BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Springfield Toyota Inc.

Phone: (703) 451-0300 View Additional Phone Numbers 6570 Amherst Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150 http://www.kjtoyota.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Springfield Toyota Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Springfield Toyota Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 19, 1992 Business started: 01/19/1969
Business Management
Mr. Michael Jennings, President Mr. Geoff Bennett, Parts & Service Director Mr. Andrew Cizek, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Geoff Bennett, Parts & Service Director
Principal: Mr. Michael Jennings, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Jennings Motor Co.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 451-5389 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently traded my 2008 Ford Escape in to this dealership on July 31, 2013. I still owed money on the vehicle and at that time the payoff was 7.058.00. I was given 5,000 for my car leaving 2,000 to be added to the loan of my new vehicle. *** ******* (not sure of his last name spelling) the finance manager was the one who did my paper work that day. Before leaving the dealership I asked him, "is there anything I need to do regarding my payoff for the trade in" and his response was "no , I will take care of it" . I had traded other vehicles before without any problems, so I left that day feeling good about the deal. On August 27th I received my first call from ***** ***** auto collections stating my account was 18 days over due! I was so upset and explained to them I had traded in the vehicle. They advised me to be in contact with the dealership. That day after the call, I promptly went to the dealership where I spoke with *** about the situation. At that time he seemed surprised and checked my account which showed my deal had been funded, but there was no "code" in the system showing my trade in had been paid off and he did not know why. ****** *****, in tags and titles, was the one he said handled this and told me to return the next day. The next morning I went to the dealership where they had a copy of the supposed check they had sent with a date of 8/8/2013. I took the check straight to the nearest ***** ***** and used a personal banker to call the auto division to see what was wrong. After some investigation, it was found that the dealership had sent my payoff to the dealer payoff division instead of the auto payoff division. The banker and wrote down the step by step directions of how to correct this error immediately and from there I returned with the new information from the bank. I spoke with Sherry. The directions from the bank included this instructions to overnight the new check with the new payoff amount (it had increased) to the provided address, ATTN: payoff processing, and to overnight the check so that it would read the new correct destination on Thursday and have time to post to my account, given that the following Monday would be Labor Day and may cause some delay. This was at 12 noon on Wednesday. On Friday, I called ***** ***** auto to again check the status of my loan and was again directed to collections. They told me they had not received a check. On Saturday my husband and I returned to the dealership demanding answers. We spoke to *** again and he assured us, "this matter will be handled and will not go past September 6". He even called ****** while we were sitting there to confirm she had sent the check via FedEx. Monday was the Labor Day holiday. On Tuesday am, I called ****** and she told me the check delivered Friday so payoff should have it. I asked for the FedEx tracking Number and she provided it. When I tracked the check, it was actually delivered to FedEx for shipment Friday afternoon after 6 pm and was not even delivered to payoff until Tuesday am at 9. ****** had lied. Or not told the truth in its entirety. To make matters worse, at the corner of ***** ** and *******, there is a FedEx office, 5 minutes walking distance from the dealership. So from August 28th when I first began doing the "leg work" myself to figure out what happened, the new check did not get sent out for delivery until August 30th late. Why??? So starting Tuesday through Friday of the following week I have called once a day to check on the status of my payoff and it has yet to be received. My account is only 27 days overdue and tonight I will pay the late fee of $350 to avoid any credit issues. The payoff has nOw changed once again. I want the dealership to be accountable for what they have done to me. I am an honest, hard working individual who pays her bills on time, works full time, and supports a family and I did not deserve what has happened to me. Selling, buying, and trading cars is suppose to be this dealerships specialty. But why did the check go to the wrong address? Why did the new check take two days to be sent out when I was told it would be sent out the same day? And why when I track the check does it say , shipped preference: new cars, when it is supposed to be going to payoff processing?

