BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Honda of Alexandria

Phone: (703) 660-0100 7434 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22306 http://www.sheehy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Honda of Alexandria meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheehy Honda of Alexandria include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Honda of Alexandria
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1986 Business incorporated 06/06/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)-VA
2300 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-497-7100
The number is 846-3-I-D-15088.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Sina Mohabat, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Sheehy Alexandria Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7434 Richmond Highway

    Alexandria, VA 22306

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Sheehy Honda in Alexandria, VA on July 16, 2013 to inquiry about a new 2013 Honday Odyssey. I spoke with ***** ***** who told me the 2013 Odyssey LX were on clearance for $ 3600 off the sticker price plus 0.9 % financing if I qualified. ***** showed me one of the Odysseys which happened to be a 2014 model because he didn't have any more 2013 models, the sticker price of the 2014 model was $29,655.00 which included a destination and handling fee of $830. I asked for the sticker price of the 2013 model and he said it was the same, he then told me the price of the vehicle would be $25,995 after taking off $3,600 from the $29,655. He also told me that Sheehy would give $7,000 for my old car which I was trading in and I told him that I would also put down $2,500. I agreed to buy the vehicle which they needed to get because they didn't have one there. I was also offered a couple of packages, the VIP program for $885 and an exterior/interior protection technology called ResistAll for $629 which I decided to get. I also asked for backup sensor to be installed for $598. I was presented with a paper which included the $25, 995 agreed price, fees, price for selected packages and I initialed it. I got a call on Friday, July 19th informing me that the vehicle was ready. The first thing I asked ***** was to show me the sticker from the car I was getting because I had not seen it, I saw the price being different by $150 which the manager, **** *******, told me, I would get back in the form of a check after everything was taking care of (about two weeks). I took the car home and checked all the paperwork and realized the listed information on the contract didn't match the information I had been given before so I went right back to the dealership (the same day) and asked the receptionist if I could talk to **** ******* or any finance manager to get clarification, but nobody showed up at the reception area. One of sales people asked me if he could look at the paperwork to see if he could explain the difference and he consulted with a finance person, he told me I had to go back the following day to get a new contract because the numbers were not correct and that the person who had written the original contract was not there to answer any questions. I returned to Honda on Saturday, July 20, 2013 and talked to **** ******** who showed me a paper that had not been included in my paperwork where I could see a fee called Appearance package for $595 which I thought was the interior/exterion protection at the time of signing, **** described the package as a dealership package which is installed by them to all the vehicles they sell, they had never told me about this, but I could not say much because it had been there when I initialed the paper and didn't ask any questions about it then I saw an entry for $830 which was described as destination and handling fee. I told **** that this destination and handling fee had already been included in the agreed price of $25, 995 because it was part of the sticker price and I didn't understand why they were adding it again. He told me they added this fee to all the vehicles and that I didn't understand, I asked him if he could call the sales person and the finance person who had told me that there was an error in the pricing which required a new contract, but he said he didn't need to talk to anybody because he was the manager and those two people didn't understand the process. I asked him if he would take the sticker price of the vehicle I had bought and did the math he would see the mistake, he said I had already signed the contract and he would not change anything because what he did was their practice. I asked him for a copy of the paper he had showed me because I did not have a copy of the paper, he hand wrote the prices for ResistAll and VIP program and added them to the rest of the fees, taxes, and sale price already on the paper, he saw there was a small difference between the result he got of $21836 and the $21888.87 from the contract, then he said there ware other taxes which would justify the difference, but he didn't specify what taxes. **** made a copy of the paper and asked me if I would feel better if he could get me four different quotes from other dearlerships in the area to see that the sale price of my vehicle was good, I told him that I was arguing about a fee being charged twice not a sale price. At the end he did't want to review the numbers to check if in fact $830 had been charged twice.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me the difference of $150 between the 2014 and 2013 model which they have agreed to do and also refund the $830 which they charged twice.

Business Response:

I would be more than happy to refund **. **** the $150 difference between the 2013 and 2014 models, but the $830 destination charge is something that we charge as part of the purchase as well as tax, tags, and processing fee.  It is clearly disclosed on the bill of sale **. **** signed.

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  As stated before, I know I am responsible for paying the destination fee of $830, what I have been telling you is that I was charged this fee twice.  The original sale price was the sticker price -$3600.  The sticker price the salesperson took from the a 2014 vehicle was $29, 655 which was the total after adding $28, 825 plus $ 830, this information is right on the sticker. The sale price of $ 25, 995 was offered to me and I accepted it.  As you can see in the column labeled "Aftermarkets" in the attached document, a destination fee of $830 is added again to the sale price of $25, 995 , other required fees and taxes are added as well.  I am just requesting to be charged once for the destination fee.  Therefore, my request is to get a refund for the difference between the 2014 model used in these calculations and the actual value of the 2013 model which I purchased; and $830 which was charged twice.

Regards,

**** ****








Business Response: Again, to reiterate, there is only once on the customers paperwork that the destination was charged.  The customer is not paying it twice, and to his point that the destination is included in the MSRP price, that's correct, and if the customer would have paid the MSRP price, and then been charged the Destination amount, that would be being charged twice; but infact the customer received a $3600 discount, and then to total up the out the door pricing, the items that were added, just like the sales tax and tags are, the destination was added as well.  It is the same process with most Honda dealerships in this area if you request a quote.  It is not out of the ordinary and agian I'll be more than happy to refund him the difference between the 2013 and 2014 models since that's what our employees agreed to.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  It is obvious that $3600 were taken from a sticker price that included $830 destination.  If the dealership was going to charge the $830 again then the savings were not the promised $3600, it was in fact less than that.  At the end they can play with words all they want, but the reality is they misrepresented the insentives I would get if I purchased a 2013 model.  The $150 refund is not a favor is a legal obligation because the only honest manager in that business signed a note requiring Honda to give me said amount back.  Maybe a judge should determine if I paid or did not pay $830 twice because the management at this Honda cannot accept when they have made a mistake.  My intentions are not to pay less fees than anyone else, I just want to pay the fees once.

Regards,

**** ****








Business Response: We're sorry we can't seem to agree on the specifics of this purchase, if the customer is unhappy with the pricing we were able to offer, we would be more than happy to take the vehicle back and cancel the entire purchase and give the customer an entire full refund of any and all monies paid.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I would like to know if I will be receiving a check for the trade in value of my Chrysler of $ 7000 value plus the $2500 down payment, if so I would accept the offer.


Regards,

**** ****








Business Response:

**** *******************************
12:04 PM (19 minutes ago)
tome
 
 
 
 

Referencing ***. ****, complaint settled.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

**** *******

General Manager

Sheehy Honda Alexandria

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

**********************

*********************

 

From: **** ****** **** [mailto:*****************
Sent: Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:41 AM
To: **** *******
Subject: Re: Copy of "We Owe" note

 

Thank you.

 

Rina

On Aug 3, 2013, at 11:38 AM, **** ******* <**********************> wrote:

***. ****,

 

I’ve already put in the request for you to get your $980 refund.  You should expect the check within the next 7-10 business days.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******

General Manager

Sheehy Honda Alexandria

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

**********************

*********************

 

From: **** ****** **** [mailto:*****************
Sent: Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:31 AM
To: **** *******
Cc: ******** ******
Subject: Copy of "We Owe" note

 

**. *******,

 

Thank you for your response to my inquiries regarding overpayment of the destination fee of $ 830.00 and $150 which is the difference between the sticker price of a 2014 model used in the calculations of the selling price and the actual sticker price of the 2013 vehicle I purchased from your dealership.  As per our conversation earlier today, please find the attached signed document indicating an overcharge of the $150.00.  That amount, in addition to the $830.00, results in an overpayment of $980.00 which you indicated would be refunded to me.  Please advise if there is any additional information you need to process this refund. 

I appreciate your time and attention to this matter.

Regards,

*****. ****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ****

7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had already obtained financing from another source prior to appearing at dealership to look for a vehicle. Sales agent blatantly misrepresented me to his manager resulting in the manager, despite providing me with a new purchase order and assuring me the vehicle was still available and would be transferred from MD store to VA store for me the next day, refuse to honor his own word and suggested I go elsewhere to purchase vehicle. I checked with the MD to find out what I needed to do to still purchase vehicle. Manager there was very helpful and I thought purchase was about to happen with only thing pending being the Sheehy dealership name being changed on check which I had in hand, only to find out that the vehicle had been sold out of the MD store possibly at same time VA manager was assuring me it was still available and to expect it to be delivered on Saturday, 6/29/13, causing me to have to start the process all over. The dispute stems from fact that manager and salesperson claim the additional $500 dollars given on trade-in was contingent on me purchasing an extended warranty when that was completely untrue and my only purpose for obtaining the extended warranty was because the original warranty was nearly gone. To my knowledge, the warranty had absolutely nothing to do with the $500 addition to the trade-in amount. Once I took the purchase order to my lender, I was informed by my lender that I could purchase the extended warranty through the lender for almost $900 less than the dealership offered. From my lender's office, I contacted the dealership and explained to the manager that I was getting the extended warranty through the lender instead as it was considerable less and I was coming back to get a new purchase order minus the warranty. We discussed again the fact that I was getting a better price when I came over to get the new purchase order. If the manager needed clarification or asserts one thing was contingent on the other, he could have or should have said that at that time or offered to match the price that my lender offered. Instead, he removed the extended warranty, singed off and returned it o me and assured me he vehicle would be in my possession on Saturday when I came to present the check which I actually had Friday night but the car was still in MD at that time and it was only when I called, after the time I was told by manager that I would be contacted to come look at the vehicle at VA location. I believe the real problem is because I refused repeated request by salesman and manager to switch my financing to them. Saturday's exchange with both personnel was both unprofessional and rude and I had actually commented to the lender about the poor customer service I was receiving on Friday evening as I was calling the dealership from her office.

Business Response:

We would be more than happy to offer the customer the additional $500 on the trade in regardless of where she obtains her financing, and apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused the customer.

 

****** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



From: ****** ***********************
Date: Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 12:20 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


Thank you, there is no way for them to correct the situation as I've already purchased a vehicle somewhere else. I don't even want an apology, they obviously need to change their business tactics and practices. I just felt they should have been reported because I expected better customer service.


Regards,

****** *****








7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales person in the parts department told me that the shocks to my 1996 Honda Odyssey would come with bushings and a mounting kit, when I picked up my shocks the bushings and mounts were not come with the shocks. I asked the sales person three times before I ordered the shocks if the shocks would come with the bushings and mounts and he told me yes. When the shocks arrived three days late, the bushings and mounts were not with the shocks. When I asked the parts department manager for a refund, he argued with me and told me I could not get a refund. I told him I wanted a refund because the shocks did not come with the necessary parts that I was promised in order for me to install the shocks on my car. The parts department worker further insulted me by telling me that my car was to old to get parts for it. I did not appreciate getting the run around before the shocks came in three days late. Originally I was told that the shocks would arrive a week later, so I called on the 8th day, the 9th day and the 10th to see if the shocks was in and they kept telling me that the shocks were on the truck and to my big disappointment, when the shocks came in they did not have the parts for me to install them. Being that the shocks were late, I had to travel out of town without the shocks on my car which was a hazard for me. I am furious because Sheehy has my shocks and will not refund me my money!! I do not want the shocks because they are no good to me without the bushing and mounting kit.

Desired Settlement: Refund all of my money I paid for the shocks on my total bill.

Business Response:

I would need to see a written "We-Owe" slip to see what was promised to this customer.  Any promises made at our store are put in writing, so I will take a look at the we owe slip, and decide how to proceed.

 

 

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 14, 2013 To Whom It May Concern: Every time I take my car (2010 Civic EX) in for service at Sheehy Honda in Alexandria, Virginia for unusual noises (pings, rambling, grinding, rattling etc.) that turn into major car repairs, your Service Technicians CAN NEVER DUPLICATE what I state the problem is or address my concerns on the first attempt. Issues with my car ALWAYS escalate to your Service Manager ***** ******* once I return to your dealership and request a technician to ride along with me the problem is immediately heard and most times addressed satisfactorily. This has happened repeatedly (including repeat visits for the same issues) since I had service performed at your dealership. My last and FINAL fiasco with your dealership happened 04-11-13, in which, once again I brought my car in for a grinding/rattling noise along with front end shakes and I knew better than to just state what was happening. I had ****** ******** your service advisor ride with me so the following day, I wouldn’t be told we couldn’t DUPLICATE what you were hearing. During our ride along *** ******** heard the noise and wrote up a service request. On 04-12-13, when I called for a status update, once again I was informed they couldn’t duplicate the sound and four technicians drove your car including *** ******. I returned to your dealership and asked for a technician to ride with me and I immediately was given the runaround. It took well over 20 minutes for someone to take the time out of their day to assist me. Five techs came in and out of the service area and when I asked each one where they here to ride with me, and was told "No" in response. Finally, your service technician ****** rode with me and heard the noise and immediately stated it was my brakes. Once again my car was scheduled for service. On 04-13-13, when I called for a status update your Assistant Service Manager ****** ******* informed me (per ******) I needed new rear Brakes and Rotors and it would cost me $610.00. I asked *** ******* not to perform the service and I would pick up my car. I picked up my car and immediately took it to a Maryland Honda dealership for rear Brakes & Rotors service and after inspecting my car was informed my car did not need that service, my Breaks & Rotors were fine and displayed no wear AT ALL. And I was asked who told me I needed that service and I stated Sheehy Honda in ********. Not fully trusting their opinion, I also took my car to ********* and once again asked for Rear Breaks & Rotor service. They too inspected my car (at a cost) and were informed my car DID NOT NEED that service, and everything is fine. Again, who stated I needed that service!! If I didn’t have the good sense to PASS on a service I knew wasn’t the problem, I would have paid a non-refundable $610 for a service that was absolutely NOT NEEDED. WHAT TYPE OF BUSINESS ARE YOU RUNNING where a customer cannot trust the proper maintenance to be performed on their vehicle from one of the largest car companies? This type of behavior is expected from smaller Mom & Pop shops, but for one of the major car companies in the world to act in this way is totally asinine, fraudulent, destructive, and embarrassing. You do cartwheels to sell a car, and then totally drop the ball when it comes to minor and major services. How can a Honda ASE Certified mechanic make a major mistake like this and not be held accountable for it? I blame Sheehy Honda for this irresponsible action. $610 is a lot of money and attempting to charge someone for services NOT NEEDED is appalling and would not have corrected the issue. I wonder how many others paid for unnecessary car maintenance trusting the word of your technicians and service advisors? Due to your mishandling and lack of experience from your technicians, I was without a car for three days and forced to use pubic transportation and pay people to drive me to and from your dealership while my car just took up space at your location. My car was bought NEW from ******** Honda in *********** ** and from the beginning it’s been nothing but mechanical problems associated with it and it should not matter what Honda dealership I take my car for service. It should be done right the first time! Also, this isn’t my first Honda, I’ve owned 5 other models and prior to this car I would have recommend Honda to everyone………That is not the case now!!! I will never do business with you again. I will be filing complaints with the Better Business Bureau, Honda’s Corporate Office, and the state of ******** and ******** Consumer Affairs offices.

