BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Pohanka Acura

Phone: (703) 968-6600 View Additional Phone Numbers 13911 Lee Jackson Highway, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.pohankaacura.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pohanka Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pohanka Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 19, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1981
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lenny Gonzales, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lenny Gonzales, GM
Customer Contact: Steve Swaesch
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Pohanka Auto West

Additional Locations

  • 13911 Lee Jackson Highway

    Chantilly, VA 20151

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 631-6357 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2014 Delivery Issues
7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just bought Acura MDX recently and feel deceived by them. Paid twice as much as what they sent me on a flyer for their summer sales event which started in June. I bought my car June 3rd, and their General Sales Manager, ***** ******* tried to tell me if I got flyer before I bought the car, he would honor it but since i got the car before I got the flyer, he would not. Keep in mind the sales event started in June, my car was bought on June 3rd. Now you know why i feel ripped off. The sales incentives was $6195 and the trade in $12,255 check they sent me and only gave me $4600 for my trade in.

Desired Settlement: Check for at least the promotional incentive of $6195 & proper trade in value difference of $2100; for my car in great condition for its mileage because my car was purchased during their incentive time frame.

Business Response: ***. ********* did purchase a new MDX from us on June 3rd. ***. ********* did speak with me regarding a flyer she received after her purchase. At no time during our conversation was ***. ********* told that if she had gotten the flyer before her purchase I would honor it. I explained to ***. ********* that the vehicle in the advertisement was a base model MDX AWD and was heavily discounted because it was not in high demand like the MDX AWD Tech model that she purchased. The flyer also had a estimated offer for her vehicle of "up to $12,155". That dollar amount is an estimate and does not factor in the 184,511 miles the vehicle had on it when it was traded.  I tried to explain this to ***. ********* on the telephone but she was very upset. What I did tell ***. ********* regarding the flyer was that if she had received it before her purchase and brought it in I would have explained everything to her exactly the same way and she would have had the option to accept the explanation and move forward with the purchase or decide not to move forward. That was obviously no longer an option. Pohanka Acura's position on this matter is that, while it is unfortunate that she is not happy with the agreement that she made and the contract she signed on June 3rd, there is nothing in the flyer she received that would have altered that contract and therefore Pohanka Acura will not be offering any compensation.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You did tell me exactly what I said you said.  The summer sales event started on June 1st.  I bought my car June 3rd, you should have honored the flyer.  In regards to my mileage, Pohanka had been only ONE servicing my Mdx for 9 years, you know my mileage!  I can just give you my name and you can look up all my years of servicing and loyalty to Pohanka.  And see my mileage!  The voucher came directly from Pohanka no other dealership who wouldn't know my mileage!  Don't say that the flyer didn't include in my mileage? Then why send that deceiving flyer?  
Beyond that flyer, you do not mention the $6195 incentives letter I received as well! Which was for the summer sales event that started June 1st.  Once again, I bought my car June 3rd!  Why would you not honor that letter?  

Regards,

******* *********








Business Response:

On Thursday July 10th, **. and ***. ********* came in and met with the company COO. An agreement was reached and financial concessions were made. We look forward to servicing ***. *********'s MDX in the future.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/27/2014 Delivery Issues
4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer Cheated at Pohanka AcuraThis is ******** ***********. I was at Pohanka Auto West Inc. (Pohanka Acura, Chattily, VA) on Dec-31-2013 to buy a brand new car AWD Acura MDX with Technology package. The sales person ***** ****** was working with me for negotiating and paper work. After we agreed on a price, the sales person and finance manager ******** completed the paperwork for credit check with multiple banks, loan documents, sale documentation and car registration with State of Virginia. I also gave them a personal check for USD 8500 for the down payment. Entire paper work was completed. Sales person walked me out of the office to the car in the parking lot so that she can explain me features in the car and see me off. Sales person, my friend and I were sitting in the car while she was explaining the features in Acura MDX. Once she was done explaining, she handed one car key and said that I would receive another key in the mail.I was not informed till the last minute that the car that I just bought did not have the Master key (Driver 1). The missing key for a brand new car came as a surprise to me. The sales person did not give me any paper work for the missing key either. I asked her if I can get in written that I will get the second key. She said she can check and see what she can do. I walked with her to the Pohanka office where she gave me a piece of paper that had One MDX key written on it. I asked what if Pohanka did not find the original key. I was told that I will have to drive back to Pohanka and request for a Master key which can be programmed to my car. This statement was not sounding good and I asked for a manger. A manager showed up and asked me about the issue. When I explained that the brand new car was being given to me without the Master key. He said stuff happens and I have to take it as is. I asked them why I was not informed in advance that you did not have the Master key. I was told that two porters were searching for the key while the paper work was in progress. I asked they could have told me the moment they realized the key is lost. When I insisted that they search for the key, the manager said Do you want me to go on my knees and beg you in a very sarcastic and offensive way. This was really uncalled for after paying 45,250 US dollars. He added that I was over the top of everything and no one can help me. He also said words that were cheap and was speaking to his colleagues saying freaking Indian crying just for keys. This is really sad to have such experience with a manager at a large auto dealer. This is a good example of racism towards Asian Indian who is requesting for what he deserves. While this is all going on, the sales person just stood and watched the show. I am very much offended that a car dealer can be so arrogant and offensive. The manager behaved as if he is invincible. This hatred towards an Indian was not expected. There was some other talk that went in. I asked if they had another similar car of the same color. They said NO. I am not sure if they were true.After a little later, another guy (African American) showed up introducing himself and asked if I can give him 20 minutes while he searched for the second key. I told him, I can give him 30 minutes instead. I stepped out for 30 minutes and came back. I noticed that the Acura MDX that I just purchased was not in the spot where it was parked (Sales person still had the keys). I stepped into the Dealers office. This time another manager approached me and introduced himself and asked if we could talk. I stepped into his office and I was given confirmation that they did not have the Master key. I questioned why was I being treated badly by the first manager. All I heard from him was he doesnt know. I asked them for my options. He said that I can take the car today and they will order a Master key for me. Once Pohanka receives the key after 3 days, they will arrange someone to pick up my car and have it programmed at Pohanka and deliver the car back to me. I asked what my other options are, as I wanted original key. I was told that that was the only option other than canceling the sale. After a little discussion, I conveyed that I wanted original key else I am willing to cancel the purchase. Manager said okay and walked out of his office where I was seated and came back in few minutes and offered me some free MDX accessories. I denied his offer as I was not really looking at money. I repeated that I want the deal / purchase to be canceled as they could not provide me what they were supposed to provide as part of the sale. Manager walked out again and came back saying you know what the key is being programmed right now. Wait for some time and you can take the key. I insisted for the original key. Then the manger stepped out again and brought me the personal check I gave them for $8500.I stepped out from his office. Later I asked the sales person if I can get in written that the purchase has been canceled. She told me that it will be canceled and I wont get anything in written. I email her on Jan-2-2014 to send me something in written and she had her GM email me a document.It is so unfortunate that a dealer who has so many Asian Indian customers is so racist and is ready to cheat at any cost. The issue is how I was treated after the sale. It is not just money. This is not just another email. This has really happened and the dealer has all the records of the transaction as the car was registered on my name. Pohanka wasted my time on Dec-31-2013 which was a working day for me. This also put me to severe frustration and mental agony.I request you to look into this issue seriously and take up the matter with at most sincerity. Else Acura can end up with many more disgruntled and annoyed customers due to their cheating and racist approach. Thanks******** ***********.

Desired Settlement: I have not heard anything like this before. I do not know how this can be resolved.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

As is obvious, this complaint is primarily about the original #1 Key that could not be located at time of delivery. Since these keys are nearly $500 to replace, we ask the client to give us a few days to attempt finding the key vs. cutting a new one, when most often the original is found within the dealership. It was a busy Saturday at the end of the month, so very hard to look and find at that time. I have NEVER had anyone refuse this offer and more times than not, again the original is found and mailed to the client, all is resolved. When he refused that and asked we put it in writing, we did. I signed and the salesperson gave him a "We owe" slip that clearly defined we would replace the #1 key with a duplicate and programming. As mentioned in his complaint, we even offered to shuttle the car back and forth if it came to that, not to inconvenience him. He again refused and at this point, we had no other options to offer. My asking him if he wanted me to "beg his forgiveness" was due to him standing at the front door of the busy showroom, raising his voice about us not telling him the situation before hand. Well, we did not know about the situation before hand, it came up only "at delivery" and we told him as soon as we knew. So, after about 5 apologies, I didn't know what and how he wanted me to respond. It seemed as if he just wanted to make a scene and every one uncomfortable.

So, it was my suggestion that we tear up the paper work and cancel the transaction. It was obvious that he was NOT going to be satisfied. And after the incredibly low price and great deal he received, I could do no more for him. It was better to part company and hopefully as friends. That it appears as something that will not happen now?

As far as the racial allegations are concerned, I have no idea what he is talking about. His salesperson was a woman (one of five on my staff) from ******. I have 28 sales people on staff from a total of 13 different countries and two are Asia/Indian. I am Mexican/American myself and strive to have a cultural diversity in my staff that reflects AND respects that of the clients that do business with us on a daily basis. Our reputation in the community is impecable and that is further reflected in the surveys that Acura corporate send to clients both from service and sales. I have been here 25 year and 15 as a manager and have never had a situation where someone refused to allow us to replace a key. I am firmly believing there was no way to solve this problem the way he wanted it to be solved, so parting ways was the best resolve in my opinion. This gentleman disrespected me and my staff, all for a key that we were willing to replace. It is very rare I would refuse to do business with someone, unfortunately this was one of those times.

Sincerely,
***** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As Pohanka mentioned, the keys costs $500 for a duplicate (not original). In their response they specified that it was a busy Saturday (they are lying), It was a Tuesday as mentioned in my original complaint. If I tell them this they would probably say “Tuesday -So what”. That is how they got used to do their business. The response says that they have realized at the last minute that the second key is missing. While the truth is that we were informed by the Sales person (after getting into discussion) that the Porter tried to search for 2 hours while we were doing paper work. She did not feel it necessary to let me know well in advance until we had an argument over the keys. Even other managers also agreed that they knew it in advance. But all of them agreed only after I started asking questions why I was not informed in advance.  They claim that they have been in the business for 25 years, sounds like they have been treating the customers in the same way for so long and will continue to do so unless questioned and appropriate action is taken against the dealership.  

After all the discussion they wanted to cancel the deal, but never offered another similar car from their inventory.  This clearly shows that the dealership did it on purpose. They wanted to sell the specific car to me for whatever reason. Pohanka say the Manager1 has apologized 5 times. They are lying again. It was only once that first Manager said sorry and made his statements. For me it’s not about how many times you apologize.

Dealer claims I created a scene, (which is not true). I had questioned it. Asking right questions straight on their face has irked them because they knew they are cheating me. They might be worried that other customers might lose interest if they come to know that Pohanka cheats customers deliberately.

When I spoke about Racial profiling in my complaint, It’s interesting that Pohanka claims that they do not know what I am talking about. I am not concerned about how many employees Pohanka has and from which countries. My concern is about how the first manager referred us  after the conversation with him. It was totally uncalled for and unnecessary. Moreever, it was pure discrimination based on ethnicity and country of origin. May be, that is how Pohanka does business. Pushing back customers and making them feel bad and enforce whatever they want on their customers.

Pohanka claims that they have given me an “incredibly low price and great deal”, but that doesn’t given a dealer license to cheat customers. That doesn’t mean one can do racial profiling. The price negotiated was supposed to include 2 original keys from the manufacturer and not duplicates. 


Regards,

******** ***********

5/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service