BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Chapman Ford of Lancaster

Phone: (717) 299-4331 Fax: (717) 431-2402 5201 Manheim Pike, East Petersburg, PA 17520 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chapmanautogroup.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chapman Ford of Lancaster meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chapman Ford of Lancaster include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1929 Business started locally: 09/01/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Raymond V.J. Garraffa, President Mr. Norm Eshleman, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Raymond V.J. Garraffa, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chapman Auto Group
Industry Tips
BUYING A USED VEHICLE

Additional Locations

  • 5201 Manheim Pike

    East Petersburg, PA 17520

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: Please see attached letter

Business Response:

*** ******* did bring his 1998 Ford Ranger with 77,257 miles for a concern that the check engine light was on.  The technician performed an electronic engine control test. Codes in the sytem are ***** and *****. A lean condition was deteched in both banks. The technician performed the pin point test for the codes and the test does not show  that the lean condition was detected at this time. The customer was informed that the test should be performed when the engine is cold and for no additional cost to him. The reason that the testing should be performed when the engine is cold  so the technician can verify the true cause of failure and unneeded parts are not replaced. The customer was offered to complete all needed testing for the origional cost.

All information was stated to the customer and also documented on the customers invoice copy.

 

Thank you

******* * *******

Service Manager

Chapman Ford

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Please see attached response.


Regards,

******* ********








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to get the annual state inspection, emissions and an oil change. I was informed that in order for the car to pass inspection, it needed a tag bulb and the headlights were oxidized which prevented the light from being emitted. I requested to have the measurements of how much light was being emitted in writing numerous times, to which we never received. I was however shown a copy of a page of the state inspection regulations codebook, which showed that this was part of the points inspection. I was to receive a copy of this but never did. The service adviser kept saying that he was going by what the technection told him and that he trusted his judgment. Our concern comes from the dealership being unable to prove or being unwilling to prove that the headlights were defective.

Desired Settlement: Would like the dealership to refund the money for a repair that they could not or were unwilling to prove that this repair was indeed needed for the vehicle to pass inspection.

Business Response:

**** ***** did bring her 2006 Ford Fusion in for ************ State inpection on February 23, 2013. The licenced technician performed the ** state inspection on that date. The vehicle failed for two issues. One of these issues was for the tag light bulb and the other was that both front head lights where extremely oxidized. The certified licensed technician of 19 years and also a Ford Senior Master technician failed the vehicle for these reasons. Chapman Ford offered the customer the cheapest repair to see if we could save the customers head lights. The customer agreed to have the dealership/technician perform a reconditioning to the head lights. The technician performed the the recondioning and at that time the vehicle's head lights were able to pass PA state inspection and a ** state inspection sticker was issued. **** ***** stated that she was extremely happy with the results of the reconditioning of the head lights and also stated that her husband was going to perform the reconditioning himself, but never got around to it. The customer was billed for the reconditioning in the amount of $131.30. The alternative option would have been to replace the head lights which would have come to a total of $462.47. Chapman Ford felt that we provided the customer with a reasonable and cost-effective repair and the customer was satisfied with the outcome of the repair.

Regards,

******* *******

Service Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:My wife and I both asked that Chapman prove in writing that the lights were not bright enough to pass inspection, the service adviser said he would include this information on our bill, he did not do so. We agreed to have the service done because they would provide the proof that the lights were too dim.  Chapman failed to do this verballly or in writing. According to the ** Department of Transportation low beam head lights must measure a minimum of 7500 candle power, and high beams must measure a minimum of 10000 candle power, to pass state inspection. When my wife  asked the service adviser what the headlights on our car measured and how they had come to the determination that that they were not bright enough he replied he did not know and that he trusted his technician's judgment, he then said he would speak to the technician and have a measurement put in writing on our bill.  I also called and spoke to the service adviser asking how they knew that the lights were not bright enough, his response was the same as that given to my wife, that he trusted his technicians judgment. I also insisted that a measurement be put on our bill to prove that the lights were not bright enough to pass inspection, the advisor said he would tallk to his technician and have said measurement in writing put on the bill. At no time was a measurement given to us eighter verbly or in writeing as requested.   We paid for a service that we were told was needed to pass inspection, but were not given the proof that said service was needed even after askeing several times for it in writing. At no time did my wife state that she was "  extremely happy " with the reconditioning. According to my wife she said they looked fine and just wanted to get out of there because she felt like she had been taken advantage of, and felt unappreciated as a customer because of our several requests for writen measurement of the brightness of the headlights was not provided.Below you will find a link to the PENDOT website with the listing of headlight brightness requirements. 

***********************************************************

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: See attached.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1