BBB Accredited Business since

Rothrock Motor Sales, Inc.

Phone: (610) 439-8485 View Additional Phone Numbers 1648 Plaza Lane, Allentown, PA 18104 http://www.rothrock.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rothrock Motor Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rothrock Motor Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rothrock Motor Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1960
Business Management
Mr. David Rothrock, President/CEO Ms. Michelle Bollinger, Administrator Mr. Ron Carl, Director Of Operations Mr. Dean Rothrock, Executive VP/GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Bollinger, Administrator
Principal: Mr. David Rothrock, President/CEO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2015 ***** ******* on June 20th. They gave me a temporary 30 day registration and assured me that in would get my permanent Maryland registration in the mail. So, my temporary registration expires on the 19th of July. Here it is the 15th of July and no permanent registration. I called MVA and found out that they have not received an application. They searched their system by both my driver's license number and also the VIN. No application. I called Rothrock several times and was not able to get anyone on the phone, this was Monday. It took 24 hours to get a call back. So Tuesday afternoon i got a call from Leila, the titling admin, stating that the application was submitted last week and that MVA just wouldnt tell me that they had it. I reiterated the fact that my tags are expiring at the end of the week and I need a resolution. She offered to send an email that i could print and keep in the vehicle explaining why my tags are expired in the event that I was pulled over. According to her this is perfectly normal and that 95% of the time, this "works". When i asked about the other 5% of the time, she said that they do it all the time and have never had any issues. This being the craziest thing i have heard in a bit, I let her know that I need a legal resolution to their delay in getting my permanent registration. She said that is all that they can do because Pennsylvania will mot allow them to issue another temporary tag. I let her know that if they cant figure something out, the car will be back on their lot come Saturday morning. She said that she would speak with a manager and someone would get back with me. A little while later i got a call from Brendan, the man that i went through all the paperwork with. Mind you, I had tried calling Brendan on Monday and he was included in the email on Monday but this is the first response I got out of him. Apparently once they sell you a car, their communication stops and they could care less about anything else that you need or have an issue with. Anyways, Brendan and I have pretty much the same conversation that i had with Leila. He tells me that he has verified with MVA that i will receive my registration next week. I pointed out that my registration expires before next week. He said that they will send me a certified letter explaining the reason for the expired tags in the event that i were to get pulled over. I let him know that this is not legal and is not going to work for me. He said thats all they can do because the state of Pennsylvania does not allow them to extend temporary registration and they have to do this all the time. I let him know that he needs a better resolution for me to have a legal vehicle or the car will be returned on Saturday. He said that i cant just return the vehicle so i let him know that if we need to take that through the court system, thats what will happen. I let him know that i would call the Maryland State Police and see if this letter is legitimate. We hung up and i did just that. I spoke with an officer at the Maryland State Police barracks and explained this situation to him and their proposed letter. He said that a letter does not change the fact that the registration is expired and that i would be running the risk of my vehicle getting towed if i were pulled over or if my vehicle was parked on a street or even in a public parking lot. He suggested that i get another temp tag from the dealer and i explained that they told me that the state of Pennsylvania does not allow that. We was not sure about that part so he suggested that i contact MVA and see what they suggest. By this time, it was after 5pm on Tuesday and today, Wednesday, I was not able to take time out of my day at work to deal with this. So, tomorrow, I will have to take more time out of my day making phone calls trying to get this resolved. Part of that is going to include speaking with an attorney because it is clear that Rothrock is not going to take ownership of this issue and make sure i have a legal vehicle come Sunday. I would like to know why they would wait 3 weeks to submit the application to MVA, though i dont know if I even believe they have sent it in. I dont think MVA would lie to me about it. Obviously this situation happens a lot since they are so skilled in these letters that they use to appease people that they put in this situation.

Desired Settlement: Extention to temporary registration or my permanent registration before the expiration date of 7/19/15.

Business Response: in response to the above complaint, Rothrock followed our normal processes and issued her temporary registration under PA law.  The customer lives in Maryland and Maryland has up to sixty days to process a registration.  We called the Maryland DMV and got them to expedite her plate and registration by her going directly to her local DMV.  We notified the customer who said she would go to the DMV, to pick up her registration and plates this past Friday.  Customer relayed to us that she was happy with these results and that this would resolve the matter.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. For them to say that I was happy with their resolution is a complete insult. I had to take time off of work to resolve the issue myself. They called MVA and gave them the tracking number of the paperwork and that is why I was able to go pick them up myself. Had they told me in the first place that their temporary registration is only good for 30 days but MVA will take 60, then I would have opted to take care of the registration myself. I wouldn't have had to pay their processing fees and I wouldn't have missed 6 hours of work.  I still cannot fathom why they waited 3 weeks to submit the documents to MVA in the first place. Again, to say that I'm happy is a complete insult. Reimburse me for my time and aggravation then you can say a that I'm happy.

Regards,

******* **********

6/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased **** ********. Was very specific in regards to the vehicle needing a/c, due to my disability. It was verified that vehicle had a/c and the sticker on vehicle did not say air condition bypass. I picked up vehicle and sales person was in passenger seat going over the vehicle and I reached down to turn the air on and he said that this vehicle did not have air. I thought he was joking and he stated " he was sorry, he thought he relayed that to me". I specifically told him before purchasing the vehicle on why it was very important that it has air conditioning. I was extremely upset and he told me there is nothing he can do for me but to please make sure when I get a survey, that I rate him all 10's because another lady gave him all 0's and needs 10's to get paid more than $125 per vehicle. Following day, I returned there to take the vehicle back and they refused and tried to get me to purchase another vehicle that was $3,000 more or to order one and then trade that brand new jeep in once the one I ordered arrived. They were all very unprofessional and I was even screamed at by one of the sales manager. Spoke with several people from there and every one promised that I would get a returned call back and never did from anyone. I explained to each person I spoke with on why having air was very important. Being that the a/c was the only thing I said I needed, there is no possible way that I didn't ask if it had air or that the sales person said yes and I still purchased it. They took advantage of me being disabled. I had other dealerships trying to help me out of this situation as they actually cared and could not believe what they had done. When I went in there to give the car back they first gave me option to order one and then I can pick it up when it comes in, no additional charge. I agreed to that and then was told he needed to check if he can do that. Came back and said he couldn't. I would have to trade in my new jeep which already lost a couple thousand in value and try to get financed again. Then was told I could give the jeep back and they can reverse the contract. I then agreed to that. He said he had to check and then came back and said he can't do that either. I feel as though they were playing games with me, running me in circles and the only thing that really truly care about is that they sold a car. Then I was told they can get one from another dealership and then they came back with, they can't. It was a very horrible and stressful experience that had a negative effect on my illness. I was even told by one that I should get an attorney and if I did, their attorney would laugh because the 72 hour you have to return a vehicle is only when I purchase another vehicle on their lot and that everyone else was just telling me what I wanted to hear and all the other people I spoke with from different dealerships were lying.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to either exchange my vehicle out for one with a/c without paying any more money than I already have, for a vehicle I can't even drive in the summer. Or figure out a way to have a/c installed in my vehicle at no charge.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

 

The facts:

 

The customer came in looking for a 2015 **** ********.  After looking at several vehicles, she had difficulty matching a vehicle with her desired payment range.  Ultimately after several days of working different banks on several different vehicles an approval acceptable to the customer was achieved.  She came in, signed contracts and went through our entire delivery process.  It was at this point that the lack of air conditioning was first identified as a question.  However, after a brief discussion in which she admitted that she had never requested air conditioning (a fact she subsequently confirmed with Mr. L*** and Mr. K**** in multiple phone calls) she took her new vehicle home. (It should be noted here that in a discussion with the **** Manager regarding the air conditioning she admitted surprise that there were any new cars even built without air conditioning.)

 

Apparently after discussing her new acquisition with her partner she had a change of heart and called the dealership to explore her options. While she admittedly spoke to several other dealers she implied to us that she was told she could just return the vehicle.  There are no rescission laws in ** relative to purchasing a new vehicle off a dealership lot. The dealership has an exchange policy which allows her to exchange her vehicle within 72 hours for any other vehicle in our inventory.  We offered her the opportunity to trade out of that vehicle into one that had the air conditioning she wanted.  We even offered her full value (the purchase price she paid for the vehicle) in accordance with the exchange policy, against the new vehicle. She would only have to pay for the additional equipment.  She called and spoke to three different managers ultimately reaching the ******** ***** **** *** manager who re-affirmed the offer to trade her out of her vehicle into one she had found in another state.  She would be responsible for the difference. She agreed to think about it and get back to him.  We have not heard from her since.

As for her reference to attorneys we never encourage third party intervention.  We feel that reasonable adults can resolve anything if they want to.  We continue to be interested in resolving this customer’s concerns.  We remain willing to help trade her out of her current vehicle into a vehicle that satisfies her wants and needs. 

