BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alexandria Toyota Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alexandria Toyota Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Alexandria Toyota Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 10/19/1973 Business incorporated 10/19/1973 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov
The number is Active.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Taylor, Owner Mr. Robert L. Bell, Service Manager Ms. Jenny Kichinko, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Taylor, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Alexandria Toyota-Scion Jack Taylor's Alexandria Toyota-Scion

Additional Locations

  • 2514 Jefferson Davis Hwy

    Alexandria, VA 22301

  • 3750 Jefferson Davis Hwy

    Alexandria, VA 22305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About one month ago I had my radiator replaced at another Toyota dealership on my drive out from Seattle to Washington DC. When I got to DC the new radiator failed. I took the vehicle in to **** ******'s for a replacement radiator, but because the previous dealership didn't install a Toyota part **** ****** Toyota was not going to replace the radiator. I completely understand **** ****** Toyota has no obligation to replace a part that is not under Toyota Warranty. Because **** ****** Toyota had quoted over $850 for the work and the previous dealership agree to refund the $458 they charged, I decided to have the vehicle towed back from **** ****** Toyota to my house in Washington DC. Two hours prior to having the vehicle towed to my house I contacted **** ****** Toyota to inform them a tow truck would be coming by to pick up my vehicle. A member of the service team told me it wouldn't be a problem and hung up. When I received my vehicle I noticed they had taken off both skid plates under the front of the vehicle and did not put them back on. I went ahead and had the radiator replaced but did not want to drive on the highway with it exposed. I asked **** ****** to send me my parts and they said it was a mistake and they would get them to me. After two days of talking with them on the phone and texting with a service representative named George Q****, they said that they will not be getting them over to me and I will have to get them myself. The last four texts from George were, "Since you feel like that I am not bringing you nothing." "Nothing." "Get it yourself." "And I don't care who you call." Now I have to find a way to go to **** ****** Toyota, get my parts, and install them on my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Because I need the part before I can drive my car I'll probably end up resolving this situation by paying a cab or someone to take me out there to get the parts from my car, which are have been sitting on the floor of a garage since I took my vehicle in last Wednesday. If I do have to pay someone I would want that money refunded.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

*** ******** did not contact us to decline further work and sent a tow truck to Alexandria Toyota without notifying anyone at the dealership. With notice, the car would have been prepared for delivery. There was not time to put the skid plate back on as the driver was waiting. Additionally, our employee did have a serious situation for which he had to leave and that is why he could not bring the part to *** ********. However, we have discussed with our employee appropriate ways to respond to a customer. *** ******** drove himself to the dealership to pick up the part so we do not feel a refund is warranted at this time. The check-out time for the vehicle is $125.95 and as a good will gesture we will not charge *** ********.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did contact the business prior to the tow truck arriving and the service department acknowledged a tow truck would be coming in 2 hours and it would not be a problem.  The check-out time charge also was never even discussed because the vehicle was brought to fix a part I believed was under warranty. I can't understand how a dealership can pretend to charge someone for opening a hood and looking at a radiator that was installed less than a month ago by another Toyota dealership. 


Also, I'd be glad to share the entire text conversations I had with the employee who apparently had a "serious situation." I was initially told before noon, then less than an hour and a half before they were to show up I was told 4-5, and finally after 4 I was told it would arrive the following day. This was a day after not receiving a call back until I called the service manager.  In the text exchange when I explained this is unacceptable, the employee appears to be personally offended and exclaims I'll be getting "Nothing." Again, I'd be happy to share the exchange.

Lastly, I did not drive myself in my own vehicle because it was missing he part the dealership refused to deliver. I had to borrow a car from someone who lived in the area which was not only an inconvenience to me but also the person who couldn't drive to work on that particular day.  The entire experience with **** ****** Toyota completely lacked any professionalism or basic customer service. The claims that I did not contact them are false and I can show my call history to prove it. They also did not wave any charges because no charges for work were warranted. 

Regards,

****** ********








4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saeed told me that my vehicle included the ******* GPS navigation. I didn't need to use it until recently, and when I went to use it, it wasn't installed. E-mails to Saeed have gone unanswered and it seems now that his email is permanently disconnected.

Desired Settlement: I want the ******* GPS to be installed ASAP.

