BBB Accredited Business since

Pohanka Acura

Phone: (703) 968-6600 View Additional Phone Numbers 13911 Lee Jackson Hwy, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.pohankaacura.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pohanka Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pohanka Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pohanka Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is active.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lenny Gonzales, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lenny Gonzales, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Pohanka Auto West

Additional Locations

  • 13911 Lee Jackson Hwy

    Chantilly, VA 20151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased the 2015 Acura *** on February 1, 2015 from Pohanka Acura Sales Representative Michael W*******. Upon receipt of the car the following occurred within a month timeframe. ---had to resign documents on two separate occasions after initial receipt of car Husbands name input incorrectly on paperwork and in system Pen and ink change done on one occasion. Changes not input into system ---incorrect VIN number placed on registration documents ---car was registered at county office. Had to return to county office to give new registration information ---Had to notify insurance company of incorrect VIN number ---car delivered with scratches Returned car for repair Upon repair of driver side mirror, mirror became attached upon receipt --- sunglass holder wouldn’t stay closed ---4/6/2015 AC would not work ---4/18/2015 Car wouldn’t start ---4/18/2015 Oil leak in Engine/valve cover ---Additional visits not documented in vehicle repair history ---Professionalism displayed by Manager Jamal E****** Comment "it’s a car what do you expect when its under warranty" I have spoken to the General Manager of Sales-Lenny G*******, General Manager of Service-JonG*****, Adam S*******, Service Advisor Adam S******* and Dawn P*******, Assistant to the President of Pohanka Automotive Group regarding this incident. I have requested a mediation meeting to include the President of Pohanka Automotive Group to address concerns. Acura corporate office/client relations was also contacted. The reference number can be provided. I was advised Pohanka Acura can accomodate my settlement request if they chose to. The issues regarding the car have been fixed. Car detailed and offer of two free services. The car was new with only 100 miles at purchase and a detail full detail was not needed as the car was only a month old. this service should've been offered/done later.

Desired Settlement: Initially I requested a new vehicle due to problems incurred within the first month of having the vehicle. I was advised this was not an option. Thus, I would like to request one car payment paid by the dealership due to the multiple inconveniences caused since February 1, 2015 and the car being not being my possession the numerous times it was in the shop. As my husband is active duty military, the treatment by Pohanka Acura and Pohanka Automotive Group gives the impression of Predatory companies that prey on military members.

Business Response:

I spoke with *** *********** on May 19, 2015 at approximately 11:30am.  *** *********** gave me a detailed account of both her sales and service experience at Acura.  She indicated that she has returned back to the dealership 6 times for both sales and service related issues.  We acknowledge that there were issues with both the transaction paperwork and a scratched rear view mirror.  She also mentioned that she has filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. 

The paperwork issue was the result of entering the wrong VIN# for her vehicle.  The vehicle was delivered February 1st on the last day of the January sales month.  She indicated she had to come back to the dealership twice to get it corrected.  Our recollection (Ray Morton) was that she only returned once to get everything resolved.  In fact, we had to repeatedly make calls to have her bring in deal stips required from the lender for approval.

The rear view mirror was replaced in short order after the delivery.  The vehicle was subsequently brought in early April with 3,392 miles for an A/C issues (not blowing cold air).  The A/C was evacuated and recharged which was covered under warranty.  We also performed a “Multi-Point” inspection free of charge.  The vehicle returned in the middle of April with a dead battery and oil leak.  The battery was replaced along with the front side valve cover gasket.  We also performed a full exterior detail free of charge (retail value $129).  In addition to the free detail, Jon G***** offered to provide 2 complimentary services (A1 ($125 plus tax value) and B1 ($185 plus tax value).

Our records indicate that she did return to the dealership 5 times.  Once to buy it, the next day to repair the rear view mirror, another to resign the paperwork, another to get the A/C fixed, and the last service visit.  We attempted to offset this inconvenience with $439 worth of complimentary services.

I again offered an apology for the issues.  I recapped what we had previously offered as a gesture of good will and respectfully told her that I felt it was more than reasonable.  She disagreed and countered with a demand that Pohanka Acura pay her a sum equal to her monthly payment ($898.16).  I then offered an additional full detail ($129 value)  in conjunction with either of the 2 complimentary services already offered.  I offered to either meet her in the lane when she arrived for service or pick up and deliver her vehicle during either of those services.  She declined and again countered with her offer of Pohanka Acura reimbursing her $898.16.  I again respectfully declined. 

The conversation was cordial and respectful but there was no agreement other than my offer for the 2 services plus the additional full detail.  The retail value of all the services offered above now total $568. 

Let me know if you any additional info.

Joe W****** COO

Pohanka Automotive Group

Additionally,

I myself had the Loudoun County treasurer (***** ****) have one of his people call her directly to change her county decal over to the new car as for her NOT to have to go back to the county a second time. So, she made the one initial visit, which everyone has to make to obtain the county sticker, but because of our mistake I set it up that she would not have to go again. This was so there was no inconvenience to her at all, since that was her largest concern once we changed the paper work for the correct vehicle identification number.  I followed up with **** ***** myself to ensure it done as well as an initial delay of 25 days on her first payment from Acura Financial services was enacted for the fact we had her car for so many days. The multiple visits were essentially the reason I had done these two things. Expecting as her and I discussed, this would resolve the issue entirely and help make her feel better about the error and not be further put out of her way. Both of which were accomplished. 

Lenny G*******

General Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The number of visits have not been accurately notated in their system. i.e. the return visit to repair the driver's side mirror holder wasn't notated.  The vehicle was retrieved and upon arrival home the holder became attached. Thus the return visit to correct this issue. Therefore 2 visits to correct a minor issue. Additionally  resign documents on two separate occasions after initial receipt of carHusbands name input incorrectly on paperwork and in system.( Input into the system as **** ****** not ****** ****). Pen and ink change done on one occasion. On the visit the next day to re-sign the documents the documents were not available. Thus this I am counting as one visit. The second occassion of the paperwork being resigned, Ray the finance specialist was not available to help thus we were assisted by someone else.  Upon resigning of the documents, we advised the incorrect phone number was on file. Therefore this information never was changed in the system until a later visit and I requested to ensure that the information be updated and not just completed via pen and ink change.

I am not accepting the offer for 2 free services due to the multiple number of visits to the dealership regarding a brand new car within a short period of time. I am not 100% confident in Pohanka Acura's ability to repair the vehicle correctly the first time. This is due to the multiple visits to correct minor issues which resulted in return trips to correct the minor issues. 

I was advised that some of the problems were a result of the car being delivered and not properly/thoroughly being inspected upon delivery to the dealership. For example the AC wasnt working. I was advised this was an oversight and not caught upon delivery due to the temperature outside was cold.

Regarding the paperwork, not only was this information given to the County but this information had to be reconveyed to the insurance company as well. Thus an additional incovenience.

I requested a full month's payment as a result of the multiple trips to the dealership and not having the car in my possession for a full month until recently.

I have tried reaching out to the Pohanka staff to resolve this issue. however as noted this situation wasn't followed up by any of the Pohanka General Manager's.

Regards,

********* ******-****

Business Response: Dear Sir,


Again after resolving and delaying her first months payment to the Lender, finally resolving the issues with the vehicle and handling the county issue myself, there is no fair justification of an additional payment to her from Pohanka. If the client feels she is still due any consideration as far as the issue on the car, she may take them up with the manufacturer directly, whom failed to charge the AC prior to delivery to us and maybe they can assist in her request. I believe we have done all and above and beyond to include free services for the minor inconveniences we created.

Thanks for your time and consideration in this matter. 

Lenny G*******
General Manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The dealership sales and service department have not jointly accepted responsibility for their negligence in the service provided from the sales aspect to service aspect. The manufacturer has been the blame from day one. However the manufacturer was not present to sale me the vehicle. The manufacturer did not complete the sales paperwork nor provide service to the vehicle.

Thus further mediation is requested from the BBB to address this matter.

Regards,

********* ******-****

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2014 Acura *** to the dealership because the rear hatchback was opening and immediately closing. I also brought the car for 3 other noise issues, a squeek (sounding like a loose screw) in the front of the car, a noisy vibration coming from the steering wheel airbag cover, and a rattle in the left front tire area. They fixed the hatchback and have been looking at the noise issues for about a week and a half. They claim they needed to remove or partially remove the windshield to replace some brackets and they claim that a pre-existing stone chip cause the windshield to crack, and the cost to replace the windshield will be around $1100 dollars. I have had a windshield replaced because of rocks so I notice if any rocks hit the car. I haven't noticed anything like that. The car that I dropped off with them had stone chips that I know of, and definitely no long cracks in the windshield. They have been test driving the car on and off during the week and a half they have had my car and it seems very suspect that the windshield cracks while they have had my car. They supposedly sent the car to some un-named glass shop to remove the windshield and replace the bracket. If there was a stone chip, why didn't that shop (if they specialize in glass) check for it and make sure they didn't crack it. That is assuming there was a crack in the first place and it wasn't a case of their incompetence.

Desired Settlement: A refrund of my cost to replace the windshield.

Business Response:

I spoke with client today. We are putting a windshield in his *** at no charge to client. He agreed with this solution. Apparently his windshield cracked while windshield city was doing a related repair.

Kyle C**

Service Manager

Pohanka Acura

###-###-#### (main)

###-###-#### (direct)

****@pohanka.com

1/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 22, 2014 we purchase an Acura 2015 *** VIN:****************** from Pohanka Acura in Chantilly VA. Immediately we started having problems with the car's electrical components, everything from starting the car, having the power rear lift gate not opening, the navigation screen freezing on the backup camera, problem with the navigation system/radio, starting the car and the forward collision warning system being flaky. In Aug we took the car back to Pohanka but they couldn’t find anything wrong. Adam requested we bring the car in when the issue happens. In Oct we took the car back to Pohanka and showed Adam that the navigation unit was dark and frozen. The next day Adam called and stated they couldn’t reproduce the problem. We reminded him of the condition of the car when we dropped it off. We even had to elevate the issue to Drake the service manager. We also contacted Acura customer service directly. Everyone we dealt with refused to respond and communicate what was going on during those 22 days that Pohanka took to repair our car. During this service, one of the problems was the forward collision warning system kept alerting with nothing in front of the car and staring the car was not working appropriately! Throughout the entire 22 days that Acura decided to change the Navigations systems, communication with Pohanka and Acura was very sparse we had to call them to let us know what was going on and when our car will be ready. We left messages for Jeff Acura customer representative but he did never returned our calls. In fact, to find out information we usually had to be the one to initiate contact and called Drake most of the time to have some update regarding our car. The only time Adam called us, was when he realized the survey we submitted reflected the lack of communication we experienced. He called us more concerned about the effect of that on him rather than our satisfaction. We continued to experience issues with the forward collision warning system. In one day, the system went off at least half a dozen times in one 10 minute drive with nothing in front of the car. We contacted Adam by phone and left a message that we wanted to dropped the car off on Dec 5th. However, Adam never returned our calls. We also left a message for Drake as well but he also did not return our calls. The service writer Dan on December 5th, began by lecturing us and offering to give us a detailed guide on the forward collision warning system. We decided to wait and speak with Adam and Drake since they knew the history. We returned the car to Pohanka on Dec 8 but this time began working with Kyle, in addition to Drake. They next day, both contacted us, stating Acura again told them again to just calibrate the camera. We were not happy with this and asked that they fix it instead. In an effort to make this happen, we contacted Acura directly. However, since communication was so bad the last time, we asked if there was a different case manager then Jeff to oversee our issue. Eventually Acura assigned us Chris as a case manager. Chris was very rude and impolite. During the first call, he made a few references to the fact that we did not want to work with Jeff again. We told him that we just want our car fixed. After so much arguing with us with that arrogant kind of the attitude he ended by saying he would contact Pohanka and get back to us within 2 days. The next day Kyle called and stated our car was ready and they couldn’t find anything. We asked to speak to Drake, who promptly contacted us and relayed the same information. Drake also stated his hands were tied based upon input from Acura. The next day, Chris called to tell us that the dealer said there was nothing they needed to fix. He also relayed to us that the system worked as designed and there were limitations in the system. We let him know that we were aware of those system limits but first, those conditions were not present at any of the times the system issued false positives. We also relayed that in addition to false positives, the system didn’t appear to work, even when it should. For example, like when other cars cut us off. Chris' response was there are no guarantees that the forward collision warning system will work and no guarantees that it won’t falsely alert under the listed conditions. If you are not happy with the system, it is just a driving assist aid. In addition to your ability to change the system settings, you can also turn it off. When we questioned this, Chris got even ruder and basically told us, the car is yours, do with it what you want but it works as designed and there is nothing we can do. He was so unprofessional! Chris was just reading from a script and trying to talk over me! He was not listing at all and was extremely argumentative! I asked to speak to his manager and he said there is no manager available. He even relayed that we asked not to work with Jeff again! He seemed to take this personally and was doing all that he could not to assist us at all! Again I asked to speak to his manager and he ended the call saying the manager would call us back in 48 hours. That was over a week ago! I’m still waiting for this Manager to call us!!! When we picked up the car from Acura, they even copied the page out of the owner’s manual detailing the forward collision warning system limits. Can Acura really get away with charging us for a feature that they then say, maybe it works, and maybe it doesn’t. They don’t even list the distances in a verifiable measure to validate if the system works or not! When we purchased the car, the salesperson Adam said they had two 2014 ***'s left one black and one silver. However, one of them had to have the entire engine replace because it was a lemon. We let him know we didn't want a repaired car and didn't want a black one. He left, came back and said "Oh the problem one was the black one - we just have to disclose the repair". With Acura and Pohanka's attitude, we are left wondering if they gave us the lemon with the repaired engine! We spent over $50,000 for a brand new and reliable car! With that type of money, who expects to have their new car always in the shop? In less than 5 months of ownership, the car has been to the shop 4 times and has not even had the first oil change and the last time Pohanka put on car 110 miles. We are so unhappy with this car. Pohanka, Acura and the people working there and don’t care about the customer and their problem.

Desired Settlement: Informing us to turn the system off isn't acceptable. If Pohanka and Acura claim the forward collision warning system is working as designed, then what is the exact distance an object should be from the car when the system activates? Responding that there is no guarantee the system works, isn't really acceptable either.

Business Response:

**. and **** ******, presented their 2014 *** to our service department on 8-30-14. They stated that the vehicles back up camera system was malfunctioning. **. ****** was given a loaner vehicle while we diagnosed his vehicle. We were unable to find any malfunction with vehicle at that time. The client was contacted and the repair order was closed the same day.

**. ****** returned to our service department on 10-19-14 and had a concern of the Navigation system intermittently going blank while driving. **. and **** ****** were provided a loaner vehicle while we diagnosed the vehicle for the concerns stated. We were unable to immediately reproduce the concern. After contacting the manufacturer’s Technical assistance department, we were directed to replace the navigation system and the HDD unit. The parts were ordered. **. ****** spoke with our Service Manager, Drake S***, in detail about what had been done with his vehicle and when we expected the parts to arrive. **. ****** was contacted by our service department when the parts arrived and the navigation unit and HDD unit were replaced. After replacement of the navigation unit the system preformed as designed.

On 12-8-14 **. and **** ****** returned to our service department. The concern was that the forward collision warning system indicated false warning by sounding a warning beep and turning on a brake lamp. After testing the system we found that the system operated as designed by the manufacturer. Contact was made with Acura’s technical assistance about this concern. We were advised re - aim the forward looking camera. Retested the system and again the system worked as designed.

Our Service Manager, Drake S*** spoke with the ******’s on 12-9-14 about the steps Pohanka Acura had taken to address this concern. At this time Pohanka Acura is unable to identify any vehicle malfunction, and therefore consider the vehicle to be operating as designed.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because our problem is not solved 


Regards,

**** ******








Business Response: From: Steve W****** <********@pohanka.com>
Date: Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 11:45 AM
Subject: Response to case # ********
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>


Pohanka Acura would like to assist **. ****** in resolving any operating issues he may be having with his vehicle. Pohanka Acura utilized our shop foreman, who is also an Acura Master Technician and has over 20 years of experience with Acura, as well as Acura Tech Line (Acura’s version of tech support)  trying to identify possible causes of **. ******s complaint. During the last visit we were unable to duplicate **. ******’s concerns, and assessed the vehicle to be operating as designed by Acura. If Pohanka Acura is able to duplicate an instance in which the vehicle does not operate as designed, we will then be able to identify the cause and make whatever corrections are necessary to correct the issue.

Consumer Response: **. ***** 


Everytime we took our car to the dealership between Pohanka Acura and Acura customer service, both keep telling us they are unable to reproduce the problem. However, when we drive the car, it frequently is alerting. Their final resolution was to tell us that the forward collision warning system is a “feature” with various settings, including the ability to turn the “feature” off.  Do you think is that fair to the customer to pay 50.000 dollras for the this kind of the car and not be able to use all the "featurer"? Everytime we went to this dealership they trerat us not very right beacuse they tried to dismiss us and our propblem! Thank you again and have a good day! 

V/R
**** ******
###-###-####

  Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

**** ******








9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2004 Acura *** car that has 135000 miles on because the AC was not working properly. The service representative said they will run the diagnostics and give me a call. I made it clear from the beginning that I'm not willing to spend a fortune on this vehicle.the representative called me back in a few hours and said the whole issue is related to some leakage in the AC system, and it will cost about $600+ to get fixed. I agreed to proceed with that and they changed the leaking tubes, and that was it. I drove my car back to find out that the problem is still the same. nothing has changed, so I took the car back to Pohanka Acura service department. The guy said, they will have to run the diagnostics again, and as in the first time, he called a few hours later and told me that the problem seems to be related to the "compressor" as well, and that will need $ 1300 to get it fixed. I declined that, since I was clear from the beginning that I will not spend a fortune on an old car. I felt the service department did not do a thorough job to reach the correct diagnosis. If they told me from the beginning that the problem is due to leakage and the "compressor", then I would say no, do not touch anything, and of course I would have paid whatever the charge to run the diagnostics.

Desired Settlement: I feel Pohanka Acura should refund me the $ 600 + that they made me pay to do an incomplete and incorrect diagnosis. My AC was not fixed, and I had to trash a lot of money just to have a couple of hoses replaced. Their technician was incorrect from the beggining, and had they told me that it will cost me close to $ 2000 I would've simply said, no forget it. They are simply twisting my arm and handed me a non-fixed car.

Business Response:

Since this complaint was submitted, Pohanka Acura and ** ********* have reached a compromise and the *** has been repaired. Pohanka Acura sold him the parts required to repair the A/C at cost and installed them at no charge. *** ********* picked up his *** on August 22nd and, to the best of our knowledge,  is satisfied with the outcome.

Consumer Response: I had contacted the BBB number one day after I submitted the complaint and asked to withdraw the complaint because Pohanka Acura and I have reached a mutual resolution to the issue. Evidently the withdrawal request did not go throw, but anyway,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

** *********

8/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership continues to remain non communicative on this. I have not got any response for 4 days and neither an apology. Hi, I have a serious complain about the service that was done on my car on Thursday, 8/7/2014. I came to the dealership for my 2012 Acura*** emission and safety inspection. I waited at the dealership for about two hours. After the service was performed, I was charged $28.00 for emission inspection and was told that my report would be in my car. When I tried to renew, my registration at DMV site, DMV unable to verify the emission inspection. There was no emission inspection report left in my car. When I called dealership, and repeatedly asked for the report, I was told on phone that the service center did not do the emission test and they missed it. So why did they charged me for it? What did I wait for dealership for 2 hours? I have lost lot of trust with dealership. How do I know that the services that are being charged for are being actually done on my vehicle? In this case I know, because DMV will not do the registration on my car. What happens to something that I cannot see, like brake fluid change? Could we be told that service was performed, without actually performing it? The response from dealership has been terrible, which is forcing me to take this complain on public forum. I have send 2 emails from yesterday and also dropped VM to Elizabeth, customer relations manager. She has still not responded to me till now, increasing my frustration, and giving a serious impression that they really don’t care. Thanks, -***** ******

Desired Settlement: 1. Explanation why was emission check was missed. 2. Explanation why it is taken more than 4 days for a response 3. Refund and compensation for the trouble and harassment caused due to your actions.

Business Response:

Pohanka Acura acknowledges that we did in fact not complete the emissions that we charged *** ****** for. This was an oversight on our part. *** ******'s emissions test is completed and we refunded him the $28 charged.

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having been a loyal and satisfied customer of Pohanka Acura for (9) nine years, I am submitting my complaint with great disappointment. I purchased my new Acura ** in April, 2005 and have had excellent s workmanship and customer service from your dealership from the beginning. I have been diligent about having my maintenance check-ups and repairs performed at Pohanka Acura and have been rewarded with driving a safe and reliable car. On May 12, 2014 I had the oil changed in my car and also had my Premium B Service and Value Service #5 completed, costing $287.08. Afterward, I was advised that the Oil Pump needed to be replaced for $1,498.00. I brought my car back to the dealership on my way home from work (on that very same day) to have the oil pump replaced. I was met by a service advisor who scanned my car code with his computer, pulling up my information. I also provided him with all my invoice paperwork from the visit earlier in the day. He quoted $1,498.00 for the work and then advised me that he could see that I had already had my timing belt replaced in August, 2012 and therefore would not need it replaced with the oil pump, stating that the cost would be reduced to $1,000.00. He then asked me to sign a blank screen on his portable computer that had a rectangle box with a sentence above it. I asked what I was signing, my daughter read it and I too saw that it referred to $75.00 related to a car return fee. I asked “Is this all I’m signing for, this doesn’t have additional charges or agreements on it does it, because the screen is blank?” He assured us it did not and advised me to wait inside for a loaner car. As I waited inside, another service advisor (***** *******) approached me stating that the cost for the work I had just been quoted in the service bay was wrong and the work would cost me $1, 498.00. I told him the advisor who checked me in had just quoted $1,000.00 to me after reading my paperwork and seeing my account profile. I explained that I didn’t need a new timing belt because I had paid to have that done at Pohanka previously. **. ******* was rather abrupt when I told him I didn’t agree with the sudden increase and asked if I could speak to a manager. He refused my request. The advisor who checked me in asked me to speak to him in the service bay where he told me the quote changed to $1,498.00. I asked for the car keys and told them I preferred to wait until I could speak to a service manager before making the decision to have the work done. I waited for the car to be pulled up and realized **. ******* had retained my paperwork. I retrieved it from him at his desk when he then stated, “You signed the quote when you came in, so why are you so bothered”. I told him I had not signed a quote. He then handed me a piece of paper with my electronic signature imposed on a quote for $1,498.00. The blank computer screen with only a signature block was used to obtain my signature and fraudulently impose it on a document he created. I did not hear back from the service manager and took my car to a local automotive repair shop to have the work done. The mechanics discovered that only my gasket was leaking; the oil pump did not need replacing. Therefore I was charged only $700.00 for the repair and then also purchased the 4 new tires that Pohanka Acura recommended. I have lost confidence and trust in their customer service, business practices and abilities. My first observation is that perhaps the fact that I am a woman prompted the service advisors to attempt to take advantage of me by reporting the fuel pump needed replacement when in fact it did not. Additionally, the practice of having a customer sign a blank computer screen is unacceptable. Presenting a price for the work at time of check-in and then increasing it after the keys are handed over, is also unacceptable. To substantiate my claims, I have copies of all paperwork received from the dealership as well as well as the paid invoice from the automotive shop who performed the work.

Desired Settlement: Realizing there is not another Acura dealer in my immediate area (closest being 90 minutes from my home), I asked Pohanka Acura if I could be assigned to a service manager for all future check-ins/check-outs as well as a complimentary maintenance check-up. I received $60.00 in gift cards and told by the manager that he basically did not believe my description of events that took place. I also would like the dealership to stop acquiring signatures on blank computer screens.

Business Response:

Pohanka Acura regrets the experience ***. ****** had at our dealership. **** *** is one of our Service Managers and spoke with ***. ****** via telephone after her visit and he offered to be her point of contact for all service moving forward. **. *** does not recall any part of the conversation that should have led ***. ****** to the conclusion that he did not believe her version of events, and feels he may not have effectively communicated his thoughts to her. We apologize for that. **. *** did send ***. ****** $60 worth of gift cards as a good will gesture in the hopes of mending the relationship. Pohanka Acura is in the process of reevaluating our tablet signature process based on ***. ******'s feedback. We very much hope ***. ****** is happy with her future experiences here at Pohanka Acura.

7/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just bought Acura MDX recently and feel deceived by them. Paid twice as much as what they sent me on a flyer for their summer sales event which started in June. I bought my car June 3rd, and their General Sales Manager, ***** ******* tried to tell me if I got flyer before I bought the car, he would honor it but since i got the car before I got the flyer, he would not. Keep in mind the sales event started in June, my car was bought on June 3rd. Now you know why i feel ripped off. The sales incentives was $6195 and the trade in $12,255 check they sent me and only gave me $4600 for my trade in.

Desired Settlement: Check for at least the promotional incentive of $6195 & proper trade in value difference of $2100; for my car in great condition for its mileage because my car was purchased during their incentive time frame.

Business Response: ***. ********* did purchase a new MDX from us on June 3rd. ***. ********* did speak with me regarding a flyer she received after her purchase. At no time during our conversation was ***. ********* told that if she had gotten the flyer before her purchase I would honor it. I explained to ***. ********* that the vehicle in the advertisement was a base model MDX AWD and was heavily discounted because it was not in high demand like the MDX AWD Tech model that she purchased. The flyer also had a estimated offer for her vehicle of "up to $12,155". That dollar amount is an estimate and does not factor in the 184,511 miles the vehicle had on it when it was traded.  I tried to explain this to ***. ********* on the telephone but she was very upset. What I did tell ***. ********* regarding the flyer was that if she had received it before her purchase and brought it in I would have explained everything to her exactly the same way and she would have had the option to accept the explanation and move forward with the purchase or decide not to move forward. That was obviously no longer an option. Pohanka Acura's position on this matter is that, while it is unfortunate that she is not happy with the agreement that she made and the contract she signed on June 3rd, there is nothing in the flyer she received that would have altered that contract and therefore Pohanka Acura will not be offering any compensation.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You did tell me exactly what I said you said.  The summer sales event started on June 1st.  I bought my car June 3rd, you should have honored the flyer.  In regards to my mileage, Pohanka had been only ONE servicing my Mdx for 9 years, you know my mileage!  I can just give you my name and you can look up all my years of servicing and loyalty to Pohanka.  And see my mileage!  The voucher came directly from Pohanka no other dealership who wouldn't know my mileage!  Don't say that the flyer didn't include in my mileage? Then why send that deceiving flyer?  
Beyond that flyer, you do not mention the $6195 incentives letter I received as well! Which was for the summer sales event that started June 1st.  Once again, I bought my car June 3rd!  Why would you not honor that letter?  

Regards,

******* *********








Business Response:

On Thursday July 10th, **. and ***. ********* came in and met with the company COO. An agreement was reached and financial concessions were made. We look forward to servicing ***. *********'s MDX in the future.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking at a used car on their lot and the salesperson told me it was a V6, some other items, and also AWD. I proceeded to ask about the gas mileage on an AWD vs. a regular vehicle. He looked up different mileages on his phone via the Internet and told me AWDs don't use up too much more gas. At no time did he tell me it was a V8. If he had, I would have passed over the vehicle. I've had a V8 before and also a V6, I know the difference. I also know my budget and knew the strain of gas and upkeep on the larger engine would be too much. I wanted a V6 and no higher. After I purchased the car, dashboard lights came on after a couple days (one had been on the whole time) and I took it in. They ended up replacing a part that was bad, so I decided it was worth the $50 to take it to my mechanic to see what else may be wrong. It received an approval from the mechanic but I was shocked to learn it was a V8 engine! I called the salesperson back who, of course, said he told me it was a V8 and reminded me he looked up the gas mileage. Yes, the latter of that is true but the first part is not. He may have been confused because the price he quoted me on the car was $990 off from when we went inside to discuss purchasing. My daughter, who was with me, also remembers that he said V6.

Desired Settlement: I've already paid to have the car inspected so they know they can sell it without further issues like the one I had when I just bought it, and they replaced a part they would have had to replace at the point of sale anyway, since they didn't disclose the fact that the part was bad. So, I'm not asking for anything more than to return it for the price I paid, plus taxes and registration, and their $499 selling fee (whatever that is called). In short, I give them the car back, they refund my credit card down payment of $1030 and issue a check to my finance company for $14,000.

Business Response: Since the time this complaint was filed, Pohanka Acura has taken the *** back, given *** ***** a full refund, and delivered to her an SUV that better suits her needs. At my last check, *** ***** was satisfied with the outcome.

6/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Acura *** from this dealership on April 26, 2014 (fully paid in cash). At the time of completing the transaction, I was told by the Finance Manager that I should expect to receive my title number in the mail from the DMV within 6-8 weeks. Since by law I have to register my vehicle in Fairfax County (where I reside) within 2 months, I followed up after 1 month of my purchase (have not received title information from the DMV) to inquire about whom and how I should reach out to to obtain my title number. At my first contact to Acura Pohanka (May 26/27), I was transferred to the Title Department, but only got to the voicemail (of a personnel named ***** I believe). I left a voicemail but as of June 9, 2014 I still have not received a call back. At my second contact (May 29), I reached out to the sales representative to assisted me with my purchase, ****. **** connected me to the Finance department, and the person I spoke with (did not get his name) told me that the title information may not have been processed through by the DMV yet (again reiterating the 6-8 weeks wait time), but that I should check back with them (the dealer) if I have not received anything by the week of June 2, 2014. At my third contact (June 5, 2014), I was connected to the Finance Department again, this time speaking with a different gentleman. He checked the DMV system info on his computer and confirmed that I do not have a title number still.... However, this time the story changed and he said that I would NOT be receiving anything from the DMV, and that the title number is just something that will be in the DMV's system, so if I want it I will need to call the DMV to ask for it. In short, he said there is nothing else on the dealer's end that they could do, and I should just keep trying the DMV. On June 6, 2014, I called the DMV to inquire about the title information. The representative I spoke with confirmed that they do not have title information for my Acura MDX, however, she was adamant about the fact that the title information should have gotten into their system within 30 days, and it has well been over 30 days. She asked that I check with my dealer, specifically to ask for a tracking number when they sent out the title information and forms, and said if at this point the information is still not in the system, there is a good chance the dealer would need to resend this information. On June 9, 2014, I called Acura Pohanka again, this time reaching the sales manager. I expressed my frustration in that I have been bounced back and forth and still received no information or updates on the status on the title of my purchased vehicle. The sales manager responded that he was not familiar with the title process, and the only person who could help me is the title department personnel. I explained that I had attempted to reach out to this department but to this date have not received a call back, so I am not confident about this route of resolution and would really like to get some help from someone else. He checked and confirmed that the lady in the title department was out for lunch, but promised that she would call me back. Again, no call back thus far. Having paid for the vehicle in full I expect that the title of the vehicle should be transferred to me in a reasonable time frame, and at least updates should be provided in a reasonable manner when requested by the customer. Multiple attempts at reaching out to this dealer has only gotten me bounced back and forth and around, with no resolution or attempts to provide customer service. It feels that now that they have taken all my money, they have no desire to provide any follow up to ensure my rights as a customer.

