BBB Accredited Business since

Highline Imports, LLC

Phone: (610) 250-5600 Fax: (610) 250-8782 805 W Canal St, Easton, PA 18042 http://www.highlineimports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Highline Imports, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Highline Imports, LLC include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Highline Imports, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Highline Imports, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2003 in PA Business started locally: 10/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/01/2010 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter Kern, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Kern, Owner/CEO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 805 W Canal St

    Easton, PA 18042 (610) 250-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hopefully, this won't come across as a rant. I am not mad and am not trying to do anything other than to provide an honest assessment of my transaction with Highline Imports. I am sure they have many very happy customers, but I am not one of them. I reached out to Highline Imports on Oct 24 after seeing a nice looking Audi Avant on ****.com, **********.com and ****. After a nice chat with one of the sales staff, I arranged to have the car inspected by ***** *****. The car recieved a B rating from the inspector because of two things, tires and the interior. He felt the interior looked a little less than an A. Quite frankly, the car presented much better than what he described. I am very happy with the cosmetic apperance of the car. The tires needed replacing as they were down to 4/32". I called the salesman and explained what the inspector had found and asked that he reduce the price. New tires would cost about $800. He thought the would be considerabley less, if I bought from **** ****. Honestly, by the time you pay for shipping and mount and balance, there is no savings. I was offered a set of used tires, mounted and balanced for free or $300 off the price of the car. You don't put used tires on an all wheel drive car. I opted for the $300 discount. I gave them a $500 deposit via credit card and arranged for transport. Dealer prep and the fees associated with the purchase totaled $398. That breaks down to $249 for dealer prep (wash and vacuum), $20 for some sort of tax and $129 for a notary fee. The car was picked up on Nov 8 and arrived Nov 12. Before the car was shipped, I asked the salesman via email about any servicing that was done at Highline and how the serpentine belt looked as it might need replacement. He replied, " oil and filter change was done already as well as all fluids topped. i just went out and checked the serp belt and it is in good shape as well. we can get you a price on a new serp belt or any other audi service you would like before it ships. once we have a pickup date we will detail car again for you as well." I was told by the dealerships document handler that she would overnight the transit tag to me on Monday, Nov 11th. The car arrived the next day, but the overnight package did not. I emailed and asked about the transit tag to which she replied " your plate is on the way. Should be there within the next day or two." I reminded her that she promised me overnight shipping. Her reply " There was no mail Monday so I sent this USPS priority yesterday. Which is a day or two." She ended up mailing it priority, but she never went to the post office. It was picked up by their letter carrier and stamped at the post office the next day (Weds). When the car was delivered, the truck driver started the car, I thought I heard a strange sound from the engine, but was not certain as it was a rather noisey parking lot. So, I drove it less than a quarter mile to my house and parked it. The car has a great cosmetic apperance. I opened the rear of the car to inspect the spare tire and found a ten plus year old looking tire on a 16" rim that didn't match the rest of the rims on he car. It actually looked like one from a wrecking yard as the tire had something marked on it in red paint. I emailed the salesperson and sent pictures of the spare provided with the car. The saleman said he would be happy to send one out, but I'd have to pay $70 for shipping. I told him I would not, I paid a premium price for the car and I expect the correct and proper wheel for the car. Later that day, I received and email from the owner, “ Glad to hear you like the A4. We located the same wheel at our local wheel supplier and mailed it out today. Sorry for the inconvenience.” After that I bantered back in forth with the document gal and told her that the spare tire and transit tag issue affected my buying experience with Highline Imports. Her reply about the spare tire was, " As for the spare tire, the car did not come with one, meaning when we took the car in we did not take the car in with nor did we photograph the car with a spare one however Highline provided a spare for the car as a courtesy. We are sorry it was not the size that the car was made with but we took care of it as a courtesy to Highline and sent you out, yesterday, the size that comes with the car." The transit tag arrived Friday, Nov 15th and I was finally able to legally drive the car. I started the car and heard the dreaded sound of a failing timing chain tensioner. While the car was turning over, I could hear the chain, tack, tack, tack. When the engine caught and fired, there was a very distinctive rattle that lasted about 1-2 seconds. . I emailed the owner about the noise on Nov 18th and informed him I was taking it in to a shop to have it looked at. I got no reply. I took it to a well respected shop and had it looked at. I don't think they let the car set long enough as they weren't able to reproduce the issue. The car needs to sit for a least a full day to allow the oil pressure in the tensioner to seep out. While the car was in the shop they inspected it and found the following was needed; Valve cover gaskets $728.68, rear main seal $2690.63, serpentine belt $515.46 and left upper arm bushing $486.90. I don't mind absorbing some of the costs of repairs. But, I was told by the salesman the serpentine belt looked ok. I sat on the estimate for a couple of weeks and finally emailed the owner of Highline Imports. In my email I said, "I'm attaching a pdf of the repair estimates for some very leaky gaskets and worn bushings. The shop has not completed diagnosing the rattle in the engine at start up, as the car needs to sit for a couple of days to replicate the issue. Quite frankly, I've been much too busy to leave the car with them for a week. If the car does have failing or failed chain tensioners, this could cause catastrophic damage to the engine if not a horrible accident should they let go at highway speed. Since the engine compartment was detailed as part of Highline Imports refurbishment, it would have been impossible to detect such leakage until a few miles had been put on the car. Please review the attached estimate and get back to me." The reply I received from the owner was, "Please refer to the terms and conditions in your applicable warranty documents. " This clearly is not a warranty issue. The car was shipped to me in this condition. I have scarcely put 500 miles on the car in the month I have had it. On Dec 9th, I took the title to the DMV to get the car registered and titled in my name. The title had no notary seal on it. In its place there was stamped verbiage that read, "Verification in leiu of notarization" name of document person" Highline Imports LLC *******". I was charged $129 for notary, but there was no notary seal on any of the documents that I was sent. To say the least, I am deeply disappointed that *** ****, the owner of Highline Imports isn’t stepping up to take some of responsibility for the needed repairs on this car. It needs several thousand dollars in repairs. I paid a premium price for what I though was a premium car. It’s bad business practice to sell cars that need this kind of work. The car was delivered with these issues and thus they should not be a warranty issue. In my email to the owner, I asked for nothing. I gave him an opportunity to step up and he did not. This says a lot about the integrity of the company.

Desired Settlement: I feel I have been sold a car that has some very expensive repairs. These repairs call for the engine to be removed and will cost $3k-$4k. I paid a premium price for what was described to me as an excellent car by the salesman. I am not against absorbing some of the costs of the repairs. Afterall, it's a used car. The owner of the company needs to step up and make some sort of equitable restitution so that I can get the car repaired.

Business Response: This car is a fairly rare 2007 Audi A4 3.2L Avant with 87,865 miles.  The vehicle was checked over by our shop and was found to only need an oil change and valve cover gaskets, which we took care of.  The car was then driven over 100 miles, without any issues at all.  The buyer contacted us with interest in the car, and ordered a professional independent pre-purchase inspection.  The buyer's inspector reported the vehicle to be in excellent condition, only noting tires with low tread remaining.  We offered to replace the tires with a matching set that had greater tread depth.  The buyer declined our replacing the tires, and instead agreed to a $300 discount for the tires indicating he planned on installing new tires once he got the car.  He purchased the car, and declined purchasing a long term extended service contract.  The car was sold with Highline's standard free warranty that covers internal engine components for a duration of 3 months or 3000 miles.

 
The vehicle was shipped, and once the buyer received the car he indicated he was happy with the purchase, however was unhappy with the non-matching spare tire that came with the car when we got it.  We immediately located, purchased, and shipped a matching spare to the buyer.  Within several weeks, the buyers complained that the car needed several maintenance items (including valve cover gaskets which were already replaced) and was seeking reimbursement from Highline.  Given the circumstances of the purchase described above, Highline declined to reimburse the buyer for unnecessary and elective maintenance work on the car.  The customer persisted, and on November 18, 2013 Highline offered to take the car back from the buyer for a full refund.  After not receiving any response, we assumed the buyer decided to move on.  The buyer then disputed his credit card charge for the purchase, which is now an ongoing issue with the bank.
 
In summary, the buyer purchased the vehicle only after he had it professionally inspected, declined returning the car for a full refund, and now after owning the car almost two month seeks reimbursement for MAINTENANCE work that was not needed at the time of sale.  We respectfully decline the buyer's efforts to extort funds related to this purchase.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply comes as no surprise.  I find it sad that the only time I get any sort or response from Highline Imports is only after contacting the BBB.  I got no reply to my email to *** **** sent on 11/18/2013.  I got no reply to a letter I mailed (certified) to the owner of the company dated 12/9/2013.  The I cc'd the BBB, the Chamber of Commerce of ******, PA, The Attorney General's Bureau of Consumer Protection and the State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons.  The only reply I got from *** **** was, as I stated, on 12/10/2013 after sending him a repair estimate.  The estimate included replacing the valve cover gaskets that I am being told were already replaced.  His email on 12/102013 did not mention that the gaskets had been replaced.  Given that the car was detailed, which included cleaning the engine and the engine compartment, there is no way that the leaking gaskets would bee seen by the inspector.  Quite frankly, there is not enough room in that engine compartment to see anything.  The car was not put on a lift for the inspecter to view the undercarriage.  This is not something that they do.


Yes, a spare tire and matching wheel was sent to me for free and I thanked them for that.  This was only after the salesman told me it would cost me $70 to have it shipped out.  That was on a phone call, so I have nothing in writing.

Please provide written proof that I said I was pleased with the car.  I only said it is in good cosmetic condition.  All of my communication with Highline Imports was via email.  I have all email exchanges with Highline.  I would also be happy to contact my email service provider and have them forward any email exchanges between me and Highline Imports.

The car was delivered 11/12/2013.  I did not wait several weeks to complain to Highline Imports about the car.  An email was sent to the owner of the company within days of recieving the vehicle (11/18/2013):

From: ***** ******** <******************>
Date: Mon, Nov 18, 2013 at 6:23 AM
Subject: Re: Balck Avant on ****
To: ***** **** <highlineimports@hotmail.com>

Good Morning, *****.  I hope you had a good weekend.  Friday I got my transit tag and was finally able to drive my new car.  The spare tire arrived and is sitting in the spare tire well of the car.  I appreciate your extra effort to do the right thing for me.  I have been enjoying the car and made a couple of 20+ mile round trips in it over the weekend.

There seems to be an issue with this car upon starting.  Shortly after the engine fires, there is a rather loud rattling sound that comes from the front of the car.  This seems to happen when the car sits for a significant amount of time, say 12+ hours.  When the car was started on the transport truck, I thought I heard something, but wasn't sure as there was some racket in the parking lot where the driver parked his truck.  Friday evening is when I started the car, there was a pretty loud clatter coming from up front.  It did the same thing yesterday and this morning.  There are a few things that it could be:

1) Piston Slap

2) Valve lifters

3) Timing chain

As far as I know, this particular engine has not been reported to have piston slap issues, but can have lifter problems.  I am hoping that if it's a lifter problem, it might be remedied by an engine flush.  I am hoping it is not a timing chain issue as the repair is very expensive.  The timing chain is on the back of the engine and the only way to access it is to pull the engine.  Thirty some-odd hours of labor and several hundred dollars in parts would be needed.

I am going to call a well respected independent Audi shop this morning to get the car in for evaluation.  Hopefully, it's something simple for which I am happy to absorb the cost.  *****, I really like this car and am looking forward to owning it for a very long time.

I will be in touch and let you know what the shop finds.  I hope you have a great day.

 

I reveived no reply to this email from *** ****.  On 11/18/21013, the car was left a reputable German car repair shop.  On 11/20/2013, I picked up the car.  They included an estimate for necessary repairs.  The estimate is date 11/20/2013.  This is not weeks, it is days.  Yes, I had the car inspected and yes, he missed the leaking gaskets and the failed timing chain tensioners.  The tensioners use oil pressure and if the car has been stting for hours, the symptoms will not been seen.  If the car sits for more than a day, the symptoms show.

I recieved no offer to buy the car back by anyone from Highline Imports.  That statement is an absolute fabrication.  No phone call was made to me no letter was sent and no email was sent with such an offer.  It is absolutely shameful that someone from that dealership would say this.  It is untrue.  Please produce the proof that you contacted me regarding this offer.

Whomever wrote the response to my complaint to the BBB it is just shameful that you said an offer to to buy back the car was made.  SHAMEFUL!  I asked for nothing from Highline Imports, only that they step up and do the right thing.  I never asked for a refund, I never asked for full compensation for the repair work.  STEP UP and show some good business ethics, here.

***** ********







Business Response: This was the e-mail sent to the buyer on 11/18/13...the same day he sent his e-mail.  Our responses have been timely and to the point.  This buyer is seeking to reduce the purchase price of this car through these tactics.  We have responded the the Attorney General, and as well as all other parties involved.

 
Hello ***** - The car did not have any issues when it was checked by our shop, nor when I drove it a total of about 100 miles over a 2 day period.  Additionally, your independent inspector confirmed that the car was fine as well.  In the event you wish to return the car, you may do so within the next 7 days for a refund of the $13500 you paid for the car.  Once the car and title is back and confirmed to be in the same condition is was when sent to you, we will issue a check for your refund.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Highline Imports, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)