This business is not BBB accredited.

Jones Dealerships

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 394-0711 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 4426, Lancaster, PA 17604 http://www.gojones.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jones Dealerships include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Dealerships
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1960 in PA Business incorporated 12/06/1999 in PA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven G. Jones, President Mr. Ed Haldeman, Service Technican Mr. Don Lookenbill, Service & Parts Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven G. Jones, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Jones Pontiac Buick GMC Truck

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1335 Manheim Pike

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 4426

    Lancaster, PA 17604

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2014 I was rear ended by a passenger car during an ice storm. I filed a claim with the other parties insurance company (The *******) for repair. My F-150 went to Jones Boby shop at **** **** **. in Lancaster PA on February 18th 2015 for a new bumper, bumper cover and body work. I got the truck back very late on the 19th. On February 20th I contacted Jones Body shop regarding a missed repair. John T***** stated that he has a picture of the damage from the orginal estimate. I sent him a picture via email to confirm it was the same. He stated to me on February 25th that he emailed the adjuster and would see how to proceed. I have not heard anything back from Mr. T***** or The ******* regarding this issue. I have emailed Mr. T***** two times with no response. I have left multiple Voice mails for several different agents at The ******* and I have yet to get a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated to have the repair done at a Body Shop of "My choice."

Business Response:

May 18, 2014

Dear ******* *****:

Thank you for your letter.

For fifty three years our company has prided itself on being a responsible truthful member of the community, and we welcome an opportunity to explain the full story.

In reference to ***** *********, ID ******** this issue has been resolved. Please find attached all e-mail correspondents with him. Specifically review page 11, where circled in red, ***** thanks us for following up with the insurance company and indicates he will be notifying the BBB that we have supplied the requested documentation.

Obviously, as you can see, we have had numerous correspondents with both ***** and the insurance carrier. We stand prepared to assist or perform all repairs as authorized by the insurance carrier.

We ask for your understanding in this matter and that the complaint is dismissed.

Sincerely,

Harold M

Body Shop Manager


6/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JONES *** sold be a new 2014 truck . THEY LIED ABOUT THE MILEAGE TELLING ME IT WAS DRIVEN FROM ANOTHER DEALER FOR A DEALER TRADE .I CALLED *** THEY TOLD ME JONES WAS THE DEALER IT WAS SENT TO FIRST --FROM THE FACTORY, AND THE WINDOW STICKER SHOWS JONES AS THE FIRST DEALER . . ALSO JONES DID NOT TELL ,ME THAT THE TRUCK I BOUGHT WAS USED FOR COMMERCIAL SNOW PLOWING -- THEN THEY REMOVED THE PLOW , AND DID NOT TELL ,ME IT WAS USED HARD FOR HUNDREDS OF MILES FOR COMMERCIAL PLOWING .IF I WAS AWARE I WOULD HAVE NEGOTIATED THE PRICE DIFFERENTLY . THE TRUCK HAD A STRIPPED TOW HOOK, WHICH IS THE SNOWPLOW ATTACHMENT POINT . THERE ARE PAINT SCRATCHES ON THE TRUCK , AND THE FRONT GRILL IS MISALIGNED . AFTER I COMPLAINED , THE MANAGER *** ****** -- TOLD ME , " IF I SIGN A PAPER SAYING I KNOW ABOUT THE PLOW, HE WOULD GIVE ME A $ 500.00 JONES CHARGE ACCOUNT . I WENT TO JONES TO PICK UP THIS PAPER TO REVIEW . AFTER THE WEEKEND I GET A CALL FROM THE MANAGER , *** ****** , SCREAMING AT ME- FOR NOT LEAVING A SIGNED ORIGINAL SAYING I KNOW ABOUT THE PLOWING HISTORY WHICH WOULD QUALIFY ME FOR THIS $ 500.00 GIFT ACCOUNT .IT WAS SO INTENSE -- I HAD TO HANG UP . --- HE IMMEDIATELY RECALLS ,LEAVES A MESSAGE AND THREATENS ME WITH A WITHDRAWAL OF THE $ 500.00 GIFT ACCOUNT .HE SENT ANOTHER ORIGINAL TO MY ADDRESS FOR ME TO SIGN , WITH A STAMPED ENVELOPE , TO RETURN TO JONES . I SIGNED , BUT ADDED A STATEMENT -- HANDWRITTEN , THAT I ONLY FOUND ABOUT THE COMMERCIAL PLOWING USAGE " A F T E R " I PURCHASED THE TRUCK . - I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE COMMERCIAL PLOWING UNTIL A FEW DAYS AFTER I BOUGHT IT .SNOW PLOWING IS VERY HARD ON THE MOTOR AND TRANSMISSION-- PLUS THE TRUCK WAS NOT BROKEN AT ALL BEFORE PLOWING .I HAVE APPX 16 HOURS INSTALLING ADD-ON ACCESSORIES TO THE TRUCK-- SO FAR . TO REMOVE THE ACCESSORIES WOULD MEAN I'D HAVE APPX 32 HOURS OF LABOR --WITH NO COMPENSATION, . SO I BASICALLY BOUGHT A USED COMMERCIAL PLOW TRUCK -- WITHOUT THE PLOW, AND PAID FOR A NEW UNUSED TRUCK .

Desired Settlement: PAY ME THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE ***** BLUEBOOK PRICE FOR A USED 2014 TRUCK , AND WHAT I PAID

Business Response:

June 10, 2014

Dear *** *******:
Thank you for your letter.
For fifty three years our company has prided itself on being a responsible truthful member of the community, and we welcome an opportunity to explain the full story.

If reference to the 2014 *** ****** of *** ******s, this issue has been resolved. Please find attached a signed Email from *** ****** stated that we have resolved this with a $1000.00 reimbursements.

For the record, when *** ****** brought this to our attention three (3) days after the purchase, we offered to give all his money back and return the truck. This was before any work was done to the vehicle. I offered six (6) times in three (3) weeks to purchase the vehicle back for a full refund. He declined each time.

We ask for your understanding in this matter and that the complaint be dismissed.
Sincerely,

4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the course of talking to Jones sales team, we came to believe we could afford to turn in our old lease and lease a new vehicle. At least twice in the negotiations I asked what our obligations were beyond assuming the new payments. Every time I asked to be sure that there were no additional or hidden costs, the answer was Nope. Youre good. Were going to take care of mileage, the car is in good shape. There are no other costs."This, it turns out, was not true. We were misled. Repeatedly. With little regard to our ********* well-being, the sales misrepresented the deal we were making and they misled my wife and I into a very precarious ********* situation. About a month subsequent to the new lease, we received a bill from ***** for Mileage/excess wear and damage. I was so sure that the bill was in error that I ignored the bill figuring paperwork on the dealership's end needed time to catch up and honestly reflect the deal we had. Or believed we had.They dealership is not honoring the verbal agreement we had; they are not dealing fairly or with any integrity. My wife and I signed an End of Lease Liability form. This is not in dispute. It also happens to be the only answer the dealership has to my complaint. Ah-ha, but you signed the form they seem to say. I know that by the letter of the law we are on the hook for these charges, painfully aware. However, the salesmen did not fairly, accurately or truthfully represent IN SPOKEN ENGLISH WORDS the real agreement we were making. In fact, they said quite the opposite. Now my wife and I are faced with an almost ruinous charge, one that we would not have incurred if we had been given even a shred of honesty.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the dealership to cover the suspicious "excess wear and damage" charges as they said they would before we signed the new lease

Business Response:

23 February 2014

The information contained below is in regards to the complaint issued against Jones ***** from **. ***** ****** ID *******. My name is ***** ****. Jones ***** Sales Manager. With a world that is becoming increasingly complicated, I appreciate the opportunity to provide a little clarity to an unfortunate situation.

Our sales person informed me of the concerns his client had with the possible purchase of a new ***** *** lease and the buyout procedures if he choose to buyout his current lease. Chief among those concerns were monthly payment increase, mileage overage on current lease and '‘excess wear and tear” on current lease. Our client was well informed of his options at each and every step of the process. Considering the client purchased a new 2014 ***** *** instead of buying out his 2010 ***** *** lease in which his payment increased only $10, the dealership waived his mileage overage and Jones paying all up front cost associated with leasing a new vehicle (first month payment, tax and tag fees which are required totaling $404.11) at time of delivery shows that we as a dealership addressed each and everyone of his concerns before he agreed to purchase. We did in fact have our client sign an " End of Lease Liability,” form that states that his vehicle was being turned in as opposed to being traded in. Which he did sign and is included with this letter.

***, which is a third party inspection company, performs all ends of lease vehicle inspections for *****. The owner of the vehicle begins to receive literature in the mail and is contacted 90 days prior to end of lease in order to schedule their inspection. *** is very accommodating to work with and will schedule at the customers home or place of work. *** determines what is excessive wear and tear, not Jones dealerships. I have included the color copy of the *** report, which states it was performed after the vehicle was turned in. This report shows excess wear and tear to be in excess of $1,200.
The client did receive a bill for a total of $922.85. This bill was incorrect since it did include the excess mileage charge of $220.92, for which the dealership was covering. When informed of this, I immediately contacted ***** to have the bill corrected for which it was lowering the customer’s responsibility to $701.90. The client, not being satisfied with our efforts voiced his displeasure. I persuaded ***** to lower his bill by $79.05, bringing his Final Balance to $622.85. This represents almost half of his original excess wear and tear charge. The customer was informed of *****’s interest free payment plan option.

With 54 years serving the ********* County Community, Jones Dealerships takes its reputation very seriously. As with all of our guests, it is with great pride that this kind of service has become the rule at Jones ***** and not the exception.
Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Despite what **. *** claims, he adds very little clarity to the situation.  In fact, he all but refuses to respond to the substance of my complaint.
**. *** states that we purchased a new lease, that we were billed 922.85 for excess milage and excess wear/damage, that we signed a end of lease liability agreement and Jones assumed "up front" costs of the new lease.  These statements are all true.  THEY WERE NEVER IN DISPUTE.  WE MADE NO CLAIM OTHERWISE ABOUT THESE FACTS
However, the fact that we purchased a new lease instead of buying out our former lease does NOT "show" that the dealership addressed any concerns whatsoever, except mendaciously.  THE VERY NATURE OF MY COMPLAINT (and what ** *** refuses to acknowledge) is that the lease we assumed was very different from the one the dealership convinced us we were assuming.  $922 different.  We received NO literature in advance of our lease ending.  We were not given ANY information about turn-in vs. trade-in.  We never heard of ***, inspections or our rights therein until reading **. ***'s attached response.  KNEW NOTHING about them!  We were never present for the car inspection.  We were never told of payment options or even that further payment WAS an option.   My wife and I were told on three occasions within the negotiations that "the car was in good shape" and that we "Had only to assume the new lease payments."  I was quite insistent to know verbally, in good faith, is this the deal we're making?  Yes, absolutely.  This is the deal: no mileage, no hidden costs, lease payments only.  Quite obviously, that was not true.
**. *** did NOT lower our bill for the excess milage UNTIL I came in to express my incredulousness at the discrepancy.  Weeks after the fact.  There was nothing immediate about it, I had to hold them to even this unambiguous aspect of our bargain.  I do not dispute that we are responsible for wear and damage.  We signed the agreement.  Shame on me for not being more diligent in understanding the WRITEN terms, that is to say, the binding ones.  My complaint, my anger, frankly, stems from the fact that the dealership did not verbally represent fairly or accurately the deal we signed.  They dishonestly, inaccurately and quite deceptively TOLD us we were making a different deal.  When I challenged **. *** on this point, he only shrugged his shoulders and told me I signed the end-of-lease liability.  Indeed, it's all he's saying here.  He adds no clarity.  He doesn't even acknowledge that he understands what's at issue.  Look,  we trusted them and proceeded under the aegis of that trust.  Had they been open and forthcoming about the inspection, possible outcomes, and potential costs, my wife and I could have made a clearer-eyed decision.   I want to be very clear and emphatic about taking responsibility for my own role in this situation.  It is far from trivial. I should have done more and better.  I'm angry with myself.  But I want also for **. *** to acknowledge the dealership's role as well.  Actually I have no hope that they will be honest about it, because the very crux of my complaint is honesty.  But, ****, I'd settle for him just acknowledging the real nature of the complaint.  And maybe stop doing it.
I hasten to add that in dealing with ***** ********* (Not **. ***) our end of lease liability was reduced to $375 which has already been paid.  **. *** had no role in this.    $375 is a lot easier to swallow than $900, but really what's at issue for me is the fact that they were deceptive in their negotiations and predatory in their dealings.  Had my wife and I merely known that there was the potential of an outstanding charge (of $10 or $100 or $1000) we likely would have done something different, or done the very SAME THING  with full knowledge and understanding.  And a much better feeling about our negotiants.
In my several visits to the showroom trying to arrive at an amicable resolution to this problem I had occasion to overhear sales staff deal with complaining clients, both on the phone and in person.  I was alarmed at the number but also oddly comforted that i wasn't alone with my shabby treatment.  Many others were not happy with the treatment they received.  In every case the staff said the same thing: "We've been doing this for 54 years.  We must be doing it right!"  How cynical a way to respond to a customers complaint.  "the simple fact of our existence is proof that your complaint is baseless."
I have to say too that I wrote the management and ownership a letter regarding this incident.  In 54 years, you'd think one would learn how to respond, just respond to (not to say placate) a seriously dissatisfied customer, but evidence suggests that Jones ***** is only good using the mail to send fliers, promotions and sale brochures.  I'm happy to let them waste their ad budget on me.  They won't be seeing me again.  Perhaps the coup de grace:  we just got a letter informing us we were denied credit from Jones.  ???  Never applied for it, never asked for it.  Didn't need it.  But what a great feeling knowing that they used the transaction to look at our credit scores indiscriminately.  Really crumby.
Last bit, I promise:  We love the car.  And ***** *********, our real debtee has been thoroughly reasonable to work with.  We'll be looking for a new dealership and warning everyone we talk to about the old one.


Regards,

*********** ******









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Dealerships
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)