Desired Settlement: Immediate update to customer as to the status of the title registration and reasons for the hold up (the Sales Manager noted on June 9 that they sell a lot of vehicles but only have 1 person working on titles.... I find that to be an inadequate explanation -- they should hire sufficient personnel for delivery service and products). Delivery of title to customer within 5 business days; reaching out to customer to provide title number once processed by the DMV.

Business Response: Our records indicate the title was printed by DMV on June 10th. **** ***, Pohanka Acuras title clerk, called **** **** this morning and left her a voicemail with that information as well as the title number.

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer Cheated at Pohanka AcuraThis is ******** ***********. I was at Pohanka Auto West Inc. (Pohanka Acura, Chattily, VA) on Dec-31-2013 to buy a brand new car AWD Acura MDX with Technology package. The sales person ***** ****** was working with me for negotiating and paper work. After we agreed on a price, the sales person and finance manager ******** completed the paperwork for credit check with multiple banks, loan documents, sale documentation and car registration with State of Virginia. I also gave them a personal check for USD 8500 for the down payment. Entire paper work was completed. Sales person walked me out of the office to the car in the parking lot so that she can explain me features in the car and see me off. Sales person, my friend and I were sitting in the car while she was explaining the features in Acura MDX. Once she was done explaining, she handed one car key and said that I would receive another key in the mail.I was not informed till the last minute that the car that I just bought did not have the Master key (Driver 1). The missing key for a brand new car came as a surprise to me. The sales person did not give me any paper work for the missing key either. I asked her if I can get in written that I will get the second key. She said she can check and see what she can do. I walked with her to the Pohanka office where she gave me a piece of paper that had One MDX key written on it. I asked what if Pohanka did not find the original key. I was told that I will have to drive back to Pohanka and request for a Master key which can be programmed to my car. This statement was not sounding good and I asked for a manger. A manager showed up and asked me about the issue. When I explained that the brand new car was being given to me without the Master key. He said stuff happens and I have to take it as is. I asked them why I was not informed in advance that you did not have the Master key. I was told that two porters were searching for the key while the paper work was in progress. I asked they could have told me the moment they realized the key is lost. When I insisted that they search for the key, the manager said Do you want me to go on my knees and beg you in a very sarcastic and offensive way. This was really uncalled for after paying 45,250 US dollars. He added that I was over the top of everything and no one can help me. He also said words that were cheap and was speaking to his colleagues saying freaking Indian crying just for keys. This is really sad to have such experience with a manager at a large auto dealer. This is a good example of racism towards Asian Indian who is requesting for what he deserves. While this is all going on, the sales person just stood and watched the show. I am very much offended that a car dealer can be so arrogant and offensive. The manager behaved as if he is invincible. This hatred towards an Indian was not expected. There was some other talk that went in. I asked if they had another similar car of the same color. They said NO. I am not sure if they were true.After a little later, another guy (African American) showed up introducing himself and asked if I can give him 20 minutes while he searched for the second key. I told him, I can give him 30 minutes instead. I stepped out for 30 minutes and came back. I noticed that the Acura MDX that I just purchased was not in the spot where it was parked (Sales person still had the keys). I stepped into the Dealers office. This time another manager approached me and introduced himself and asked if we could talk. I stepped into his office and I was given confirmation that they did not have the Master key. I questioned why was I being treated badly by the first manager. All I heard from him was he doesnt know. I asked them for my options. He said that I can take the car today and they will order a Master key for me. Once Pohanka receives the key after 3 days, they will arrange someone to pick up my car and have it programmed at Pohanka and deliver the car back to me. I asked what my other options are, as I wanted original key. I was told that that was the only option other than canceling the sale. After a little discussion, I conveyed that I wanted original key else I am willing to cancel the purchase. Manager said okay and walked out of his office where I was seated and came back in few minutes and offered me some free MDX accessories. I denied his offer as I was not really looking at money. I repeated that I want the deal / purchase to be canceled as they could not provide me what they were supposed to provide as part of the sale. Manager walked out again and came back saying you know what the key is being programmed right now. Wait for some time and you can take the key. I insisted for the original key. Then the manger stepped out again and brought me the personal check I gave them for $8500.I stepped out from his office. Later I asked the sales person if I can get in written that the purchase has been canceled. She told me that it will be canceled and I wont get anything in written. I email her on Jan-2-2014 to send me something in written and she had her GM email me a document.It is so unfortunate that a dealer who has so many Asian Indian customers is so racist and is ready to cheat at any cost. The issue is how I was treated after the sale. It is not just money. This is not just another email. This has really happened and the dealer has all the records of the transaction as the car was registered on my name. Pohanka wasted my time on Dec-31-2013 which was a working day for me. This also put me to severe frustration and mental agony.I request you to look into this issue seriously and take up the matter with at most sincerity. Else Acura can end up with many more disgruntled and annoyed customers due to their cheating and racist approach. Thanks******** ***********.

Desired Settlement: I have not heard anything like this before. I do not know how this can be resolved.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

As is obvious, this complaint is primarily about the original #1 Key that could not be located at time of delivery. Since these keys are nearly $500 to replace, we ask the client to give us a few days to attempt finding the key vs. cutting a new one, when most often the original is found within the dealership. It was a busy Saturday at the end of the month, so very hard to look and find at that time. I have NEVER had anyone refuse this offer and more times than not, again the original is found and mailed to the client, all is resolved. When he refused that and asked we put it in writing, we did. I signed and the salesperson gave him a "We owe" slip that clearly defined we would replace the #1 key with a duplicate and programming. As mentioned in his complaint, we even offered to shuttle the car back and forth if it came to that, not to inconvenience him. He again refused and at this point, we had no other options to offer. My asking him if he wanted me to "beg his forgiveness" was due to him standing at the front door of the busy showroom, raising his voice about us not telling him the situation before hand. Well, we did not know about the situation before hand, it came up only "at delivery" and we told him as soon as we knew. So, after about 5 apologies, I didn't know what and how he wanted me to respond. It seemed as if he just wanted to make a scene and every one uncomfortable.

So, it was my suggestion that we tear up the paper work and cancel the transaction. It was obvious that he was NOT going to be satisfied. And after the incredibly low price and great deal he received, I could do no more for him. It was better to part company and hopefully as friends. That it appears as something that will not happen now?

As far as the racial allegations are concerned, I have no idea what he is talking about. His salesperson was a woman (one of five on my staff) from ******. I have 28 sales people on staff from a total of 13 different countries and two are Asia/Indian. I am Mexican/American myself and strive to have a cultural diversity in my staff that reflects AND respects that of the clients that do business with us on a daily basis. Our reputation in the community is impecable and that is further reflected in the surveys that Acura corporate send to clients both from service and sales. I have been here 25 year and 15 as a manager and have never had a situation where someone refused to allow us to replace a key. I am firmly believing there was no way to solve this problem the way he wanted it to be solved, so parting ways was the best resolve in my opinion. This gentleman disrespected me and my staff, all for a key that we were willing to replace. It is very rare I would refuse to do business with someone, unfortunately this was one of those times.

Sincerely,
***** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As Pohanka mentioned, the keys costs $500 for a duplicate (not original). In their response they specified that it was a busy Saturday (they are lying), It was a Tuesday as mentioned in my original complaint. If I tell them this they would probably say “Tuesday -So what”. That is how they got used to do their business. The response says that they have realized at the last minute that the second key is missing. While the truth is that we were informed by the Sales person (after getting into discussion) that the Porter tried to search for 2 hours while we were doing paper work. She did not feel it necessary to let me know well in advance until we had an argument over the keys. Even other managers also agreed that they knew it in advance. But all of them agreed only after I started asking questions why I was not informed in advance.  They claim that they have been in the business for 25 years, sounds like they have been treating the customers in the same way for so long and will continue to do so unless questioned and appropriate action is taken against the dealership.  

After all the discussion they wanted to cancel the deal, but never offered another similar car from their inventory.  This clearly shows that the dealership did it on purpose. They wanted to sell the specific car to me for whatever reason. Pohanka say the Manager1 has apologized 5 times. They are lying again. It was only once that first Manager said sorry and made his statements. For me it’s not about how many times you apologize.

Dealer claims I created a scene, (which is not true). I had questioned it. Asking right questions straight on their face has irked them because they knew they are cheating me. They might be worried that other customers might lose interest if they come to know that Pohanka cheats customers deliberately.

When I spoke about Racial profiling in my complaint, It’s interesting that Pohanka claims that they do not know what I am talking about. I am not concerned about how many employees Pohanka has and from which countries. My concern is about how the first manager referred us  after the conversation with him. It was totally uncalled for and unnecessary. Moreever, it was pure discrimination based on ethnicity and country of origin. May be, that is how Pohanka does business. Pushing back customers and making them feel bad and enforce whatever they want on their customers.

Pohanka claims that they have given me an “incredibly low price and great deal”, but that doesn’t given a dealer license to cheat customers. That doesn’t mean one can do racial profiling. The price negotiated was supposed to include 2 original keys from the manufacturer and not duplicates. 


Regards,

******** ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pohanka Acura
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)