BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Landmark Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Landmark Honda include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Landmark Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1990 Business started: 01/19/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is 699.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Waldman, GM Ms. Katie Bowles, Social Media Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Waldman, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service Auto Smog Inspection Auto Air Conditioning Auto Alarms & Security Systems

Alternate Business Names
Rosenthal Landmark Honda

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with a representative of Landmark Honda to test drive a vehicle, after the test drive my vehicle was appraised with my consent. Following the appraisal, I was given an offer concerning my vehicle and I discussed the possibilities regarding selling my vehicle and financing for another. At which point, the sales representative offered to run a credit check to better discuss the possibilities in regards to financing. My intention was not to sell my vehicle to Landmark Honda due to a better offer elsewhere, nor was my intention to apply for credit on their vehicle without further consideration of multiple factors. At which point the sales representative applied for credit with my personal bank without my consent, which led to a rejection of credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like a correction to my credit report that I did not authorize this application for credit which led to a rejection letter from my bank.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,
I have a signed credit application from *** ****** ***** authorizing us to apply for credit on his behalf.
Sincerely,
Joseph W******
General Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
To my knowledge, I signed an approval for a credit check however not for a credit application.

Regards,

****** *****







Business Response: We are sorry that you misunderstood what you were signing.
The form clearly states that you have completed the application to obtain credit and that you understand and agree that the application will be forwarded to financial institutions.

8/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchase a new 2011 Honda ******* *** from this dealership. In addition they have sold me service contracts for Honda Care and Gap coverage. I had requested cancellation of Gap and refund of the dollars to the Bank that financed the purchase. The complaint is about the Honda care only. I have tried contracting the honda care and they said the local dealership that sold the contract are the only people who can make any kind of changes. After repeated attempts to reach them for over a month I am not getting any paper work. A recent accident means the car was declared a total loss. I need to cancel the Honda care warranty and get the partial refund. Their lack of support is costing me financial charges as the bank keeps charging interest. Insurance company has not released the settlement money for me to buy the replacement vehicle. FInance dept at the dealership is extremely unresponsive. I tried calling them several times in the past month and half. (***********, ************ and left messages. Finally through the main customer service *** *** **** I left a message for Finance manager on 7/30. I still have not heard any thing or not received any forms to cancel the Warranty and get a prorated refund.

Desired Settlement: Paper work to Cancel Honda warranty and issue refund so that I can close out the financial loan immediately and release the lien. Once the lien is received by Allstate then only I will be receiving the replacement cost of my vehicle. I need the warranty cancellation paperwork asap. Since I am living quite far from the dealership I am not able to go in person.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in handling this refund.
A refund for the Honda Care Warranty will be processed once I receive an official document showing the mileage on the vehicle at the time of total loss.
Our records reflect you paid $1400 for the warranty not $1800 as stated.
We will attempt to contact you by phone.

8/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We buy our car at landmark Honda and they sell us the product name selojet and we and couple of days we deceived that we don't need that product , so we went to landmark Honda for a refund. And the promise that they'll send a check by mail , it's almost 10 months no check . So do t be scam with this dealership landmark Honda they are selling the product. That it's not install on my car, now I need a refund you won't get your money back . Landmark Honda scam people from the sales person to their manager scam artist . Pls don't be scam, go to deferent dealers.

Desired Settlement: I can't get my refund

Business Response:

From: Joe W******
Date: Wed, Aug 5, 2015 at 10:38 AM
Subject: Re: ***** ******* Complaint (********)
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>


Dear *** ******,
 I am aware of this complaint. We responded immediately to ***** ******. I'm sorry she did not respond to you.
We sent the cancellation proceeds directly to the lienholder on the account back in January. We tried to contact ** ******* by phone with no response. We then sent him an email with the information.

The following is the response from our Office manager.

If I can be of any further assistance please let me know.

Sincerely,

Joseph Waldman
General Manager


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mary S**** <******@landmarkhonda.com>
Date: Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 3:38 PM
Subject: COMPLAINT ABOUT **** CANCELLATION
To: ************@*****.com

Good afternoon,

In reference to your complaint received that the product ******* had not been refunded to you when requested in January 2015, please note the refund check was cut on January 27, 2015 for the amount of $844.00, the purchase price of the product and mailed to the lienholder of your vehicle to be credited toward your loan amount. 

Please see a copy of the check attached. You would need to contact your lienholder for further information concerning this matter.

Sincerely
Mary Pat S****

Office Manager

HR/Payroll Accounting Manager

Landmark Honda

Direct: 703.823.2092

Fax :  ************

*********** **** ******* ********** **********

PDF

Joe W****** <********@landmarkhonda.com> 

************** **



to ****** ***** 

This email was sent to him after we tried twice by phone
10:20 AM (18 minutes ago)
Attachments area
Preview attachment img446.pdf

PDF

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service/repair rendered at Landmark Honda. The issue came back. I came back to the dealer, they did a temporary fix. Then told me it would cost more to fix my car. I tried to request a refund from the service manager because I feel that I paid in good faith for a service that was suppose to me complete, now they are telling me that it will cost more and to be honest, after this I don't feel comfortable that it would fix the problem since they told me the original repair would fix the problem. All I want is my money back for this repair that didn't fix the issue.Thanks

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the service repair

Business Response: Hello ********,

Thank you for alerting us to this issue. We're very sorry that it occurred, and are happy to refund you. Looking forward to helping you again in the future!
Best,
Landmark Honda

8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a car from Landmark Honda. On their television commercials, website, and in the newspaper, they advertised 0.9% financing on new cars. I even spoke with their sales people before going into the showroom and I was told that they ofer 1.9 - 2.9% on used cars, but 0.9% on new cars. On July 7, I then went into the showroom of Landmark Honda to look at used cars. At that time I spoke with Nelson F***** who was very helpful and informative. Because I was not looking to purchase a car (new or used) on that day, I told Nelson that I would contact him in a few weeks when I was ready to make a purchase. Over the next three weeks, Nelson would periodically call me. During the conversations, I specifically asked him what type of financing Landmark Honda offer to car buyers. He told me that financing at interest rates of 1.9 – 2.9% was available on used cars, and 0.9% was available on new cars. On Tuesday, July 29, 2014, I came back to the showroom with a friend to look at both used and new cars. Unfortunately, that was Nelson’s day off, so a young salesman named Joseph (?) assisted me. First I looked at used cars. As I looked at both a 2013 Honda Accord Sedan and 2011 Honda Accord Coupe, he told me that financing was available at either 1.9% or 2.9% depending on my credit. Although I was originally leaning toward purchasing a used car, I was attracted by the 0.9% financing that was advertised on both Landmark Honda's Website and on the Honda “Clearance Sale” Commercials on Television. So I started looking at new cars. A very nice sales person assisted me. As I looked at new cars, I again asked about the 0.9% financing and was told that it would depend on my credit. After looking at a number of cars, I settled on 2014 Honda Accord Sedan. While I completed the paper work, I again asked about the 0.9% financing, and he said he would “pull” my credit report. Well, my FICO score was above 800. After completing the purchase paper work, I then went to the finance department. It was only then, that I was told by the Finance manager that I was not eligible for the 0.9% finance. When I inquired why not, she could not tell me. I then went back to Mielad and the manager on duty and asked them why I was not eligible for the 0.9% and they could not tell me either. In addition, the Finance Manager, initially quoted me an even higher interest rate of 3.9% and it is only after I complained and agreed to put $2,000 down, that she finally offer me a 2.9% interest rate. Please note that the entire time I was signing the paper work for the car (before going into the F&I office), I continually asked about the 0.9% and financing no one said a word about my not being eligible for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car loan at an interest rate of 0.9%

Business Response: I just spoke to *** ******** and apologized. We are sending him a check for the difference in the interest rate.

6/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting a refund for a service performed on my vehicle on the month of Aug 2013 "Replace "O" Ring". The total charges for this service were $198.51. Unfortunately I had to have this service performed again recently, as my car is still having issues with a leak, this time , the same part number etc. cost me $109.99 as the service was performed by a different Honda dealer in this area.

Desired Settlement: Refund since, all repairs are warranted for 12 months or 12,000 miles and neither has occurred yet.

Business Response:

We have reviewed *** ********'s complaint. We looked into the service history on her 1999 Honda civic vin#*****************. We see there was a distributor o-ring was replaced for an oil leak on 8/28/13. At this time the car had 107306 miles. ******* ****** (the service provider) has been in communication with her by phone. The first steps that need to take place, we need to verify that the o-ring replacement is the same repair as what took place back on 8/28/13. The repair will need to be with in 12000 miles of the repair. American Honda motor company backs the repair for a limited term of 1year or 12000 miles which ever comes first. We have ask *** ******** to fax us a copy of the repair. As of this point we do not have a copy. *** ******** indicated she had this repair completed at a local Honda store. She cant remember the Honda location that performed the repair. If in fact this is the same repair and she would have provided a copy of the repair order from 8/28/13 and its under the limited warranty, the repair would have been completed free of charge. *** ******** stated to ******* she did not advise this Honda dealership that the repair was completed at a previous store.

We can still help. This is not the method American Honda parts warranty claims are implemented but we can still assist her. The reason we are unable to move forward is we still do not have the information from *** ********. We need to obtain a copy of the repair.

At this point this is unresolved. We lacking pertinent information from the customer. We believe its reasonable for *** ******** to take the necessary steps to make a warranty claim on her repair. Authorizing a repair and requesting a refund is not with in the terms of the limited warranty of the repair.

If there is any additional information needed, I can be contacted at the information below.

***** *********

Service and Parts Director

****************************

###-###-####

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

31 May 2014

*** ******:
In reference to our phone conversation last Thursday 29 May and per your request, have included documents ref: Refund request (BBB complaint ID ********) submitted 23 April 2014.
The first invoice is for replacement of an O" ring on Aug 2013 at Landmark $198.55, the second invoice for the same repair on Apr 2014 at ****** Honda for $109.99 which is considerably lower than the price at Landmark Honda; at the time of the second repair was not aware this job had been already performed on my vehicle until later when I checked my records.

In my complain I am requesting a refund for the amount of $198.55, taking into Consideration the best quote and best overall value of this repair and in actordance with Hondas policy (parts and labor warranted 12 months or 12,000 miles). I will greatly appreciate your assistance, I can be reached at cell *********** and on .

Business Response: This problem was clearly covered under the 12 month and 12,000 mile parts warranty offered by American Honda.
We have submitted that warranty to the manufacturer and are processing a check for a full refund.
We were unaware of this problem until the Better Business Bureau complaint was made.
If the consumer had come directly to us with this problem it would have been handled quickly and easily.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Landmark Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)