BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herson's Honda Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Herson's Honda Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Herson's Honda Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1991 Business started: 01/19/1921 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)-MD
6601 Ritchie Highway NE, Glen Burnie MD 21062
Phone Number: 410-768-7000

Business Management
Mr. William K. Andrakakos, VP Mr. James Bowker, Office Manager Mr. Gregg Patterson, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William K. Andrakakos, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Herson's Kia Herson's Superstore

Additional Locations

  • 15525 Frederick Rd

    Rockville, MD 20855


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my car from Herson's Honda last year. While negotiating the price, the sales manager, ***, said he could not go lower on the price, but he would instead offer me free oil changes at the dealership for the life of the vehicle. *** was asked "so every time I bring my car in for an oil change, the bill will say $0?" *** said this was correct. When I asked for this agreement in writing, *** said that they were phasing out this package at the dealership, so he could not do that, but he would put it in the system. The first oil change for my car was free, as is standard operations at the dealership. However, when bringing my vehicle in for the second oil change I was informed that the oil change was only free if I had other manufacturer and dealership suggested maintenance done on my car at the dealership. Since *** no longer works at Hersons, ****, the salesman, who was present for the negotiations he said that these were the terms of the arrangement, that other services would have to be performed on my car to get free oil changes. This is not what was agreed to.

Desired Settlement: The dealership gave me my second oil change for free after I complained, but they said they would not be free going forward. I would like free oil changes at the dealership for the life of my vehicle going forward. I would like this agreement in writing.

Business Response: April 10, 2014

Dear **, ******:

Herson's Honda has never offered free oil changes for the life of the vehicle, and never will. Anything we negotiate with a customer is always put in writing. Out of courtesy to *** ***** we offered one additional oil change and stated they would not be free going forward. Our position has not and will not change.

Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Honda did nothing to address the fact that I was told one thing, asked for it in writing, was told that it was "fine and already in the system", and then completely denied it ever happening.  They performed bait-and-switch business fraud by telling me one thing and going back on their word.  This promise they made me was used in the negotiations in the price of the car which is why I agreed to a higher price.


**** *****

Business Response:

May 8,2014

Dear *** ******:

As stated previously, Herson's Honda has already provided an additional oil change as a customer accommodation to *** *****. That is all that Herson's is willing to provide. In the future, if *** ***** performs and pays the manufacturer required "B" maintenances at Herson's Honda, then Herson's will pay for the next "A” maintenance (oil change) that is required. This benefit is offered to all of our customers.

Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I will continue to reject these responses until this case is closed by the BBB because even after I tried to compromise for MUCH less than I was promised originally, Hersons Honda is unwilling to compromise on their end at all.  


**** *****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For two months, I was assured by Honda Herson's sales personnel that I would be able to transfer my vehicle tags from my traded in vehicle. Despite those assurances, when I went to pick up the tags, they were not the transferred tags. After a week's worth of calls during which I was given misleading and conflicting information every day by sales personnel, I was then told, three days before my tags expired, that my tags were unable to be transferred. Despite the fact that I had been told every day when I had called that they were apologetic about the situation and that as a result, they would deliver my tags to my home immediately, the sales manager then informed me that he would not be able to deliver my tags and that I would need to make a second trip out to the dealership to pick them up. The whole encounter was as disappointing, inappropriate and full of false statements as any interaction with any purchase I have ever undertaken.

Desired Settlement: Termination or discipline of personnel involved in providing customers with false information.

Business Response: April 10, 2014

Dear **. ******:

**. ******** purchased a Honda ***** from Herson's in January 2014. She attempted to transfer tags from her previous vehicle, Her salesmen stated that we can transfer tags but was unaware that **, ******** was not a member of the alumni group that was on the tags. Her husband was the member He was on the previous title, but was not on the title to the new vehicle. MD MVA refused to transfer the tags. We issued and delivered new tags to ***. ********, The entire Herson's organization was not aware of this requirement with the DMV, but we are all quite aware of this requirement for the future.

There will be no termination or discipline of any personnel regarding this matter.
Very truly

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: While in the process of purchasing a vehicle at Herson's Honda, the manager, ***** ****** was extremely rude to me. I explained to him that I was a return customer and was offended by the way he and his staff member (I am addressing his staff member's behavior in a separate case) were treating me. He told me that "he didn't care." Instead of showing concern or providing customer service, he told me to leave the dealership. When I expressed to him that I was a return customer who had purchased a vehicle before and that he may very well lose my business, he replied "oh well." I've never seen a sales manager act in such a condescending and disrespectful matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see some measure of disciplinary action taken against the manager for treating a Herson's Honda customer so poorly. At the very least, I expect a written apology from ***** ******.

