BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sport Chevrolet Co, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sport Chevrolet Co, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sport Chevrolet Co, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1974 Business started: 01/19/1950
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Fogarty, President Ms. Pam Bonfrone, Accounts Manager Mr. Garry Bowring, Controller Mr. Robert McBride, Parts Service Manager Mr. Gerry Ryan, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Fogarty, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Services Auto Smog Inspection Auto Alarms & Security Systems Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Customizing

Alternate Business Names
Sport Honda Sport Jeep Honda Sports Chevrolet
Additional Information

This report covers Bureau experience with the three company locations in this area.


Additional Locations

  • 3101 Automobile Blvd

    Silver Spring, MD 20904

  • 3201 Automobile Blvd

    Silver Spring, MD 20904

  • 3271 Automobile Blvd

    Silver Spring, MD 20904

  • 5310 Minnick Rd

    Laurel, MD 20707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two major concerns: First, I came to Sport Chevrolet with a pre approved amount to pay for the vehicle. I specifically asked for them to not run my credit. They asked for my social just for security purposes and I was told they will not run my credit. When I got back to the finance office a copy of score was given to the finance manager. Completely unacceptable. I was lied to. Secondly, three days after purchasing the vehicle the whole entire navigation and audio system will not work anymore. I have brought the vehicle to another dealer to have it looked at. I understand it is a used car but I'm concerned that this issue was known prior to selling the vehicle. The car is only 3 years old with 30,000 miles. Based on these two factors I can not recommend sport Chevrolet to anyone and will not be a future customer. My credit is score is an A+ and I was told it would not be ran and either there was a lack of communication or just a blatant disregard to me as a customer.

Desired Settlement: I want my story to be known to Sport Chevrolet management and ownership. I feel as if this will be the only way to tell someone. I don't know a possible outcome that is acceptable but I will allow sport Chevrolet to determine that.

Business Response:

*** ****** *******,

I am writing to respond to the complaint issued by *** *****. My General Sales Manager at Sport Chevrolet, Gerry R***, spoke to *** ***** yesterday, April 14th, to discuss the complaint. We believe the matter has been resolved and we appreciated the opportunity to speak to *** ***** directly.

 

Sincerely,

Robert F******, Jr.

General Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2013 I purchased a 2013 ******. I recently discovered that the auto did not come with a spare tire & jack. At my age, after buying cars for 50 yrs., it was natural assumption that the car came with this safety equipment. When I questioned the salesman, he offered to sell me this equipment for $411. Dissatisfied with his reply, I contacted GM directly and made sure they understood that I was never told that the car was absent a spare tire and jack. They assured me that they would work with the dealer to obtain this equipment at a lower price. The resulting telephone call from Sport Chevrolet has not been fruitful. They offered me a tire on rim (no jack) for $390. I failed to see the humor in their response, and am very concerned about being stranded alone, along the side of a road without this equipment. Several calls to the dealership have not been returned. Each person passes me on to another, and no one takes responsibility for the bad decision to leave me uninformed. The sale was misrepresented, and the act of omission and lack of informed choice is evident. The sale, with the lack of information, did not allow me the process of informed choice in this matter and I sense financial exploitation of an older person is in play here. I ask for assistance.

Desired Settlement: Take responsibility for the misrepresentation in sale, offer the missing spare tire and jack, if not gratis, than at an amount far below the MSRP of $411.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

We were able to reach the customer and gave her a spare tire for her vehicle on Saturday. We believe this situation has been resolved.

Thanks,

Robert F******

General Manager

Sport Chevrolet

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ***********

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a "certified **" 2010 z71 ******** from the used car lot in June 2014. Upon purchasing the vehicle it was cleaned and returned with damaged rims. The vehicle was sold to have aluminum rims which were painted black by the previous owner and then repainted aluminum by the dealership prior to the vehicle being sold. The used car lot offered to repaint the wheels at no charge to resolve the matter. I excepted the offer with the understanding they would be painted black and the paint job would be able to withstand being driven. My vehicle was kept 4 days to paint the rims. Prior to taking the vehicle to the dealership the check engine light had come on abd I ask that it be serviced while the wheels were being painted. I used my ******* diagnostic to determine the issue was with an O2 sensor. It hasn't been 2 months and the paint is bubbling along the edge of the rims and my check engine light returned. I took the vehicle directly to the service department to address my check engine light and inquire why I had to return for the same matter considering the vehicle had just been serviced. I was informed by the service department the vehicle has an after market air intake, O2 sensors and exhaust headers that viloate my warranty and the certification of my vehicle. I did not install and or pay for the installation of such components. The used car lot paid to replace the O2 sensors since the vehicle was sold to be certified.

Desired Settlement: I'd like for all the after market products such as but not limitied to the air intake, O2 sensors and exhaust headers be replaced with ** certified parts to be consistent with the vehicles certification and to avoid all possible issues with the warranty moving forward. In addition, I also want the orginal wheels the vehicle was sold to have since we couldn't resolve the matter with a satifactory paint job. For the inconvience a new set of tires would be appreciated to accompany the requested rims. Thanks in advance for your attention pertaining to this matter...

Business Response:

July 30, 2014

Sport Chevrolet would like to resporid to complaint # ********. Out of respect to the complainant and at your request we will not identify the Individual,
On May 12th2014 this gentleman did purchase a used ******** from Sport Chevrolet. The vehicle had been in our inventory only a short time and was in the process of inspection and possible certification, Unfortunately this customer saw the vehicle in its pre-certification condition. He preferred its aesthetic condition and asked the salesperson to leave it in that condition. Due to a communication error at settlement the vehicle was sold certified.
We would like to have the opportunity to return the vehicle to stock condition and recertify the car. As a token of appreciation, we would offer replacement tires at a reduced cost to the owner, Please let us know when we can make the adjustments,
Sincerely,

Gerry R. 
General Manager

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday June 26th, I brought my Honda ******* Minivan to Sport Honda because I couldn't lock the driver's side door. It wouldn't lock from the key fob nor could it be pushed down manually. My case was handled by ****** *****, Service Advisor. My car repair was completed in a few hours, the left front door automator needed to be replaced. I picked up my van and proceeded to pick up my son and his friends at driver's ed. When i arrived there, we discovered that the right rear sliding door of my van wouldn't open at all and the left rear sliding door could only be slid open manually, it had no power. Both of these doors were working when I dropped the van at Honda several hours before. I immediately called ******, who mentioned that the technician had noticed some track wear on the rear doors, but had done nothing to them. He said i should bring the van back this morning because perhaps the technician had disconnected something. I dropped the van off and when ****** called, he informed that there was no electrical issue, it was just that the rollers on both doors had "coincidentally" worn our and stopped working while the van was at Honda yesterday. Considering that both doors were working prior to it's arrival at Honda for a technician to work on the left front door, I expressed my utter and complete disbelief that this could be true. ****** not only stuck to this ridiculous story but informed me that it would cost me over $450 to repair the problem. Despite my husband calling to argue the improbability of this story, we were forced to pay the money for this repair as we have children and need working van doors.

Desired Settlement: I would like all or at least most of my money for this repair back. It is impossible that these doors went "coincidentally" at the same time and that the damage was not in some way caused by the repair on my car the previous day. I would like Honda and ****** to take responsibility for their actions.

Business Response:

*** ******,
  As per our conversation this email is to inform you that I have spoke to ***. ******** on 07/21/14 an have agreed to reimburse her for the repairs performed on 6/27/14 in the amount of $421.30.
After reviewing the repair order and speaking to ***. ******** it seems there was a misunderstanding as why the door rollers were recommended. The door rollers would cause a binding and sticking concern and not necessarily inop condition. The reason the doors did not function was that they were turned off at the master switch on the drivers side of the dash. My advisor should have recognized this and advised her accordingly.
 
If you have any other question please feel free to contact me directly @ ###-###-####
 
****** ****
Service Manager 

Sport Honda
w. ###-###-####
sportautomotive.com

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from sport chevrolet in 2012 and after putting down $5000 I was financed and never have missed a payment I have now been involved with 2 recalls on this vehicle first it was the sunroof which was replaced now it is the ignit*** and power steering and also transmission. The car they sold me was supposedly the salesmans fathers car who could no longer drive so he brought that car in and sold it to me. The salesman and the ccar dealer knew this car was unsafe to drive and now when I call back to trade car in on safer car they are now trying to get me to put down $2000 dollars I just want my money back and either a car that is safe to drive with no more money out of pocket.

Desired Settlement: Cash down payment back which was $5000 or another car that is safe to drive

Business Response:

May 27, 2014

Dear *** ******;
Sport Chevrolet would like to respond to complaint # ********. Out of respect to this complainant and at your request we will not identify the individual.

On September 12, 2012 this individual purchased a used 2005 ****** *** from Sport Chevrolet, At time of delivery the vehicle had 55,138 miles and was out of factory warranty. An extended service plan was offered to the customer but was declined. 

In November 2012 the vehicle was in our Service Department to check a Service Engine light. No service was performed. We were unable to duplicate the problem. This was the last time the vehicle was in our shop. A check of the vehicle service history shows three open recalls on the vehicle. The customer has been notified and needs to contact a GM dealer service facility to order replacement parts. We would be happy to assist the customer in that regard.

Sport Chevrolet sees no basis in the owners request to repurchase the vehicle due to a factory recall. Please contact me if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From: 
****** ****** <**********************>
Date: Fri, May 30, 2014 at 11:34 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: info@mybbb.org


This is totally untrue I did purchase a extended warranty at time of purchase. And my complaint is they sold me a car they knew was unsafe to drive and would like a refund seeing I put down $5000



Regards,

****** ******








Business Response:

Dear **. ******,

    I just wanted to take this opportunity to follow up on your BBB complaint. As I mentioned in my BBB response, a warranty was not included in your vehicle purchase. You were offered and purchased a Vehicle Service Plan along with a Tire and Wheel plan from a third party vendor (******). See the attached statement signed by you requesting this additional coverage.  You made the first installment of that additional coverage at delivery of $290.00. The balance was to be paid in 18 installments of $144.55. Our records indicate that you made two more installments on this plan. On March 28, 2014 ****** cancelled your plan do to nonpayment of premium. We were told that their attempts to contact you via telephone and by mail were unsuccessful.

   Please contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

 

***** ****

General Sales Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:They are still not responding to complaint that they knew in advance this car had issues before financing it to me


Regards,

****** ******








1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sport Chevrolet Co, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart