BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Chevy Chase Automotive LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 656-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 7701 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chevychaseacura.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chevy Chase Automotive LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevy Chase Automotive LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 02, 2002 Business started: 02/20/2001 in MD Business started locally: 09/01/1939 Business incorporated: 02/01/2001 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Bowis, President Mr. Sam Weaver, VP Mr. Jeff Lee, Service Manager Mr. Matthew Malson, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bowis, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Lee, Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Sam Weaver, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chevy Chase Acura Chevy Chase Nissan

Additional Locations

  • 7701 Wisconsin Avenue

    Bethesda, MD 20814 (301) 657-4000

  • 7725 Wisconsin Avenue

    Bethesda, MD 20814

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 657-4000(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was sold on June 24, 2013. I soon discover there was no vehicle manual, poor detailing and the SiriusXM expired in less than a month and a half. Prior to leaving with my car on June 24, 2013, I soon noticed that there was no manual in the club compartment. I asked my salesman to order me one. Before I left he said one had been ordered. As part of my car loyalty program, I receive free washes, so I take my car to be washed once a week. I would occasionally stop by to see if the manual was in and the salesman would avoid the question. He would fail to follow-up or return my call and provide a status on the manual. Long story short, I have yet to receive a manual. On one occasion, I explained that they must not have detailed my car thoroughly following the purchase, because I dropped my keys between the seat one day and when the keys were retrieved they had a chewed piece of gum on them. I had not chewed gum in the car, so it must have happen while the car was on display in the showroom. My salesman did a quick clean to the inside, but did not have time to fully detail the inside like I should have received prior to leaving the dealership. There are other minor issues that occurred, but I was assisted, so I shall leave those unmentioned for the sake of covering the last important item. I turned on my radio a couple of weeks ago and notice that SiriusXM was no longer available. I called the dealership and the manager told me to call SiriusXM about the 90 day trial. I call SiriusXM and they informed me that the dealership activated the SiriusXM on May 1, 2013. I called the manager back at the dealership and he ask me had I contacted my salesman. I said yes. I said that I call more than once and he has not called me back. He informed me that he would have my salesman: ***** ***** return my call. This was Thursday and ***** has still not returned my call. This is not uncommon and has been the case since I bought the car. In order to receive any type of status on the loose ends for the car, I had to stop and check to see for myself (i.e. if my plates were in, the poor detailing and the missing car manual. My salesman has been unresponsive to phone calls (i.e. business line/cell) and I just want results.

Desired Settlement: I have been a pleasant customer and patient. I just want to understand what they plan to do to take care of my month and a half or more lost of SiriusXM radio. I believe the dealership should have let me know from the beginning that it had been previously activated, and since they did not they should cover the time that I was without service. I would also like to know when my manual will be coming in and when can I bring my car in for a full detail job that should have been done prior to me leaving the lot. I just want good customer service. I have tried to work with my salesman time and time again with no results. I need results. This is a huge investment for me and I do not take it lightly. I appreciate any help BBB can provide me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a very unpleasant experience at Chevy Chase Acura. I was given some ball-park numbers for trading in my 2011 TL for a used 2013 TL with a tech package of a difference about $7-8000. I needed to talk with my wife, and do some on-line research, and indicated I could work with $4-5000 and e-mailed them. I explicitly asked them to let me know if they could not work with those numbers, and just to let me know. Instead, I was told they could, and to come in. When I got there, they tried to sell me a new car for much more money, then told me my e-mail communication did not matter, it was their "business practice" to have people come in. I was told I should speak with the General Sales Manager the next day. After a long discussion, he indicated he would speak with the owner about the case, and get back to me the next day. He called me today, and told me that he could do nothing with the promised 2013, and the best he could do with a 2012 is a difference $6500 + taxes, etc.. He never mentioned if he even spoke with the owner, so I believe that I am just being manipulated again. I am wondering if this occurred because I am a servicemember, and I told them I was leaving town soon. The sales manager mentioned to me that car sales has a bad reputation, and I certainly understand why. I wrote a letter to the owner, and asked him to contact me, but that did not happen either.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the deal as represented to me - trade in my 2011 TL and purchase the 2013 TL with tech package for an additional $4-5000. If they can't sell the certified 2013 used, at this point, I think they should offer a new 2013 for the same price due to their poor business practices and the manipulation that has gone on for the past several days.

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This was not a simple case of miscommunication. The e-mails were clear on what my offer was, and the e-mails I got back were clear that they

were something that could be worked on. If my offer was not acceptable, it should have been made clear in responses back to me. It was quite obvious when I got to the car dealer, they had 
no intention of working with what the offer was. They tried to sell me a new car. When I rejected that, they then told me the used cars would be much more expensive than what was 
mentioned in my offer. **. ****** also said that the used cars would not be available for at least 90 days from when I came in. What sort of car dealer makes a deal on a car they can't deliver
for 90 days?  It was quite obvious they had no intention of trying to be fair, and had every intention of trying to cheat me. I think the right term is "bait and switch." I spoke with the ******** police department regarding a possible public display of Chevy Chase Acura's poor business practices, and the policeman I spoke with told me that he would not buy another car there due to the poor
treatment he received there! It is obvious that Chevy Chase Acura has a very poor business model, and I just seem to be a person willing to speak out.
As for the "continue to work with him on this issue" - I have received a total of zero communications from them offering to try and make this right. Chevy Chase Acura does not want to admit their mistake and make it right, unless it is on their terms - meaning I pay a lot of money, they make a lot of money. I am happy to provide BBB with the e-mails. Everyone I have shown them to agrees that they are very straightforward, and **. ******'s assertion of miscommunication is one of trying to misdirect the complaint.

Regards,

**** ******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 2012 Nissan Murano was offered on ******** and the dealer's website at the price of: $29,349. After a prolonged sales pitch the sales manager told us that the car could not be offered at the price because that was only available with the price incentives for military and recent college grads. The price would be more than 1,000 dollars more. He said that it was not the store's fault but it was nissan corporate policy. Note, no one ever asked us if we were military or recent college grad. The explanation from the sales manager seemed entirely fictitious and unrealistic. Essentially they didn't want to let us buy the car at their advertised price. This is deceptive adverstising nowhere on the website does it list that the store will in fact not honor the price that it lists its cars for sale at: ****************************************************************************************** *** **** ***** ** ****** ** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. The salesperson we dealt with also acknowledged that it did not make a lot of sense in the advertising since their was no indication that the price required some special incentives.

Desired Settlement: Stop being unethical in your advertising. It is irresponsible and wrong.

Business Response: See attachment or check attachment tab.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1