BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

Phone: (610) 838-2200 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 Hellertown Rd # 1124, Bethlehem, PA 18015 http://www.chevy21.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevrolet 21, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1998 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 07/13/1998 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerold Horst, President Mrs. Mary Hannah, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Mary Hannah, Controller
Principal: Mr. Jerold Horst, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Chevy 21

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Hellertown Rd # 1124

    Bethlehem, PA 18015

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 625-3480(Phone)
  • (610) 838-4937 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a terrible experience with this dealer. Chevy 21 advertized a 2010 Suburban with 42,000 miles on it but the price was NOT listed on their web site. It said ("Please call") So I called and got a ******* on the phone who seemed very sweet and helpful. She told me they were having a BIG "Inventory reduction sale" ( like the girl at reception said ) So I gave her the stock number and description of the Chevy Suburban LTZ I was interested in and asked her what the price was. She said " I think it's in the mid 30's " My response was " "you Think?" I asked her to go to her used car manager and tell him I was looking to be in the $24-26 thousand dollar range and to see if he could get close to that mark because they are having a " BIG INVENTORY REDUCTION" sale. ( I told her it didn't hurt to ask ) I was put on hold for some time and when she came back I was told by ******* " ya he said he could do that for you" .... A little taken back, ....I responded " do what... $24 thousand?" She said yes. I quizzed her again on the truck,.... the make ....the year..... the model .....the stock number .....and made sure we were BOTH on the same page. She confirmed. ... I hung up and spoke to my husband who was already skeptical and he asked me to call back. We again spoke to ******* about the same year make and model and the offer price of $24,000 and she confirmed again! She asked me to fill out an on line application off their web site, and so I did, and then she asked me to send via E-mail, my bank statements and tax returns that would be needed for finance approval. I alerted ******* that we are self employed and do not have stellar credit, ... I expressed my concern to her about approval. She told me that her finance person works miracles and that he's " confident" he can help us. So I sent EVRYTHING personal I could think of to her and confirmed that she received it. I told her I would be there the next morning. Meanwhile back at the ranch ( home ) My husband and I were up ALL NIGHT with my son who was battling a stomach virus and fever and my husband was up at 3:30am for a trip ( work ) so when we arrived the next morning on Friday the 15th we were both working on about 2 hours of sleep. I arranged a babysitter to be home with my sick children ( instead of mom ) just to buy this truck! Needless to say we went out of our way to show up for a test drive. We walked in and meet with *****, ... I asked for *******, ... there was no ******* to be found. ***** said ******* was tied up with something and he would help us. ( ok fine,... to his desk we went ) He had us fill out again more paperwork giving us permission to run credit, and spoke highly about the dealerships no nonsense privacy policy and sales practices. ( all which made us very comfortable ) After this we were taken to the lot to test drive the truck I was interested in. It didn't turn over. ( no start ) so while ***** ran back to the service department to get a jumper, my husband and I had a moment to look carefully around the truck. We found much was wrong with the Suburban. We found the front bumper cracked and badly damaged. ( needed to be completely replaced ) the rear bumper was chipped pretty badly ( more than just your average touch up job ) there was a NAIL in the front passenger side tire, .... the rotors looks like they had not been replaced and need it, ... and the doors were a little chipped up along the edges. I know it's not a brand new truck, ... but honestly,... I believed the $24000 talk based on the condition of the truck. When ***** got back to us in the lot ( it was freezing out ) I asked him to open the hood and found an oil leak, and upon checking the oil stick it was noted that the truck was about a quart low on oil. ***** made little comment on the condition of the truck and seemed a bit smug about my observations, ( not really concerned about my interests ) Once finally jumped and started, a light came on the front dash that read " service ride control " ( this meant the rear air compressor wasn't working ) We took it for a test drive and felt that the vehicle was a good buy for the money discussed and that we would need to sink about $2000 worth of work into it, in order to make it perfect. The $24,000 discussion I had with ******* was believable at this point after seeing everything that was wrong with the truck. I figured that the dealership had a small lot, and they were having a sale to make room for inventory and maybe the dealership was interested in selling the truck AS IS rather than putting out money to fix it. So we got back inside, and when ***** came back with an offer, it was $46,000!!!! We were very VERY surprised and upset and explained to ***** the discussion we had in length with *******. We asked to see ******* and told ***** to please get her for us. Instead, ...*** the manager came over and told us " sorry a mistake was made, I couldn't possibly sell that truck to you for $24000. Can I interest you in a Traverse instead??? He clearly tried to steer us into another car! We told him that was NOT the car we came to purchase and we were NOT interested in any other vehicle other then the Suburban we discussed with ******* on the phone. They ruined their credibility with me. It was a classic BAIT and switch scheme and I was fooled into giving away my personal information, and letting them run my credit for a deal they had no intention of honoring. The Suburban was in terrible condition and I wouldn't have thought that it was worth even $30,000 given what was wrong with it. SHOCKED and amazed that a Chevy dealer in the ****** ****** would pull this kind of joke! This was more like something I would have expected out of a small joe-blow used car lot in *** **** **** someplace. Wrong practice! I was highly disappointed and felt a fool, ....they wasted our time, and disappointed us. We always believed in buying locally and that doing so was not only good for our local economy, but a safe way to do business. What fools we turned out to be! I expressed displeasure with the manager. The owner was not available. I am sure that after this complaint, they will tell me the vehicle has since been sold. It's clear that if a dealership cannot properly train the staff to answer questions honestly, then how can you expect that dealer to sell a reliable vehicle. I was expecting that something other than a cheap apology would have been done for such a blunder, unfortunately they gave little attention to the mistake or my concern. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the dealer offer the vehicle to me for the $24,000 discussed on 3-15-2013 with *******. We will take the Suburban ( stock number ***** ) VIN# ***************** AS IS once test driven again and looked at by my mechanic.

Business Response:

This is to verity that I am in receipt of ***** *****'s concern and have forwarded it to the approriate manager and will respond when I have all of the details.

Thank you!

**** ******

Controller

Business Response:

Reference ID ******* - ***** *****

In response to the complaint filed by ***** ***** referring to a 2010 Chevrolet LTZ Suburban.

We, CHEVY 21, just installed a BDC (Business Development Center). With the increasing internet business it was necessary to add this department to our dealership staff.  The BDC employees are still in training. We request our BDC representatives do not include price in their conversation but only inventory, equipment and availability. 

**** ***** spoke with BDC rep, *******,  and also emailed her regarding financing of a vehicle and was hoping for a miracle.  **** ***** offered  a dollar amount for the 2010 Suburban to ******* who is not authorized to approve an offer and ******* made an appointment for **** ***** to come to the dealership to discuss and negotiate a deal on the SUV.  We did not accept a deposit over the phone to hold the Suburban at any price.  We sent the application to the bank or banks and did receive a conditioned approval for $24,000.00 however this was not sufficient to purchase the Suburban so we offered her a Chevrolet Traverse.  The offer of the Traverse was not a "switch" vehicle but a vehicle for an amount that the bank was willing to lend to the *****s with the conditioned approval.

I was really hoping **** ***** withdrew her complaint since she again contacted our dealership on March 23rd to ask if there was anymore we could do for her.

If I can be of further assistance please contact me at ************.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Sales Manager

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

If your staff was still in training then why was there no supervision. I asked ******* for a sales manager over the phone when we discussed the price of the truck. I asked to speak to a manager but was told that he was occupied with another customer. Then I was put on hold and told she was confident they could honor that price. ( as if she stopped to ask the manager about the offer ) and then came back and said this was alright. Again!  ..... ... no miracle was expected, I only expected to come into the dealership to purchase a truck for and agreed amount. Upon inspecting the truck It became a believable price due to the condition. Broken bumper, chips, the truck didn't want to start and needed to be jumped, nails in the tires and an oil leak!  ... so given all that was wrong with the truck when it was shown to me, I thought that the $25,000 offered was appropriate AS IS and that they were having a BIG sale.  Honestly if the dealer expected to get FULL PRICE then the truck should have NEVER been shown to ANYONE unitl the repairs were done!

I didn't appriciate the offer of the Traverse as it was clearly not the vehicle I was interested in and I felt like I was being usurer into something cheaper.

As for my credit and the banks, for the $25,000 I was hoping to spend, I was approved and purchased another Suburban that was in much better condition. I hope that in the future the dealership can more appropriately supervise their call center staff to avoid such immature mistakes over the phone with another hopeful client. They wasted my time and disappointed me but I guess it doesn't matter now.



Regards,

***** *****








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1