This business is not BBB accredited.

Becker Wagonmaster, Inc.

Phone: (866) 952-4549 Fax: (866) 952-4654 4611 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103 ! There is an alert on Becker Wagonmaster, Inc. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Becker Wagonmaster, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1977 Business started: 02/01/1961 in 0
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Becker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Becker, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations


    4611 Hamilton Blvd

    Allentown, PA 18103 (866) 952-4549


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 28, 2013 my front two tires on my 2010 Subaru Legacy were bald on the inside to the point where the threads were showing, so Becker Subaru replaced them and "performed" an alignment as requested. The rear tires were rotated to the front and the new ones were put on in the rear. Not even three months later, May 17, 2013, I had to replace the front tires due to the same issue being bald on the inside of the tire. Again, the threads were showing. Becker Subaru said it was because all 4 tires should have been replaced at the same time, even though the original ones weren't showing any wear while they were on the rear of the car less than three months prior. But, I replaced the front ones yet again, and the tires were rotated (so the ones bought three months prior were now on the front). I went to my mechanic November 19, 2013, for a simple oil change, and he pulls me into the garage while my car is up on the lift and shows me the inside of the two front tires where I can clearly see the threads. He said my alignment was off, and I explained to him the story of getting one done 8 months prior, even showed him the receipt. He informed me that if an alignment was in fact done, the tires wouldnt have been worn the exact same way three months later, AND 5 months again after that, to the point where each time the threads were showing. What my mechanic thinks Becker Subaru probably did was just set the tow, or balanced the tires and charged me for an alignment. If everything was done correctly the first time, I wouldnt have had to purchase an additional 4 tires and a second alignment within 8 months.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the alignment Becker Subaru provided on 2/28/2013 for $89.95, second set of 2 tires purchased 5/17/2013 for $262.35, and the third set of 2 tires purchased 11/19/2013 for $222.50. A total of $574.80

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Becker Subaru (aka Becker Wagonmaster) to have a headgasket repair completed on my 1999 Subaru Legacy Outback SUS. I was told on the phone that the repair would be completed in 1 day guaranteed. The repair took 3 days. Also the price ~$2300, did not include various services that I was told would be completed. After I got the car back, I had to replace the coolant because it was not flushed as the service advisor told me it would be. The grounding wire was not tightened down properly causing intermitent electrical issues with the car, nearly causing 3 accidents. The final straw was the engine started leaking engine oil from one of the seals that they installed during the repair. When I initially called I was told that it was not under warranty and I would have to pay for the repair. I contacted my mechanic (****** from **********) to have the repairs performed. I contacted Becker to request money for the repair since their work was not completed correctly. Had the work been performed correctly the first time, I would not have needed to have my car go in for additional repairs. While ****** was working on the car, they found that Becker had installed one of the cam shafts out of time causing the engine to run harder. The major problem came in when they were taking off the Valve cover on the car. The bolts were broke off during the repair from Becker. Instead of extracting the bolt and replacing them correctly, the mechanic glued the bolt back in. This caused the valve cover to improperly seal and cause the cam seals to fail which required additional repairs. This also caused a risk of fire as the engine oil was leaking to the exhaust manifold and causing it to smoke. ****** talked to the shop manager at Becker and was told that they were not going to do anything about it.

Desired Settlement: My bill from ****** should be paid in full by Becker as it was a result of their neglegence. Had Becker performed the repair properly the first time, the additional repair would not have been needed. Given that I have already paid the bill, the money should be refunded to me via check or cash. I will not accept Becker store credit or complimentary services as I will not take my car to them to be worked on, nor will I take ANY car there for service or inspection.

Business Response:  Dear Philip,

In response to the complaint filed by ****** ***, ID# *******, we'd like to offer our own account of the events of January 2013, which differ somewhat from **. ***'s recorded statement. After consulting with the Service Advisor and Master technician involved with the repair, we've come across some inconsistencies:

•    The Advisor and technician are well aware that a repair of this complexity, on this particular engine size, takes at least 3 days. The customer was clearly informed of this.

•    We remove the positive battery routinely when we perform this repair and then reconnect it when finished. No ground wire was disturbed.

•    We were not given the opportunity to inspect an oil leak and we have no history of having to repair one.

•    If a camshaft was installed out of time, an obvious drivability concern would be apparent and the Check Engine light would be on. Neither was brought to our attention by the technician or the customer.

•    Bolts for the valve cover cannot be glued. They, most likely, had some residue on them from the gasket sealer used. This is normal.

•    The time lapse of nearly 8 months from the original repair until the complaint was registered raises the question: Why wasn't this brought to our attention a lot sooner?

It is never our intention to enter in to a dispute with any customer and we are certainly not insensitive to the customer's frustration. However, we do not feel that we are culpable in this matter.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I did contact Becker regarding the electrical malfunctions and was told it would cost ~$300 to repair. 

In regards to the timeline, the service advisor informed me multiple times it was a same day repair. Not 3 days as stated by the business. If the call was recorded my statement can be backed up call recorded logs. 
I had Becker check the oils smell (the leak) and was told by the lead technician that it was the cam seals and they would need 2 days to repair an the repair would not be free. It was not until after I had scheduled the repair at another repair shop that they said they would for free but I had to schedule 2 weeks on advance. (Given the dramatic jump on price that occurred on the first repair, it felt like a possible switch scenario.)
Certified mechanics from ****** in **********, PA performed the repair and documented the cam shaft timing issue, the cam shaft nick, and the valve cover bolt issue. The camshaft was not out of time enough to cause complete engine malfunction but enough to affect performance. Evidence of the broken and glued bolts were turned over to me by Car Doc. 
Given the multiple issues and inconsistency of facts from one employee to the next, I was my comfortable having Becker repair my car. 
Based on this information, I strongly reject their statement. 

****** ***