BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Montgomeryville Nissan

Phone: (215) 661-9300 Fax: (215) 699-0269 View Additional Phone Numbers 991 Bethlehem Pike, Montgomeryvle, PA 18936 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.montgomeryvillenissan.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Montgomeryville Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Montgomeryville Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 25, 2002 Business started: 02/17/1999 Business incorporated: 02/17/1999 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Bernardino, General Manager Mr. Robert W. Nappen, President, Secretary & Treasurer Ms. Lisa Noone, General Manager/Acura
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Bernardino, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert W. Nappen, President, Secretary & Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 991 Bethlehem Pike

    Montgomeryvle, PA 18936

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 661-9900(Phone)
  • (888) 486-7145(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Delivery Issues
9/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is **** ********. I leased a 2013 Nissan Altima from Montgomeryville Nissan of Montgomeryville, PA on 6/14/2013. Everything seemed well and good when leasing the vehicle, but I had never received any of the information to pay my monthly lease bill. To this day, I still have yet to receive any information. Apparently there is some sort of issue between the dealership and Nissan Motor Acceptance Corporation, the leasing company, causing the holdup. I have gone back and forth with the Finance Manager over 10 times now and this issue has yet to be resolved. The Finance Manager promised that if I sent my checks addressed to him at the dealership, that they would handle the payments until NMAC provided me with an account number. I am yet to see the check for my first payment (sent on or around 7/15/2013) deposited by Montgomeryville Nissan. This is an issue because I have just moved to the state of Pennsylvania and NMAC has advised me that I can't change my vehicle registration until an account number has been established. To this day of 8/20/13, there is still no account number established. I've never dealt with worse customer service, from Montgomeryville Nissan or NMAC, in my entire life. Please help me resolve this as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my account to be set up by NMAC and Montgomeryville Nissan as soon as possible so that I can change my state vehicle registration.

Business Response: I am responding to BBB complaint # ******* dated 8/31/2013. Our records indicate that **. ********'s contract with Nissan Motor Acceptance Corporation was finalized and funded on or about /23/2013. ** ******** was notified by a dealership employee and should have received or will be receiving the desired documentaion from NMAC shortly. We apoligize for the delay in the processing of his loan agreement.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought my Nissan Frontier LE in June of 2006, I purchased what I thought to be a 5-year/100,000 mile extended warranty that began when the 3-year/36,000 mile OEM warranty expired. However, I missed in the paper work (and that was clearly my fault) that the In-Service Date was marked as the same date that I bought the vehicle (6/24/2006). In essence, this means thay the first three years of my extended warranty coincided with the original new car warranty and so I was only covered for a total of 5 years and 100,000 miles instead of 8 years and 100,000 miles. Last year on 8/9/2012, I had to take my truck to a local mechanic because it was nearly undriveable and I could not get it to the dealership. As it turned out, the rear differential needed to be completely rebuilt. After the work was done, I contacted Nissan about making a good faith gesture to split the bill with me since it would have been covered under my extended warranty if the In-Service Date was as it should have been. The maintenance supervisor told me that I needed to file a comlpaint with Nissan corporate since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. I did so and the supervisor confirmed for Nissan corporate that I have been keeping the vehicle properly maintenanced. Nonetheless, Nissan corporate responded that the vehicle was not under warranty and that was the end of it. The total cost of the differential repair was $1,462.67 which would have cost me nothing because the extended warranty that I thought that I had purchased had a $0 deductible. ******* ** *********

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the warranty extended to 6/24/2015 (5 years after the OEM warranty expired) or 100,000 miles and reimbursement of the $1,462.67 in the form of a refund check.

Consumer Response:

   Per you request for additional information, please find attached the receipt for my new car warranty (page 1).  The second page of the attachment is a copy of my final email correspondence with Nissan corporate.

   Thank you.

   ******* ** *********

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

     I am in receipt of BBB consumer complaint #******* with reference to *** ******* *********. Any extended coverage that is purchased from a manufacturer is always effective from the original sale or "in service" date of that vehicle. (*** *********'s warranty contract should accuratley reflect that) The fact that the repair was completed from an independant service facility (not a Nissan dealership) furthur complicates our ability to request or secure assistance from the manufacturer. We are sorry for any mis understanding there may have been with regard to the effective dates of coverage and we are only able to present and attempt to influence customer "good will" decesions when the repairs are being completed at our facility. I am unfamiliar with the repair history on this specefic vehicle at the time of this response but after seven years of driving it is not an uncommon repair. I know that does not address our customers concern but it may have had impact on the decesion made at the manufacturer level. Please feel free to contact me or my service director directly if you wish to discuss furthur.

 

****** ********** ****** *****

General Manager                                                      Service Director

Montgomeryville Nissan                                           Montgomeryville Nissan

************ ************ *** ****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

   I am rejecting this response because the service manager pulled my service records at the time of my complaint to Nissan and forwarded them onto corporate.  The service manager stated at that time that I had properly maintained the vehicle as the service records indicated.  He also indicated that this is by no means a common problem after 7 years.  I have been driving for 29 years and have never had a rear differential on any vehicle fall apart as this one did.

   In additon, if any extended warranty has an "In-Service" date that begins the day that the car is purchased then it is not an extended warranty but rather another new vehicle warranty.  This means that the dealership misrepresented the product and sold it to me under false pretenses.

   For these reasons, I am rejecting Montgomeryville Nissan's respsonse and you may put me down as a completely disssatified customer.

   Thank you for your assistance in attempting to help me to reslve this matter.  Have a good day.


   Regards,

   ******* ** *********








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: y 2005 toyota camry was due for 60,000 mile service. I found a car place closer to home they said they service toyotas. the maintenence was expensive, they copied the maintanence sheet from my toyota booklet that says what's done at 60,000 miles. they said the oil gasket should be fixed I said ok, they said 2 lights, i said ok, they said wipers, i said ok, they told me prices. Then added some kind of suspension arm but i said no cause it was expensive. When they called to say it was ready I said I had coupons they said to bring in. They let me use the nissan coupon for 30.00 off if spend 300.00 or more. They fixed the receipt from 370 to 340. Then he said they forgot the wipers and had to add 30.00 or so to bill. I saw my car parked and never saw them take my car back to put wipers on. I even said but my car never moved after he said if was ready. He said the mechanic went over to the car but I didn't see him. He said he gave me another 2.00 off when I said I don't feel like I got my coupon if i have to pay another 30.00. One thing that should have been none was the tire balance and rotation which wasn't listed on the receipt but they had it color coded cautionary on the printout of the backup papers. I called left message saying that should have been done, not a cautionary point. the receipt said they filled window washer and I left a message saying it didn't look filled to me. I could see it a little way at the bottom when I look it but thought it would be filled to the cap. I don't trust the place and feel taken over.

Desired Settlement: Well, I'm waiting for the callback that tells me they did do the tire balance and rotation. I don't know how I can prove feeling taken over. If they gave me the 30.00 off even though they added the wipers for 31.98 after the coupon was taken off, even though they say they forgot to do the wipers, I feel bad that they forgot but I feel taken over and really feel that they shouldn't have charged me for the wipers. If they were good business people they would give me my 30.00 back.

Consumer Response:



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: BBB of Metro DC and Eastern PA <info@mybbb.org>
Date: Thu, May 9, 2013 at 10:20 AM
Subject: Fwd: Resolution to complaint
To: ******* ******* ********************


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ***** ****** *********************
Date: Wed, May 8, 2013 at 5:52 PM
Subject: Resolution to complaint
To: better business burea <info@mybbb.org>


Hello.  Thank you for your quick action to my complaint about a car
dealership I went to to have
my car maintenance done on 5/7/13.

 I had left them messages, they called me and invited me to bring my
car back to the Montgomeryville Nissan.  They filled the washer fluid
level to the top for me.  They balanced and rotated my tires and let
me watch to show me it was being done.  They even credited me the
31.80 for the wipers which helped because now I feel like I got the
coupon value. **** ******, the serviceman, said that they did this for
me because they don't want to do a disservice to anyone. He
appoligized for the washer fluid not being to the top.  And they even
washed my car again before giving it back.

 I am grateful that this resolution alleviated my fears about the
dealership and its servicemen.

Thank you again,
***** ** ******
*******************



-- 
Sincerely,
******* ******* |
Trade Practice Consultant
 
Tel: * ** * *** * ****
Fax:* ** * *** * ****
www.easternpa.bbb.org | Start With Trust
 
Better Business Bureau serving Metro Washington DC
 ,
Eastern 
and Northeastern 
Pennsylvania
1
0
54 Oak Street
Scranton
, PA 1
8508
 
-----------------------------------------------
The information contained in this message is considered CONFIDENTIAL and for the intended recipient only.  Any unauthorized use, dissemination, or copying of this message is prohibited.  If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately and delete the message.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues