This business is not BBB accredited.

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

Phone: (610) 838-2200 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 Hellertown Rd # 1124, Bethlehem, PA 18015 http://www.chevy21.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business has applied for accreditation with BBB, and our initial review has found it to meet the BBB Code of Business Practices. Accreditation is pending consideration by the BBB Board of Directors, as required by BBB policy.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevrolet 21, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chevrolet 21, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1998 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 07/13/1998 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105-2649
http://www.licensepa.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: 717-783-1697
Fax Number: 717-787-0250
ra-st-vehicle@pa.gov
The number is VD018626A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerold Horst, President Mrs. Mary Hannah, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Mary Hannah, Controller
Principal: Mr. Jerold Horst, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Chevy 21

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Hellertown Rd # 1124

    Bethlehem, PA 18015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2006 ***** truck from ***** 21 in August 2013. Just took for inspection and they found major issues with truck. The mechanic said the truck was "Unsafe" and should not have been resold. He found a bad wheel bearings in front, needs a complete exhaust sytem - it is rotted out, brake lines and gas lines are rusted, ABS light is on. We were told truck had been checked out when purchased from dealer and there were no issues. We had to take it back several times in the first month for issues so their mechanics had checked the truck on more than one occasion. Our mechanic said the amount of damage did not happen in just the time since we purchased it. The truck requires $2500 - $3000 in repairs. We now have a $300 payment for a truck that is both unsafe and requires major repair. We are well aware that the dealer probably is not legally required to fix truck, but we feel that they were extremely dishonest about this truck and misrepresented its worthiness. Basically we were extremely taken advantage of from a very dishonest dealer. While this probably won't be resolved by dealer, we want this complaint to remain on file so hopefully no one else gets treated as unfairly as we were.

Desired Settlement: Our desired outcome would be that the dealer stands behind their truck and repairs a little or no cost to us. While we are aware that probably won't happen, we want this complaint kept on file to reflect the dishonesty of our treatment by this dealer in the hopes that someone else will have a chance to know how dishonestly this dealer deals with customers and won't get taken advantage of like we so severely were.

Business Response:

Dear BBB Agent ******* *****:

Thank you for notifying me regarding **** and ***** *******'s concerns about their vehicle.

In my attempt to research the details I see that they were last here for service on 9/06/2013 at which time we did $981.71 in repairs to the vehicle at no charge to them. They were here twice, 8/29 and 9/06/2013.  We heard nothing from the customer after that and are a bit surprised by this complaint.

If you would please ask them to provide the following items we will then review and respond once we receive the information:

>Repair invoice showing all parts prices/hours for labor for the $2500 - $3000

>Notarized statement from their qualified mechanic which must include that the vehicle is "unsafe" and that all of these items could not have happened in the 11 months.

Thank you so much for your help!

Mary H*****/Controller


Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

*******:

I will be faxing over the information from our mechanic from ******'s Service Center in ****** Pa. to ***** 21.  The total estimate for repairs came to $3687.09.  Since August 2013 we only put 8714 miles on the truck.  My mechanic does state that the truck should not have been resold with this amount of repair required.  In addition, we did have two calls into the sales person we dealt with, Jeff Y****, but did not receive any response, which is why we came to the BBB and also to the Attorney General for PA.  Obviously this was a deceptive deal that we are now impacted by.  Our request is that Chevy 21 make good their sale and make these repairs at little or no cost to us.  In addition, at this point the truck will need to be towed for repairs because one wheel is ready to come off and it is not safe to drive.

Can you provide us with a fax number so that I can send you a copy of the info from our mechanic.


Regards,

**** And ***** ******








Business Response:

I am confident the vehicle was not unsafe when it was sold.   The vehicle was traded in with April 2014 Inspection and Emission Stickers.

The *** *** shows that the State Inspection prior to being traded in was performed by *** ***s Auto Center located in ********* Pa on

April 22, 2014 with 63,986 miles on it.  Vehicle was traded into our dealership on May 4th, 2014 with 64,402 miles.  This is 12 days and 416 miles later.

We then performed a used car check on May 8th, 2014.  Emphasizing again, that 2 separate mechanics from two separate repair facilities checked

this vehicle 12 days apart and found no issues.  If they would like a copy of Carfax Report I can provide one.

Karen Y*******

General Manager

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I am so done with this.  horrible experience, terrible dealer and sub standard vehicle.  A valuable lesson learned for us.  NEVER go to this dealer, there are too many good/reputable dealers out there.  Please keep our complaint on record.  I sincerely hope to help some other trusting customer from this terrible customer experience.