Business Response: January 2, 2014

Dear **. ******:

On behalf of Herson's Honda, I apologize for the bad experience ** ****** had at the dealership on December 27, 2013, Effective tomorrow, **. ****** will no longer be a manager in the New Car department of Herson's Honda.
Very truly yours,

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 30, 2013 I dropped off my 05 Honda Civic LX to Herson Honda to repair the front passenger power window, which doesn't go down. The time was about 8:30am. The service person told me that it will be at least $140 for them to START the diagnostics, whereas when I made the appointment I was clearly told that the diagnostics is $70 and up. The service person explained to me that for my car's problem it will at least cost $140 for them to even get started. With my good will I agreed and clearly told him that this problem has been looked at by a few car shops, I now know that it's not the master switch or passenger switch or the motor/regulator, IT IS a wiring issue, I know it . At 10:40am the service person called me and said that he has used up the $140 I agreed to pay, and he needs me to pay another $140 so that they can continue the diagnostics. I asked how far along they were with the diagnostics and whether he can give me at least an estimate of the additional time they will need to FINISH the diagnostics, he couldn't answer my questions. He just NEED another $140 to continue. I then said this is unreasonable because the charge can be endless, it's a sword hanging above my neck, I become his banking account, if the technician is lousy or doesn't put forth a good effort, or both, I am paying for no reason and I may not get a right diagnostics even after paying big bucks. The service person explained "sir you already agreed, unfortunately this is the way it is". I then decided to terminate the diagnostics -- anyone with common sense would know that this is something that has to be terminated, they don't even know how much longer it will take! Not even an estimate. When I picked up my car, I paid $140 and got a receipt, which provides very minimal amount of information, from which one can easily tell, NOT TOO MUCH was done in the 2 hours allowed and charged. It only says that the technician figured that there is an open in the circuit. But I already knew this before the car was dropped off, meaning Herson Honda is not providing me with any useful information in 2 fully charged hours. I then told the service representative that I will pay, but can he comment, it takes myself only 10 minutes to remove the door panel, how long does it take the technician to do it? and in 2 hours NOT TOO MUCH is done, the very limited amount of info that they can provide would make anyone with common sense doubt how much effort has been put forth in resolving the issue. If they charge a customer endlessly like this, without a flat rate, evidence for DUE DILIGENCE has to be shown BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT. However, in my case, there's no such evidence, in fact, evidence for the opposite is shown. The service person couldn't answer my questions. He just said "well". That's it. I had to pay $140 for their terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I'll need a full refund, or at least something close to that.

Business Response:

_********************May 30 (4 days ago)to meRE:CASE #******* 2005 Honda Civic ***************** *** *** complained that his passenger front window will not work and that he already had the master switch and the passenger switch replaced at another location that did not fix the concern. Herson's Honda had a American Honda Master Certified Technician with over 13 years of Honda experience inspect the vehicle. During the inspection we verified that the switches that were replaced at another location were installed correctly and found that there is a "open" or short in the power window electrical circuit. **We had to remove the passenger door panel and kick panel to perform the "power to ground test"   We traced power going to the window motor and to connector #**** with restrictions of power to to the   motor and  connecter The result of the inspection is that there is a open circuit in the passenger window motor operation and will need further diagnostics to determine the exact failure. Herson's Honda has reviewed the claim and believe the charges are justified for the time spent and a proper estimate was provided to continue the inspection. We had a Honda Master Technician inspecting the vehicle with all the training that would justify the information provided above. ** *** decided at that time not to continue with the additional diagnostics with us. We will be more than happy to continue the diagnostics with ******'s authorization of the original estimate  ***** *********Herson's Honda Service************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Honda dealer responded to my complaint, however, it doesn't address the point I made.  The response was very wordy, trying to generate an illusion that a lot of work was done in the given amount of time.  I have to emphasize again here that I paid $140, and they didn't make a reasonable amount of progress in the two hours.  No matter how verbose the response is, it is clear that the tech didn't do anything significant in that time window.  "There is an open in the circuit"--this is the only thing they found, another repair shop down the street told me that in less than an hour.  So it is either the tech was incompetent, or he didn't put forth a good effort. In conclusion, the response lacks evidences for DUE DILIGENCE BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT for a solid, reasonable foundation for the charge.  I insist that they refund me the amount I paid, $140.


****** ***

5/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told the price by the car salesman that I would be financing. By time I got to the financial office to sign my contract for my new car, someone had added $4000.00 of things that were not told to me and that I didn't ask for.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


**** *******