BBB Accredited Business since

Young VW, Inc.

Phone: (610) 991-9100 Fax: (610) 991-9107 191 Commerce Park Dr, Easton, PA 18045 http://www.youngcars.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Young VW, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Young VW, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Young VW, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1976 Business started: 04/01/1955 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Drive Clean Pennsylvania
Riverfront Office Center, 1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/default.htm
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us
The number is Station#7325.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Young, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Young, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Young Dodge Young Mazda Young Volkswagen, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 191 Commerce Park Dr

    Easton, PA 18045

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/12/2014 My wife and I went to YOUNG VW. I was looking fro a 2012 VW ***** sport wagon. The salesman informed us that he did not have one but he had the standard *****. not what I wanted but we went for a drive. I was not totally sold but the salesman would give me $3800 for my trade in. He ALSO EXPLAINED THE COMPANY RETURN POLLICY's. 30 day return for =value on the lot and This was the big sale 14 days return to void the sail. THIS WAS EXPLAINED TO MY WIFE AND I as we sat across the table from him. I am a pilot so am away fro days at a time and as I was going on a 4 day trip the next day, this was the comfort point. I returned from my trip not liking the car. I called to salesman to tell him and find out if they had received any sport wagons over the weekend. No, so I would like to return the car. They then informed me that it was a 48 Hour return policy. I spoke to the used car sales manager."you signed the paperwork, you bought the car, you should have read the fine print ". But the sales man explained the "fine Print". The sales man the called back to tell me they had a 2013 sport wagon on the lot they would give me $1000 less for the car(new *****) and I would have to come up with an extra $7000. I then went to the sales manager for the company. I explained and asked for Keep both cars give mw $1500 for my trade in and we both walk away not happy but not totally sold down the river. It was explained to me they had expenses that needed covering, =only $1500 for the trade in. I was told no. If I wanted to walk away I would walk away with nothing they would keep both cars. I was the told they could try and fine me a ***** Sport wagon(previously they could not). OK 2012 not black or red about 30K miles and about 20 K $. They came up with an 2011 and black!!!! At this point I realized I was going to get nowhere with them at all. I dropped both cars off and walked away with nothing. Loosing my trade in($3800). How is it possible that they are able to return a car in 2 days but not in 5 !!?? I feel totally lied to and cheated.

Desired Settlement: I think its only fair I should get at least $1500 for the trade in.

Business Response:

26 March 2014

 

 The Better Business Bureau

    

     Re: ID *******

 

 

     Dear ******* *********  ,

 

    I am responding to **. ******* ***** complaint about a 2012 VW ***** *** purchased from us. **. ***** has stated he was not sold on the vehicle he purchased but we were giving him $3800 for his vehicle. That statement is correct, we would give him $3800 for his trade against any vehicle he would want to buy, new, used, sedan or wagon. Never was it stated to **. ***** that he had 14 days to return the vehicle. Our “Risk Free” policy is clearly marked on all vehicles and is advertised on our website. Our risk free policy is presented in writing to every customer and is signed by the customer at time of delivery. **. Allan did sign our risk free disclaimer at time of delivery. He purchased and took delivery on 2-12-14 and he contacted us to discuss return the vehicle on 2-17-14. We explained to **. ***** that after 48 hours we report the transaction, to the state and submit the tax, and to the manufacturer to start the warranty on the vehicle. We had also put his trade in through our service department and had spent money on repairs and services. We could not just unwind this transaction. For these reasons our return policy is 48 hours.

    **. Allan asked us to find him a ***** Wagon *** (diesel) model, however he wanted it for less than the selling price of the sedan he just bought. We tried to find his requested vehicle but had no luck in finding it. The price he wanted it for, $20,000.00, made it very difficult. After a few more days **. ***** contacted us stating that he would be happy if you would just by his vehicle back. On 3-15-14 we purchased the vehicle back from him, paying off the loan for a total of $ 20,136.53. We were not obligated in any way to buy this vehicle back but we did. We honored his request to buy the vehicle back, but now that again has had a change of mind, we must respectfully deny his request for $1500.

Very truly yours,

**** *****

Pre-owned Sales Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They are not telling the entire story. While I admit I did not read all the paperwork, both my wife and I were sitting across the desk from the salesman as he explained the paperwork. There is no chance that both of us heard and understood 14days as a posed to 48 hours! At first I was told by the salesman they could not find me the car I wanted(2nd false statement) The sales manager told me later they could. I was told I would get my investment back on any car on the lot(3rd questionable statement) Salesman told me they would give me $19 back if I bought a 2013 model and spent about $5000 more! Sales manager informed me the "investment back was only on the used car lot! Yes I did ask the sales manager to look for a car. 2012 ***** wagon, diesel, not black, red or pink, in the 30 0000 miles range for $20 000 range(about 35000miles goes for about $22 000) with in about 100 miles there were about 6 advertised by both VW and non VW dealers. (I bought one from a dealer not 10 miles from Young a few days later)

The sales manager called about a week later with a Black 2011!!!! 
Finally I do understand they had expenses, As did I and I thought my offer of keep both cars  but give me $1500 so I had something was a very fair offer. 
I was not out to steal from Young. I have been a Young customer for many years. If I was given anything I would have remained a loyal  Young customer.


Regards,

******* *****








Business Response:

April 18, 2014

 

*** ****** *********

The Better Business Bureau

Re:  Complaint ID *******

 

Dear **. *********,

 

 

We sincerely regret that there is an apparent misunderstanding with **. ** regarding our Money Back Guarantee period.  We believe that we have provided more than ample disclosure of our 48 hour period in order to avoid this type of misunderstanding.  Let me explain.  Our 48 Hour Money Back Guarantee is prominently displayed on our web site, as well as on the window label of every applicable pre-owned vehicle.  By way of process, during vehicle delivery a printed customer copy of it is read aloud and provided to our customer by our sales consultant, who then presents an acknowledgement copy of it to the customer for his signature.  In this particular transaction, our sales consultant emphatically denies having stated that our money back guarantee period is 14 days as **. ** has stated.  For our sales consultant to make such a statement would have been an immediately, obvious contradiction with our provided written policy and that would defy logic.  Our sales consultant has been on our staff following our sales process for over 30 months without such a claim and he has maintained a high level of customer satisfaction throughout his employment.    Indeed, both **. ** and ***. **, have signed the acknowledgement copy and **. ** has stated in his recent message “…I admit I did not read all the paperwork…”  Thus, we have no reason to disbelieve our sales consultant, but rather we do believe that **. ** is mistaken.  A scanned copy of the signed acknowledgement is attached herein for your review.

 

As you know from the continuing statements made by **. **, he no longer wanted his 2012 ***** *** (turbo diesel) Sedan and subsequently desired a 2012 certified pre-owned ***** *** Sport Wagen.  We agree with his statement:  “I was told I would get my investment back on any car on the lot.”  Our offer of an exchange within 30 days of purchase is limited to our current available inventory but we did not have a pre-owned ***** Sport Wagen on our lot in any configuration.  Thus we offered to try to locate a vehicle for **. ** that matched his specifications.  We wanted to make him happy if that were possible.

 

Both, our general sales manager, and I, spent several days searching the top three online dealer communities to find a matching vehicle of **. **’s specifications from a dealer willing to sell to another dealer, but we were not successful within **. **’s allotted time.  To be clear, we did find ***** Sport Wagens available but none of them matched **. **’s specified colors, equipment and/or price limit. Please note that our offer to buy a vehicle for **. ** did not include our purchase at an unlimited price.  Also please note that some dealers are not inclined to sell highly desirable vehicles to other dealers.  Additionally, please add to **. **’s statement that our alternative offer of  “…a 2013 model and spend about $5000 more!” was not for a pre-owned vehicle, but rather was for a brand new vehicle and a model year newer than his, which makes his statement more accurate and understandable. 

 

For comparison purposes, the price of a new ***** *** Sport Wagen is nearly $3000 higher than the price of a comparably equipped new ***** *** Sedan.  Keeping that $3000 higher price in mind and comparing it to **. **’s price limit of $20,000 for a Sport Wagen, which is actually $732 LESS than the Sedan model he purchased, we must conclude that **. **’s expectation was not realistic.  For additional comparison purposes, it is also important to consider that the cost and value of a Volkswagen Certified Pre-owned vehicle, such as we offer, is several hundred dollars more than a non-factory CPO vehicle.

 

Nonetheless, the most significant detail in this matter is that **. ** presented us with a financial offer to settle this matter and for the sole reason of making him happy, we accepted it.  In our opinion, because he  again had another change of mind after the matter was already settled to his satisfaction, does not provide a valid reason to warrant an additional financial adjustment.  Thank you for allowing us to provide this additional information.  Should you have any further questions or need any additional information, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

 

 

Very truly yours,

**** Young

Pre-owned Sales Manager