BBB Accredited Business since

Herson's Honda Inc.

Phone: (301) 279-8600 View Additional Phone Numbers 15525 Frederick Rd, Rockville, MD 20855

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herson's Honda Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Herson's Honda Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1991 Business started: 01/19/1921 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)-MD
6601 Ritchie Highway NE, Glen Burnie MD 21062
Phone Number: 410-768-7000

Business Management
Mr. William K. Andrakakos, VP Mr. James Bowker, Office Manager Mr. Gregg Patterson, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William K. Andrakakos, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Herson's Kia Herson's Superstore

Additional Locations

  • 15525 Frederick Rd

    Rockville, MD 20855


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2016 Delivery Issues
12/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a honda *** from hersons honda on June 24th 2015. Ihad my tags transferred from my old car. The dealer said that they would refund me $101 dollars as the old tag had more than 1 year validity. And next day the persond coducting the finacial transactions (Rick) said he would send me the cheque. I tried contacting them, he is not respondonding my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Would like to get the desiered refund ($101.00) back from the dealer.

Business Response: *** *** has been issued a Md Tag refund of $125.00. The check number is ******, dated 07/09/15.

We apolgize for the delay. 

John S********

Fixed Operations Director
Herson's Auto Group.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ***

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem is failure to honor contract and customer service. -contract issue-On July 12th, 2014 I went to Herson’s Honda and applied for a car loan and was approved for a *** *** hatchback told them the car was too small for myself and my boyfriend. So they looked on their lot to see what they could do for me. They come back and said they found a 2011 ***** ***** that wasn’t certified but they would have it certified on Monday July 14th and I could pick up the car at that time. I had to bring my 2004 *** ******* back and they would give me $1k for my car and I had to put a $1k down payment. I went back to the dealership after I sat there for hours on that Monday and they had me sign another sales contract because they said the date had changed for the delivery. At that time I gave them my car with the title and they took my tags and turned them back in for me, which I received notification from the MVA. I was able to take the car home on July 14th. On July 25th I had to make the remaining balance of my down payment that I had promised. The day I made the payment, I spoke with Chris H*** (in finance) he never informed me the loan was pending or denied. On 8/8/14, I noticed the Honda financial did not send me my 1st statement. I called Honda financial and they advised none of my or the co-signer information was in the system. I then called Herson’s and left a message for Chris H*** to call me back. He called back the Saturday and told me they were having issues with verifying my references. I asked Chris what the issue was and he couldn’t provide that information to me and said he would have to speak to the manager (a gentleman by the name of Kevin). Chris stated he would call me back by Sunday to let me know what the issue was. After the conversation I had with Chris on 8/15, I called Herson’s every day for a status and NO ONE called me back. After 2 weeks of the co-signer, my mother, my stepfather and myself calling, we finally got through to Chris H*** and Kevin (manager) on 9/3. Chris and Kevin advised the loan did not go through because they could not validate my employment (where I am currently still employed). I don’t understand why this took almost 2 months to validate or communicate to the co-signer and me. I believed the car was mine, I even tinted the windows 2 weeks after obtaining the car because no issues were ever brought to my attention (as well as the co-signer). When speaking with Kevin and complaining about the issue, he became very RUDE and arrogant; he even threatened to report the car stolen. I couldn’t believe after 2 months of NO communication, he would behave so abrupt. I believe I was taking advantage of in a situation where a car was needed so desperately. I believe that this is fraud and something needs to be done.

Desired Settlement: My main objective is to keep the car however if I am unable to. I want the refund for the window tinting, down payment, reimbursed for my trade in tags and inspection, pay for the days work that I miss due to taking the car back as well as an apology because I was taken advandtage of.

Business Response: From: Herson's Auto <>
Date: Fri, Feb 27, 2015 at 3:19 PM
Subject: Re: Outstanding complaints
To: ****** ***** *****************>

Hello ******,
This email is in regards to Complaint ID# ********.

Herson's refunded Ms. *****'s down payment on 9/5 and 9/6 in the same forms that they were deposited.
$300 Check to ******* *****
$500 CC Refund to ******* *****
$200 CC Refund to ******* ********
to total $1,000.

I am still working with the manager to see what we can do for Ms. ***** regarding the compensation for the window tinting.
The deal ultimately did not go through because her employment could not be verified therefore Herson's will not be compensating her for missed work.

Refund Receipts Attached 

Thank you!

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I don't understand how they can say that they couldn't verify my employment because they picked up the car at my job and left me with no transportation or notice. Maybe they should of tried to contact someone in order to verify any information. All darkness comes to light!


