BBB Accredited Business since

Leesburg Automotive, LLC

Phone: (703) 444-2010 View Additional Phone Numbers 21715 Auto World Circle, Sterling, VA 20166 http://www.AutoNation.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leesburg Automotive, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Leesburg Automotive, LLC include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Leesburg Automotive, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 05/19/1985 Business incorporated: 01/01/2004 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Henry Phillips, President Mr. Kurt Kessler, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kurt Kessler, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Henry Phillips, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Leesburg Honda
Additional Information

Leesburg Automotive is an AutoNation company.


Additional Locations

  • 21715 Auto World Circle

    Sterling, VA 20166

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 478-1111(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2003 ***** ***** Hybrid on 4/5/20013. I took it in for service and they said it needed a new battery because the IMA light was on. I said it should not need a new battery because when I purchased the car the sales advisor (***** *****) told both me and my son that the IMA battery had just been replaced. The dealer went back threw all the paperwork and said they did not see where it was serviced for that. I also did not find it in my paperwork either. I didn’t even think to get it in writing for the fact that the sales advisor explicitly said that it had been replaced. We even talked about it and my son said to the adviser, “why would the previous customer put a new battery in the car and then trade it in?” The advisor told us that they did because they needed a bigger car. He also said that the battery cost over $4000 and it was a good deal for the car. If I had of known that the battery actually had not been replaced I would have never purchased the car. It was a bold face lie just to sell the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like the battery replaced in the car. We were told it was a new battery when we bought the car and it should have had one in it.

Business Response:

*** ******,

We respect and understand the frustration when a major component fails on a pre owned car.  We have a prodigious number of processes in place to properly disclose the condition and the warranties of any of our pre owned vehicles.  Every customer signs a form that they received a worry free folder, which includes all repair orders, ****** reports and warranty disclosures.  Any major component, such as a transmission, engine, or IMA battery would be a very strong selling feature for a car with 127,000 miles.  That is not something for normal conversation, that would carry a receipt along with any warranty that would be provided on the component.  In a situation where that would be a condition of sale, that would be documented, receipts would follow and signature on receipts would be included.  Our records indicate that the car was getting routine service in October 2013 and at that time the IMA light, check engine light, and SRS lights were on at that time and further diagnostic work was declined by the cuxstomer. It is possible at that time, an early detection of a failure might have prevented the battery from complete failure.

In the attempt to keep **. ****** as a loyal customer, I would be happy to meet with him personally and discuss purchasing the car back at current market values,taking into consideration a years use, approximately 23,000 added miles from purchase and any other work that might be needed aside from the IMA battery. The other option would be to apply a 20% savings to the repair of the IMA battery as long as the work is performed at AutoNation Honda Dulles.  That would also include a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty .

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance or can answer any questions.

Respectfully,

**** *******

General Manager

AutoNation Honda Dulles

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We were told by our sales advisory that the battery had been replaced at the time we discussed the purchasing of the car. We had a full conversation about it at that time. Basically you are saying that a sales person can claim anything with regards to selling a car but without the paperwork backing it up it's just our tough luck. Like I said before, I would have never purchased the car without that bit of information. That statement by him swayed me into purchasing the car.

Furthermore I did a little research and the SRS light.The "code 4-1" that was generated is covered under a lifetime warranty by ***** but you want to charge us $610 to fix it and may have to replace the seat belt tensioner at a cost of $1600. This is just another instance of the dishonest practices of your dealership.

Regards,

***** ******








Business Response:

I fully understand that accusations are sometime made in frustration in an attempt to bully and intimidate a business to quickly accomodate a solution.  I will not take it personally or fall victim to such accusations.  My sole interest is in making our customer happy. 

With that said, please understand that we deny any allegations of wrongdoing or misrepresentations regarding the battery.  Moreover, the error code that **. ****** refers to is indicative of a variety of potential issues that are not covered by warranty.

However, in an attempt to keep **. ****** as a long term customer, I am willing to split the cost of the IMA battery, 50/50, as long as the work is performed at AutoNation Honda.  As part of this agreement, I ask that **. ****** refrain from any further damaging remarks that could hurt the reputation of this business and damage the career of the sales associate.  Please allow me the courtesy and the opporutnity to retain one of our good customers. 

**** *******

General Manager

Autonation Honda Dulles

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not trying to bully or intimidate the ***** Dealership to get a fast resolution. That is not my intent. What I said in my previous response was not an accusation but was a fact. We were told that the IMA battery was replaced prior to us purchasing the car. I purchased the car and that was a major deciding point. We were lied to and there is no if, and's, or but's about it. 
 I understand something like this can be damaging to a business or a sales associate.  I do not go around making false claims. With that said, a business should be accountable for any wrong doing. In this case a "wrong" was done.
Regards,

***** ******








12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied and was approved for an auto loan through *****************. ********** Honda Dulles was listed as one of their preferred dealers. I found a 2004 Honda Accord at the dealership that met all of the qualifications of the loan. I took all the necessary paperwork to dealership and purchased the automobile with a down payment of $1500.00. This was on October 23, 2013.One month later on or about November 25 the finance manager called to tell me that the financing fell through. They said that they contacted **************** and I had told them that I was going to pay for the vehicle in cash. I never made such a claim.I spoke with a manager at **************** and they told me they could not see why the loan was canceled. Then I was told by the ********** sales manager that the loan did not meet the requirements of *************. The story seemed to change overnight.********** then found me a loan through **** **** ********* at twice the rate I would have paid with **************** and an added $798 in GAP insurance. I asked if I could return the car receive my down payment back. I was told no. I signed all the necessary paperwork for ******** ********* as my credit score is very low now due to financial difficulties and I felt trapped. I am now being asked for additional information from **********. As far as I am concerned this is a classic bait and switch and one poorly managed at that.Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.Kind Regards,**** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle and receive my $1500.00 down payment back.

Business Response:

**. *****,

We have no affiliation with **** *****.  **** ***** will typically send the customer to the dealer of their choice.  **** ***** also works with many different lenders.  Dealers will get customers referred to them if that business works with one of the banks that they work with.  We were happy to do business with **. ****.  But after nearly a month, we were not funded on the check we received from **. ****.

We called **** ***** and they told us the car did not qualify based on LTV.  THey also told us **. **** would be paying cash.  After calling **. ****, he explained he would not be paying cash and had not said that to **** *****.  After speaking with **** ***** several time, I do concur with **. ****.  There seemed to be alot of confusion on their end.

**. **** asked us to help him with some financing. I have called our lender that we used for **. **** and put everything on hold until we get this resolved.   I understand that **. **** would like a refund of his $1500.00 and return the car.  I will work with **. **** on which ever direction he would like to go.  I am in a difficult position since the car has been driven for over a month and I have not been paid.  I have suffered depreciation,lost sales on this car though advertising on a car that has already been delivered.  I will have to suffer reconditioning and inspection costs to bring the car back through the system.  I will do whatever is in the best interest of the customer, but I would like **. **** to reconsider and try working out something he would be comfortable with, such as re- applying to his bank or perhaps a co-signer that would assist us in getting more competitive rate and terms.

Thank you

**** *******

General Manager

2/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service