Rothrock remains a family owned business that has operated (successfully) for over fifty years in large part because we focus on the needs of our customers. Customer service remains our number one priority.  We remain open to helping her resolve her concerns.

Business Response:

to again clarify, we maintain that we extent the same offer to her as we did in our first response:

"we will take the vehicle back and put her in one with AC and she only has to pay the difference between the selling prices of the vehicles, regardless of the fact that the value has been reduced by the mileage she has put on it."

Although our offer is exactly what she stated she wanted (to be able to switch out and only pay the difference in selling prices), *** ***** has continued to reject our responses or ask for further clarification, but continues to put miles on the vehicle. 

Therefore we now have no choice but to put a deadline of June 25, 2015 on this offer.  Our goal, as always, has been to satisfy the customer and we truly are making every attempt to satisfy her.  If she needs a written math example (as she requested), I give the following example: If the car she bought was $20,000 and she switches it out for one with AC that is $22,000, she would have to pay only the $2,000 difference. 

I hope this clarifies things for her, as our desire is to resolve this and maintain a good customer relation with *** *****. 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

As stated in a prior response from you, please let me know when there is a **** available that is the same as the one I currently have, only with a/c already in it.  As stated in my last response, I am not sure if your lot has anything at this time but either way, please keep me updated and posted when a **** becomes available so that I can come in to see it and try to get this process completed as soon as we can. 


I was sent a couple of ***** from the official **** website that were very close to my ****. They were ******** ******, Sun rider soft top, 6 speed manual and had a/c. They supplied me with the Vin #'s as I was told that dealerships are able to swap a vehicle out for one of theirs. Below are the vins as I will give you the top two:

1) ************************* ******** **** ****  ** ************************* ******** **** **** * ******* ** ******* *

So if someone can contact me in regards to the next step so that this can be resolved as soon as possible. Thank you.

Regards,

******** *****  *************

As stated in prior response, pale

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: rothrock collision had us trust them to do hail damage repair and painting of our jeep to original color. turns out they gave our jeep back multi colored. after telling them they tried to re fix by painting a couple more pieces. it still didnt match. they responded with we did all we can do and treated me like i was dumb saying millions of excuses why tge paint is different colors every where. i took to another shop today for second opinion. they said it basically has to be all re painted that they matched the original paint color poorly and didnt even try to match it to existing paint. this was covered with insurance as well. either way my car needs to be all the original color. im tired of being treated like because im a girl im stupid and crazy that my colors match.

Desired Settlement: i would prefer you to pay out of your pocket to another auto body shop for my jeep to be restored to the original factory color

Business Response: We have scheduled an appointment for the customer to come in and we are meeting with the paint manufacturer to come up with a solution that is satisfactory to all parties involved.  The appointment is tentatively scheduled for 10/8/14.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Rothrock on April 08,2014 to have the heat fixed in the car when I recived the car back on the 9th the heat was not working so I took the car back on 4-17-2014 to have it fixed when I picked it up on 4-18-2014 the heat was still not working the service manager asked that I give them chance to repair it . I left their to get it fixed. I received a call on Monday 21,2014 that there was nothing wrong with the car it was designed to work that way. I am still not getting heat from the car.

Desired Settlement: I need my money back so that I can take my car to another mechanic to get it fixed since they have no intention of fixing the car.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern.

 

On 4/8/14 **. *****-******* brought her 2012 ***** ******* VIN ***************** to Rothrock Motors to have her vehicle diagnosed for having no heater on the right front floor of her vehicle. The concern was verified by a Level 3 ******** technician to be a restriction in the heating/cooling system caused by contamination in the system. The technician reviewed ******** “STAR” cases to find the repair to be replacement of the radiator and heater core as well as the flushing of the coolant.

 

The vehicle is out of the perimeters of ******** basic warranty and client was also denied goodwill assistance from ********.

 

Rothrock Motors then spoke with the client and explained the repair and also gave an estimate for the repairs of $1500.00. At that point **. *****-******* agreed to the repair amount including a 10% discount on the repair and the repair was completed.

 

After the completion of the repairs the technician confirmed that the vehicle was operating as designed and the warm air was actually coming from the right front floor.

 

On or about 4/17/14 the client stated that there was no heat at all in the vehicle. The vehicle was brought in and the client’s concern was verified. At that point the technician replaced the both thermostats in the vehicle at no charge and also provided the client with a rental vehicle at no charge while the repairs were being completed. These additional repairs were not noted in the ******** technical repair suggestion and were performed at no charge to the client even though the vehicle was out of the perimeters of the warranty as a goodwill gesture from Rothrock Motors.

 

When the client came to pick the vehicle up, she stated that the heat was still not working and left the vehicle at Rothrock Motors. When the vehicle was checked, the system was operating normally and the client picked the vehicle back up on 4/21/14 with no additional repairs being done and the client returned the rental vehicle.

 

In the event the condition has reemerged we are more than happy to diagnose the vehicle and even have a ******** factory advisor involved. We will also perform an in-depth diagnosis at no charge to the client.

 

Please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####

 

*** ******

Service Manager

Rothrock Motors

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: at the time I picked up my car on April 21,2014 the heat was not working and continues not to work . I have scheduled to have the car repaired by another mechanic as Rothrock is still in denial about  the fact that they failed after three visit to their shop and a 1500.00 repair bill they failed to provide working heat in my car. Since I want this issue resolved with working heat take back to RothRock  would be waste of time. I have given the dealer 3 times to fix and their response has been that it was fixed, I am busy person and wasting more time with them is counter productive . I need to have my money refunded as I need to get the vehicle fixed.


Regards,

***** *****-*******








Business Response:

COMPLAINT: ********

 

To whom it may concern,

 

When repairs were completed on the last service visit the vehicle was operating as designed. I personally will offer to drive to the client’s place of residence or work with alternative transportation and after testing the system if the vehicle is not operating properly, we will leave the loaner vehicle with the client at no charge and of course diagnosis the vehicle at no charge. Of course if the client would like to come by we can perform the same diagnosis at the dealership, but understanding that coming to the dealership maybe inconvenient for someone’s work or personal life, it would be our pleasure to go to the client. Our goal is to just have the vehicle operating normally and have the client have an enjoyable ownership experience

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 2014 I picked up my ***** ******* after transmission work was completed. On the way home, I had no brakes. After contacting Rothrock service center, I was told that if the brake failure was determined to have been caused by them, they would pay for the tow back to Rothrock and fix the brakes at no charge. Rothrock is about 60 miles from my home, a tow bill I did not want to be responsible for so I had a local mechanic put the car on a lift and look at it. In his professional opinion, Rothroth did not put the brakes back on correctly which caused the brake failure. I have pictures of the car on the lift. I contacted the local tow company, ********, and the fee was $72 hookup and $4 per mile. I thought that was a lot of money and wanting to treat them as I would like to be treated, I tried to find a cheaper way to get my car back to Rothrock. My best friend's brother borrowed a trailer from a local trucking company, put the ******* on and hauled it to Rothrock with his ****** for $120. After Rothrock repaired the brakes, I asked for the tow reimbursement and was told they needed an invoice. Had they told me that they would only pay if towed by a towing company, I would have done so. I thought I was being nice by getting a lower tow fee. After contacting numerous people at Rothrock and told several times that I would receive my tow fee, I still have not received it. I just keep getting the run around. An honest decent person would have kept their word. I understand people make mistakes and even though I was scared when I was coming off the highway at 65 miles per hour only to find I had no brakes, I treated them kindly. I believe if you make a mistake, apologize, be fair, fix it and move on. I NEVER received an apology (actually **** tried to blame it on the authorized-by-******** parts that I purchased from ****). They did fix the brakes but never kept their word on the tow reimbursement. I am so very disappointed with the only car dealership I purchased every new vehicle I ever owned from. They have lost my faith in them with their horrible customer service, their lack of caring, and their dishonesty. If I had done what they did, I would have felt terrible knowing that my actions/lack of putting the car back together correctly had the potential to be deadly, I would have sincerely apologized, fixed the car, paid the towing and put gas in the car for the unnecessary/potentially deadly drive home.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to keep their word and finally reimburse me the $120 I had to pay for the tow. I would like them to take me off their service center mailing list as they certainly are not trustworthy.

Business Response: We agreed to reimburse the customer for the towing fee of $120.  The check request was submitted by our service department a month ago, but was somehow misplaced.  We reissued the check request and the check is being put in the mail to the customer today.  We called the customer this morning to apologize and to let her know the check is being put in the mail to her today.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:
Thank you BBB, 2 months after I was told I would receive the tow reimbursement, it finally came in the mail.  I still feel there are serious issues with the quality of work being performed by the service department at Rothrock.  Not only did my caliper come off on the drive home, but it still leaked and upon taking it to another ******** dealer, I learned that the trans axle seal was never replaced by Rothrock when they completed the transmission work.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

12/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took my car to their collision center after an accident. I told them not to do any work, order parts, etc. until they did the estimate as it was an older car and I wanted to make sure it was worth the effort and cost to fix it. After 4 days, I received the estimate and told them to hold off on doing the work. They ending up charging me over $300 ($200 of which was for a so called restocking fee on parts that I never authorized) just to retrieve my car in worse shape than I left it. When I picked up my car, they covered it in marker. Not just to identify the work that needed to be done, but all over the entire car. No other car in their collision lot had a 1/4th of the marker my car had on it. It took me hours to remove and still can't get some of it off. I believe this was their intent since I decided to not have the work done. I wrote their management describing the incident and my frustration, but never received a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $200 + tax restocking fee credited back to my credit card.

Business Response:

Complaint ID: *******

Response of Rothrock Motor Sales Inc. (hereafter “Rothrock”):

1.       On September 26th, 2013, *** *****s had his 2000 Nissan Altima, VIN 169676, (hereafter the “Vehicle”) towed into our dealership with Collision Damage.

2.       Rothrock is a Direct Repair Shop for *********, *** *****’s insurance provider on the above referenced Vehicle.

3.       *** *****s signed a work authorization form (attached), which provided Rothrock the legal authority to begin the repair process to the Vehicle.  

4.       Rothrock started the repair process to the Vehicle on September 27th, 2013 which included a full estimate of repairs to the vehicle which came to a total of $2,322.81. In addition, Rothrock ordered the necessary parts to complete the repairs.  

5.       Rothrock called *** *****s on September 30th, 2013 and left a voice message indicating that *** *****’s Vehicle repair would be complete on or about October 4th, 2013. On the same date, September 30th, 2013, after Rothrock provided *** *****s with the repair completion date, *** *****s phoned Rothrock and left a voice message instructing Rothrock to discontinue the repairs to his Vehicle. On October 1st, 2013, *** *****s stated he did not want the repairs performed to his Vehicle and that he would contact ********* to let them know.

6.       Rothrock contacted ********* to get direction on the matter. ********* informed Rothrock that ********* agreed to pay for all repair costs incurred by Rothrock up to *** *****s’ communication to Rothrock to terminate the repairs to his Vehicle as of October 1, 2013, except for the parts return costs because *** *****s did authorized Rothrock to begin the repair process and then later requested the repairs be terminated.  

7.       ********* did reimburse *** ***** for the full estimate of the Vehicle which totaled $2,322.81, excepting the parts return charges of $200.00 which is the responsibility of *** *****s to reimburse Rothrock due to the fact that he originally authorized the Vehicle repairs.

8.       Paint Marker on Vehicle: as part of Rothrock’s standard operating procedures, *** *****s’ Vehicle was marked up to show previous damage and current damage which is to be repaired under the current insurance claim. Rothrock performs this procedure on all vehicle repair work Rothrock has authorization to perform and was in no way out of the ordinary or intentionally done to harm *** *****s in any way. Once *** *****s terminated our authority to repair the Vehicle, we essentially do not touch the Vehicle without instructions or authorization from the Customer. Had *** *****s requested that remove the Paint Marker on the Vehicle we would have done so.