******* *****

Business Response: From: Herson's Auto <>
Date: Tue, Mar 10, 2015 at 11:36 AM
Subject: Re: ******* ***** Rebuttal (1020635)
To: ***** ****** <*****************>

Thank you ******!
On behalf of Herson's, we understand Ms. *****'s dissatisfaction with the situation but Herson's does not verify employment during the purchase of a vehicle. Ms. ***** was attempting to get approved for a loan through Honda Financial Services and ultimately was not approved. HFS would have been the source attempting to verify Ms. *****'s employment, not Herson's. The reason the loan was not approved could have been for any number of reasons. Any information regarding why the employment was not verified or the loan not approved would need to come directly from Honda Financial Services. They can be contacted at ###-###-#### for more information regarding Ms. *****'s application.

Thank you!

Laura N*****
Marketing Manager
Herson's Auto Group

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my car from Herson's Honda last year. While negotiating the price, the sales manager, ***, said he could not go lower on the price, but he would instead offer me free oil changes at the dealership for the life of the vehicle. *** was asked "so every time I bring my car in for an oil change, the bill will say $0?" *** said this was correct. When I asked for this agreement in writing, *** said that they were phasing out this package at the dealership, so he could not do that, but he would put it in the system. The first oil change for my car was free, as is standard operations at the dealership. However, when bringing my vehicle in for the second oil change I was informed that the oil change was only free if I had other manufacturer and dealership suggested maintenance done on my car at the dealership. Since *** no longer works at Hersons, ****, the salesman, who was present for the negotiations he said that these were the terms of the arrangement, that other services would have to be performed on my car to get free oil changes. This is not what was agreed to.

Desired Settlement: The dealership gave me my second oil change for free after I complained, but they said they would not be free going forward. I would like free oil changes at the dealership for the life of my vehicle going forward. I would like this agreement in writing.

Business Response: April 10, 2014

Dear **, ******:

Herson's Honda has never offered free oil changes for the life of the vehicle, and never will. Anything we negotiate with a customer is always put in writing. Out of courtesy to *** ***** we offered one additional oil change and stated they would not be free going forward. Our position has not and will not change.

Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Honda did nothing to address the fact that I was told one thing, asked for it in writing, was told that it was "fine and already in the system", and then completely denied it ever happening.  They performed bait-and-switch business fraud by telling me one thing and going back on their word.  This promise they made me was used in the negotiations in the price of the car which is why I agreed to a higher price.


**** *****

Business Response:

May 8,2014

Dear *** ******:

As stated previously, Herson's Honda has already provided an additional oil change as a customer accommodation to *** *****. That is all that Herson's is willing to provide. In the future, if *** ***** performs and pays the manufacturer required "B" maintenances at Herson's Honda, then Herson's will pay for the next "A” maintenance (oil change) that is required. This benefit is offered to all of our customers.

Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I will continue to reject these responses until this case is closed by the BBB because even after I tried to compromise for MUCH less than I was promised originally, Hersons Honda is unwilling to compromise on their end at all.  


**** *****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For two months, I was assured by Honda Herson's sales personnel that I would be able to transfer my vehicle tags from my traded in vehicle. Despite those assurances, when I went to pick up the tags, they were not the transferred tags. After a week's worth of calls during which I was given misleading and conflicting information every day by sales personnel, I was then told, three days before my tags expired, that my tags were unable to be transferred. Despite the fact that I had been told every day when I had called that they were apologetic about the situation and that as a result, they would deliver my tags to my home immediately, the sales manager then informed me that he would not be able to deliver my tags and that I would need to make a second trip out to the dealership to pick them up. The whole encounter was as disappointing, inappropriate and full of false statements as any interaction with any purchase I have ever undertaken.

Desired Settlement: Termination or discipline of personnel involved in providing customers with false information.

Business Response: April 10, 2014

Dear **. ******:

**. ******** purchased a Honda ***** from Herson's in January 2014. She attempted to transfer tags from her previous vehicle, Her salesmen stated that we can transfer tags but was unaware that **, ******** was not a member of the alumni group that was on the tags. Her husband was the member He was on the previous title, but was not on the title to the new vehicle. MD MVA refused to transfer the tags. We issued and delivered new tags to ***. ********, The entire Herson's organization was not aware of this requirement with the DMV, but we are all quite aware of this requirement for the future.

There will be no termination or discipline of any personnel regarding this matter.
Very truly

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: While in the process of purchasing a vehicle at Herson's Honda, the manager, ***** ****** was extremely rude to me. I explained to him that I was a return customer and was offended by the way he and his staff member (I am addressing his staff member's behavior in a separate case) were treating me. He told me that "he didn't care." Instead of showing concern or providing customer service, he told me to leave the dealership. When I expressed to him that I was a return customer who had purchased a vehicle before and that he may very well lose my business, he replied "oh well." I've never seen a sales manager act in such a condescending and disrespectful matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see some measure of disciplinary action taken against the manager for treating a Herson's Honda customer so poorly. At the very least, I expect a written apology from ***** ******.

Business Response: January 2, 2014

Dear **. ******:

On behalf of Herson's Honda, I apologize for the bad experience ** ****** had at the dealership on December 27, 2013, Effective tomorrow, **. ****** will no longer be a manager in the New Car department of Herson's Honda.
Very truly yours,

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Herson's Honda Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart