BBB Accredited Business since

Sheehy Honda of Alexandria

Phone: (703) 660-0100 7434 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22306

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheehy Honda of Alexandria meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Honda of Alexandria
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1986 Business incorporated 06/06/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)-VA
2300 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230
Phone Number: 804-497-7100
The number is active.

Type of Entity


Contact Information
Customer Contact: Sina Mohabat, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Sheehy Alexandria Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7434 Richmond Hwy

    Alexandria, VA 22306


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used vehicle under contract with Sheehy Honda in February 2014. The vehicle died not even a month later and I was told by Sheehy's service department that it needed a new engine. Was told that I should have bought an extended warranty and that I am stuck with paying for the repair myself. Almost $3000.00+. The vehicle has been sitting in my garage dead and with no amends from the company.

Desired Settlement: After they way I have been treated by Sheehy Honda and how long it has taken them to make this situation right, I just want them to take their defective car back and void the loan and return all my car payments I have been stuck paying for a car I only used for not even a month.

Business Response:

I'm writing in reference to the ******* ** ***** complaint.
This vehicle was purchased from us and as we do with all customers we offered *** ***** options to protect her vehicle with items such as an extended warranty and maintenance plans. *** ***** declined. Second, when we were made aware of the vehicles issues, the vehicle was towed in with visible and substantial exterior damage to the front bumper, hood, and extremities of the vehicle as if it had been in an accident, which quite possibly could have caused problems to the interior mechanical operations. None the less, we ran a diagnostic on the vehicle and determined the necessary work that needed to be done to the vehicle. We contacted *** ***** and went over these repairs as well as offered her a substantial discount of several thousand dollars as she is our customer and we wanted to help in anyway we could. After that initial contact, *** ***** did not return numerous calls to discuss the situation. She just left the vehicle on our lot for several months, without any contact. She finally contacted us stating she would be picking it up and declining the repairs. 
We are still willing to help ** ***** with the needed repairs, by discounting the labor by 30-40%. I would like to reiterate that the vehicle does have or did have substantial damage to the front bumper, hood and grille which we can not fix as we do not have a body shop at Sheehy Honda. 
Please feel free to contact me with any other questions.
Sina M****** 
General Manager 
Sheehy Honda Alexandria
###-###-#### direct

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sheehy Honda is not being truthful about the facts as they occurred. The vehicle started having problems the moment we drove it off the lot and had been there for repairs on several occassion. The vehicle was never repaired, I have the paperwork to proof it. Also, the vehicle was towed there not even 60 days after date of purchase which was also communicated to Sheehy Service Dept with no physical damage to it. Have the phone records to proof it. The vehicle suffered damaged when the Sheehy Service Manager and his team abruptly got it off the tow dolly and damage the vehicle in the process, which I also complained about. Have a video to proof it, which was taken the day the vehicle was brought to Sheehy in April 2014 Time frame. The vehicle was not involved in any accident while in our possession. The General and Service Manager constantly bring up that I should have gotten an extended Warranty on the vehicle, regardless if I had bought it or not the vehicle should not have died needing a whole new engine. A vehicle just doesn't need a whole new engine from day to nite. That takes months to years of neglect for a vehicle to just die not even a month after purchase. Also, it is not a true statement that I did not return any phone calls. My son and I returned all of their phone calls for we were looking for remedy to this stressful situation. Yes, the vehicle was left there for a period of 2 months in hopes that Sheehy Honda would do right by their customer, but all they wanted me to do was to pay thousands of dollars for a vehicle that was sold to me damaged. I am very disappointed that such a reputable car dealership would treat one of their customers in this matter, specially an Active Duty Soldier. I strongly believe that the vehicle was sold to me with a bad engine and they had knowledge of it. Not only do I have the repair bills that were given to me by Sheehy within the first month that shows how many times the vehicle was taking in for repairs. I have the phone records which shows how many times they call me vs. me calling them as well as video of the car when it was dropped off and how Sheehy damaged it. I have been paying almost $300.00 a month for a vehicle I was only able to use for a few weeks before it died on us. I am tired of waiting. I will be taking this matter to court and pleading my case before a judge. 


******* *****

Business Response: The information provided by the customer is not truthful. She is claiming we removed the vehicle off of the tow truck which is incorrect, and any tow company will tell you their employees are the only ones allowed to remove or drop off a vehicle that's been towed in. They will never allow another person or employee of another business to remove a vehicle off of a tow truck that's been towed in. Plus the damage on the vehicle is body damage nothing that could have possibly been caused by our employees, the vehicle has visible damage to the front bumper/grille and extremities, which quite possibly could have caused the problems the customer is having with the vehicle.   

Again we offered the customer a  substantial discount on getting the vehicle fixed and are still happy to do so. We would still be willing to do the repair for even $2500, which is less than what we even offered initially and absorbing a large portion of the repair as good will to our customer. We're willing to consider any other FAIR resolution to this situation as well.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because 

Because Sheehy Honda continues to say that I am not being truthful. What in the world is there to lie about. The facts are that the car has been dead for the last 7 months of the 8 months of purchased. The car was not towed by a company. The vehicle was towed by me and we had requested assistance from the technician lead to get the vehicle off the tow dolly, at which point he brought out a few technicans to help us bring the car off the tow dolly. I asked him to please becareful cause he was going to cause damage to the vehicle  and he didnt adhere to my request and push the car off harshly, cracking the vehicle front bumper in half. I complained to not only the service manager and general manager and it went to deaf ears. How can this dealership do business like this. This is unacceptable. They expect me to pay for a vehicle they sold me damaged. I was sold a lemon and will prove my case in court.

******* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sheehy Honda of Alexandria
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)