Business Response: From: Jenny K******* <*********@alexandriatoyota.com>
Date: Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 3:19 PM
Subject: Complaint for John Johnson
To: "ddennis@mybbb.org" <ddennis@mybbb.org>


*** ******,
 
I would like to address *** *******’s concerns.
 
Saeed was the Finance Manager that handled the financing on the purchase.  He has not worked here since October of 2014.  At that time both his email and voicemail were deactivated.  The salesperson, not the Finance Manager, would have been the person who discussed the accessories on the vehicle.  We have a copy of the list of available accessories in *** *******’s deal.  This would have been presented by the salesperson at the time of sale.  The ******* is an add on accessory and this vehicle is not equipped with it.  The accessory list shows the price to add this equipment to be $1199.00.  *** ******* did not request the accessory be added and the $1199.00 was not charged to him.  No equipment is owed at this time.
 
If *** ******* wishes to discuss this further, he may contact me at ###-###-####. 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
Jenny K*******
Controller
###-###-#### office
###-###-#### cell
 
 
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I specifically recall asking Saeed about the navigation, as he mentioned that feature when we were signing the contract. He said that it would be thrown in as part of the package because I was extremely dissatisfied with the deceptive practices Mr. Saeed used in order to get me to buy the car. The head unit is installed, but when I press the "Map" button, it asks for me to call to have that feature installed. Please schedule an install at no cost to rectify the situation.

Regards,

**** *******








Business Response:

The vehicles are equipped with the head unit and are Navigation ready, however, the ******* is an upgrade and additional installation would be necessary. Equipment owed to a customer is recorded in multiple places.  We have no record of any equipment owed to the customer.  The customer would have been given a “We Owe” form.  If the customer has this form, he may contact me at ###-###-####.  Otherwise, I am unable to honor the customer’s request to have the ******* added free of charge. 

Sincerely,

Jenny K*******

Controller

1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to formally complain about a negative experience I had at Jack T*****’s Alexandria Toyota/***** car dealership in Alexandria, Virginia, on Thursday, November 13, 2014. I fell victim to an obvious bait-and-switch case and I am requesting that your office investigate for other examples of advertising fraud by the Jack T***** Alexandria Toyota/***** car dealership, and take appropriate action to either deter this negligent behavior and/or to warn other customers to these fraudulent practices. The Toyota website highlighted a lease special on a 2014 Toyota **** for $169/month for 24 month lease with $1,999 due at signing (Attachment 1.) I went to the local Jack T***** website and saw the same deal, and searched the current new car inventory for available ****s. I found a 2014 **** on the local Jack T***** website, and the webpage for the actual car also included the lease special of $169/month for 24 month lease and $1,999 due at signing (Attachments 2 and 3.) I called the Jack T***** dealership on Thursday, November 13 and was connected to Kevin in the new sales department; I asked Kevin if the specific **** (VIN *****************) was in stock and available for the special lease offer of $169/month. He said the car was at the dealership and was part of the lease special. I told Kevin I would come by that evening or the next day (Friday), and that I had a current lease with Jack T***** that was expiring in the next few months. When I arrived at the Jack T***** dealership on Thursday, I introduced myself to Kevin and reminded him that I was interested in the black **** for the $169 lease