BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Herson's Honda Inc.

Phone: (301) 279-8600 View Additional Phone Numbers 15525 Frederick Rd, Rockville, MD 20855 http://www.hersonhonda.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herson's Honda Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Herson's Honda Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 19, 1991 Business started: 01/19/1921
Business Management
Mr. William K. Andrakakos, GM Mr. James Bowker, Office Manager Mr. Gregg Patterson, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William K. Andrakakos, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Herson's Kia Herson's Superstore

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 279-8880(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 30, 2013 I dropped off my 05 Honda Civic LX to Herson Honda to repair the front passenger power window, which doesn't go down. The time was about 8:30am. The service person told me that it will be at least $140 for them to START the diagnostics, whereas when I made the appointment I was clearly told that the diagnostics is $70 and up. The service person explained to me that for my car's problem it will at least cost $140 for them to even get started. With my good will I agreed and clearly told him that this problem has been looked at by a few car shops, I now know that it's not the master switch or passenger switch or the motor/regulator, IT IS a wiring issue, I know it . At 10:40am the service person called me and said that he has used up the $140 I agreed to pay, and he needs me to pay another $140 so that they can continue the diagnostics. I asked how far along they were with the diagnostics and whether he can give me at least an estimate of the additional time they will need to FINISH the diagnostics, he couldn't answer my questions. He just NEED another $140 to continue. I then said this is unreasonable because the charge can be endless, it's a sword hanging above my neck, I become his banking account, if the technician is lousy or doesn't put forth a good effort, or both, I am paying for no reason and I may not get a right diagnostics even after paying big bucks. The service person explained "sir you already agreed, unfortunately this is the way it is". I then decided to terminate the diagnostics -- anyone with common sense would know that this is something that has to be terminated, they don't even know how much longer it will take! Not even an estimate. When I picked up my car, I paid $140 and got a receipt, which provides very minimal amount of information, from which one can easily tell, NOT TOO MUCH was done in the 2 hours allowed and charged. It only says that the technician figured that there is an open in the circuit. But I already knew this before the car was dropped off, meaning Herson Honda is not providing me with any useful information in 2 fully charged hours. I then told the service representative that I will pay, but can he comment, it takes myself only 10 minutes to remove the door panel, how long does it take the technician to do it? and in 2 hours NOT TOO MUCH is done, the very limited amount of info that they can provide would make anyone with common sense doubt how much effort has been put forth in resolving the issue. If they charge a customer endlessly like this, without a flat rate, evidence for DUE DILIGENCE has to be shown BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT. However, in my case, there's no such evidence, in fact, evidence for the opposite is shown. The service person couldn't answer my questions. He just said "well". That's it. I had to pay $140 for their terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I'll need a full refund, or at least something close to that.

Business Response:

_********************May 30 (4 days ago)to meRE:CASE #******* 2005 Honda Civic ***************** *** *** complained that his passenger front window will not work and that he already had the master switch and the passenger switch replaced at another location that did not fix the concern. Herson's Honda had a American Honda Master Certified Technician with over 13 years of Honda experience inspect the vehicle. During the inspection we verified that the switches that were replaced at another location were installed correctly and found that there is a "open" or short in the power window electrical circuit. **We had to remove the passenger door panel and kick panel to perform the "power to ground test"   We traced power going to the window motor and to connector #**** with restrictions of power to to the   motor and  connecter The result of the inspection is that there is a open circuit in the passenger window motor operation and will need further diagnostics to determine the exact failure. Herson's Honda has reviewed the claim and believe the charges are justified for the time spent and a proper estimate was provided to continue the inspection. We had a Honda Master Technician inspecting the vehicle with all the training that would justify the information provided above. ** *** decided at that time not to continue with the additional diagnostics with us. We will be more than happy to continue the diagnostics with ******'s authorization of the original estimate  ***** *********Herson's Honda Service************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Honda dealer responded to my complaint, however, it doesn't address the point I made.  The response was very wordy, trying to generate an illusion that a lot of work was done in the given amount of time.  I have to emphasize again here that I paid $140, and they didn't make a reasonable amount of progress in the two hours.  No matter how verbose the response is, it is clear that the tech didn't do anything significant in that time window.  "There is an open in the circuit"--this is the only thing they found, another repair shop down the street told me that in less than an hour.  So it is either the tech was incompetent, or he didn't put forth a good effort. In conclusion, the response lacks evidences for DUE DILIGENCE BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT for a solid, reasonable foundation for the charge.  I insist that they refund me the amount I paid, $140.

Regards,

****** ***








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told the price by the car salesman that I would be financing. By time I got to the financial office to sign my contract for my new car, someone had added $4000.00 of things that were not told to me and that I didn't ask for.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/29/2012 Delivery Issues
11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1