BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Ken Dixon Chevrolet Cadillac Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 645-7000 Fax: (301) 870-5978 2298 Crain Hwy, Waldorf, MD 20601 http://www.kendixon.com ! There is an alert on Ken Dixon Chevrolet Cadillac Honda !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 1996 Business started: 06/19/1961
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andrew F Dixon, President Mr. John Kershaw, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew F Dixon, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Kershaw, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ken Dixon Automotive

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2298 Crain Hwy

    Waldorf, MD 20601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 98

    Waldorf, MD 20604

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2013 Honda civic on 6/13/13. On 7/15/13 i received a call stating I needed to sign a new contract because of date change. I didn't notice I didn't have a contract until I looked in the folder I received on 6/13/13. On 7/17/13 I went to *** Dixon Honda and I was told at that time that a new contract was needed because of a wrong interest rate. I told them that I didn't receive my initial contract on 6/13/13 and I would like to receive the copy at this time. I was told that "we do so many deals that we don't know where your copy of your contract is at" and I told them I couldn't sign a new contract until i saw the initial contract. I was told at that time that a copy would be made from there portion of the contract witch was copied but it wasn't legible. I asked to see the initial contract witch was not provided to me. I tried to retrieve the contract from the representative and he proceeded to throw the contract away in a locked trash can. The new contract that I was to sign had a inflated price. At this point I knew that it was fraud and I called the police and I was still not provided with my portion of the initial contract. The officer was told I would receive a copy but at this point I still haven't received one. Needless to say I didn't sign the new contract. I feel like the attempt was made to take advantage of me because I am a woman making a purchase by myself for the first time witch they knew. I was told that $1,000 would be taking of the initial price of 18,975 but the Carriage House Automotive I, LLC form states no deduction was made. The finance person who i spoke with in this situation was named *****

Desired Settlement: I would like my down payment of $3,000 for the car to be refunded to me and the car returned to the dealership.

Business Response: ** ******; We have already resolved this complaint. We have paid to have **. ******* contract bought down and will honor her orignal contract.I will mail her a copy of the orignal contract. Very Respectfully,**** *******Parts and Service DirectorKen Dixon Automotive2298 Crain HighwayWaldorf, MD 2060###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I still haven't received my original contract and due to there fraudulent behavior I cant trust them with routine maintenance with this vehicle. I don't think its fair that i should have to drive 50 minutes to the nearest Honda dealership to have my car serviced because obviously ken Dixon Honda dealership cant be trusted. I would like to return the car and have all my money refunded. Stated in the response they paid to have the original contract processed. Who did they pay? They had the original contract the whole time. I sought out a local dealership for the convenience i shouldn't have to relinquish convenience due to there fraudulent behavior.


Regards,

*** ******








Business Response: Mr. ****** We will send her contract to her, no later then tomorrow 9/24/2013.Sorry for the inconvenience **** *******Parts and Service DirectorKen Dixon Automotive2298 Crain HighwayWaldorf, MD 2060###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Yet again I have been sent a xerox copy of a contract that doesn't resemble the original contract that was signed. On closer examination the signature on the xerox contract isn't my signature which states the balance due on delivery is $19,385 and I have the original Carriage House Automotive I, LLC form witch was given to me when the initial contract was signed in the amount of $18,434.98 due on delivery. This further proves that this company is fraudulent with their business dealings. The only outcome that would be acceptable to me is to return the car and have all of my money refunded. I cant be tied to this company for service on this vehicle because they are dishonest. The nearest Honda dealership other than Ken Dixon is 50 minutes away. I shouldn't have to sacrifice convenience because of their fraudulent behavior. They haven't given me my original copy of the contract witch they do have.


Regards,

*** ******








9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i put my car in ken dixon 08/05/2013 . had appointment at 008/06/2013 7:30 am. my insurance company covered rental for 3 days. ken dixon cover rental from 08/08 -08/13. they never called to inform me about my car. i called them and they ( ****** ****** )were too busy to talk to me. on the 8th i feel i had taken enough. i was told 08/08 12pm.-& 2pm to pick up my car. --on my way to pick it up they called me. 08/09 2 pm. then they said keep rental for the weekend ( at our expence). then on monday told to pick it up 6pm and now they changed it again until 08/13 12pm and want to charge an addition $350 for labor. they did extra work on my car without my permission or knowledge. i chose this company because they worked on my car before (at that time i was a valued costumer). "sherri porter" have surely let me know that things have changed for the worst.service was to be 1 day and it's still ongoing. unvalued costumer

Desired Settlement: i want not to be charged for service that i did not request: additionnal $350 of course i want car (finally)

Business Response: **. ******; My service manager **** **** has already meet with **, ******. He adjusted her bill by $94.00 plus paid  $190.00 for rental at time of pick up. **, ****** was very happy with his offer and excepted it.She was upset because her insurance company declined to pay for needed repairs. Our goal is to make sure every guest is completely satisfied. Very Respectfully **** *******Parts and Service Director*** ***** Automotive2298 Crain HighwayWaldorf, MD 20601************

9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These guys are completely incompetent. The absolute worst car maintenance service that I have ever had the displeasure of patronizing. I drive a H2 Hummer and recently went there to have my front wheel bearings changed. This repair cost me $ 1,400. The young lady working at the counter didn't even know how to deduct 10% percent military discount from my total. She actually deducted $40.00 thinking that was a 10% percent discount. After explaining to her and getting that resolved I paid my bill and departed. No less than an hour later while stopped to fill up at a gas station, I was unable to take my truck out of park. My gear shift was literally stuck. I called and explained my situation to the customer service reps at Ken Dixon and they asked if I could have my vehicle towed back to their shop. By the time we arrived with my vehicle on the flat bed they had closed. I left my keys in the overnight drop box with a note detailing my complaint and concerns. I came home that night expecting a call first thing in the morning with an update, never received a call. I got a lift back up to the service station the following morning where I began to explain what I had experienced and how I find it hard to be merely a coincidence considering they had just had my truck on the lift tinkering around just prior to me experiencing the problem. The mechanic started to say how the tow truck guy probably cut a cable under my truck, preventing it from going to park, neutral, drive etc. I explained to him the reason I called the tow truck in the first place was because I could not move my gear shift and furthermore, I witnessed the tow guy the entire time he placed my vehicle on the flat bed. He did not go underneath my vehicle at all and definitely did not do any type of cutting. The mechanic swore the problem just occurred independent of the work they had just done and that I was in need of a new cable. He quoted me a price of roughly $ 350.00. I agreed and let my vehicle remain at the shop in order to get the newly needed repairs. I received a call two days later, stating that my vehicle was ready. Upon arrival I was presented a bill that totaled almost $800.00. I immediately rejected that notion and explained that the price I was presented was not what I was quoted. A customer assistant by the name of Bill immediately took the invoice and destroyed it. He stated, I remember that quote, I was there and he presented me with a new invoice of $ 455.00. He then stated " does that look better ". I asked for three separate managers, none of which were present. I left my number and asked that store management contact me, no one ever called. I asked if it was standard practice to wash vehicles after they have been serviced. I was told yes. I asked if my vehicle had been washed and cleaned considering I spent almost $2,000 with Ken Dixon within the last 72 hours. I was told my truck is to big to fit in the wash. Due to this I feel alienated and treated differently than all other paying customers. It seems to me that this place is not very well managed,supervised and ran appropriately. It appears as though they are making up prices as they go along and even though I can not definitively prove that they caused the damaged that ultimately cost me more money, I do have my suspicions. I don't think that it is a case of coincidence. I have not heard to many good reviews of this place and I'm mad at myself for not doing my research prior to taking my vehicle there. I WILL NOT BE PATRONIZING THIS POOR EXCUSE FOR A DEALERSHIP/MAINTENANCE SHOP AGAIN.

Desired Settlement: Apology and refund check.

Business Response: **. ******; I apologize for the delay in response.We have had complaints from this guest from 3 different  sources. We have tried calling and e-mailing this guest.He has not responded to our messages . We are willing to reimburse **. ***** guest for the shifter concern and do a complete detail. Our goal is make sure everyone of our guest are completely satisfied. Very Respectfully, **** *******Parts and Service DirectorKen Dixon Automotive2298 Crain HighwayWaldorf, MD 20601************

3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service