special. Kevin was friendly and led my brother and I to the **** for a test drive. When we returned from the test drive, I told Kevin I was interested in the car and we went to his desk to “talk the numbers.” When Kevin asked me what I was interested in, I told him that my lease was ending in a few months and I was receiving offers from other dealerships to buy me out of my lease and wanted to first talk with them (the Jack T***** dealership) so I could stay with Toyota. Kevin asked me how long of a lease and what sort of structure (i.e., larger down payment vs. larger monthly payment) I was seeking and I told him I was flexible on both the length of lease and the payment structure. Kevin said his appraiser would have to check out my car first before we could discuss numbers, so I gave him my keys and he was gone for about twenty minutes. When he returned, Kevin told me that my car was appraising for about $1,000 less than what I currently owed on the lease ($12,000 appraisal, about $13,000 lease), so I would have to pay the $1,000 difference in addition to the lease unless I wanted to wait until the end of the lease to turn in the car. Kevin drafted several estimates, and the best offer he provided was a three year lease with a down payment of $1,200 and a $360 monthly payment; if I paid less than $1,200 the monthly payment would increase accordingly, and if I did a two year lease the cost was even greater. I’m not sure which offers included the $1,000 extra cost due to the appraisal, but even considering that added cost does not account for the difference between the publicized special of $169/month and the $360/month offer. When I reminded Kevin that I came for the publicized lease deal on the 2014 **** for $1,999 down and $169 a month, he said that the special was only for the base model car, of which they had none in stock at the Jack T***** dealership, and that the Toyota website used that advertising tactic to get customers in the door. I told Kevin that the special was also published on the local Jack T***** website and that he had, earlier that day, confirmed the special on the specific car I was interested in and I had been clear that the reason I went to the dealership was for the $169 special on the specific ****. Kevin said that the fine print limited the special to only the base model and that the local dealership website doesn’t have the special associated with the specific car I was looking at. As shown in Attachment 2, the $169 monthly lease special is definitely associated with the car’s specific VIN number that I wanted. Kevin said the estimates he provided were all he could offer, and he shrugged me off when I asked him why anyone would pay $1,000 and over TWO TIMES the monthly payment previously offered. I thanked him and told him to keep me in mind if any actual specials came up on the **** in the coming months. All indicators, from the Toyota website, to the Jack T***** website, to the car’s actual webpage, and then multiple verbal confirmations from the salesperson, state that the **** I was interested in is eligible for the $169 monthly lease special. I am not only disappointed as a current leasee of the Jack T***** dealership, but also worry that this same fraudulent bait-and-switch tactic is used on all customers. This is my formal complaint against the Jack T*****Alexandria Toyota/***** car dealership and encourage the appropriate investigative and actionable steps are taken to prevent this type of fraudulent behavior. For full disclosure, I reached out to Jack T***** on Friday, November 14 to discuss my experience or if there was a misunderstanding on my part, and Jack T***** does indeed honor advertised and stated lease specials. I spoke with Michael Nguyen, sales manager, and he requested a few days to investigate my complaint. After not hearing back from Michael for several weeks, I left him a message on December 8 and am still waiting to see if he has made any progress on this incident.

Desired Settlement: Honor the special lease price of either the advertised **** that I test drove or a similar model.

Consumer Response: Thank you for your quick response.  I've attached the images I mentioned in my complaint.  Please let me know if you need additional information.  Thank you, ******** ******

Business Response:

The advertised special on our website is a Manufacturer's special and the same link appears on other local dealerhip websites as well. That link and special are direct feeds from the Manufacturer.  When *** ****** left she said she was going to other dealerships.  She would have been offered the same special with the same conditions.  What is difficult to see on the copies sent by *** ******, but clear on the website, is a disclaimer link that stands out as the print is in blue.  The disclaimer and the link to it are normal print., not fine print.  There was no intent to hide or mislead the nature of the specials offered by the manufacturer.   Additionally, had *** ****** been interested in the base model vehicle that was eligilbe for the price she was requesting, we could search the data base and see if the vehicle was available.  We have the ability to get vehicles that are not currently in our inventory.

*** ****** does still owe payments on her current lease, which would also affect the monthly payment.

As the manufacturers specials change monthly, we cannot be sure what will be offered at the time *** ******'s current lease is finished.  We will be more than happy to help her with a new lease under the terms set by the manufacturer at the time her current lease expires.

Sincerely,

Jenny K*******

Controller

 

 

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In trading in our ***** ****** for a new ****** ***** from this dealership on Friday, May 30, 2014, the dealership agreed to a price, then inconspicuously changed that price by $750 when we sat down to sign the paperwork. My husband and I unexpectedly beg** shopping for a car last week after the birth of our new child, as our ***** did not accommodate a car seat appropriately. This beg** with my husband making the initial visit to the dealership and coming up with ** agreed-upon price. My husband discussed the car seat issue, our newborn, and our need to be quick and straightforward about pricing with the salesperson, Sheto E*****, as our time was limited for obvious reasons. He voiced our intentions to take advantage of Toyota's 0% financing in purchasing a new car. He also made it clear that our trade-in car had been financed and still had ** outstanding balance. When it came time to discuss the purchase price of the new car and our trade-in value, my husband asked that this dealership beat the pricing he was given at another dealership - $28,000 out the door on the new car and $19,000 trade-in value. Ms. E***** brought in a sales manager, George J*******, who agreed to match but not beat those numbers. The new car cost was consistently discussed in terms of "out the door" price, as we wanted the bottom line numbers, not a number that would inevitably be increased by the various destination charges, title charges, tax, etc. Although we had hoped the dealership would beat the $28k and $19k numbers, we were satisfied with their matching them. Therefore, my husband came home to get me and our two week old baby to bring us in to sign the paperwork. With us all there, the numbers were again discussed as $28k "out the door" on the new car and $19k in trade-in value. Having come to a verbal agreement, my husband and I sat down with Toyota's finance manager, Hue V**. Mr. V** was not a part of the prior discussions about pricing. Nevertheless, he plugged numbers into his computer and turned the monitor towards us for confirmation. To our surprise, the numbers did not include the $28k out the door price Mr. J******* agreed to. Instead, the out the door price on the new ***** was approximately $28,680. Fortunately, we noticed this discrepancy and inquired further. Mr. V** brought Mr. J******* back into the room, where he proceeded to tell us that his $28k "out the door" price was not really the out the door price. He acknowledged proposing the $28k out the door price, but now added the disclaimer that it was the out the door price only if we were paying cash for the vehicle. According to Mr. J*******, we should have known that "out the door" price was contingent on us paying cash, despite our previously voicing our intention to finance to Ms. E***** and despite Ms. E***** and Mr. J******* both knowing that our trade-in ***** had been and continued to be subject to financing rather than being paid for in full. Mr. J******* acted as if this was something we should have known and that it was a mere misunderstanding. However, I've yet to find anything supporting his contention that it is industry standard to assume cash payment when quoting ** "out the door" price. My husband and I were very upset at both the change in price and the fact that the change in price was hidden right up until we put our signature to the contract. We expressed our view that Mr. J*******'s actions had been dishonest at best. He disagreed, of course. Ultimately, my husband and I begrudgingly signed the contract, at the higher price. Although we certainly could have walked away, by this point, we had spent a significant amount of time in this dealership with our two-week old baby and we felt it most important that we simply move on and get out the door with the new car that accommodated the car seat appropriately. Nevertheless, we find the business practice used by this dealership, and especially that of Mr. J*******, to be inappropriate. He was well aware of our situation, he was well aware of what we meant by ** "out the door" price, he agreed to a price, but he then failed to honor that price. Moreover, in failing to honor that price, he never bothered telling us about the price increase, leaving us to find it in the fine print of the contract as we sat down to sign the purchase agreement.

Desired Settlement: My husband and I believe that Jack T***** Toyota should refund us the difference between our actual out the door price and the out the door price Mr. J******* verbally agreed to. We also believe that the practices of failing to honor an agreement and hiding that failure to honor the agreement are dishonest and inappropriate business practices that should cease. Jack T***** Toyota owes us an apology.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

We received the complaint about the ******* experience at Alexandria Toyota.  They are requesting that we refund a portion of the money back to them.  We do not agree with their position.

The ******* had a choice of a $1500 rebate if they were paying cash for their vehicle or a $750.00 rebate and 0% financing if they decided to finance the vehicle with Toyota Financial Services.  These are rebates offered by TFS. Customers who chose 0% financing are not eligible for the $1500.00 rebate..  My understanding is that the ******* want the 0% financing and a $1500.00 rebate.  TFS is not willing to give both and we are not willing to refund the difference.  We be;lieve they received a very good deal on the purchase of the vehicle and we are able to document this. 

In closing, our position is that the ******* are not entitled to any reimbursement from Alexandria Toyota.