Regards,

**** And ***** ******








8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for all terrain tires and gooseneck trailer wiring. They did not install the wiring promised. They sent all season tires instead off all terrain tires, which will not work for my area.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take back the wrong tires at their shipping costs. They need to pay for the wiring I paid for, but did not receive. I would also like an apology for their mistakes and total lack of customer service.

Business Response:

I am happy to inform Chevrolet 21, Inc. and **** **** have come to an agreement of $150.00 for the wiring necessary for her trailering. 

Chevrolet 21, Inc. also made arrangements for the tires and wheels to be shipped *** * (shipped7/30/14) at the dealership's expense.

After research **** **** found she had not made payment to the dealership for them.   No reimbursement necessary. 

This morning I received an email from **** **** thanking us for addressing her concerns and taking action to ensure a good customer relationship.

**** **** did say she will also inform the BBB.

Sincerely,

Karen Y*******

General Manager

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

*** *** ****

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ****

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a truck on 6/28/13 that night it started to over heat i took it back to dealership about 5 times for same problem 5 months later motor blew up from over heating i've payed out $10,000.00 plus brake caliber,left front hub, i think they new about all these problems and just unloaded to me

Desired Settlement: I would like to have them pay for all major repairs $8,500.00 i have all receipts for work completed

Business Response:

This is to verify that I received **. ******* complaint and will forward it to the proper department for review and answerback.

Thanks,

**** ******

Business Response: Hello *******,
 
I was trying to research **. ******* concerns but my key person is still unavailable.  I checked with our service department and see no record of the vehicle being brought in to be checked.
 
Do you have any information on the repair bills that he made reference to in his statement?  If he could provide more details and copies that would be a big help.
 
Thanks so much!
 
**** ******/Controller
CHEVROLET 21 INC.
###-###-####
###-###-#### fax

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing this 2007 ****** ******* last year i had a 3,000 mile warrenty through chevy21. A week after purchase of the vehicle it had no oil in the engine. I had notified chevy21 regaurding this and they filled it up and said to keep them posted if it happeneds again. It happened again toom it back to them and founs out it had an oil consumption issue. So the long battle began of calling not getting responded to ignored and having to call numerous times a day over a 4-5 month period until we finally got the car to do an oil consumption test through formerly known as becker ******... every 1000 miles i needed to check in with chevy21 to see how much oil i was burning. So after 3000 miles of coming to them every 1000 miles we finally were done. Or so i had thought becker informed me that i was supposed to be coming to them. Not chevy21 and wanted me to redo the oil consumption tests i said no way in ****. Im tired of buying oil. So we agreed that we would proceed with the issue after 1000 more miles. That time came and my car went into whats now known as ****** ****** to get fixed under the warrenty of chevy21 after they tried telling me i passed the 3k mark. Even tho we all knew there was a problem since the first week i had the car. Finally got the "consumption problem" done and my car is still burning oil. Chevy21 cut corners and only replaced the rings gaskets and had the carbon cleaned. I talked to several people who build these cars that said there positive that the whole block needs to be replaced because it gets cracked if the rings are not done right away. This issue wasnt fixed right away. Chevy21 denies helping me with my car anymore because i truthfully gave a review on lvse (****** ****** ****** enthusiasts) there exact words were "we dont appreciate what you said on your ****** page because we got your car done) my car is not foxed 8 months later. Also right after i left there dealership within 10minutes i called saying i noticed a chip in the windshield and they swore to me up and down it woulsnt have passed there inspection as such. Only until i met the previous owner who told me that he put the chip in the windshield before he traded it in to buy a ******. His name is **** **** and he also told me he had the oil consumption issue which is why he traded the car in to begin with. Chevy21 tried to pull this fast one on me after charging me 18,000 for this used vehicle which i paid because it looked reliable and clean. The man who sold me the car originally wouldnt talk to me after i left the lot. His name is ****. Chevy21 claims to helped me out so much by getting me approved for this car which is true but im paying 350 for the car alone everymonth which i should have a running reliable vehicle for this

Desired Settlement: I would like my oil consumption to be fixed the right way because it still burns just as much oil. i would like a windshield that i was promised and then lied to about repairing it. i want an apology letter from the owner and from ***** in sales for the mistreatment and hassle i went through.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

**. ******* purchased his used 2007 ****** ******* from our Dealership on 5/25/2013 at 85,780 miles.

He also purchased an Extended Service Contract (see attached).  The contract expires on 5/25/2016 or at 121,780 miles with a $100.00 deductible. 

**. ******* returned in June with a concern of low oil.  We checked the vehicle for any signs of oil leaks.  There was no evidence of such.  We added oil and asked him to return if any other concerns.  He did return in July and his oil was low again with no signs of leakage.   We then reached out to a business associate at ****** ******.  He was the Service Manager. 

His oil consumption issue was sublet  out to ****** ****** for diagnosis and repairs as we are a Chevrolet Dealership and do not have the special tools and training to perform major engine repairs on foreign cars.  ****** requested an oil consumption test be performed to aid in diagnostics and to provide the factory with information in the event they will participate in cost assistance for the customers repair.  

The oil consumption test was performed here at our Dealership with their permission as to not inconvenience the customer.  After the consumption test was complete the information was sent to ****** ******.  During that time ****** had changed Service Managers and the new manager said that the consumption test should have been done by them and that regardless there would be no ****** factory assistance due to age and mileage of the vehicle.  This resulted in wasting our time and **. *******.  We then just made the appointment to have the vehicle repaired and contacted **.  *******’s extended Warranty Company.  The engine was torn down and diagnosed as worn rings and excessive carbon deposits on the exhaust valves.  The Extended Warranty Company denied the claim because there was no internal engine failure only worn items and carbon deposits.  Chevrolet 21 authorized the repair of the vehicle per the ****** Dealers recommendations for a total of $2,754.64 as a onetime Goodwill repair for **. *******.  There was also a loner vehicle provided to the customer by us while his vehicle was being repaired at that Dealership. 

Chevrolet 21 paid for the parts and labor recommended by the ****** Dealership for repairing his issue. No other repairs or parts were recommended by that Dealership. There was no “cutting corners”  like he is stating.  If the vehicle is still exhibiting an issue he must take it directly to that Dealership for repair.  If it is a result of their workmanship it would be taken care of by them.  If there are any other repairs in addition to what was already performed, they would be at **. *******’s expense or that of his extended warranty.

As far as the windshield issue **. ******* first described the problem with the windshield as a crack.   We could not find a crack.   As noted on the customers repair order (see attached) it clearly states that there are 2 stone chips in the windshield and that neither one is in the area of the windshield that would affect PA State inspection.  This is why it wasn’t repaired while in our inventory.  There was no promise made to **. ******* to have these 2 chips repaired.

We have delivered loaners to **. ******* as late as 9:00 p.m. at his place of employment so he wouldn’t be inconvenienced with a ride home.  My comment to him which expressed disappointment about the criticism about our dealership on the ****** forum was because we did everything to assist him every way we possibly could.  So I do apologize if he is insulted but, the efforts we made were only with his best interests in mind.   We pride ourselves in Customer Satisfaction.  As for his request for additional work once we assumed the responsibility for the repair done at ****** and the work was done as the professionals at ****** advise we do not feel we should be responsible for any additional work or upgrades to **. *******’s vehicle.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: there is no goodwill involved here. The dealership had the first warrenty for 3months or 3,000 miles and it wasnt at either when the problems started to happen. and its your problem still because the problem was not fixed correctly. I talked to several people who repair these vehicles and they have stated that if your driving around and this problem continues you need a new block. Which i did not recieve and is still having oil consumption issues. I purchased this car for well over blue book value just to have a crack yes a crack in the windshield which when i first called was promised a replacement. Chevy21 also likes to lie apparently because i was in fact promised a windshield. And they diddnt back the work they had done. Which i even told them that if it diddnt immediatly get fixed would break even more. Which is why i have a right to express my opinion of this business to my fellow ****** enthusiasts of the ****** ****** not to mention others have had problems as well with chevy21. They never return phone calls or even act like they care once you buy the car then thats that. above i also have a picture that clearly shows the crack in my windshield. Its not my fault ive delt with everybody at chevy21 service and managers but one of them promised me they would make sure my windshield gets fixed. And for the amount over kbb value i shouldnt even have "chips or "crack or oil consumption that to this day i still do.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

In response to his statement that the vehicle was not fixed properly: The vehicle was repaired by an authorized ****** Dealership by factory trained technicians.  The repairs that were made were the “only” repairs recommended by that Dealership.  We agreed to pay the repair as Goodwill because **. ******* was denied the repair by his Extended Service contract.  The claim was denied because there were no engine components failed and only worn rings and carbon deposits.  If his vehicle did indeed need an engine bock as his “several people” have told him, the ****** technician would of recommended it. Our Dealership paid $2,754.64 to help him!  We found no evidence of a crack in the windshield.  Nor was there any repairs necessary to the windshield for State Inspection. 

If **. ******* feels his vehicle wasn’t fixed to his satisfaction, or the technician should have recommended an engine block, he must go to them for a remedy.  If it is not covered under his Extended Service Contract, all repairs will be at his expense.  We are disappointed he is not satisfied with our efforts but, this is the extent of our goodwill.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

I dont understand this "goodwill" thats being thrown around. I have pictures of the cracks in the windshiled, the man who owned the car before me "**** ****" who traded it in for a 2011 ****** told me he had the same problems with the car thats why he had traded it in. Chevrolet sold me a vehicle at the time of sale had bad rings, gaskets, seals. Regaurdless if the extended warrenty covered or not i had 3,000 miles under chevy21s warrenty that the problem obviously occured in since i bought the car with the problem. As the car sits now it was not repaired correctly, i had my mechanic look at it, blown turbo due to the turbo being blown and driving with it the motor spun a bearing and needs a whole bottom end rebuild. And the turbo was bad for awhile, possobly even before i owned the vehicle. **** also said that he had the "cracks" in the windshield before he traded it in. Passing inspection with a cracked windshield as chevy21 did is illegal. Also im not the only person whos bought a ****** there and had problems. They sold my buddy travis a 03 bugeye wrx and it blew a trans which chevy21 wouldnt replace. This is the worst dealership ive ever seen in my life, will never go back or recomend to anybody. Headache after headache with these people they diddnt wanna hear anything after i bought the vehicle. I am rejecting this response because the owner before me had these problems as the cracked windshield and the oil consumption, which made chevy21 at fault for selling me the vehicle they diddnt follow through with the repairs and even though the rings were replaced i still had the oil consumption problem due to the turbo also being blown, because i drove with a bad turbo my car now spun a bearing and is not driveable. The 21,000 im paying for a car i diddnt even have a year is absurd and will be taken to court under the lemon law.

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** *******








1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the following email from Chevy 21 on December 19th. End of year advertisement sale Bring in any advertisement, and we’ll do it! - $5,000 MINIMUM FOR YOUR TRADE?…NO PROBLEM! - NO PAYMENTS UNTIL MARCH?…NO PROBLEM! - $500.00 **** Gift Card or Apple I-pad Air?…NO PROBLEM! - GUARANTEED CREDIT APPROVAL?…NO PROBLEM! Home of the tires for life program! You make the rules…We deliver! Must present competitor’s advertisement upon arrival $5,000 trade, (preowned only) On the 20th we went in and inquired about a 2011 Honda minivan. We were told we couldn't the delayed payments until March because the finance company wouldn't approve and we were also told we couldn't get the gift card or iPad because the deal wasn't profitable for them. The email didn't contain any fine print or exclusions that would have led me to believe that there were any restrictions. Also, they run a tires for life program and we were told in the sales pitch that one oil change and one tire rotation per year is required to qualify for the tires for life. When we were signing the paperwork for the vehicle we were informed that you must get an oil change and tire rotation every 3000 miles to qualify.

Desired Settlement: I would like the terms adjusted so that my first payment is due in March as the email specifies, I would lie a $500 gift card or Apple iPad as the email specifies and I would like to qualify for tires for life with one oil change and tire rotation a year as I was told in the sales pitch. Thank You

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

 

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve the issue with our customer, **. *** ********.  The following is a description of the transaction.   **. ******** came into the showroom  with a copy of an  email he received from us  and wanted to negotiate a deal on a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The email requested a customer to “Must  present competitor’s advertisement upon arrival.”   **. ******** did not.  He did provide a printed copy of our email.  We negotiated a deal with **. ******** on a 2011 Honda Odyssey.  We did offer him $5,000.00 for his trade and did apply for financing for him.  Unfortunately, he did not qualify for the 90 day deferral.  We made him aware thru the negotiating process that the discounted price would not include a gift.  He proceeded to accept the deal.  He signed a form we call “WE OWE”  which would include a listing of items included in the deal.  He signed the “WE OWE” showing we did not have anything due him.

I can provide a copy.  The Tires for Life Program is an additional benefit we offer our customers.   There is a policy signed at the time of delivery.

In most cases the pre-owned vehicles are required to have an  oil change at 3,000 miles and a tire rotation @ 6,000 miles.  Since  **. ********’s van uses a synthetic oil he is required to change his oil every 6,000 miles.  He signed the agreement. 

 

I’d like to offer to **. ******** his choice of one of the offered gifts to mend our relationship.  I hope this will resolve this matter.

 

Sincerely,

***** ********

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have filed a civil complaint against Chevy 21.


Regards,

*** ********



Business Response:

We have received notification from the District Magistrate of a hearing  and did reach out to schedule with her office and customer.

Disappointed with our explanation a quick resolution could not take place.   As always  with respect for your  business management and fair resolutions

to customer concerns.  Is there additional information you would like us to provide to your office?

Sincerely,

***** ********

General Sales Manager

Chevrolet 21, Inc.

*** *** ****

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chevrolet 21, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)