BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Euro Motor Cars

Phone: (301) 601-5500 View Additional Phone Numbers 19750 Germantown Road, Germantown, MD 20874 http://www.euromotorcarsgermantown.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

EuroMotorcars Germantown is a Mercedes-Benz and smart dealership in Germantown, Maryland that deals with sales of new and used cars as well as service and parts. We offer genuine Mercedes-Benz accessories and parts and have factory-trained technicians. The appearance shop takes care of paint and dent repairs and helps with tire and wheel repairs. We offer our customers leasing and financing options when purchasing new or used vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Euro Motor Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Euro Motor Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 04/01/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Farokh Bagha, General Manager Ms. Kerstin Deleaver, Business Development Manager Ms. Daniela Ramos, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Farokh Bagha, General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Kerstin Deleaver, Business Development Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Auto Accessories Auto Appraisers Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Euro Motor Cars sells the following brand(s): Mercedes-Benz, smart, Mercedes-Benz, smart

Euro Motor Cars offers the following product(s): Luxury vehicles, environmentally friendly vehicles, Luxury vehicles, environmentally friendly vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Euro Motorcars Inc EuroMotorcars Germantown EuroMotorcars Germantown

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 686-1678 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Background: Our 2007 Mercedes S550 (~55K miles) was taken to EuroMotorcars (*********** **) on 05-10-13 with an intermittent problem (occurred twice over 4 months, but not occurring when the vehicle was delivered to the dealer.) The dealer identified (via computer) that an automatic transmission sensor required replacement. Replacement was authorized at a cost of $1500. EuroMotorcars (*** *******) told me “Good news - the problem is not the transmission”; the car was to be ready on 05-13-13. 05-13-13, *** ******* called to notify me, the senor replacement could not be completed due to a programming error; they needed additional time to get the sensor to work. *** ******* indicated the car would be ready on 05-14-13. NOTE: mechanics inform me that a programming error is a possible cause of the problems that our vehicle has experienced. 05-14-13, *** ******* called to notify me the transmission showed signs of damage when test driven to verify the sensor replacement. *** ******* informed us that the mechanic had found metal filings in the transmission; these were causing the vehicle to jerk when shifting gears. As a result of the shavings, the transmission was damaged and required replacement. As this problem had not previously occurred, we discussed several options of how this could have happened and how to restore my vehicle back to the condition it was in prior to their service. EuroMotorcars stated that the car had metal shavings originally in the transmission, therefore the damage was not EuroMotorcars fault. We were told the transmission required replacement; a new transmission would cost $7200. I disagreed with his claim and reminded him that his phone call was the first I became aware of either the transmission jerking or metal shavings being in the transmission. I requested the car be restored to the condition it was in prior to their service so I could pick it up. He stated it would be restored to that condition. Note that EuroMotorcars acknowledges that there were *NO* metal filings on the transmission magnets prior to the sensor replacement and that the vehicle had NO jerking problems prior to their service. 05-14-13, *** ******* [*** *******’s Superior] called and informed me that he was now handling our vehicle. *** ******* stated he needed to discuss the vehicle with the shop supervisor & mechanic to understand the problem; verify that the sensor installed was not defective; reassess the work that they recommended; then contact me. 05-15-13, *** ******* called; he had completed the discussions he needed. He stated that the damage was not EuroMotorcars fault. He stated that the car was actually in BETTER condition than when I brought it in for service. 05-16-13, I picked the vehicle up before 8am. I was only charged for general service not the sensor replacement. Upon driving out of EuroMotorcars it was VERY obvious that the vehicle had NOT been restored to the condition that it was in prior to the service. Whenever the vehicle accelerated / shifted gears, the vehicle jumped significantly. Driving home from EuroMotorcars was the first time this had EVER occurred. Situation: EuroMotorcars claims that they did not cause the damage and that this vehicle had undetected metal shavings in the transmission prior to the service. They acknowledge, however, that the transmission magnets did not have any filings at the time of the service and during the service there was no indication of a problem with the transmission. To obtain an independent opinion, I called ***** (used as independent transmission experts) who stated the problem COULD NOT occur as EuroMotorcars is claiming; if the transmission had problems prior to their repair then there would be SOME indication at the time of the sensor replacement. They also told me that if the dealer did not cause the problem the vehicle would have experienced problems prior to the sensor replacement - not ONLY after replacement. As I had family commitments and the fact that I was told that the vehicle was drivable, with the sensor being replaced. I retrieve my vehicle from EuroMotorcars. Upon driving the vehicle on 5-16-13, the car had significant jerking when shifting between gears. EuroMotorcars acknowledges that the problem did NOT exist prior to the vehicle’s service. EuroMotorcars also acknowledge the transmission had ZERO filings in the transmission at the time of service. Everyone agrees that the transmission contained filings after the service and that the transmission required replacement. EuroMotorcars, however, refuses to acknowledge that the transmission was destroyed as a result of their service and while it was in their care, custody, and control. I was told by EuroMotorcars that MBUSA and other Mercedes dealer service centers do not have ANY history of this problem occurring elsewhere. To better understand the situation, I called ***** (who I used as independent transmission experts, without informing them of the vehicle make or dealer’s name.) *****’s ********* ******** store informed me that the problem COULD NOT OCCUR as EuroMotorcars is claiming. I was told that if the transmission had problems (including any metal filings) prior to their service then there would be SOME indication at the time of the sensor replacement (metal filings on the transmission magnets, transmission fluid discolored, etc.) They also told me that if the dealer did not cause the problem the vehicle would have experienced problems prior to the sensor replacement - not ONLY after replacement. 5-20-13 -Finally, I decided to pay for the original sensor replacement (approximately $1500), however - due to EuroMotorcars error - I was required to purchase a new transmission (cost $7200, discounted cost $3900). [Refurbished transmissions are available online for approximately $2500, however these would not have any warranty.] I was told by EuroMotorcars that I will get a new transmission from Germany and the entire process will require two weeks. 5-21-13 – Dropped vehicle at EuroMotorcars to be prepared for the new transmission. 5-23-13 – Received call from EuroMotorcars stating car is ready. I inquired how so soon. I was told that a dealer locally had the part. I was skeptical. 5-25-13 – Proceed to collect my vehicle. - I paid the $3900, only to find out that a remanufactured transmission had been installed. I was never informed that EuroMotorcars would be using remanufactured parts; this can be verified by two friends (visiting from England) who were listening to conversations with EuroMotorcars on speakerphone. These people have provided me written statements confirming this information.

Desired Settlement: The problem was caused by EuroMotorcars while the vehicle was in their care, custody, and control, as a result the transmission should have been replaced for NO additional cost to me. Additionally, I was told that a new transmission would be installed; instead a remanufactured transmission was installed on my car. I do not know - nor do I care - how EuroMotorcars damaged the vehicle. I do care, however, that: 1. The vehicle did not have any jerking problems prior to service by EuroMotorcars. 2. There were not metal shavings in the transmission prior to the service by EuroMotorcars (I was told this by EuroMotorcars) 3. The vehicle was damaged while in EuroMotorcars’ care, custody, and control. As a result, EuroMotorcars should repair the vehicle at no additional cost to me. I 4. On several occasions personnel from EuroMotorcars have blatantly lied to me. • I was told by *** ******* that the vehicle was restored to the condition it was in when I brought it in for service. *** ******* knew that this statement was a lie. • I was told by *** ******* that the vehicle was in better condition than when I brought it in for service. *** ******* knew that this statement was a lie. • I was told by *** ******* that the transmission was not the problem. Later, after their service, EuroMotorcars attempted to tell me that the transmission had problems prior to the initial service. It cannot be both ways - one of these statements is a lie. • I was told that I will get a new transmission from Germany; instead a remanufactured transmission was placed in my vehicle in (at best) an underhanded manner. 5. I have since paid for a transmission replacement – but left dissatisfied with the inferior parts placed in my vehicle. The vehicle did not have a problem prior to service by EuroMotorcars. The transmission was ruined after EuroMotorcars performed service. The only logical explanation is that the transmission was destroyed as a result of EuroMotorcars service. As a result, we should be reimbursed our cost of the transmission replacement.

Business Response:

Response to complaint ID# *******

2007 Mercedes-Benz S550

Dear *** ******:

I am writing in response to the above complaint # *******. Below is an outline of our position in the matter. At the time of my involvement, the situation had escalated through our service advisor ******** ******* and our service manager ***** *******.

·         I, ****** ***** first spoke with *** ***** on May 17th in response to his first email. The two issues that we discussed were 1) the issue of responsibility, 2) possible options to correct the problem with the vehicle. I made it very clear to *** ***** that the vehicle came in with a transmission problem that showed evidence of a conductor plate failure, which we replaced and it did not correct. We found no evidence of any wrong doing by the technician, and it appeared that there was a deeper mechanical issue with the transmission. We decided not to charge him for anything related to the transmission diagnosis or attempted repair which was valued at $1,500.00. I explained clearly or position that we would not take responsibility for the transmission failure, and suggested that we cannot talk about a solution until we get past the issue of responsibility. He ultimately agreed and we began discussions about possible solutions, since he wanted the problem fixed.

·         The cost to replace the transmission was quoted at $7,300.00 from the first visit. I offered dealership discounts, as well as offering $2,000.00 of Mercedes Benz goodwill assistance. This brought *** *****’s responsibility down to $3,900.00 ($3,400.00 less than quoted).  After consideration for a day, he called me back and authorized me to order the transmission from Mercedes-Benz. As a further measure of goodwill, I offered a complimentary loaner vehicle for him to use while the transmission was on order, and during the repair. He seemed extremely appreciative for the gesture.

·         Upon completion of the repairs and at the time of pickup, **** ***** paid the bill, and *** ***** proceeded to voice his concern at the cashiers counter with two concerns:

o   Once again, he brought up the issue of responsibility, and that he was paying for something that he felt we caused.

o   He was upset that a Mercedes-Benz Remanufactured transmission was installed in his vehicle. Our Service Advisor ******** ******* recalled discussing that it was a remanufactured transmission at the time of original quote. At no time did *** ***** bring up any questions or concerns regarding if the transmission was new or remanufactured in either conversation with me or ********.  In fact, in my conversation with *** *****, he indicated that he had found an aftermarket transmission (which is obviously remanufactured or used) through another repair facility for less money and was considering that as an option. Also, please note that Mercedes-Benz does not offer a new transmission, only remanufactured is available for this vehicle. It was not a used transmission, it was a remanufactured transmission offered from Mercedes with a 24 month/24,000 mile warranty. Based on his reaction at the cashier, we indicated that we did not want him to pay for something that he didn’t want, and we offered to remove the remanufactured transmission and reinstall his old transmission at no cost, and we could part ways with no expense on his part. He declined our offer, once again reverting back to the issue of responsibility.

It is our position that the transmission had a mechanical problem from the first visit. At no time did we charge them for any repairs that did not resolve the problem. In addition, we offered $3,400 in out of warranty assistance in an effort to resolve the matter. It is my believe that *** ***** authorized the repairs, waited for them to be completed, and then dispute the matter, reverting back to the issue of responsibility. As a dealership, I feel that we did everything in our power, to work with *** ***** on this difficult problem.

Please let me know if I can offer any further information.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Service Director

Euro Motorcars Germantown

*************************

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Mercedes E63 AMG in to Euro motorcars on November 12th for a problem with the steering being to hard to turn. I have driven the car for 7 years and knew it was broken. Euro motorcars charged me $1,164.31 to replace a speed sensor agreeing there was a problem. After picking the car up I noticed it was exactly the same, that nothing had changed. I brought it back in upset that I paid so much money to not have it fixed, that it was exactly the same. They test drove it and said it was steering how it should, which was no different than how it was before I brought it in. I told them that from my position the only thing that changed was my bank account and they said they were sorry that there was nothing they could do for me. I told them I was confused because if that is how it is supposed to steer they should have told me that before charging me $1,164.31 to have it exactly the same before and after the "repair"

Desired Settlement: I want my $1,164.31 refunded as the repair that was performed had no impact on how the car steers. I feel I was charged for something expensive that from my perspective was unnecessary because nothing changed.

Business Response:

Good morning,

please see our response to this case attached.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I paid $1,000.00 to have no change in the way the car steers and it is still problematic. Any claim that the car was almost undriveable and is now significantly better is completely fabricated to backup the supposed repair. From my perspective the only thing that changed was my bank account and feel I was fleeced to the tune of $1,000.00.

The only thing that will resolve this case to my satisfaction is a full refund, nothing less.

Regards,

******* *****








Business Response:

Good morning,

Please see our response attached.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: we are not in agreement and it doesn't sound like we ever will be. 


Regards,

******* *****








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1