BBB Accredited Business since

American Service Center Associates of Alexandria LLC

Phone: (703) 341-2100 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 S Pickett St, Alexandria, VA 22304 http://www.mercedesalexandria.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Service Center Associates of Alexandria LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Service Center Associates of Alexandria LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Service Center Associates of Alexandria LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 03/01/2002 Business started locally: 03/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/01/2002 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is Active.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Morton J. Zetlin, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Morton J. Zetlin, Chairman
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mercedes Benz of Alexandria

Additional Locations

  • 200 S Pickett St

    Alexandria, VA 22304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** **** of Alexandria told us that would cover half of the maintenance package in order to complete the sale of a vehicle, however once they realized items were calculated the Manager did not try to rectify this issue of paying the $899 and they did not pay for their half. On Friday August 15, 2014 my mother and I visited the ******** **** of Alexandria location and began working with Mr. Danny S*****. We live in ************, Virginia and passed numerous dealerships to arrive at ******** **** of Alexandria. Mr. S***** took us on a test drive and was very helpful in locating the perfect vehicle (2014 ******** **** ******). After locating the vehicle at the sister location (******** **** of Arlington) we began working on an acceptable deal to purchase the car. Not having a prepaid maintenance package was a deal breaker since the *** that we were looking at came standard with the maintenance package. With this knowledge, Mr. S***** went and spoke with the New Sales Manager Mr. Tom I*******. After speaking with his Manager, Mr. S***** advised us that they would pay for half of the maintenance package to ensure the deal was sealed. We were advised that we would be responsible for $899 and the dealership would pay for the other half. After hearing that deal we felt as though that was an acceptable agreement and agreed to the Sales price with the knowledge that the dealership was paying for half of the package. If the dealership was not going to cover any costs for the maintenance this would have been a deal breaker. After the sales price was agreed to at 7pm, we advised Mr. S***** that we had dinner reservations and needed to leave and would fill out the additional paperwork the next day. My mother gave them her social security number and signed a form agreeing to the terms. As we got up to leave Mr. I******* came out of his office and said he needed a deposit to transfer the vehicle from the Arlington location to the Alexandria store. I advised Mr. I******* and Mr. S***** that no one told us that a deposit was needed to transfer the vehicle. If this fact was known we could have very easily driven 20 miles to the Arlington location and done the deal at that location. I advised Mr. I******* and Mr. S***** that we did not have a credit card available to put a hold on the vehicle. I had an American Express card with me but it was at the end of my cycle and charging $1,000 whether reversed the next day or not would have cost me $1000 because it showed as a purchase on the last day of the billing cycle. I offered to have Mr. I******* hold my credit card but not charge the card since we would be in on the following morning. Mr. I******* said that was not possible and began raising his voice to advise me that they were not going to pick up the vehicle unless I gave them a credit card and that he normally requests a $5,000 deposit. Once again I advised him that we were not aware and that I would bring a credit card in the morning and they could charge it then and pick up the car in the afternoon. The exchange of words and the raising of Mr. I*******’s voice caused employees and customers in the dealership to stop what they were doing and stare at us. After leaving the dealership, later in the night, we were playing around on the computer and noticed that the four-year prepaid maintenance for the *** was $899. After seeing that price we realized that in truth the dealership was not covering half of the maintenance package in which we agreed upon in the deal. On the following day, Saturday morning my mother received a call from Mr. S***** apologizing for what happened the previous night and said it should not have happened that way. Mr. S***** then told my mother that he would have the car available for her the same day and would not require a deposit. With that good news we returned to the dealership to purchase the vehicle. Upon arrival Mr. S***** had the vehicle cleaned and parked up front for viewing. The paperwork was already complete and ready for signature. We were very impressed with Mr. S***** and his display of great customer service. We advised Mr. S***** of the discrepancy in the pricing and what we were charged for versus what the package is selling for. After looking over the paperwork Mr. S***** realized there was indeed a mistake, and we were charged approximately $1400 for the maintenance package when we actually purchased a ***. Mr. S***** then realized an error was made and he would try to work it out and would personally provide something from him to ensure we were happy. Mr. S***** then went into Mr. I*******’s office to advise him of the error that occurred. Mr. I******* came out to the desk and advised my mother and I that there was no error and he doesn’t understand why we think there is an error because he calculated the numbers correctly and we agreed to the numbers. I advised Mr. I******* that we indeed agreed to the numbers, however, we agreed to the numbers based on the fact that the dealership was paying for half of the maintenance cost. The previous night we were quoted that the prepaid maintenance package was approximately $1400, which we learned, was untrue. Mr. I******* then stated he already did us a favor by bringing the vehicle without a deposit and there was nothing else that he could do to lower the price because he was at his bottom line price. I began explaining to Mr. I******* that we needed to come to an agreement because we had agreed to terms that the dealership did not uphold. He then began raising his voice again telling me that there was nothing else he could do and closed the folder and began to get up and walk away stating the deal is over. Once again people stopped what they were doing to look at us. My mother then had to stop him and tell him that he should not walk away when she is the one purchasing the vehicle. He then told me he was not dealing with me and asked my mother to go into the office with him. In the office she explained to him why she was dissatisfied at this point. The night before it was clearly stated that the dealership would cover half of the maintenance fee and now they were reneging on the agreement. She told him she still wanted the car but informed him that this was not good business practice! You cannot say one thing and then do another and try to make it right by stating “you agreed to the price!” He advised her that the vehicle was as low as he could get it. She informed him that she still wanted the vehicle however she did not like the fact that she was dealing with a dealership who did not live up to their end of the deal. While Mr. I******* and my mother were talking I informed Mr. S***** that I will NEVER deal with ******** **** of Alexandria and had I known this would occur we would have gone directly to the other dealership. I have purchased numerous luxury vehicles and have never once had a Manager of any sort raise his voice and argue with me on the show room floor not once but twice on two separate days. Mr. S***** stated that he believed Mr. I******* might have had a long day. I told Mr. S***** that I understand however in any profession it is not professional to argue or raise your voice at a client on the show room floor regardless of whether you have a good or bad day. In a service industry, luxury dealerships are expected to provide superb customer service in all aspects. Despite the fact that the vehicle was purchased, we are still very upset and unhappy with the level of service we were provided. It is never acceptable for a dealership to promise one thing and not provide an alternative or come to some sort of agreement when indeed they are wrong. I would like to commend Mr. S***** because he volunteered to provide out of his pocket all weather mats/a spare tire for the inconvenience and issues we encountered. All around, Mr. S***** was an outstanding salesman. As a company, a manager should never have its employees resolving situations when the manager does not care and did not offer any type of compensation. Mr. I******* exhibited poor management and customer service skills during our purchase experience. My mother loved the vehicle and still purchased the vehicle however we are VERY disappointed in her first luxury car buying experience at your dealership. As much as I would like to refer individuals to Mr. S*****, I am unable to due to the poor management and dishonesty present within your dealership.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of compensation since the dealership did not hold up there end of the deal by paying for half of the warranty.

Business Response:

August 27, 2014

Dear *** ******,
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint ID ********
Enclosed please find all of the e-mail communications between *** **** and our dealership. Please know that the purchaser was actually the gentleman's mother. He was present at the dealership during each visit and is certainly an interested party but not the purchaser of record.

I personally investigated *** **** concerns. As you can see from my e-mail to him highlighted in red on the attachment, there was a considerable back and forth during the negotiation process and a final all in price was agreed to. A price i may mention that was extremely favorable to the client. *** **** felt that they were entitled to more after the fact. I am glad to show anyone from your team our detailed accounting or the transaction.

We even offered to take the car back and give them a complete refund (see e-mail). As far as I am Concerned, we delivered a great car at a great price to them and we are not willing to offer anything additional.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further. The best number is my cell ###-###-####.
Peter C

General Manager

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below is a letter addressed to *** ******** General Manager of ******** **** of Alexandria regarding the deceptive sale and misrepresentation, and fraudulently withholding documents that disclose that a vehicle sold to me had body damage repairs on two separate occasions. Despite repeated attempts to,obtain the vehicles past recors, they were withheld. Dear **. ********, I am writing regarding the purchase of a *** **** last week from your dealership. We worked with both **** ******* and ***** *********. We traveled considerable distance after viewing a particular vehicle on the ******** *** search site. The transaction had plenty of unprofessional moments, which I’d be happy to share, however I will focus on the most egregious, the clear misrepresentation of the vehicle history. **** was asked, at a minimum, 3 separate times about any accident or body damage. **** was emphatic that no body work had been performed, and offered up the ****** as evidence. My husband, in my presence, advised **** that vehicle history reports vary considerably with regard to their accuracy, based on a variety of factors. He requested from ****, and subsequently from others, the service history printout for the vehicle. This request was made many times verbally, and also committed to writing several additional times when unresponsive to verbal requests. **** continued to state he was working with the tech to produce them. I traveled by train and arrived to pick up the vehicle last Wednesday, January 15, 2014 and worked with *****. During our conversation, I asked numerous times for the history report and was advised that I was not entitled to them, as they contained personal information, which prohibited distribution. I was given excuse after excuse as to why such paperwork could not be provided. I insisted and advised that many dealers I’ve worked with previously offered such details, and that he would need to redact sensitive information or I could not consummate the transaction. After four hours and much insisting, ***** finally gave me a copy of records printed from the car's history during the final minutes of my stay. This history was handed to me along with the owner's manual as he was explaining the vehicle features. I left the dealer frustrated but glad to be on my way home with the car after a long day. ***** promised to provide me with a copy of the remaining documentation I had requested such as the *** checklist and a copy of all purchase documents. These too, I was told I would have in a few days. I returned home and parked the car in my garage and the car has not moved since that day, last Wednesday, January 15th. Over the weekend, I had a chance to look at the printout that I was handed. It clearly states that on two separate occasions the vehicle sustained body damage which was not only known, but some of the work was performed by your dealership. They occurred at 3,000 miles and again at 11,000 miles, and included front-end parts including a new headlamp, grille and various other parts. The report refers to a secondary estimate for body repair and refinishing for each repair, none of which has been provided to us. While not intimately aware of the applicable laws in the State of VA, I am aware that in various jurisdictions some repairs need not be disclosed. Here we are discussing a different fact pattern, one where the proper degree of due diligence was done, and the specific questions were asked – and both my husband and I both advised clearly that were there repairs to the vehicle, we would likely not continue with the transaction. Based on the circumstances and responses, it is only in hindsight that I reasonably conclude that the information was purposefully concealed and withheld, constituting a material breach of contract. Today I will contact both the Consumer Protection Section of the Attorney General of Virginia to open a formal complaint against your dealership. I will also contact the Better Business Bureau and other venues that accept complaints on car dealers, to explain my experience. I expect this will be resolved in a responsible, professional manner. I am copying this letter to ********* **** USA and ******** **** Financial as I have not made a payment on this vehicle and I will not pay for a vehicle that was fraudulently misrepresented in the inducement. The vehicle will remain in my garage, unused until such time as this matter is resolved. I expect an immediate response to this letter along with a detailed plan of action to be taken to provide me with the information requested and with how you intend to remedy the situation. Regards, **** *******

Desired Settlement: As outlined in my letter, we first would like the complaint addressed. We want the entire history of the vehicle disclosed including all repairs and body work. Lastly, we want the vehicle picked up at our home and the full purchase price refunded at no cost to us.

Business Response:

Our General Manager, **. **** ******* spoke to ***. Caughey about her vehcle issue.  We have currently sent her a ***** package of vehicle history that she has requested.  The vehicle did have two (2) minor accidents which were not on the ****** at the time of sales and were unknown to ********-**** of Alexandria at that time.  The repairs were bumper refinishing and a headlight. 

The repairs were minor in nature and our General Manager has offered ***. Caughey a Premium 3 service ********-**** Pre-Paid maintance agreement as an apology for her inconvience.  We are currnetly waiting for a reply.

 

Thank you

 

*** *****

********-**** of Alexandria

Controller

12/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I had a car accident in the parking lot of my kids school which I thought it was due to the brake failure. Due to that there were some damages occurred on the body of my Mercedes GLK 350 which I leased from the company, it has been towed to Mercedes service section. After two days I talked to the service manager pertaining the repair costs, **** ,the who gave me an estimation of $3000.00 as a total cost of the body damage, and that i have to bear all that cost. I asked them to email me exactly what was the parts that needs to be replaced , they sent me an estimation with details but nothing about the break. When I talked to **** about the break problem and how the incident happened in the parking lot and I was unable to take the full break, he said he will check it and told me if it turns out the break is bad then they will bear the costs of the repairing. He asked my permission to let one of his workers to drive the car home to make sure there is nothing wrong with the break as he drives on the high speed, I gave him that permission although the idea was so wired . Next day **** gave me a call and told me the the break is operating 100% , but i told him i won't drive that car because the engine was making a squeek noise whenever I push the break, then he said(well there is something minor on the break that needs to be fixed but that is only after we open the break and check it) . I couldn't come up to a deal with **** regarding the cost , so i decided to take the car back home, when I asked him if it is drivable and safe , he said ( no) and the reason he gave me was that ( there are some stuff taken off like the plastic pad that covers the front tire so some of the sharp stuff might get into the tire if i make a sharp turn and might cause a tire puncture) , I kept asking him if there is anything else that makes the car unsafe, he said that is all. I asked for the plastic cover and took it home and drove home. I took the car to a mechanic that my lawyer recommended to take a quote from him, he checked the whole thing and gave me an estimation of $1200 for total repairing, when I asked him if he can check the break and give me a report of the condition of the break, he did it in less than half an hour and celled me back asking me to go back to him to see the (totally damaged rotters that holds the break in the front tire) telling me to make pictures of it and show it to the Mercedes people , The mechanic believes that the reason for a worn out rotter is that cheap spare parts used for the break that couldn't resist after only having 20.000 miles on the car and that should not happen with Mercedes brand. he advised me to take the car back to the company and ask them to replace the rotters as they are under warrant. When I took the car back to **** and showed him the pictures and asked him why he didn't tell me about the break and let me drive it home, he simply said that he mentioned that verbally over the phone but not in writing and that they are not responsible of the worn out rotters and would not replace it, when I told him the the service B! is due and he should include that in the service , he said that service B1 would not cover the break and I have to pay for Service B1 which is around$500, I blamed him for not telling me anything about the break even when they did service A last year , they didn't say anything about the break. He simply said that they won't replace it.

Desired Settlement: I hold Mercedes responsible for exposing my life and my kids life to danger by hiding the truth about the break. I asked them to provide me with a review about the history of the car but they didn't. I demand them to do the service B1 for free and fix the rotters all (4 ) for free since this is their responsibility to ensure my family's safety, and that is the least I'm asking for a leased car that I costs me $554.00 every month for a car that is defective and still cannot guarantee my safety? what else can be more more safe other than Mercedes 2011!!

Business Response:

Dear **. ******,

In response to this complaint  from ***** ***** *****.

** ***** visited our Service Center on November 04,, 2013 stating that she hit another car in a parking lot due to brake failure and is insisting that Mercedes-Benz of Alexandria be responsible for this.

The last service visit of ** ***** to Mercedes-Benz of Alexandria was on November 12, 2012 for the first service due on her vehicle when it had 11,460 miles on the odometer. When she visited us this November, she had 20,283 miles on the odometer. 

When she brought her car to us on Nov 4th of this year...she stated that her brake pedal was going to the floor and that the vehicle would not stop and she hit a parked car.

When these types of concerns come to our shop, we put our lead technicians on the case and also get one of our shop foremen to oversee it as well. During the inspection of the vehicle, we did not find any brake components on the vehicle that failed, there were no computer fault codes in the braking systems and the brake pads and rotors we over the the specifications that would require replacement. 

By her description of the events, it would appear that there was some sort of hydraulic brake failure and not in the case of low brake pads and/or rotors.

After our initial inspection of the vehicle, we found nothing wrong with the braking system or braking components. The vehicle was also driven extensively by our Technician and what she described did not take place.

We did advise her not to drive the car as the front fender liner was rubbing the l/f tire due to the accident. She decided to pick her vehicle up.

She did later call **. **** ******** stating that she had her car at another shop and they informed her that the brake and rotors were shot and needed to be replaced. In a gesture of goodwill, **. ******** invited her back in to check the brakes once again since we did not have the actual measurements of the pads and rotors. 

Since her 2nd maintenance was due on the vehicle and she had NOT yet done it, we offered to perform this service at no charge to her. 
The front brake rotors measured above the minimum service limits and the brake pads were low, but not yet requiring replacement. The rear brake pads and rotors both were above minimum service limits as well.  A brake fluid flush was also recommended as required by the manufacturer as maintenance. 

In closing....there were no brake failures found on the vehicle and what ** ***** is implying that we put her in jeopardy is not fact. Her vehicle has several other impacts on it as well that are separate from the one in question. The brake pads and rotors are maintenance items that are the responsibility of the customer and not covered under the manufacturers new car limited warranty.  Also, her claim of the brake pedal going to the floor would not be caused by worn out brake pads and rotors. 

Again, as a gesture of goodwill, we did perform the 20,000 mile service on ** *****'s vehicle at no charge to her to put her mind to ease about the condition of the vehicle. She is in need of replacing front pads and rotors soon but they are not in the condition that they would cause any sort of accident that she is claiming. 

I have attached both repair order invoices while dealing with ** *****. 

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.

Regards,

**** ******
Service Director
Mercedes-Benz of Alexandria
###-###-####
 
 
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Service Center Associates of Alexandria LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)