BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Falls Church Motors

Phone: (703) 205-9500 7700 Lee Highway, Falls Church, VA 22042 http://www.fallschurchmotors.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Falls Church Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Falls Church Motors include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Falls Church Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 05, 2002 Business started: 01/19/1997 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Maher, President Ms. Lisa Baumbach, GM Mr. Naomie Norori, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Baumbach, GM
Principal: Mr. Chris Maher, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cannot pass MD MVA car inspection. Needs a front end alignment (which they said I do not need), front rotors and the tail pipe. I had the emergency brake repair, since they said that it was ok, and it wasn't.

Desired Settlement: Repair the car so it can pass MD/MVA inspection. Not keep giving me the run around and telling me, just fix the problem cause its my car now. Also they said that they never said that it will pass MD, and any proble** are mine not there's. So I had to pay for MVA fees and repairs.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint ID # ******* – ***** ********

 

Dear **. ******,

 

I spoke with **. ******** on the phone about her Maryland state safety inspection.  I explained to her we sell vehicles to customers who live in several states, such as Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Maryland, DC, and so on, and the customers who live in those states are responsible to do their state safety inspections. I asked **. ******** to fax over her failed inspection report. I received it and we went over it together. She stated she would take care of getting the alignment and brakes done.  I was able to get her exhaust/flex pipe repaired in our service department for $75.00.  Which she agreed to paid.

 

 

Sincerely,

**** ********, Business Manager



--
Falls Church Motors Ltd.
7700 Lee Hwy
Falls Church, VA 22042

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well two years ago( March 2011) when I decided to purchase/finace y first car ,I decided to go to Falls Church automotive. I liked the fact that they didn't lok at credit all you needed was the money down for the car you were intrested in. When I found my car and sat down at the table to do the contract with the finance agent she advised me that by sept of 2013 I would be done paying for this car which is a 2004 and its already had 123664 miles on it already. That was a question I had asked how long basically would the terms of the contract be by paying the 350 a month or in my case 175 every two weeks with intrest and all. And that was the reason why I decided to sign the contract because I figured it would be under a two year loan agreement. Now since then they sold my contract to ******** ********* maybe about 6-12 months after I signed with Falls Church and tracker financing. nearly 3 years later I still owe almost nine grand on the car and I have never missed a payment and have always been on time. To me it looks like I still have another four years on this loan they misrepresented the terms of the contract to me and this was my first car the listing price on the car when I purchased it was like 14477.35 but more money added after they added all their fees. They say in the contract I should have made 117 payments to date I have made over 108 payments because some months I would make three payments depending if I get paid three times within the month. I would need to go back two years and find out which months I gave 350 plus 175, which I asked them about that also because I was told the over cost for the cost per month would be 350. So when day they called and said a payment was due I told them I paid the 350 for the month but they gave me a reason that didnt make sense basically i gathered that because I decided to set up a bi-weekly plan thats why I gave them an extra payment for the month. But if you look again it also says after they tack on their high finance charge that I agree to pay a sum of a little over 20,000 for the car that doesn't add up

Desired Settlement: If possible I would like the rest of the payments on the car to be dropped seeing as though I was told by verbally by **. ***** **** that (Sales rep)I was going to be under a two year loan contract when I asked. Not to mention there seems to be inconsistencies in the contract how many payments I should make vs the price they said should be paid for the car. I do not know if I can receive restitution for my car seeing as though the sold my contract to ********* ********* unless they are both affiliated. I hope I can get this issue resolved.

Business Response: August 10, 2013

Better Business Bureau 1411 K St. NW 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005

Re: ******* ******

Dear *** ******,

*** ****** purchased a vehicle from our dealership on March 14, 2011. At the time of purchase *** ****** had the opportunity to review all documents in which she signed. The installment contract which she signed was financed by ******* ******* ***** ******* ******* **** transferred/sold *** ******’s loan to ********* ********* on June 29th, 2011, three months after she purchased the vehicle. ******* ******* **** and ********* ********* have no affiliation. Unfortunately we are not able to answer *** ******’s questions about her balance and payments she has paid, she would need to discuss this with ********* *********. Please let me know if we can be of any further assistance.
Sincerely,

Business Response: August 20th, 2013 Better Business Bureau1411 K St. NW 10th FloorWashington, DC 20005 Re: ******* ****** Dear **. ******, I believe I answered **. ******’s original complaint.  She stated she believes there inconsistencies in the contract. She questioned how many payments she made versus how many payments were owed per her contract.  I explained I am not able to contact ********* ********* to ask about her payments she made or her balance.  There are privacy laws in place; therefore I’m not able to do that. Since it has been a little over two years since we went over her contract with her, I would be more than happy to go over the contract with her again. She may reach me at ###-###-####.  Or if she prefers to discuss with ********* ********* I’m sure they can do that for her and also discuss the current balance and her payment history. They will also be able to tell her how many payments she has made to date out of the 118. Regardless if someone verbally telling her the term of her loan and possibly making a mistake, she still signed and agreed to pay 117 payments of $175.00 bi-weekly and a final payment of $159.83, a total balance including interest of $20,634.83.  Sincerely, **** ********, Business ManagerFalls Church Motors Ltd7700 Lee HwyFalls Church, VA 22042###-###-#### ph###-###-#### faxwww.fallschurchmotors.com 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I  do not accept the answer because even though I had the opportunity to view all the documents as **. ******** claims. Which I never denied but my reasons for denying their response s because they are the start of where I purchased my car.  And it doen't add up it's says I only have to make 118 payments which should almost be complete but yet the balance on the car doesn't add up to how many payments that should be made not to mention what I was told by one of Falls church motors representatives that i should be done with make car note payments by 9/2013. And by this being the purchase of my first car I looked over the paperwork while signing and at that time things seemed in order. As we go one throughout the years and Im looking at my contract and expecting to be done as they stated because I did ask questions while signing I feel as though falls Church motors should claim some liability in this matter.. I have had no problems dealing with  with ********* ********* company the  associates there have been reasonable when I make my payments. It can stand within reason that ********* can be contacted about how I've made payments and they would be the company caught in the middle as being the one's who just took over a contract. The only thing my current finance company can vouch for is how I've made payments but not the initiators of the contract. Understandably Falls Church Motors doe not have the contract anymore but now what about me as the consumer i feel as though I was in a way taken advantage of by Falls Church motors because when your a first time purchaser of a car or  big item you try to have all your ducks in a row but that doesn't always happen. I feel as though Falls church should claim responsibilty for this contract as being the initiators as also I/they should follow up with th people who they sold off my contract to.


Regards,

******* ******








Consumer Response:


Well forgive the opposition but I feel like I was cheated by falls church motors because  it just doesn't add up. Further more but I do not need ********* ********* to go over how many payments I have made to date because I know and I have stated thus and I have proof of what has been paid. That's not in question what was in question was the inconsistencies in the contract not only by the verbal statement of **. **** but what is on the contract I should have made 118 payments I am almost there after two years but yet the balance on the account is still rather high even with me paying on time. And if **. ******** establishment does not want to claim an responsibility it is no need for them to go over the contract with me especially now since they don't have the contract. But this is bad business because instead of initially wanting to discuss the contract in the beginning after this complaint was filed, they claimed no responsibility at all some customer service.  I will ask further questions with ********* ********* I'm sure they will be willing to assist more. 
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******* ******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1