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to pay off my trade in in its complete entirety and I want to be compensated financially for the money I have to spend to keep my account from going into default and ruining my credit

Business Response: **. ******, In response to ***. *******’s complaint, Springfield Toyota has done what is fair for customer.  Upon finding out that she had incurred late fees with the unpaid loan, we immediately cut her a check for $324.89 for reimbursement of her late fees.  The original payoff check for her loan was sent of July 31, 2013 but sent to the wrong ***** ***** branch.  ***** ***** could not reroute the check to the correct branch so we had to do a stop payment and reissue a new payoff check which was sent on Aug. 8.  Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns. ******* ******General Sales ManagerSpringfield Toyota###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Toyota Maintenace agreement from a different dealership. We were told that we are able to take our truck to any Toyota dealership even though we purchased a used Ford Expedition. First time, they did maintenace my truck b/c it was already dropped off. The second time they cancelled my appointment stating that Sprinfield Toyota only service Toyotas. I explained to them that I called the Toyota Maintenance department and was told I can take it to ANY Toyota but they would not service my truck. Now, I will no longer buy or take my own Toyota to this dealership because of bad customer service.

Desired Settlement: All Toyota dealerships should accept anything that is honored through a Toyota Maintenance agreement.

Business Response:

**** **** ******** &  B.B.B

  I apologize for any confusion on the service contract you have purchased through Toyota Auto Care.

We are unable to honor contract sold for the Ford Excursion by your selling dealer.

It is of our opinion that it never should have been sold to you being that This vehicle is not a Toyota product.

  The service we provided you was done as a onetime goodwill gesture on our behalf because we were unaware at time of appt set that it was a Ford.

We had the original appointment set under your AVALON profile.

  The Finance Department at the Selling Dealer should be dealing with this issue for you.

It is of our opinion that this product should not be sold to Non-Toyota vehicles.

I hope if you ever need any assistance on your Avalon you reach out to us and allow us to service it. We are here to work on Toyota's all day long.

                          

  I have attached a "FLASH NOTE" to your profile to make sure we go the extra mile, should you require any service on your AVALON.

Thanks Again, Have a Great Day! 

****** *****

Service Manager

Kay Jennings Springfield Toyota

****** **** ************

*******************

  <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"><v:shape o:spid="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" alt="cid:E2DBC3C080161146B1CCF6ADF898BA03@toyota.com" style="height: 37.5pt; visibility: visible; width: 107.25pt;" id="Picture_x0020_1">

 Thank you again for choosing Springfield Toyota!

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have called Toyota Customer Agreement center directly, they as well as the selling dealership tell me to take it to any Toyota dealership. So, it's just terrible to say to a customer that one Toyota dealer will  service the Ford and not another. All Toyota dealerships should provide the same services.

I will make sure not to do business again with Springfield Toyota to avoid further issues with any of my vechicles.


Regards,

**** ********








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I, have to give You a little background on My complaint. In 2000 Toyota Motor Corportion recieved some frames for the 2000 thru 2003 Toyotas Tundras and Tacoma models from **** ***** that were not rust proofed. Totota sued **** for these defective frames and won a $25 million dollars settlement. After numerous frame failures, due to rust Toyota issued a safety recall of these vehicles on November 24, 2009.(Note:there is no mileage or age limits on structural recalls) This recall was extended in May of 2010 and Toyota sent out letters to Dealers to include the Whole frame, at that time. The recall expired December 31, 2012. I've been taking My Vehicle to Springfield Toyota since I moved out here from ******** in 2003. I bought My truck to Springfield Toyota on 16 Febuary 2010 to have the starter and timing belt replaced along with regular maintanence items totaling over $3,000 dollars after all this work Springfield Toyota never mentioned anything to Me about the recall or suggest to Me that i get My frame rustproofed, They never hesitate when there is something that needs to be done like brakes, power steering flush,brake flush etc. On Feburary 14, 2013 I took My Toyota Tundra in for the annual ******** state safety inspection and to have the check engine light checked, which turned out to be the coil pack needing replaced, after having the coil pack replaced. Springfield Toyota called Me and informed that I also need My brake pads and rotors replaced and that the emergency brake cable had seized up due to rust and would need to be replaced also, all of these repairs came to over $2,000 dollars, when I came to pick My vehicle up, Springfield Toyota then told Me that My vehicle did not pass the safety inspection,due to a rust hole in the frame. The service Manager then told Me that they did not do bodywork there and proceeded to give Me information on a Body Shop that they use, ********* ********* in ******* ********. He told Me that they could fix My frame. I took My truck over to ********* ********* on Feburary 15 and was told that they could cut the frame and weld in a plate over the hole but that it probably wouldn't pass inspection because You aren't supposed to cut a frame...I feel that Springfield Toyota has not been honest with Me from the time that they knew about the recall on this vehicle, as they neglected to tell Me anything about the recall or advise Me to get this vehicle undercoated prior to finding the hole in the frame this past Feburary. Also prior to completing over $2000 dollars worth of work they should of informed me of the hole in the frame, that way I could of made an informed decision on getting that work done or just cutting My losses and using the $2,000 dollars as a down payment on another vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Springfield Toyota should refund the money for the repair bill or offer me a good deal on a replacement vehicle...I would of never had all that work done if They had told Me that My truck would not pass inspection after all was done...Now I am out of over $2,000 dollars and I have no vehicle....This whole situation could of be avoided if Springfield Toyota had been honest with Me in the first place.

Business Response: To whom it may concern: Complaint ID= *******  ( as listed above, under this vehicle profile will be listed as  "customer"  from here on out )…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………Customer had made a service visit to dealer on:date=05.07.10repair order =758178miles= 164215 miles Customer requested alignment special, and had DEALER FOUND :( 2  ) open inspections for frame rust concern.at this appointment, Toyota did not have a treatment available for frame rust, it was only an inspection of thespecific frame area in question. This service was performed and vehicle passed the preliminary inspection at that visit.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Next repair visitdated= 03.28.11308nrepair order=793062miles 172416 Customer had come in for a Synthetic oil change.Check engine light concern= result found was faulty 02 sensor in exhaust  replacement of two 02 sensors ref tsb pr004-12.     ( Customer approved and paid for repairs.) (tech noted Park brake anchors seized and driver master control panel needed replacement, services declined)………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Last repair visit ( to date ) with Springfield Toyota.dated=02.11.13repair order= 863763miles=186594 Customer had come in for "check engine light on" found faulty ignition coil cyl #8.     (Customer approved replacement of coil, service completed.)Customer also requested ******** Safety Inspection ( SEE FINDINGS BELOW )WAS ADVISED UP FRONT HOLE IN FRAME, WE WERE UNABLE TO REPAIR. Would need to go to  BODY SHOP TO REPAIR.We directed customer to *** * ********* ********* in ****** **.  for repairs ) Customer advised of the following recommendations also needed to pass ******** inspection and approved and requested performed.Sway Bar link pins and bushings broken ( steering/suspension issue, fails )  approved repair, service performed and completed this repair order.Front Brake Pads and Machine front rotors ( Brakes fail safety inspection )  approved repair, service performed and completed this repair order.Rear Brake Anchors and Rear Brake shoes and Machine rear drums ( Brakes failed safety inspection, low linings, park brake stuck, unable to replace) service performed and completed this repair order. (1. )   Customer would have received several notices about Frame inspection and treatment and or replacement from Toyota Motor Sales. (2.)   We have the Audio file ( recorded conversation of us telling customer up front that frame will not pass inspection, he stated he would take it up with body shop and address on his own.)           This was clear to him before any *** Safety Inspection repairs were performed at Springfield Toyota.   (3.)  Customer ( also recorded in Audio file ) Admitted he knew he had a frame recall that expired on 12.31.12 and did not come in and have performed before the expiration date.         While we attempt to provide the best customer service. The basic rule is this, we can't fix a vehicle that is not here. When we do not perform a certain repair, we do not quote it.          EXAMPLE FRAME WELD QUOTE. (4.) When there is a time limit on a Safety Recall or Service Campaign it's called a  Limited Service Campaign ( LSC ) and it exceeds that limit we are unable to assist.        Service Manager has spoken to customer on three occasions on this specific aspect of his concern. (5.) We have only performed what customer has requested to be done, and given the customer the best information we have related to repairs. Customer at last phone call stated he did        not have 2,000.00 to perform frame repair. (6.) While we understand the financial burden the customer is faced with, the information he has provided to you in whole as related to the above is not the complete truth. Furthermore        from our interpretation of the ******** Safety inspection Manual ( PAGE 30 SECTION 19VAC30-70-102. Frame, engine mounts ,coupling devise and emergency chains.        We find there is no rule about a repair to a frame. After speaking to an ICAR approved and training center for body/frame repairs a frame repair a safe and not uncommon practice.      ****** *****Service ManagerKay Jennings Springfield Toyotadirect line *******************************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: There is alot of false statements in it...I was never tolded by the Dealer or Toyota about a problem with rusting frames. I received a Recall notice only for a problem with rust for the Fuel Tank Straps and the Spare Tire Carrier last year which I have an appoinment with another dealer to get repaired later this month. I learned about the frames supplied by **** **** to Toyota being defective through the internet. The Dealer never told Me that there was a problem back in 2010...I also realize now that alot of the problems that I've had with this vehicle was caused by rust, ie sway bar links breaking, park brake frozen up, steering/suspension problems, I feel that if the Dealer and Toyota had been up front with Me when they first bacame aware of the defective frames most of these problems could of been prevented...I just feel like this dealer and Toyota knew that there was a rust problem with with these particular vehicles and just made a business decision to not initiate a recall of all the vehicle that were affected.


Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:  

I,  ( The Service Manager ***) reviewed verbally in the service lane at point of pick up with the customer the expired Limited Service Campaign.

Customer would of received 2 to 3 mailings or MORE from Toyota about Limited Service Campaign.

The other concerns the customer has on the vehicle , that he attributes to rust are non-related items to Limited Service Campaign. The LSC is very specific about areas that are to be inspected.

 The vehicle is listed in our system with 186594 miles on it, The factory warranty against rust or perforation is 60 months or 60,000 miles. Vehicle far exceeds this.

 The repairs related to rusted parts for a truck in service are not uncommon by any means. We were nothing less than up front with customer on all aspects of repairs.

again, I have the audio file to prove this to whatever party would care to listen to it. Customer approved repairs and we performed repairs.

We would have been more than happy to have replaced his frame if he had come in as notice indicated.

 Before any repairs were addressed other than check engine light, once the **. Safety inspection was performed customer was given a complete list of what it

would need to pass, and we even reiterated the fact the frame would not pass and it would need to go to a body shop. ( again all on audio file )

Please come listen to it!  We have nothing to hide and everything to prove. Customer has changed his mind about decisions he has made. We feel we gave him the

right information to make an informed decision and if he did so haste fully that should not come at our expense, or any participation there in.   

 

I would ask that the BBB finds this reply to their satisfaction so we can put a close to this once and for all. I have all this on audio file and will not spend much more time to address

an issue when we have the proof that we disclosed to customer 100% our findings and what he would need to do to pass ******** Safety Inspection. 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I just want it to be known that I never recieved any LSC letters from Toyota or anyone...I recieved one recall letter for rusty fuel tank straps and the spare tire carrier cross members...I am tired of dealing with Toyota and this Dealer...I will tell all my friends and the people that I work with in the Military of My experience with toyota...I will never buy another Toyota vehicle, I will go ahead and buy the **** **** like I should of done in the first place.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1