Desired Settlement: Compensated for loss of vehicle, Public Transportation usage, Monies spent for rides to and from dealership, and cost incurred for second opinion.

Business Response:

I have made several attempts to contact *** *****.  In response to her allegation that the service was not necessary and that the pads were not worn down enough; after having spoke to my service manager, I was informed that despite the fact that the pads were not worn it was in our technicians opinion that they were the root cause of the grinding noise *** ***** was hearing, therefore we recommended them being replaced. This can be caused by a manufacturer's defect or bad workmanship. 

I am willing to reimburse *** ***** for any checkout fee she paid us as it was not her first time having that matter addressed.

 

sincerely,

 

**** *******

General Manager

Sheehy Honda Alexandria

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


In reply to: - Your written comment – *** *******, ONLY phoned me one time and was well aware his dealership did not charge me a checkout fee. He states the noise was attributed to a manufacturer’s defect or bad workmanship. If that was the case it should have been a COVERED service not at my expense. If his dealership wanted to finagle their way out of paying for “manufacturer’s defect or bad workmanship” my extended warranty should have covered their cost.

 

In regards to: - Our verbal conversation - on 04-15-2013, *** *******, stated he would reimburse the charge I paid to ********* and offered two tanks of gas for my inconvenience, and a 10% employee discount on the brake and rotor service, but stated they’re not in the business of reimbursing customers for “wasted time” (“if we did that we would be out of business”).  My “wasted” time, 3 DAYS, as he states was due to his employee’s negligence. During our conversation *** ******* became argumentative and voiced no compassion for my unsatisfactory service or treatment at his dealership. Professionalism is a vital role in the customer service industry. I also mentioned my bearings were replaced at his dealership about a month ago and the noise happened shortly afterwards and his technician ****** stated “they should have resurfaced my brakes; most likely that’s why I’m hearing the noise”. When I mentioned that statement to *** *******, he immediately stated that was not in my original complaint. At this point, what difference does that make?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but *** ******* should have said maybe that could have been the issue, why don’t you bring your car back to us and we’ll take another look to determine if possibly that could be why you’re hearing the noise. Again, good customer service goes a long way and one should expect that from a GENERAL MANAGER but that is not what I received! 

All I received from him was that his technician spent a lot of time on my car and determined it was the brakes and I needed to pay the $610. As far as I am concerned my car should have been fixed properly the first time and covered by Honda since it could have been caused by a manufacturer’s defect or poor workmanship as stated by the general manager. Any further communication from Sheehy Honda is NULL AND VOID at this point.

Regretfully,

****** *****








Business Response:

There are numerous inconsistencies with this customer's account of what happned during this situtation including when she first heard the noise.  There are also statements in her 2nd response which she says I made which are absolutely incorrect.  *** ***** asked me what I could do for her, to which I responded 10% off, refund for the checkout fees she paid anywhere else, as well as 2 tanks of gas for her having to drive back and forth.  She felt she should be reimbursed for her time, to which I responsed "it's not our company policy to reimburse people for time, while they're vehicle is being serviced."  

She also now claims the noise she's hearing is somehow related to a service our dealership did, which I believe to be false, as she had an extremely detailed account of what happened in her first email, and this was never mentioned.  Also she stated in her first email that the other dealership said there was "no wear on the brakes"; I believe this to be a false statement as the vehicle is 3 yrs old and per *** ***** the brakes have never been serviced. It is physically impossible for a 3 yr old vehicle which has never had it's brakes serviced to have NO WEAR on it. Again we've diagnosed the vehicle as needing the brakes serviced, and we'll be more than happy to have a 3rd party check it out at our expense, and see if they agree. The 2 places *** ***** took her vehicle to, we've never seen anything from stating the brakes do or don't need to be serviced. Please let me know if I can be of any further help.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

****** *****








9/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service