice to either take $100 for the battery and that he would be contacting your organization ancd inform you that I was refusing to work with him in making a respolution to this whole ordeal. I will not allow him to bully or be disrespectful toward me any longer. This car was defective from the beginning and hope that your organization can help me in resolving this matter in an appropriate manner without me being strong armmed or threatend by a liar and deceiful individual.  I have copies of all receipts for repairs, and items purchased for repairs done to this vehicle as well as my bill of sale, warranty, and phone bill receipts with itemized phone calls should you require any documents.

 

Thanking you in advance for your time and cooperation,

****** ********-***********


Regards,

****** ********-***********








Business Response: This matter has been entirely resolved to the buyer's satisfaction. Mutual releases of liability have been exchanged, and this case should be closed.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

A settlement was made with regards to the windows not operating in my vehicle, the battery, and all the tires on my vehicle being dry rotted.  It was not an agreement that was to my satisfaction, but to avoid pursuing the  matter to a court litigation a settlemnt was made.   


Regards,

****** ********-***********








5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I would like to say that, I wish more than one "Nature of you complaint" is able to be choosen. After review all the paperwork of this sale of a used vehicle, I have noticed that mileage was "rolledback" on sales documents as well as advertised paperwork printed of the seller's website. I also have been called derogatory names and told to "F" off. Yesterday's phone call included the terms of "crazy" and "stupid ***** Today's phone call I decided to record and without being able to talk about my problem and him talking over my every word, I stated that I was going to contact consumer affairs/attorney general's office and was then told to "go F myself" and hung up the phone. There simply are too many different areas of bad business to list. Also recently found, on the website, www.cars.com on the reviews for Highline Imports were 4/14 reviews alleging practically the same behavior and activity. There is absolutely no way the BBB should have this "owner", ***** ****, or his company rated anywhere near a A rating. If it were up to me a C-D would be best but deserving an "F" rating would probably make more sense. I am just not a vendictive person even after being sold this car and being talked to in the mannerisms that I have endured without "ever" saying anything profane or derogatory other than talking to consumer affairs, etc....

Desired Settlement: I would like not to have anymore contact with these people and the items fixed on my vehicle to represent the item sold. Also for the seller to stop taking advantage of people by falsifiying information on sales contracts. The only way I feel that an appology would be acceptable is if it was put on his website with the false information provided on the vehicle sold to me.

Business Response: When paying for this car, this customer tendered a check written on a closed account, and has not made good on it despite several promises to do so.  This vindictive customer has refused to resolve this issue, and thus has created a host of unrelated and untrue issues related to this transaction.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
There is no amount that has not been paid in full. As for me not trying to work with said business, on three separate occasions, I tried to call and work out a remedy to these problems. That is when I was called names and told to get lost. But the language used by the business was not that nice. It all contained profanities and racial derogotive condensations. In fact, it was the business man, ***** ****, that I spoke with every occasion and "he" hung up the phone on me after he was done yelling n screaming racial epitaphs. It's now taken two gentleman from a different company to talk sense into ***** and have him agree and admit his faults and verbal/email say 'he would take care of it all'. Any questions or concerns pls feel free to contact me. I do have phone calls recorded. Thank you. 

Regards,

****** *******







4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2003 BMW X5 with 65,000 miles on Feb 22, 2013. Three weeks after having the car and less than 1,000 miles the transmission light appeared, called the dealer and he clearly stated that it was not covered on his warranty that I would be responsible for the repairs. Took the car to an independent repair shop and turns out it is the starter on the car, which to repair was $680.00 with parts and labor. Not only was that wrong with the car, the brake lights didn't work after the 3rd day of having it, had to replace the bulb and the part that the bulb goes into, the rear seatbelt is broken so I cannot latch my son's lap belt into it while in the car seat. While I understand it is a used car, they should be responsible for some of this repair, as they represented it as a great working car...now all I can think about is what is going to go wrong with it next, seriously thinking of just trying to sell it, as I fear there are more things going to go wrong with it.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like some sort of compensation for the replacement of the starter, considering I only had the car 3 weeks, and I am sure there were aware of this issue.

Business Response: For a 10 year old vehicle, the vehicle was in excellent condition when it was at the dealership and was test driven by several potential buyers, staff and did not have any problems.  There were no problems with the car when this buyer test drove and purchased the car.  This buyer was presented with and had the opportunity to purchase extended warranty coverage at additional cost, however declined and was given our free limited engine warranty.  Additionally, the car passed ** State inspection without issue.  


The only time this buyer contacted us was to say the transmission light was on, and she was told that the transmission was not covered under the free limited engine warranty, however she was welcome to bring the car back to our shop for a free diagnosis.  She never mentioned anything about the brake light or the seat belt.

Highline is a full service dealership, including repair shop, and thus will not pay for work done at any outside shops.  Had the buyer brought the vehicle back to Highline, we would have gladly done the work for our actual ou-of-pocket shop cost.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

While I understand that only the inner working parts of the vehicle were covered, we continue to have issues with this vehicle. The other rear break light has gone out and after inspecting the light it seems I need a new assembly because someone had already been in there "fixing" the issue.  Also, the spare tire is a totally different size as I found out sitting on the turnpike with a flat tire...the spare tire was a 225/55/R17 while the tires and rims on the vehicle are 255/55/R18.  I am sure that if this happened to you after buying a vehicle you "thought" was in good working condition for your wife and 2 small children, you too would not be a happy buyer.

I now understand why used car salespeople get a bad reputation....

Regards,

**** *****








Business Response: We are a responsible and reputable dealer.  If you wish us to take care of your brake light and spare tire, please bring the car here for free service.  You can either enjoy a coffee and our lounge while you wait, or simply take a loaner car for local shopping and restaurants.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

After having the flat on the turnpike we had to get another spare for the car, I will be happy to send you the bill for reimbursement, as I am now out over $1,000 since purchasing this vehicle. We also need to know where the title to the vehicle is as we are going to try and sell it, unless you want to buy it back.....  The loan company still hasn't received it.

Regards,

**** *****








Business Response: The vehicle was sold with a BMW spare as you saw the day you purchased the car.  If it was not satisfactory, we would have been happy to swap it with the spare tire from the X5 you traded in with the undisclosed engine issues. Your title was timely processed with *******, and can take up to 90 days for them to complete the title process.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Well, had the car been pulled into the garage we could have looked things over a little better, but they decided not to do that. I am sure we probably wouldn't have noticed the different sizes on the tire anyways, as this is not something you look at when purchasing a vehicle in excellent condition that was just inspected by your mechanic. Oh, and the title we just received back from the state because the paperwork was not filled out properly with our insurance information and it was delayed getting to us because it was sent to our old address.

Regards,

**** *****








3/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Business did not give me the pink slip when I bought used truck and paid in full. Also the pink slip they sent was incorrect and DMV rejected. When my mother called The owner lied to her since I called few days before.

Desired Settlement: I want correct pinnk slip so I can register my turck and drive truck

11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service