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new 2004 Chrysler Town and Country mini van from Rothrock Motors in late 2004. Our sales experience was fair/good. Twice my braking system was serviced there, by ********** and his crew and twice the brakes failed just afterward. After the most recent brake failure, ********** and his service colleague created excuses and possibilities, but were not able to diagnose the problem. They blamed hot weather and steep hills (the latter of which were not present) as the probable cause of failure. Furthermore, it did not concern him that twice the brakes failed just after service and parts were provided by his team, at the Rothrock dealership. His suggestion after the second failure, when I went to speak with him in person, was to drive it more to see if it happens again. When I told him that I have a van that my wife does not want to drive for fear of getting in a crash, he asked me what I drove. I asked him why and he said we could switch vehicles. I told him I drive a pickup. I would describe that resolution attempt smug to say the least. He then said I could leave the van there and he or his team would put miles on it to see if they could duplicate the problem. I found that unacceptable as well, which I will explain shorty. In the end, he offered no resolution for the amount that I paid (over $700.00) for a poor product and poor service. I recall the phrase, "I don't know what you want me to do" being said a few times. When I reiterated that the brakes failed twice just after he and his team worked on it, I got a shoulder shrug. The first time the brakes failed in 2007, I returned the car. I was going UP a hill and I put the pedal to the floor as I made a left turn through an intersection. My wife and three kids were in the car. I had them picked up and had the car transported back to Rothrock for diagnosis. ********** offered to drive it over the weekend in an attempt to diagnose or duplicate the problem. I left it over the weekend and upon return, he advised me he never drove it. No explanation was given as to why he did not do what he said he would, and there was no offer of reimbursement for the failed service for which I paid. His indifference and lack of answers was disturbing and I asked my wife to discontinue taking the vehicle there. I had the brakes checked by a local mechanic, which was an additional cost. I recall that the lines were bled and pads adjusted, but I am not positive. Last month without my knowledge, my wife took the car there for service, which resulted in brake pads, rotors, bushings, etc... I was very disappointed and explained that I did not trust the dealership or service department after the last poor experience; I was driving the van the first time the brakes failed. Approximately one week after the 2013 service and parts replacement, my wife was driving my daughter to a class and again the brake pedal went to the floor. She panicked, pumped the brakes and was able to get enough braking to pull the van over. Regretably, she called Rothrock while she was emotional, and told them what happened and that she should have never taken the van there and that her husband was right about their poor service. They asked her to have it towed back there so they could check it. I regret the fact that she had *** tow the vehicle back to Rothrock instead of a mechanic/brake specialist to properly diagnose the problem they created, again. They advised her that they could not locate any issues. I find that hard to believe, and I supsect that their mistake or forgotten service procedure was again covered up and left as "unexplained." Even worse, they manufacture excuses in an attempt to cover their tracks. I called my wife from work at lunch time and I could tell something was wrong. She explained what happened while she and my daughter were in the car. She then told me the van was already back at Rothrock's service department. When I went in to speak with ********** in person, another one of his service team colleagues asked if he could join the conversation, since he was there when the van was brought in and since he used to own a garage in south *********. He explained that the area of *********, PA where she was driving has steep hills, and that the brakes probably failed because of the hills. I advised him she was not driving up and down steep hills; the brakes failed just off of a limited access highway with very little grade to the hills. He then said that it was very hot that day, and the fluid probably heated up. I asked him why cars all over the ****** ****** were not suffering from brake failures due to heat, which would surely result in some crashes. I also reminded him that THIS car was just in their shop for service for the specific issue that failed. When I explained I have a van with over $700.00 of parts and service that no one trusts to drive, neither ********** nor his colleague had anything to say. I thanked them for their time and left, knowing from my past experience that my money was wasted and I was not going to get any help or explanation from them, or the dealership (I complained to management the first time, and was ignored). After this last experience, I contacted the dealership via their website. I left my phone number and asked for a return call; as of this date, no return call.

Desired Settlement: I don't expect a full refund, but I feel that 1/2 of what I paid for the second failed service/product would be sufficient. Also, I would like to know if the Rothrock dealership executive get notified of incidents like this. My first experience with this dealership's service department led me to believe that they are shielding their own from negative comments going up their chain. I attempted to speak with Fritzinger's supervisor the first time, and was treated in the same, indifferent, dissmissive manner as ********** and his colleagues. Any apology, phone call or letter at this point would be insincere. Any offer of credit or future free service there would NOT be used. We are never going there for anything again.

Business Response:

To whom it my concern,

At Rothrock our main concern is that every vehicle is operating as safely as possible and that clients and their famies have confidence in operating their vehicle and also in having their vehicle serviced at Rothrock Motors.

After the last service visit of 7/23/13 RO #****** has the vehicle again been checked by a 3rd party facility and if so, what were the results of the 3rd party examination?

If the vehicle has not been rechecked, is the brake pedal condition still in evident?

It was stated in the concern that “Twice my braking system was serviced there, by ********** and his crew and twice failed just afterwards”.

According to our records the history of brake services on VIN #************************** are as follows;

07/01/2006 14400 miles, replaced front brake lining and machined from brake rotors and rear drums

10/29/2008 27858 miles, replaced rear brake shoes and machined rear drums

10/28/2009 33527 miles, replaced front brake lining and machined front brake rotors

10/26/2010 41521 miles, replaced front brake lining and machined front brake rotors

07/09/2013 65057 miles, replaced front brake rotors.

Is it a reasonable assumption that the brake failure event/events were not prevalent during the other brake repairs?

As stated, our main concern is the safe and confident operation of our client’s vehicles.

Please feel free to contact  *** ****** the Service Manager at Rothrock Motors, (*************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rothrock Motor Sales, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart