BBB Accredited Business since

C & G Imports, Inc

Phone: (703) 525-7441 Fax: (703) 525-7623 936 N Kenmore St, Arlington, VA 22201 http://www.sudealeramigo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C & G Imports, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & G Imports, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C & G Imports, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2000 Business started: 04/19/1989 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is Active.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gavin D Marks, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gavin D Marks, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 936 N Kenmore St

    Arlington, VA 22201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Notice of disagreement/ complaint of collection practices at C& G Imports Although I have resolved this problem/issue as of 2/22/13, I am required as a consumer of C & G Imports, to inform of its unethical and abusive collection practices. I will be brief, and limit details. After purchasing my vehicle from C& G Imports using your C&G imports in-house loan system a payment was missed after a year of faithfully abiding by my contractual obligations of $200 biweekly payments for my 2008 Nissan Altima. What ensued was nothing short of unprofessional, language biased behavior and extreme inaccuracy. My payment of $200 was missed on one occasion which I attempted to set up payment arrangement or pay full amount within a 60 day period. But to my dismay I was consistently transferred to multiple people whom did not seem to comprehend or understand English which is my preferred language and what I used when purchasing this vehicle, including all paperwork/contracts (I am a proud Spanish speaker as well, but my preference and lifestyle have dictated my preference for English). Within the 60 days it took me to pay the missed payment, including the $10 late charge for every 2 weeks, I was mailed over 8 Spanish letters (after requesting all communication be sent in English), threatening the repossession of the vehicle I was still paying for. Within the 60 days I also received over 10 voice mails and 20 missed calls, (I am not exaggerating as I have record of this). I spoke to about 5-6 different “customer service/collection agents” whom never notated conversations when had. As I was informed by multiple agents at C & G Imports department there is a section within your financial software where notes are taken to describe conversation with the consumer. NONE OF THIS WAS DONE, OR IF IT HAD BEEN DONE IT WAS BLATANTLY INACCURATE. I am not pointing fingers at a specific person as it seems it is multiple people in this office. The disorganization is what led me to recap the inaccuracies and unprofessional-ism with the select few I had the misfortune of dealing with. I am requesting C & G Imports collections/costumer service be informed of this incident and perhaps provide better business/change abusive and inaccurate practices for collections or any communication held with consumers.

Desired Settlement: First abide by language preference, especially when requested multiple times. Maintain that all telephone conversation that are relevant to consumer accounts are accurately detailed by the agent-/initials & times stamped. Possibly adjust threatening letters of repossession when payments are being paid towards loan, in other words inform the consumer their credit will be hurt.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******:

 I am responding to the complaint of ********* ******, ID *******, on behalf of * * * ********** ***., the company to whom *** ****** is likely referring.  *** ****** inadvertently submitted her complaint against C & G Imports, Inc. Kindly have the record of her complaint removed against C & G Imports, Inc.

 In responding to her complaint, I must initially state that we always try our best to assist our customers and appreciate comments about how we can improve our service. *** ****** should feel free to contact me directly if she has other suggestions. Nevertheless, I will respond to her complaint in this forum.

 As *** ****** stated, she missed a payment on her car loan. She stated she attempted to set up a payment arrangement for the missed payment and was upset because the company sent her notices about the missed payments and attempted to contact her numerous times about these missed payments. We would like *** ****** to know that the written notifications are made pursuant to laws dictating what we must do to inform her of what could happen as a result of a default. These notices are form letters. They are not modified for each customer based on their prior history of making either timely or untimely payments. *** ****** happened to be a person who had an excellent payment history with us. Thus, I can understand why she would think the notice is harsh. However, the law states that we have to inform customers of the consequences of a default even thought we usually work out terms with customers to put them back on schedule. We will, nevertheless, take her comment under consideration.

Additionally, sometimes there is a time delay between when we agree to a new payment schedule and when a customer receives a notice. Because notices are computer generated, put in an envelope and then mailed, it is possible that she received a notice from us after she called and made an arrangement to pay. If she called on a day after a notice was prepared to be sent out, she would still receive the notice possibly days later even though we had agreed to accept a late or partial payment. One again, we will look into her suggestion to see how we can improve this process.  

We contacted her by phone as a courtesy to determine if she was willing to cure her default, and likely because we had not timely received payment. While *** ****** stated that we do not keep records of phone call conversations with customers, I can assure her that we do keep records of phone conversations and other correspondence. As she may be aware, when you do not pay your car loan, most companies promptly repossess the vehicle. We, however, try to work out arrangements with people so they can keep their car, because we know many people use their cars to go to work or for family purposes. Many times this involves making every attempt to speak with a customer personally. Our goal is to provide the best service to our customers and be as accommodative as possible.

Regarding the use of the Spanish language versus the English language, we do our best to accommodate language preferences. Employees are bilingual and will speak the language of the customer’s preference. If *** ****** requested to speak in English, our employees would speak to her in English. We do write our notices in Spanish as well as English as an effort to accommodate many of our customers who prefer Spanish. In this case it appears that we understood that *** ****** was bilingual which comports with her statement in the complaint. Nevertheless, we will look into her suggestion about sending English language letters to bilingual (Spanish/English) customers.

In conclusion, it is respectfully suggested that the complaint made by *** ****** does not rise to the level of being a complaint about business practices which necessitates the involvement of the BBB. As such, there should be no record of a valid complaint being made against us. If ** ****** has any issues in the future, she is welcome to speak with me directly.

 Respectfully,

 

***** *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and would like to thank the CEO/President for being proactive and available to pursue an amazing resolution. I would like to continue business with C&G and feel he has taken value away from my comments and suggestions. I would like to have my complaint removed as this company has made me my opinion valuable and valid. I thank their president and look forward to continuing a good business:consumer relationship.

Regards,

********* ******
Sr. Account Manager/Staffing Coordinator
****************** ************