BBB Accredited Business since

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

Phone: (301) 262-7600 Fax: (301) 464-4764 View Additional Phone Numbers 16610 Governor Bridge Rd, Bowie, MD 20716 http://www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2004 Business started: 06/15/2004 Business incorporated 03/11/2004 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Irene McGlone, VP/GM
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Irene McGlone, VP/GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie Inc

Additional Locations

  • 16610 Governor Bridge Rd

    Bowie, MD 20716

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my car to Ourisman Chevrolet/Bowie three times to have them fix the AC. They still have not done so, despite having their "best mechanic" (per service rep Buddy) work on my car each time. I paid $394.39 on 6/6 (to fix the AC and the windshield fluid hose, which I think cost about $100 to repair) and $2,191.70 on 7/4. The second time I left my car at Ourisman/Bowie, it took them 2 weeks to get the appropriate parts, and they provided a loaner vehicle -- a pick-up truck, which I could not park in my office lot. I broke my leg in Dec 2014 and still cannot walk more than a couple of blocks. Therefore, I spent $330 in Metro and taxi fees to get to/from work during that two-week period. In addition, my car has hand controls for my son, who is a double leg amputee. When I got the car back the third time, my son drove it -- and discovered (luckily, without an accident or injury) that the brake hand control did not work. The Service Manager (or Assistant Manager?) told me, after the 2nd time (when I drove off Ourisman's lot and then drove back onto Ourisman's lot after discovering that my car would move forward at 5-10 mph without my even touching the gas pedal -- an error involving the hand controls), that they didn't work on hand controls much. So I would have thought that someone would have tested the hand controls before returning the car to me the third time. The car is now worse than it was before. It's still blowing cool (not cold) air when I turn on the AC. And now I will have to pay an unknown sum to have the hand controls fixed. I called Ourisman/Bowie yesterday and left a voice mail for Brian B******** (Service Manager), telling him that the AC was still not fixed, and the hand control brake did not work. I have not heard back from him.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the total amount I paid Ourisman/Bowie -- $2,586.09. Despite the fact that they fixed the windshield fluid hose (for around $100), I had to spend $330 for taxis/Metro due to their incompetence, so I think I am justified in requesting this sum. I need the money to have the brake control fixed, and to have the AC fixed (hopefully, this time, by a competent mechanic).

Business Response: From: Irene M******
Date: Tue, Jul 28, 2015 at 4:51 PM
Subject: BBB Complaint **********
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>


***** ******
The Better Business Bureau
ID #********
 
*** ******
 
The customer brought her 2001 Chevrolet ******** for three visits starting in June 2014. Before then we have no service history on the car. The cars condition is not very good and there were 3 items advised to the customer on visit 6/4/15 Job Ticket number ****** where two of the items mentioned related to the run ability of the car were declined, both fuel systems related. The car also needed an ignition switch which was declined as well. Her primary concern mentioned on the first visit was the Heater and A/C unit was not working at full strength to which our technician who yes is very experienced and GM World Class found an excessive amount of leaves and debris in the blower fan casing.
We removed all that was clogging the fans operation the best we could. On the same repair we did repair the washer nozzle hose which the customer mentioned in her letter.
 
On visit 6/16/16 the customer returned with concerns of the blower fan air production still very poor. We proceeded further into the air flow system to find the Evaporator and heater core severely clogged with debris. We recommended replacing these items but also advised the customer that the dash and carrier were cracked severely and would come apart if removed. We advised the customer of this and their suggestion was to duct tape the dash and carrier back together which was impossible and we would not comply. In turn, we found a used dash that would work to proceed with the repairs. We priced the labor and parts for the dash along with the evaporator and blower motor at a very low reduced price to which the customer agreed to proceed. The next visit on 7/14 job ticket ****** we replaced the blower cooling fan at no charge at a value of $176.16.
In all with the amount of reduced pricing made to appease the customer’s demands we cut alone close to $1200.00.
The Tech involved did in fact reinstall the hand controls and keep in mind we are not a center of expertise with automotive hand controls which we advised from the beginning.
For the customers demand for full reimbursement we are in total decline and we feel the discounts in pricing for the repairs is the desired settlement.
 
Thank you
 
 
 
Brian B********
Director of Service
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
###-###-#### Ext. ***

 
**********************************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting the response of Ourisman/Bowie because, to put it plainly, they were supposed to repair my AC and they have not done so, even after three visits to their repair facility.  I paid $2,586.09 and got absolutely nothing in return except for a new windshield fluid hose, which cost under $100.  My car's AC blows the same as it did before Ourisman/Bowie worked on it (ie, sometimes warm air; sometimes slightly cool air), and, in addition, the hand controls are now faulty.  So, instead of my car being in the same shape as when I took it to Ourisman/Bowie, it is now in worse shape!  They say they gave me discounts on the parts/service.  That was their decision and is not relevant to my complaint.  (I had additional expenses too -- $330 in Metro and taxi fares, and a loss of $140 for three days off from work, because I was told by Ourisman/Bowie that the mechanic who worked on my car didn't work on Saturdays.  In addition, I will have to pay an unknown amount to have the hand controls re-set.)  


This is a very, very simple situation.  I paid Ourisman/Bowie $2,586.09 to have the AC and washer fluid hose repaired and, after 3 visits to their repair facility, the AC has not been repaired.  No matter what parts they ordered (at a supposed discount) or what pieces of my car had to be replaced, the bottom line is that I paid for a service that they did not provide.  I don't know of any company or business that would charge a person money for NOT performing the service.

Therefore, I am requesting again that Ourisman/Bowie reimburse me for the full amount of $2,586.09 because they they did not fix the AC, which is what I paid them to do.

Sincerely,

******** ** ********








Business Response:

Good Afternoon

Our offer to have the car brought back to Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie is still available. We do stand by our work. If there is a problem with the air distribution then you should let us take a look at it. There is no reimbursement considered.

Thank you

Brian B********

Service Director

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

As far as I'm concerned, Ourisman/Bowie has proven itself, through its mechanic and managers, to be incompetent and unprincipled.  Therefore, I would never consider taking my car back to them for a FOURTH time, only to have them fail yet again (while I am forced to take off another day -- or week, or month -- from work, thereby incurring even more Metro and taxi fares).


Keeping my $2,500 while failing to repair my car's AC system is, in my opinion, tantamount to theft.  Shame on Ourisman/Bowie!

******** ******** 








3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 6, 2015 I was traveling south on Interstate 95 through the state of Maryland, when I hit a pot hole and blew out front passenger tire on car. Toll truck driver came out to change tire to put on spear and showed me that my rim was bent. I called the nearest Chevrolet dealer which was Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie, spoke to someone in the Parts Department to order a new rim. I was told they will order a new rim for my vehicle and have it shipped to the dealership on March 7,2015 and they would give me a phone call first thing in the morning. On 3/7/15 around 11am I went to ***** to get service done, which was to have the new rim put on the vehicle. Service was done I paid $321.99 went out to my vehicle and notice my old rim was no longer in my trunk. I went back into the dealer told the female manager on shift my rim was gone, she stated "she would have one of the guys bring it out for me." The manager along with worker came out and told me they would have to charge me an additional $50 in order to get back my rim. I asked for her supervisor, Mr J**** came out and stated they have to ship my rim back to gmc or I can pay the charge of $50 to receive my rim back. I refuse to pay anything more and explained to Mr j**** that rim was not gmc that rim was purchased offline just in November and it belong to me, and that this was never discussed over the phone nor prior to me getting here to have service. He stated that that's between the dealer and gmc. I than asked him to show me my old rim because me observing the new rim looked like the old one was used on my vehicle, he refuse and stated I will have to pay the $50 charge. I also was charge a fee of $4.26 for a wheel weight/ used tire disposal, which I used my same tire back on my vehicle, I never purchased a new tire with *****. I am livid with Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie Services

Desired Settlement: I should have been charged the repair of my original rim and not the price for a brand new rim I did not receive. Ourisman chevrolet was not able to return my original rim or show proof of my damage rim because it was put back on the vehicle

Business Response: From: Irene M****** <************************************>
Date: Fri, Mar 13, 2015 at 4:46 PM
Subject: ID of ********
To: ***** ****** <*****************>
Cc: Brian B******** <**************************************>, JESSICA B****** <**************************************>


Good afternoon *****,
 
This customers complaint was a wheel that she had purchased elsewhere was damaged locally and she came her to purchase a new wheel. Everything was fine until she requested to have the damaged wheel returned because she had a warranty on it and was seeking reimbursement. When she was advised there is a core charge on the wheel is when things went bad. >From what I was told Edgar did his best to explain the exchange core process but the customer would not except it and was very upset leaving the store without the rim she requested.
 
Brian B********
Director of Service
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
###-###-#### Ext. 117
**************************************
 
 
Best regards,
 
 
Irene M******
ourisman logo
 
Vice President / General Manager
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
***** ******** ****** ****
Bowie, MD  20716
###-###-####
************************************
www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com
 

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had some work done on my 2010 chevrolet ****** *** and the work was great they technician that worked on my car did an outstanding job. Unfortunetely during the process, which toook a little over a month, I was forced to obtain substitue transportation in order to get back and forth to work. On December 26, 2014 I was contacted by ********** rent-a-car and told my substitute transportation had been stopped on the 23rd and that I had incurred a $300 bill. I then contacted my insurer and asked why the premature stop of transportation. They informed me that Chevy of Bowie had reported the car completed. I told them I was unaware of any completion so I proceeded to call Chevy. After speaking worth Chevy they informed me that there was a hanging supplement that needed to be paid off in order to release my vehicle. I again contacted my insurer ******* and asked them why they hadn't issued payment. They said they had not received the invoices from the third party appraiser from chevy regarding the hanging supplement. After contacting chevy again and being told that they had sent the invoices i decided to go up to chevy personally. While I was there i requested to see the transmission that was sent and where it was sent to find out they had in a clerical error sent it to the incorrect number several times. I explained to Chevy that I have this debt because of a small oversight in the sending of pertinent information and it is currently preventing me from acquiring transportation while again my car had to be brought back into the shop and took almost a week to get my car even looked over. I feel there is a strong lack of communication between departments to get issues adequately and quickly resolved. And because of this it has caused me hardship and money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount owed to ********** settled by Chevy of Bowie and for them to provide me substitue transportation during the duration of the repair to which my car is currently undergoing. I would like to note that I have already been one week without trasportation.

Business Response: From: Irene M****** <*************@ourismanautomotive.com>
Date: Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 11:22 AM
Subject: Complaint ID: ********
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>
Cc: JESSICA B****** <***************@ourismanautomotive.com>


Good morning *****,
 
Below is our response for complaint ID # ********:
 
 
When vehicles are in the collision center it is our policy to update the customer daily as to the status of their vehicle. *** ******’s car was brought in on Friday November 28,2014.  On Monday December 1,2014  we tried to contact *** ****** to update him on the phone number he provided,  his phone appeared to be disconnected as there was a message stating that number was “not accepting any calls at this time”. We continued to hear that message when calling his phone for the next week. On 12/17 we tried to contact *** ****** to advise him that his vehicle was complete, and again heard the same message. We have a electronic system set up with ********** called ARMS. In ARMS we update the status of every vehicle daily. On 12/17 it was noted in ARMS that his vehicle was complete.  ********** started to charge *** ****** on 12/23 as the rental had not been returned.  During this time we also received a call from *** ******’s finance company asking if the vehicle was here and what the total amount due was should they decide to come and take possession of the car.
On 12/23 *** ****** contacted us to determine why he was responsible for any balance with **********, he then picked up his vehicle on 12/29 after making arrangements with his insurance company to release the car with an outstanding balance.  When *** ******s car was brought into our service department on 1/13/15 for a check engine light and engine noise, he acknowledged that neither of these issues were present when he picked up his car from the body shop, as this was not related to the accident. Due to his outstanding balance with **********, he was unable to rent a vehicle. Our Collision Center Manager as a courtesy,  set up a rental with ********** for 2 days at our cost, so *** ****** would have transportation while his vehicle was being diagnosed in our service department.
                Had we been able to contact *** ****** on the phone number he provided, he would’ve known his vehicle was complete and been able to return the rental before and charges were incurred. We feel that by paying for his rental while the vehicle in service, is more than fair, seeing as how this issue is not related to the claim with the collision.
 
Best regards,
 
Irene M******
ourisman logo
 
Vice President / General Manager
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
16610 Governor Bridge Road
Bowie, MD  20716
301-262-7600
irene.m******@ourismanautomotive.com
www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


It does not make a difference whether I was able to be contacted if you had sent over the proper invoices you're correct the delay would have been on my part but take in consideration you were asked to send them on the 17 as well as direction of pay you did not.  You did not fulfill your portion of what was to be done and when I asked if you would allow the release of my vehicle your representative said it was not allowed. So once again the extended necessity of my rental vehicle was do to miscommunication between the collision center as well as the appraiser. That fault dies not fall with the consumer. I called several times to check the status of my vehicle I have a call record showing such so to say i was unable to be contacted is inaccurate. So in conclusion the invoices were not sent in a timely manner from Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie to United Apprasiers and Adjusters which resulted in the charges incurred from the substitute transportation from **********. Not the communication from me because even if you had contacted me you had not released my car for pick up with a hanging supplement which my insurer did. Ot have requested information in order to send paymen. I also have the records of sent communications dated. No invoices were sent until the 29 I feel Chevy is responsible for charges from 23-30 in the amount of $300.50.


Regards,

****** ******








Business Response: From: Irene M****** <*************@ourismanautomotive.com>
Date: Tue, Jan 27, 2015 at 3:37 PM
Subject: RE: Complaint ID: ********
To: ***** Dennis <*******@mybbb.org>
Cc: JESSICA B****** <***************@ourismanautomotive.com>, ************@******


Good afternoon *****,
 
As I responded in the email from January 21st the answer is Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie is not responsible and is not refunding any money.
 
Irene M******
ourisman logo
 
Vice President / General Manager
Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
***** ******** ****** ****
Bowie, MD  *****
###-###-####
*************@ourismanautomotive.com
www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They didn't take responsibility for not turning over via fax the proper forms requested to bring the car to ready for pick up condition which they stated it was ready on the 19. If on the 19 I came to claim my car I would have found it to have a hanging balance and would not be released to me whether or not I was able to be contacted. It was Chevrolet personnel responsibility to turn over invoices and direction of pay. They did not do this until the 29 when I had to repeatedly ask and then confirm they where having it sent to the correct number. They have no proof that they sent the INVOICES until the 29. I have sufficient proof of the delay as well as proof of what was sent. Trying to appease a $300 bill with a $70 dollar rental which I was still unable to obtain due to the previous bill is not making up for a clerical error which caused this. 

As well my car is currently in the shop I am a loyal customer of Ourisman and have always boasted about there incredible cars service and support team unfortunately I feel lack of appropriate communication causes unnecessary delays. And I feel I received the short end of the stick. 

Regards,

****** ******








12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for a scheduled oil change. They also said they could do the recall services on my car at that appointment as well. I then sat in the waiting room for over two hours and they then came to me with a laundry list of services and parts they said my car needed. 1. They said there was a nail in my front passenger tire and they wanted to plug it for $21. I said yes, please fix the tire. 2. They said the oil cap was dry rotted and I was leaking oil and wanted to replace it for $26. I said yes, of course, please replace it. 3. They said the technician heard a noise coming from the front driver's side of my car and asked if I had heard anything. I replied no, that I had not heard anything. They wanted to charge me $136 to diagnose the noise. I asked them what they thought it was and they said the hub bearing. I asked her what the ramifications of that would be and she told me my car can overheat and catch fire if I don't get it fixed. When I asked how much it was to replace the hub bearing, I was told $600. Because I don't want to drive my vehicle if it is a hazard, I asked them to diagnose the noise for $136. 4. They said I needed windshield wipers at $20/piece. I said no, my father replaces them for me. 5. They said my air filter was dirty and needed replaced at $60. I told them again, my father replaces my air filter for me so I refused that service. 6. They said because my air filter was dirty they wanted to do a fuel service at $170. This sounded completely unnecessary to me, so I refused. At that point she said they would do the oil change, fix the tire, and replace the oil cap, and “diagnose” the noise. Finally, after 4.5 hours, I was told that the noise the technician heard was indeed the wheel bearing and that if I did not get it fixed my car could catch fire. I told her that I did not have the money--and by that point--the time to have it fixed that day. She insisted that I have it fixed and that she could take me across the street, get me some lunch, and it would be fixed by the time we got back—again, insisting that my car could catch fire if I did not authorize the service. Again, I refused. I paid the $228 for the oil change, tire repair, oil cap, and “diagnostics” and left. My dad and I took it to a family garage and they determined that it was the very beginning of my hub bearing but said that it would never cause my car to catch fire. They said I had many miles left on it and I would hear an incredibly loud grinding sound before I needed to address the problem. They told me what happens with hub bearings if they need replaced is the tire becomes unstable and can eventually come off of the car when it is in motion, but again, that it would not catch fire. The mechanics there also told me it is illegal to plug a tire from the outside in addition to it being unsafe. They said the right way is to dismount the tire and patch and plug it from the inside. If you plug a tire from the outside, it can fly apart when you’re driving. I had to pay again to have my tire fixed in a safe manner. The same price, I might add, that I was charged by Ourisman to fix it unsafely. He also said it was ridiculous they charged for the oil cap/gasket as they are typically replaced when the oil is changed as part of the service. When I showed the mechanic the paperwork I received from Ourisman they laughed and told me flat out they are crooks and had taken complete advantage of me. My dad had two hub bearings changed on his ********* pickup for under $400 and Ourisman wanted $600 for only one on a small car. Additionally, they didn't charge me for their time to "diagnose" the noise because they know I will come to them when I replace the hub bearing in a few months--they don't nickel and dime their customers and try to pull one over on them. My dad called the dealership to address the situation and they blatantly lied to him, saying that I came in complaining of a noise, which is patently untrue. Even the paperwork from them says “tech heard noise.” He then told my dad that they do not use scare or intimidation tactics to make sales and alluded to the fact that they work on commission. No wonder that woman told me on three separate occasions that my car could catch fire and the remedy was a $600 service—she stood to make a nice commission on the sale. Even when told his employees lied about it, he made excuses for them and said again that everything was on the “up and up.” According to my dad, he was actually very rude. They clearly do not care about their customers and try to rip them off if the customer does not have mechanic-level knowledge of their vehicle. I called the ** hotline and filed a complaint with them as well, and the “senior” level person to whom my case was given did not care at all either. He was completely wishy washy and had absolutely no empathy for the situation. He told me the complaint had been logged and once enough of complaints get leveled against Ourisman, then they will “investigate.” He half-heartedly offered me a discount coupon on my next service visit at a dealership. The customer service I have received from both Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie and additionally from ** is appalling. I come from a ** family and this whole situation makes me want to sell my car and never purchase a ** product again. I feel bad for all of the other customers who are getting ripped off by them.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the "diagnostics" performed, the tire (since I had to pay for it TWICE), and the oil cap. My total bill was $228.99 and the oil change was $39.99. I want to be refunded for everything but the oil change, a total of $189. I also think they should change their business practices because I am not the only person who has encountered similar AWFUL service. Nearly every review I have read of their service department has been appalling so I know other people have dealt with similar issues. I don't want others to be ripped off either.

Business Response:

On 9/19/2014 Customer ****** ***** brought her 2010 Chevrolet ****** in for the ********** and Go oil service plus to have Factory Recall 14113 Ignition switch and lock cylinder performed. As part of the Oil Service a complete vehicle inspection report is performed at no charge to the customer which is standard procedure on all oil services. Upon the technicians inspection of ** *****’s car the report card listed the Air Filter is in need of replacement, the right front tire has a nail in the tread and a noise heard from the left front wheel area which upon further inspection it was confirmed the left front wheel bearing is causing the noise and is in need of replacement.

The Technician provided a written estimate to the Service Advisor who in turn advised the customer. The customer approved the Air Filter replacement and tire repair only. The customer then asked the advisor what are the consequences of not replacing the hub bearing to which she proceeded to provide the details. The Advisor who handled the repairs is an experienced and Certified ** Technician. In closing, the customer declined the Hub Bearing replacement and was provided a detailed estimate along with the Technicians notes as well.

We will not refund for the diagnostics performed, the tire , and the oil cap. 

Brian B********

Service Director

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The manager is completely wrong in his assessment of what happened. I did not authorize the air filter replacement and the tire replacement only, as he erroneously purports. I authorized them to fix the tire, the oil cap, and "diagnose" the noise from the front left side of the car. He is also omitting several other items and services they attempted to sell me.  I did NOT approve the air filter to be changed because my dad changes it for me.  Additionally, I ONLY approved them to "diagnose" the noise coming from the front left side of  my car because the "Service Advisor" told me that they thought it was the hub bearing and that if I did not fix it, my CAR WOULD CATCH FIRE. As this is NOT the case, I was sold a service under false pretenses. I guess they are fine, however, with their business making money in this dishonest manner. Not only does Mr. B******** not actually know what happened that day, he also believes that there is nothing wrong with pressuring a customer to make a purchase by lying to them, telling them that their car will catch fire. If he had taken the time to read my original complaint (or actually look at the paper work/receipt) he would have seen what I actually authorized. I like how in his response he writes, "The customer then asked the advisor what are the consequences of not replacing the hub bearing to which she proceeded to provide the details," totally skirting around what the person told me and whether or not it was FACTUAL information. Which, it isn't. He obviously  knows what they did was wrong and is avoiding it. Not only were they dishonest while I was there as a customer, they are continuing to be so during this process. 

I don't see what is so difficult for them to understand that I want refunded for services I only authorized because I was explicitly lied to several times while I was there about the consequences of not having them performed. It is quite simple and straightforward. 

This is completely unacceptable and the matter is not resolved.

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: From: Brian B********<***************@ourismanautomotive.com>
Date: Thu, Dec 11, 2014 at 12:06 PM
Subject: RE: ****** ***** Rebuttal (********)
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>
Cc: Irene M****** <*************@ourismanautomotive.com>


*********

Thank you for contacting me today in regards to this matter. We would be acceptable to reimburse the customer ½ of the amount in question to help resolve the customers concerns. Please advise if the customer accepts.

Thank you

Brian B********

Service Director

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regards to complaint #********. I have not received reimbursement for the washer fluid repair. On September 18, 2014, I requested BBB consultant ***** ******'s assistance with forwarding the repair bill to Ourisman. I spoke with *** ****** regarding my request for payment. During my phone conversation with *** ******, today, I expressed concern it has been approximately three weeks since I forwarded him the receipt. I've not received reimbursement for the washer fluid repair. I contacted *** ****** on September 18, September 30, & October 2. I'm also concerned with BBB's process of complaint resolutions. My complaint is technically "marked" as resolved, however by BBB closing the complaint online as resolved, this enables the tracking process for the consumer to get lost in the process. This is unacceptable. There is no follow up after the complaint is closed/resolved online to ensure the consumer is properly compensated or made whole. I feel because I'm left without any means of communication or follow up from BBB, it's in my best interest to open a complaint against the business for failure to honor the repair agreement. By doing so, this will ensure assignment of a complaint number and proper business follow up.

Desired Settlement: $1376.72 the repair amount for the washer fluid issue (to replace the CEM/Central Electrical Module)

Business Response:

Good afternoon David,

 

Attached is the check that was sent out to ******* *********.  Please let me know when this case is closed.  Thank you.

 

Best regards,

 

Irene M******

Vice President / General Manager

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

16610 Governor Bridge Road

Bowie, MD  20716

###-###-####

************************************

www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A flyer was sent to my home advertising that if I matched three amounts in a row I would when the prize. I matched the three amounts. When I called the number that was provided to call to give activation code, I was told that I won the prize. All I had to do was to come and claim it. I was not told that the activation code I had needed to be matched with another code when I got to dealer to see if I won. Otherwise I would have not wasted by time. I questioned the person about whether this was a marketing gimmick or something to try to sell a car she said no. So I went in I caught a cab from ******** MD to Bowie MD it cost be $36.00 each way. All I got when I was there was a lottery scratch off ticket. A complete waste of my time and money.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $100 for my cab fees and time wasted for false advertisement.

Business Response:

September 2, 2014

Dear *****,

I read the concern from *** ***** ****** this morning. I’m going to forward you a copy of the page of our mail piece which she received. It outlines the program rules and states in very large font that “YOU HAVE A CHANCE TO WIN ONE OF THE LISTED PRIZES!” It doesn’t promise that you will win anything. She did in fact win two Maryland Lottery tickets. The directions are very clear and of the 30,000 pieces of mail that we went out this is the only complaint I’ve received. Unfortunately I will not be refunding her for her cab fare to come out here. We regret that there was any misunderstanding.

 

Best Regards,

Irene M******

Vice President

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The flyer stated "If you match 3 price amounts horizontally, diagonally or vertically you when that amount".  I matched the amount diagonally.  It did not say you have a chance.  I would not have wasted my time if those were the odds because I knew how far I had to travel that's why I called ahead. Like I mentioned previously, I called to verify over the phone if the instructions were correct.  I was told they were.  They kept the flyer so I'm unable to provide the evidence.  This matter will not be resolved to my satisfaction I know that because they are trying to make money not give away money.  
So I would like this complaint to remain posted so hopefully no one else will waste their time like I did.


Regards,

***** ******








8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 ***** from Ourisman Chevrolet,Bowie on 6/7/14. I completed an overnight drop service request slip on 6/8/14 after experiencing the following issues. 1) Popping noise when I brake /slow down, 2) at highway speed, loud road noises, vibration felt in passenger and driver seats,3) fill washer fluid message was lit on the dashboard although the reservoir was full. I placed several calls into the service dept. unable to speak with anyone until finally I was able to speak with service advisor Ann who informed me the technician confirmed first hand the concerns I reported and she assured me the repairs would be made. On Friday June 13, 2014, I was notified my vehicle was ready for pick up. After keeping my vehicle for 5 days, the service invoice slip indicated they found nothing wrong with concerns 1 & 2 above other than the tires needed to be flipped on the rims. Item #3, the invoice indicated they replaced a bad sensor. Shortly after picking up my car, I returned immediately, after the message "fill washer fluid " re-appeared on the dash. The popping and highway noise was still present. On June 13, Used car Manager David Emani wrote out for me a "We Owe You" slip to take my vehicle to ***** to repair washer fluid issue. On June 20, I took my vehicle in to *****. The evaluation/diagnostics cost me $275.50. In addition, ***** confirmed the noises I was experiencing. The tech diagnosed it as a scratching/shoeing noise was coming from the rear wheel parking brake and rotors. The estimate: $787.00. The windshield washer fluid repair estimate $1545.00 to replace CEM (Central Electrical Module) On June 20, I mailed a letter to Ourisman informing them of my visit to ***** and that I will be scheduling a time soon to have the repairs completed by *****. According to my Buyer's Guide warranty, Ourisman agreed to pay 100% of the labor and 100% of the parts for the covered systems that fail during the warranty period. In addition, they also agreed in writing to repair the washer fluid issue. On July 2, 2014, I notified Ourisman Manager, Lou Galinski after having the original problems reported to Ourisman diagnosed & traced by a ***** dealership, (after Ourisman had my car for 5 days) I did not feel Ourisman was able to provide me quality service nor was capable of making the noted repairs properly and for those reasons an authorized ***** dealership will complete the repairs on my car. On July 3, ***** completed the repairs for the brake and rotors. The cost was $738.22. I am requesting reimbursement $1013.72 (evaluation/brake and rotor repair) and for Ourisman to honor the written We owe you note to have ***** repair the washer fluid issue.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting reimbursement $1013.72 (evaluation/brake and rotor repair) and for Ourisman to honor the written We owe you note to have ***** repair the washer fluid issue.

Business Response:

*** ******* ********* stated there were issues with the vehicle after she purchased the 2008 ***** ****. Our shop determined that there was a tire noise and the washer reservoir level sensor was faulty, none of there were covered under our 2 month/2000 mile warranty but as a gesture of good faith we looked into them. Our shop recommended rotating the tires off the wheels and remounting them as well as replacing the sensor in the bottom of the washer fluid reservoir. *** ********* was not happy and said she was going to take the vehicle to *****. Roughly a week later she speaks with our GSM Lew G******* who explained that none of the items were covered under warranty and that we were doing her a favor. Lew also told he to bring the vehicle back so we could look into it further and she said no and that she would take it to *****. We were very clear that we wouldn’t cover the cost of another dealership and that we would look into it as a gesture of good faith.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It appears Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie is having difficulties recalling the facts.  I am deeply concerned by their response given.  It shows a lack of integrity and dishonesty of what actually occurred and how we arrived at this point.  The facts are:  Approximately 24 hours after purchasing my vehicle, I had to bring it to Ourisman's repair shop where they kept it for 5 days.  Rotating the tires and replacing a sensor didn't fix the problems I was experiencing with my vehicle. Ourisman rotated the tires when in fact the brake and rotors needed repairing; which is covered by my buyers warranty.  I do not consider this a favor.  I was without my vehicle for 5 days and Ourisman didn't even extend the courtesy of offering a rental.  It is unconscionable to believe it took 5 days to rotate tires on a vehicle and replace a sensor and the end results are- I pick up my car and the same problems were still present.  The bottom line is Ourisman failed me.  I'm concerned about Ourisman's dishonest attempt to place the onus on me (the customer) for a business deal gone wrong.  Attached is documentation dated June 13, 2014 to support my statement that Ourisman told me to take my vehicle to *****.  This was also the day I picked up my car after 5 days in their repair shop.  Per Ourisman's written instructions, I was told verbally and in writing to take my vehicle to ***** and they (Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie) would "Owe Me".  I respect the fact I was told by Ourisman to take my car to a ***** dealership because that showed me Ourisman was acknowledging their lack of competency in repairing this vehicle model.  I'm confident BBB of Metro Washington or any other third party reviewing the facts would agree I should be fully reimbursed $1013.72 (for the brake/rotor repair & evaluation). With this summary, I expect Ourisman will also agree to resolve this matter quickly by reimbursing me $1013.72.  I also expect Ourisman to honor their written note to repair the washer fluid issue.  I can assist by sending BBB and or Ourisman accounts payable department a copy of my receipts. 


Regards,

******* *********








Business Response:

I have a check request in to pay entire bill.

 

Irene M******

ourisman logo

 

Vice President / General Manager

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

16610 Governor Bridge Road

Bowie, MD  20716

###-###-####

************************************

www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution to pay the entire bill($2558.72) is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This formal complaint falls under improper or inferior repair and repairs resulted in more damage. I had two terrible services at the Ourisman Cheverolet of Bowie in Bowie, MD in the matter of three weeks time. My salesman was *** ******** I believe is the last name. I initially brought my 2008 ***** ****** ** in for an oil change and a hub bearing issue about five weeks ago now. I have been in contact with the shop Service Director **** ******* the past couple of weeks until he ended all conversation. My car was running perfectly normal besides the hub bearing, which is the only reason i brought the car in. It was recommended I fix a transmission leak by the mechanic at Ourisman, which has never been brought to my attention by anyone in my car service history at any shop I have been too. I do regular oil changes to my vehicle and every inspection comes back fine. The service station in Bowie, MD did over a thousand dollars of work on just the transmission leak they recommended. After looking over all the parts I supposedly bought, only one part might have been replaced. I was informed this by two separate mechanics after my service at this station. The second and third opinion mechanics wrote it up for me after I got a diagnostic run by them. Also, I supposedly had a transmission flush by the oursiman service station, but it turns out that was never done. All the transmission fluid is burnt and old. I was informed by two separate places that the fluid is old and I have taken samples myself before even taking the car for a second opinion. It was never changed. The transmission pan was not replaced. It is old and still leaks from two places. There is a black piece that supposed to hold the supposedly new hose into place. That piece slides around and is moving and does not hold anything in place. The mechanics say the hose may have been replaced but not too sure about that either. He documented everything on his companies letter head for me not knowing these things were supposedly done prior to my visit. The first time I brought my car in to Ourisman station they kept my car for two days which is fine. *** the service salesman even offered to have my car washed when I come to pick my car up the next day as good measure. That was not done. I drove fine for a couple days, then the car began to shake and stall out a week later. I brought the car back for a second opinion a week later, which was more time consuming to me and they informed me I need a whole new transmission. What a coincidence. When you replace a transmission hose you would think they would clean up old fluid. No they did not. Another sign nothing was done. It burned onto my base board and the pan still leaks because the naked eye can tell it was never changed. They just charged me two thousand for service that was never done, just to tell me a week later when I complained something is wrong, that I need a new transmission that will cost four thousand. I’m appalled by the lack of service and the way the technician did his job. The job was done as if the person did not know what they were doing and was not certified to work on cars. That job was done nowhere near ** or ***** caliber. I have taken my car to ***** dealerships in Virginia and in ****** MD and they have way better service and professionalism than I have experienced in my three weeks of dealing with this dealership. Needless to say the car transmission blew two weeks after your service station supposedly fixed my car. I have a diagnostic machine. Error codes have never appeared on my car until after they so called fixed a leak. Another coincidence. One thing for certain the car was never worked on at this shop besides my hub bearing being fixed. If it was worked on, it was not to do anything positive. I contacted the General Manager and Service Director via email and the service director wanted me to bring my car back in to be looked at by the shop foreman. I informed the Service Director that the shop foreman spoke with me on my second visit, which is the day I came back to tell them something is wrong, but he did not look at my car. He sent my car back to the same mechanic that supposedly fixed a leak, just for them to tell me I need a new transmission. The Service Director then again asked me to bring my car in but I informed him the car stopped working a few days prior to our conversation and I did not want to be serviced by his shop for a third time. My car was already being worked on by another shop because the transmission died and needed to be towed to a shop a week after my service at Ourisman of Bowie. I did not feel comfortable sending my car back to them after two visits and the end result was something being worse every time I left the Ourisman of Bowie shop. The company should feel uneasy as I was that I was not given any of the parts I purchased and that a mechanic that they stand by did not work on my car.

Desired Settlement: My money was wrongfully taken from me and in the end they wanted to take even more by charging me for a new transmission. I would like a refund for my service at this location. I spent a total of 1900 on a perfectly running car at this location. In the end I ended up being 4900 in all after I went to another shop to put in a transmission. This is my means of transportation. A refund for my service at there location seems like fair compensation. Even after coming to their shop twice and keeping my car for a total of 3 business days. If this company stands by their service team and shop they would do better follow up work and admit when something is foul play and try to make things right.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau – Response to ID # ********

 

This customer’s complaint was not able to be properly addressed as the customer did not give us that opportunity. As a responsible business, we tried to resolve any concerns the customer may have had. We had several email conversations of which we requested the vehicle be brought to us for our shop foreman to examine the alleged concerns. The customer did not give us that opportunity. With the number of concerns in question, the only way to properly evaluate these issues is to examine the vehicle. Again, we were not given that opportunity.

 

Upon further investigation with our technical staff, we did establish that the transmission fluid leak repairs were in fact performed, the transmission pan gasket, internal filter and transmission cooler lines were replaced at our facility.

 

For the record, the costs of the parts and labor for the transmission leak concern totaled $556.14, not “over a thousand dollars of work on just the transmission leak” at noted by the customer in his complaint. In addition, the customer states the transmission pan was not replaced. The customer is correct as the pan itself was not replaced, nor was he charged for a transmission pan. The pan gasket itself was replaced.

 

26 days after having the work done, and 1913 miles later the customer returned as he was concerned of how the transmission was operating, specifically delayed engagement from a stopped position. We performed diagnostic tests on the transmission system and found  2 new fault codes (as the customer himself acknowledges he found with his own tester) these codes indicate and internal transmission problem. We then recommended the transmission be replaced as it has high mileage and internal wear. The internal failure and wear is a result of over 100,000 miles of use, not correcting leak concerns. With any fluid driven assembly, leaks must be corrected first as a standard procedure. We took the correct approach to correct the leaks. Because the transmission had internal failures weeks after those repairs were done does not make the internal failure our fault or our responsibility. We can only report to the current failure at hand, which we did.

 

In closing, no refund is warranted due to the following;

 

The customer simply wrote a letter to request a refund without any additional documentation regarding the condition, test results, etc, from 2nd or 3rd party providers. Until such time that the original servicing merchant examines the vehicle and the associated concerns, they are only alleged, not factual. Can any consumer of a product or service simply write a letter and be entitled to a refund? The answer to that is obvious.  

 

The customer did not honor the merchant’s request to further examine the vehicle as requested, as the merchant must be given that opportunity to resolve any concern.

 

The customer made a consumer choice to have the vehicle examined and repaired elsewhere, that is their right; however that does not mean they are entitled to a refund of any kind. The customer concerns were never verified by the original merchant. Since the repairs were already performed because of the customers choice to do so, there will not be any way at this point in time to know if there was actually any problem or not with workmanship or materials, although alleged, it still remains so and can never be properly determined due to the choice the customer made.

 

**** *******, Service Director

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

###-###-#### Ext. ***

 

 

 

 

 

 

***** *******

ourisman logo

 

Vice President / General Manager

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

16610 Governor Bridge Road

Bowie, MD  20716

###-###-####

************************************

www.ourismanchevroletofbowie.com

 

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie to cancel two contracts. One was the Carefree Car Protection Plan and the other one is ***/***. The date I went back to the dealership was February 27, 2014. The cancellation form says allow three or four weeks for processing. I called the company ****, ******** ******** ********* **** and they stated they have not received any information from Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie. They told me I should contact the dealer back to see what is going on. I did but know one from the finance department or any department has gave me a status about this situation. I have called back a few times, most of the time you can't get in touch with someone. Have left messages for someone to call me back. No return calls. I believe this company, Ourisman Chevrolet has bad customer service and business practices. Product_Or_Service: Carefree Car Protection, ***/*** Account_Number: ************* ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have the following amounts refunded to my account with ******* *** **** *******, who is financing my vehicle:Carefree Car Protection $1,820.00***/*** Total Loss Addendum $750.00And if possible some compensation for the trouble I am going thru with this situation, which should have not come to this.

Business Response:

April 8th, 2014

To Whom it May Concern,

 

Please be advised that this is the first opportunity that I have had to resolve this issue. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you and in no way want our customers to feel that we are not here to help them with any concern or opportunity that may arise.

I have personally taken care of canceling your Carefree Car Protection and your ***/*** Total loss Addendum. Since you financed the vehicle through ******* ***, they will be receiving a refund in the amount of $2,570.00 which they will apply to the balance of your loan. If you have since paid off your loan in full, then you will be receiving the refund in the amount of $2,570.00 from the bank.

Again, I would like to apologize and let you know that your business is important to us and we greatly appreciate your patronage.

 

Best Regards,

***** *******

Vice President/General Manager

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

16610 Governor Bridge Rd.

Bowie, MD. 20716

301-262-7600

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
   I fill I should receive some sort of compensation for all the trouble I went thru with this situation and your service in all. For someone who purchased a new car for the first time, Ourisman has failed me terribly. I will check with ******* *** to see if they get the funds in due time.  

Regards,

***** ** *****








4/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To the following recipients: · General Motors (via standard mail) · Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie (via email) · Maryland State Attorney General (via email @ consumer@oag.state.md.us) · Better Business Bureau of Maryland (via online web form) I am writing this letter to describe a horrible customer service experience I had at Ourisman Chevrolet in Bowie, MD. I own a 2002 Chevy Venture Minivan that was purchased at Ourisman Chevrolet in September 2002. Over the years, I have paid many thousands of dollars in costly repairs for this car (approximately $7000 in actual repairs that do not include normal maintenance like new tires or oil changes). In November 2013, I contacted Ourisman about a very strong gasoline smell in the car. I also stated that I had trouble filling the gasoline tank as the nozzle constantly clicked off whenever I attempted to put gas in the vehicle. I spoke to a customer service agent at Ourisman named ***. I was very clear in telling *** that I did not wish to spend too much on this car as the blue book value is only $3000. The cost to diagnose the gasoline smell was $137 which I agreed was worth my money to determine if the gasoline smell could be found and eliminated for a reasonable price. *** called back with a repair cost of $853.73. This price was the outer limit of what I was willing to pay to repair the vehicle. For any costs over that price, I would have paid my $137 diagnostic fee and then cut my losses and looked to purchase a new car. Since the repair cost was under my threshold, I agreed to pay and picked up my car. Once the car was back at my house, my wife and I noticed a strange new noise in the car. Also, I noticed fluid spots on my garage floor which had not been there before. I called *** and told her about the NEW problems. She agreed to take the car back and look into these new problems. A day later, *** called to say that the recently replaced part to fix the gasoline leak was faulty and was replaced by Ourisman for no charge. However, the fluid spots on my garage floor were caused by a leaking power steering fluid and leaking intake manifold gaskets. According to ***’s estimate, the cost to repair these leaks was in excess of $2000. For many obvious reasons, it did not make any sense for me to dump $2000 into a car that is only worth $3000 when I already just paid $853 for a repair just a few days earlier. I spoke to *** ***** the service manager there and he offered no remedy to fix this problem other than me paying $2000 for the repair. Here are my problems with the Ourisman Chevrolet Service Department: 1. At the time of the original repair, I complained of a gasoline smell and problems filling the tank. I was told that, at a minimum, I would need to pay $137 for a full diagnostic assessment of the car. 2. I specifically told the service manager *** that I did not want to spend too much money on this car as it is 11 years old and I have already spent thousands of dollars in repairs over the lifetime of the car. At this time, I set a limit for myself of $1000 for any repairs. 3. When the car was repaired and returned to me, I noticed leak spots on the garage floor that had not been there before. 4. Ourisman claims that the leak spots are not new and the work they performed to fix my gasoline leak did not cause the leaks. I completely disagree with this as the leak spots were not on my garage floor prior to the service. 5. However, EVEN if the leak spots were on my floor prior to the initial service (and they were not), if *** had told me that the original repair estimate was for $3000 dollars (instead of $853), I would have paid the diagnostic fee and NOT paid for the gasoline leak repair. I would have simply picked up the car and traded it in for a new purchase. 6. I paid $137 to Ourisman to diagnose the initial problem. After paying for the initial problem for $853, they did not find the SECOND PROBLEM, until after I took the car back to the dealership. So, now I am stuck with a car that is leaking steering fluid and oil and the costly repairs I just made are worthless. The Ourisman service department is either incompetent (for not finding these major leaks during their initial assessment) or complicit in not telling me the full extent of the problem with my car. I would like Ourisman to remedy this problem by refunding me the total cost of the repairs = $853.73. I know that Ourisman will never do this but I would like a written response about the failure to adequately diagnose my car the first time. If Ourisman had done their job correctly, I would have never paid the initial repair cost. Thank you, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like the full cost of the repairs to be refunded to my credit card = $853.73

Business Response:

The fuel pressure regulator is on the top left front of the engine. When it is necessary to replace it, there is raw fuel loss. We presume that the reason that the customer never saw a drip on the ground is because it was not significant enough to drip, yet built up oil residue on the exterior of the engine. When the gasoline was lost from the regulator replacement, it washed down over the oil residue and caused it to drip on the ground. Had there been a significant leak from the engine area at the time of the first service, we would have recommended that as well.

It is relevant to note that this is a 12 year old vehicle with 118,574 miles and is at that point in its life cycle when (as **. ******* points out) that one must consider and decide repair expense vs. replacement on each service visit. And that each service visit is likely to result in service recommendations that were insignificant or, did not exist on prior visits.

The work we did, fixed the stated concern that the vehicle was brought in for and the customer does not dispute that. The fact that the vehicle needs additional service now does not make the work we did , improper, defective or unneeded and does not justify reimbursement.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

After the initial repair was complete and returned to the dealership because of new leaks and problems, ***, the service agent, told me that my van was leaking oil and steering fluid.  At that point, I made a decision to not spend any more money on this car.  I was concerned about the safety of my family and did not want to spend even more money on the vehicle.  This problem was not found during the initial assessment and evaluation which cost $137.  It was only found when I returned my car because of new leaks AFTER Roger's serviced my car.  All of this is detailed in my original letter.

I feel that Roger's Chevrolet should refund to me the cost of the repair minus the assessment fee.



Regards,

***** *******




Business Response:

Good afternoon *****,

 

Below is our explanation for the decline in reimbursement:

 

 

The fuel pressure regulator is on the top left front of the engine. When it is necessary to replace it, there is raw fuel loss. We presume that the reason that the customer never saw a drip on the ground is because it was not significant enough to drip, yet built up oil residue on the exterior of the engine. When the gasoline was lost from the regulator replacement, it washed down over the oil residue and caused it to drip on the ground. Had there been a significant leak from the engine area at the time of the first service, we would have recommended that as well.

It is relevant to note that this is a 12 year old vehicle with 118,574 miles and is at that point in its life cycle when (as **. ******* points out) that one must consider and decide repair expense vs. replacement on each service visit. And that each service visit is likely to result in service recommendations that were insignificant or,  did not exist on prior visits.

The work we did, fixed the stated concern that the vehicle was brought in for and the customer does not dispute that. The fact that the vehicle needs additional service now does not make the work we did , improper, defective or unneeded and does not justify reimbursement.

 

 

Please let me know if there is anything else you need from us.  Thank you.

 

Best regards,

 

***** *******

ourisman logo

 

Vice President / General Manager

Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie

16610 Governor Bridge Road

Bowie, MD  20716

************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I feel that I got a raw deal.  I think an objective party would come to the same conclusion.  I feel that Ourisman Chevrolet did not adequately diagnose what was wrong with the car to begin with.  I never would have paid any money beyond the initial diagnostic if I had known about the other problems.


Regards,

***** *******








3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very unhappy with the service I have received from this dealership. My initial experience with your service department was having the phone answered with an unprofessional "hello" instead of a proper greeting. I was then left on hold and hung up on twice without even getting a chance to tell anyone what work I was interested in having done. After several attempts to get through to service, and after leaving a message for the service manager, I had to leave a message for the general manager just to get a call back. After speaking with the the general manager the service manager did call me the same day. I brought the car in to have the rear main seal replaced, to see what was wrong with my brake system, and to examine the car for any other issues. I was informed by **** that my front calipers needed to be switched and my entire brake system bled from each caliper. He also said I needed a new clutch which is almost brand new. I had him send me pictures of the clutch which was fine. He also suggested a few other unneeded repairs. I told him to proceed with fixing my brakes and rear main seal only On 11/30/13 my driver side rear caliper fell completely off of my rotor as I was driving down Route 50. I lost almost all braking ability instantly. Luckily there was plenty of room in front of me and no one was hurt. I called the service department and informed the woman what happened and asked the her to speak with the service manager who never came to the phone. When she came back to the phone she said the dealership would be sending a tow truck at no cost to me as well putting me into a rental car. However, this morning **** called me asking me to pay for a tow bill of $194 as well as diagnostic fee. This is the complete opposite of what I was told before and what I would expect from a dealership of your size and name. I have *** and could easily have my car towed to any repair shop at no-cost. I asked **** to have the service manager call me. He called me back with an nasty, rude, and generally unprofessional attitude. He expressed no concern that I could have been seriously injured or killed. He immediately informed me I needed to pay the tow bill as well as a diagnostic fee. After explaining the situation to him he remained unchanged in his rude demeanor and continued to insinuate that it was my fault and was because of who installed the calipers before it was brought to Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie, MD. When I was given a price of well over $300 for my brake repair I was told the price included the front 2 rotors swapped and my brake system bled at each individual caliper. If someone touched the caliper it would clearly be loose to the touch since the bolts were not tightened at all. The bolts were so loose they fell out after less than 2 weeks of driving. I also had exhaust clamps I purchased from your dealership, when having them installed at a few days later at *** they noticed my tie rod was extremely loose as well. They tightened it in a matter of a few minutes. This is another repair your dealership suggested I replace unnecessarily instead of taking the time to tighten. They did not inform that the loose tie rod could have gone any moment causing my steering to become ineffective most likely leading to a crash.

Desired Settlement: Service manager fired. Car repaired properly.

Business Response:

COMPLAINT: The original Repair Order states “OWNER STATES FRONT BRAKES ARE INOP (CALIPERS WERE PAINTED AND NOW THEY DO NOT FUNCTION )

CAUSE: CALIPERS ARE MOUNTED ON THE WRONG SIDE

CORRECTION: SWAPPED FRONT BRAKE CALIPERS FROM SIDE TO SIDE AND BLED BRAKE SYSTEM

Subsequent Repair order which was 515 miles and 11 days later, states:

CUSTOMER STATES CALIPERS WERE JUST REPLACED AND A CALIPER FELL OFF. GETTING CAR TOWED IN

VEHICLE ARRIVED WITH DRIVER'S SIDE REAR ROTOR NOT ON VEHICLE.

NEW REAR TIRES HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ELSEWHERE (WERE BALD AT PREVIOUS VISIT) CUSTOMER STATES THAT PREVIOUSLY, HE HAD A 3RD PARTY REMOVE ALL 4 BRAKE CALIPERS FOR PAINTING. DURING CUSTOMER'S PREVIOUS VISIT, CUSTOMER STATED THAT THE FRONT BRAKES WERE INOPERATIVE AND DID NOT FUNCTION. ON THIS PREVIOUS VISIT (SEE REPAIR ORDER #******) WE FOUND THE FRONT BRAKE CALIPERS HAD BEEN REINSTALLED BY THE 3RD PARTY ON THE INCORRECT SIDES. WE HAD SWAPPED THE CALIPERS BACK TO CORRECT POSITION & BLED THE FRONT BRAKES. THE REAR WHEELS WERE NEVER REMOVED AND THE REAR BRAKE WERE NOT BLED AT THAT TIME.

THE REAR BRAKES HAVE NEVER BEEN TOUCHED BY OURISMAN CHEVROLET OF BOWIE AND OURISMAN CHEVROLET IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE IMPROPER INSTALLATION OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR CALIPER THAT FELL OFF. CUSTOMER IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE TOWING BILL ON THIS VEHICLE.

OURISMAN CHEVROLET OF BOWIE RESPECTFULLY DECLINES TO SERVICE THIS VEHICLE FOR ANY REASON UNRELATED TO WARRANTY CONCERNS.

CUSTOMER WAS ADVISED IN PHONE CONVERSATION WITH SERVICE DIRECTOR & GENERAL MANAGER ON 12/3/2013 THAT THE VEHICLE IS READY FOR PICK UP AND WILL NOT BE RELEASED WITHOUT PAYMENT OF THE TOWING INVOICE.

CUSTOMER WAS FURTHER ADVISED THAT AS POSTED IN THE SERVICE DRIVE, HE WILL BE LIABLE FOR STORAGE CHARGES OF $25.00 PER DAY BEGINNING 72 HOURS AFTER HE IS NOTIFIED HIS VEHICLE IS READY FOR PICK UP. WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION/APPROVAL BY CUSTOMER FOR DIAGNOSTIC CHARGES, THE VEHICLE WAS READY FOR PICK UP ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2013. STORAGE FEES WILL BEGIN TO ACCRUE AT 9:00AM EST, DECEMBER 5, 2013.

 

Narrative:

It appears that someone had removed the calipers and painted them. Then they reinstalled them on the wrong side which put the bleeders at the bottom and the hose at the top, thus making it impossible to bleed the brakes. At no time did we remove the rear wheels for any reason.

The vehicle was then driven for 515 miles and 11 days before he lost the left rear wheel and rotor. Mind you, there is no way for a rotor to comer off without first removing the caliper.

Customer should seek redress from whoever removed and painted then reinstalled the calipers incorrectly. Not us.

 

1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ourisman Chevrolet of Bowie
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart