BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Fairfax Hyundai Inc include:

  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Fairfax Hyundai Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Hyundai Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1986 Business started: 01/19/1986 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is Active.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sam Mansouri, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Mansouri, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Fairfax Kia Fairfax Super Auto

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10595 Warwick Avenue

    Fairfax, VA 22030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10925 Fairfax Boulevard

    Fairfax, VA 22030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 5/29/15 I purchased a used 2012 Hyundai ****** from Fairfax Hyundai, and on 6/24/15, the engine seized as my son was drive down the highway. On 6/26/15, I went to visit the used car sales manager and he requested for me to tow the car to Fairfax Hyundai Service Department. I towed the car to the service department on that very afternoon. I received my initial phone call from the service department on 7-01-15 at 3:01 P.M. The mechanic that called explained to me that the engine in my car had indeed seized and that the oil looked like tar and was low. Further, he explained that he and one other mechanic used a large wrench to turn the crankshaft and managed to free up my engine, and that they had changed the oil and filter and had tested driven the car and that the engine is now working fine. Further, he explained that if I wished, he would have one of the other mechanics to test drive my car over the weekend to make sure that my engine was fine. I told yes, I would like for him to proceed with have one of his mechanic to drive my car as he had suggested. He said that he would do that and call me the following week and let me know how my car performed. After nearly a week with no word from the service department, I wrote a short letter to Fairfax Hyundai and faxed it to the service department. My letter explained that another week had passed with no word from their service department. Further, I explained that the seized engine in my car is clearly damaged, and the question is to what extent? Further, my letter asked: What is the extent of damage to my engine based upon the tests that you all have performed on my engine? What are the results of the cylinder compression test, the oil pressure test, and results of your internal examination of the bearings? Can you tell me what brand of oil you all had put in the engine and was it conventional or synthetic blend? Why did the oil turn tar like as indicated by your mechanic? Why did my engine consume practically all of the oil? What is there to prevent the engine from seizing again after X number of days of driving? Further, my letter explained that I would be visiting their service department later that afternoon with additional questions and that I'm hoping that they will have some answers to the above questions as well others. When my son and I arrived at the service department on that afternoon of 7/08/15, we went to the service desk and the young lady looked into the computer and printed the paperwork on my car. She explained to us that the two mechanics which serviced my car had left for the day. She went on to explain their findings. I kindly asked to speak to the service manager. She then left the desk for 5 minutes and when she returned, she pointed out the service manager to us and stated that he would meet with us momentarily. The manager was standing a short distance away conversing with what appeared to be other customers. The young lady presented us with the paperwork and instructed us to take it to the cashier and that she would have someone to bring my car around. Prior to going to the cashier, we paused to read the paperwork. I was shocked to see that the mechanics stated on the paperwork that they had used a large wrench to turn the crankshaft and free up my engine, that they had changed the oil and filter and had test driven my car for only two miles - and proclaimed my engine to be in perfect working order. We presented the paperwork to the cashier and she asked me to sign and she would have someone to bring my car around. I explained to her that the young lady at the service desk had already informed the service manager of our presence and that he has agreed to meet with us momentarily. She asked If I would sign the paperwork before meeting with the manager? I replied that I would not. We stepped aside to allow others customers to be served. We waited 20 minutes and soon thereafter, the cashier appeared and asked if the manager had come met with us yet? We said that he had not. She said that she would go and check on his whereabouts. She returned after 10 minutes and asked: What specifically is it that you want to speak with the service manager about? I replied that I want to speak with him about the results of tests that his mechanics have hopefully performed on my car along with additionally questions about their work. She thank me and departed once again. We waited well over 10 additional moments with no return of the cashier. Finally we quietly left about 8:00 P.M. Nearly an additional weeks passed with no contact whatsoever from Fairfax Hyundai, I wrote another letter, this time to the used car sales manger. I explained to hm how poorly his service manager treated us when we had visited his service department on 7-08-15 to inquire about my car. I explained to him how the manager refused to present himself to us on that afternoon. I personally hand delivered the letter to the sales manager's office about 5:00 A.m. and secured the letter to the entry door of the used car sales facility. The sales manager eventually telephoned me that morning about 11:00 A.M. He stated that he would look into the matter and meet with the service manager to learn what happen in his service department on the afternoon that my son and I had visited there, and that he would then phone me very soon thereafter. Nearly 2 weeks passed with no word whatsoever from the sales manager. So I traveled to his office where I found him sitting at his desk. I asked him why he had not phoned me as he promised he would. He replied that he had dropped the ball and that he was sorry about that. He went on to state that he had spoken with the service manager and that yes, his mechanics had indeed taken a large wrench and freed up the engine in my car, they changed the oil and filter and that the mechanics had test driven my car and that my car is very good working and is ready for pickup. To make a long story short, I request in writing to Fairfax Hyundai that they allow me to test drive my car for a maximum of 100 miles round trip on the freeway, and that one of their mechanics is very welcome to come along with me on that test drive. Further, I requested that upon my return from the test drive that they perform in my presence several basic diagnostic test on my engine: OIL PRESSURE TEST, VACUUM GAUGE TEST, and CYLINDER COMPRESSION TEST. Further I requested that , if all of the tests prove to be within limits, that they allow me to take the car back to DC inspection station to have the exhaust emissions retested once again, and that if that prove to be within limits, then I would kindly accept the engine as being sound and worthy of having. If they were so sure that my engine was very sound, then I saw no reasons for them to not agree to my small requests. They simply ignored my requests altogether by not responding. After contacting Fairfax Hyundai in writing and accomplishing nothing worthwhile results, finally on 7/29/15 traveled to Fairfax Hyundai and I picked up my car. My son drove the car while I drove the truck that we had driven to the dealership. My son and I had driven about 25 miles from the dealership and we were traveling on N. !-495 when my son suddenly heard a loud bang from under the hood of the ******, after which, the car began shaking and the engine shutdown. He managed to safely stop the car in his lane. He and I push eventually pushed the car off of the highway onto the shoulder. The engine had thrown a piston connecting rod. I immediately phoned a tow truck and had the car towed back to the dealership. Imagine that, my son could have gotten injured or worse killed, if other motorists had accidentally rear ended my car after my son had managed to stop the car in its lane on I-495. He is a new driver and is only nineteen with very little driving experience. he was quite startled by the ordeal as you can imagine. The dealer determined that the engine had thrown a rod and is wrecked beyond useful service. Only now, are they offering to replace the engine with a re manufactured engine for a cost of $7,000.00 - 50% of which they agree to pay - making my cost $3,500. Since we have told you only half of the story, there are many details that you have yet to hear. Fairfax Hyundai service department has no integrity whatsoever and they have proven to us that they cannot be trusted at all. Therefore we cannot and are will not trust Fairfax Hyundai to put a new engine in my car because, we have no way of knowing that they will. if Fairfax Hyundai would have come to me when they first learned that my engine had seized initially, and if they would have said: *****, yes the engine in your car is seized. We will charge you $7.000.00 to replace your engine with a re manufactured engine - 50% of which Fairfax Hyundai will pay, and you will be expected to pay us $3,500.00, and this is how long the work will take. Would you like for Fairfax Hyundai to proceed with the repair? Then perhaps we would have allowed them to proceed with the work, and they would have been acting properly, and this whole matter could have been long since closed. But, instead, they tried as best the know how, to conceal the true damages, and they insisted that we take back the car with a damaged engine, which I eventually did, and the engine failed within hours of being picked up. I have much experience working with cars and engines, and I can assure you that: Any real auto mechanic will state on the record that one cannot free up a seized engine by simply turning the crankshaft with a large wrench, change the oil & filter and expect to obtain useful service from the engine for periods longer than momentarily.

Desired Settlement: They can cut me a check for their 50% ($3,500) share of the repair cost, and return the car back to me as is, and I will have to engine replace by a company that we can trust to do the work. Or, as I have suggested, I will pay our 50% ($3,500) share of the repair cost, and they agree to take back my car, and allow me to select another pre-own 2012 ****** from their inventory of the same value as my initial pre-own 2012 ******. Or, they can simply take back my car and cut me a check for $8,000.00.

Business Response:

08/27/2015

To: BBB, Metro Washington DC

From: Fairfax Hyundai (Matthew W*******)

RE: *** ***** ** ******* / 2012 Hyundai ******

We strive to keep every customer happy and do everything possible to ensure a great buying experience. We also evaluate and check each of our vehicles that we offer for sale, however, there are times vehicles develop problems. When this occurs we will stand behind our vehicle's to the extent of our original agreement.

The 2012 that *** ******* purchased unfortunately suffered an engine failure.  The vehicle was purchased  with a 50/50 powertrain warranty. *** ******* was offered an extended warranty for an additional cost, to cover any problems that could potentially arise, he declined. The failure of the engine did occur within the powertrain warranty term. Therefore we are willing to cover Fifty percent of the cost of engine replacement, as per our agreement at time of purchase. *** ******* is aware of this, In the meantime we did have a similar vehicle and offered this via email to *** ******* on 08/25/2015 and he declined this offer.

We will not be able to make payment directly to *** ******* as he requested. We will honor the warranty that came with the vehicle and cover Fifty percent of the cost of engine replacement if the work is done at our facility. The replacement engine will come with a warranty that is valid at any Hyundai dealer nationwide.

If *** ******* would like to speak with me directly I can be reached at ###-###-####, or email - ****@fairfaxhyundaiinc.com

Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience this has caused *** *******.

Sincerely,

Matthew W*******

Fairfax Hyundai

###-###-####

****@fairfaxhyundaiinc.com

 

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in my old car and the dealer was supposed to pay off the rest of the amount I owe to the bank and mail me a check with the rest of the amount. According to the Chip in the sales department this process takes two weeks until I get my money/check in the mail. I traded my car on Tuesday 06/09/2015, I contacted the bank on Tuesday 06/23/2015 and they had no idea I traded in my car. I had to inform them and ask them to take a note. On Thursday 06/25/2015 I called the bank one more time to make sure they noted that I no longer own the vehicle. I was told that they received the check and that the date was only a week prior. The dealer short paid the bank, and I owed $1.51 that I paid over the phone. I called the dealer on the same day 06/25/2015 and talked to David H** in the sales department who informed that Chip was off, and that the process takes longer than two weeks. I am not sure why they are changing what they said to me when I was purchasing. David also mentioned that he will try to talk to the accounting department on Saturday 06/27/2015 to see when they can send me the check. This is totally unacceptable, and I don't find a reason for them to keep my money all that time.

Desired Settlement: I need my check mailed out to me ASAP.

Business Response:

To: BBB

From: Fairfax Hyudnai

RE: Payoff on Trade-in

I am sorry for any confusion surrounding the payoff of the trade in vehcile. The payoff checks are sent out once all paperwork is finalized and the new vehicle loan is funded, this usually takes about two weeks, however, it can sometimes take longer. The check was sent to ******** ******* Credit Union and we verifed today (7-6-2015) that the check was received and the loan will be satisfied. The check was for the exact amount of the payoff figure that we agreed to as per the purchase order. The customer was informed that if the payoff was less than the amount that was listed as payoff, A refund would be issued from ******** ******* Credit Union directly to customer and if the payoff check was less than what **** needed to payoff the vehicle they would be resopnsible for that difference.

**** ***** asked that we send her the check and we only send payoff checks directly to the lender that holds title for the vehicle.

If anyone has any additional questions please feel free to give me a call

 

Matthew W*******

Fairfax Hyundai

###-###-####

****@fairfaxhyundaiinc.com

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My main concern is that they waited for more than two weeks to notify the bank. 

Regards,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Hyundai Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)