BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eberwein Group LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eberwein Group LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 03/31/2009 in MD Business started locally: 03/31/2009 Business incorporated: 11/25/2008 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matthew G. Eberwein, President Mr. Richard L. Gaertner, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew G. Eberwein, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Richard L. Gaertner, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Merlin Auto Club

Additional Locations

  • 5603 Marlboro Pike

    District Heights, MD 20747 (301) 420-9500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 455-7819 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with the vehicle when purchased and was promised to have them repaired and never complied. Paid car note to Eberwein Group after telling me and according to our contract that I was paying my car note to a finance company and it wasn't true. Therefore, the finance company has paid them for my vehicle and I am just starting paying the finance company after owning the vehicle for two years. Eberwein Group has my title, but the finance company i(****** **********) is having me to pay them. I have receipts of proof of payments of over $5,000 paid toward the vehicle, which price at the time of purchase was $5500. Now I am still paying ****** ********** $285 monthly, but the vehicle was paid to Eberwein Group before getting financing. I was told I had to sign a document or they would take the vehicle immediately. The document didn't itemize any payments rendered or showed any balances due on the vehicle. One day I get a letter in the mail from ****** ********** stating that I owe $9,000 for the same vehicle. I explained and showed proof that I have paid the car off except $500 to Eberwein. The finance company said that they sold the vehicle to them. I paid $800 down on the vehicle and the paperwork sent to ****** ********** stated I put $500 down. I have proof of all payments dealing with purchase.

Desired Settlement: Repairs done as promised and refund of any monies owed after the $500 balance is paid to Eberwein to pay the car off as agreed when it was purchased. To void the contract between myself and ****** **********.

Business Response: Complaint #*******-- Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This customer purchased the vehicle on Oct.28, 2011. She has had problems making her payments on time, and has had the vehicle repossessed at least twice. By Spring of 2013 she had fallen so far behind that there was no way she could catch up, so we offered to re-contract her, giving her credit for the payments she did make, and reducing her monthly payment from $349.00 to $285.00. This new contract was signed on May 22, 2013. I don't understand her complaint, but I contacted her and she will come to our office one day net week to go over everything. I have contacted the customer and she will come in to our office next week to go over everything. Thank you again. ******* ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this ****er to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

    ***** said come and work the ****er out.  When I came in on January 4, 2014, he said I didn't have to involve BBB I could have come to him.  If you had not called BBB and ****** ********** Finance Company  we could have worked something out.  Since you did, you get your own car repairs done and your engine fixed.  Therefore, I am now without transportation and he is telling me that I owe $6,800 and I have receipts showing that I have given him

$6, 700 over 2 years period to *****.
     ***** never had intentions of helping or resolving this ****er waiting for BBB response date to expire.  This is why I am doing this rebuttal because I want some money back to purchase another vehicle.  I have exhausted all my funds to this vehicle and now have nothing.
     I hope this ****er can be resolved expeditiously so I can get back and forth to work.  This ****er has affected my livelihood and health.  I can't do long walking due to chronic asthma and heart condition.  
 
Sincerely,
 
 
******* ** *******


Business Response: JANUARY 22, 2014 RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT #******* Customer “*** *.” has no basis for her complaint. She purchased her car on October 28, 2011. She had a 30-day warranty, which expired on November 28, 2011, over 2 YEARS AGO. We have no responsibility toward her for any repairs her car may require. She still has a balance due on the car, and is past due.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this ****er to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is in regards to the response from ****** **** *****s answer to my first rebuttal that they have no knowledge of owing me any money and repairs.  I have nothing in writing other than ****'s word that he would fix all repairs on the car since purchase and to this day the verbal agreement has not been honored.  Therefore, I feel that I should be compensated for 33% of the $6,900 I've invested in the vehicle.  I don't want the vehicle since he have not honored our verbal agreement to fix repairs.  The engine went out while the car was in their  possession, I feel they are trying to avoid doing the repairs because of that.  Also, to come out of the contract to the finance company that was falsely informed that I just purchased the vehicle at the time of financing and I have had the car for two years paying a car note to ****.

     In summary, the loaner car was attempted to be repossessed without my knowledge, which is another agreement defaulted because I had refused to take the car back with engine problems and with the contract issue.  I have been treated unfairly and taken advantage of this matter.  My resolution to this matter is to close this account without it affecting my credit of any sort and given a portion of the $6,900 to purchase another vehicle to get back and forth to work,  My job consist of transportation and for health reasons I need to drive versus public transportation.  With written documentation as evidence to prove my case, I feel it will show discrepancies and unethical business transactions with this company.
 
 
Regards,

******* *******