 

Sincerely,

Jack T*****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

In its response, Jack T***** Toyota suggests that we had a choice between the $750 rebate and 0% financing or $1,500 rebate without financing.  However, at no point was this "choice" offered during our negotiation.  We negotiated a price with the dealership by speaking only in terms of the "out the door" price of the vehicle.  As we explained at the time, we insisted on speaking in terms of the "out the door" price so that we did not come to a tentative agreement only to then have the dealership begin to reveal additional costs such as destination charges, taxes, title charges, or what is now at issue - a difference in rebate.  At no point during our negotiation did anyone at Jack T***** Toyota mention anything about a difference in the price depending on whether we paid cash or utilized Toyota's 0% financing offer, despite us clearly indicating that we would be using that 0% financing.  We independently discovered the difference while reviewing the fine print of the written contract.  Had we not reviewed the fine print so carefully, we would have never known that the price we verbally agreed to was not the price we paid. 

In its response, Jack T***** Toyota also suggests that we were given a very good deal on our car and that they can document this.  The dealership made the same argument at the time, even going so far as to claim they were losing money on the deal, which we find incredible.  Following our complaint to the BBB, Jack T***** called, again suggesting that we got a great deal.  Even if true, this is entirely irrelevant.  It does not negate their use of deceptive sales practices.

To conclude, our argument is this -- Jack T*****'s representative was doing everything in his power to be a "yes man", even if it meant being deceptive or dishonest.  He found a way to say "yes" to the price we were willing to walk out the door paying, without any intention of actually giving us that price.  Although he interpreted the "out the door" price to include destination charges, taxes, title charges, etc., he somehow failed to interpret it as also including any difference in Toyota's rebate.  The dealership has never disputed that fact.  Instead, they've suggested that it was a "misunderstanding" - one that we should apparently ignore because they claim we got a good deal anyways.

Although we ultimately signed the contract, purchasing the vehicle at the higher price and expecting to never see that money again, the BBB should take any action to tell Jack T***** Toyota that it cannot conduct business in this manner.


Regards,

******* & **** ******








Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

I received a copy of the ******s’ response to the Better Business Bureau (BBB).  I believe the ******* want you to admonish my company in some way because they do not think that they were treated properly.

Let me say that had I been at Alexandria Toyota when the ******* were here, we would not be having this discussion.  **. ****** called our sales team “a bunch of liars”.  Had I been present I would have told **. ****** to leave and never return and if he did it would be considered trespassing.  In his response to the BBB **. ****** called our sales manager a “yes man” and “dishonest” and suggested he was “deceptive”.

In my opinion, the ******* behavior is reprehensible and rude.  If they did not like the way the negotiations were going, they should’ve left.  The fact is they stayed even after our sales manager suggested that they go home overnight and give it some thought.  The ******* were told the price would not change overnight.  **. ****** and his wife decided to stay.  When I had my discussion with **. ****** by phone and brought this up he said that made no difference at all because he had not signed the contract.  I, of course, agreed with him.  The ******* signed the contract .  I asked **. ****** why he signed the contract if he believed all these things about Alexandria Toyota.  His response to me was that he had a new baby which required a lot of attention and his time was very important as was his wife’s.  I pointed out to him that to all parties involved in this transaction, time is important, not just his and his wife’s. 

In summary, the ******* agreed to a price that was fully disclosed in the contract and buyers order they signed.  They have made all kinds of allegations without supporting them with facts.  If anyone should be reprimanded for their behavior, in my opinion, it is the ******s.  If they wish to discuss this further they may contact my attorney **** ****** or ***** ***** at ******* and ******.  ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

Jack T*****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Although Mr. T***** has now characterized us as rude and suggested we contact his lawyers, he has still never denied the foundation of our complaint - that we were quoted an "out the door price," but then discretely given a higher price when it came time to sign the contract.  We will let the details of our complaint, as explained in earlier correspondence, stand as is.

Mr. T*****'s primary argument seems to be that we got a good deal on the car, and we had the opportunity to walk away before signing the contract.  Neither is relevant to the complaint.  Even if we got a good deal on the car and even if we had the opportunity to walk away before signing the contract, neither absolve his team from what we believe to be a deceptive or dishonest sales practice.  
While Mr. T***** has now suggested that we are not welcome at his business due to our "reprehensible" behavior and our allegedly calling his team "a bunch of liars," an accusation we vehemently deny, it is telling that Mr. T***** made no such accusations before.  In fact, when Mr. T***** reached out to **. ****** via telephone to discuss the issue, the cordial conversation ended with Mr. T***** encouraging our family to not let this experience keep us from coming back to use his dealership in the future for service.  His change of heart and new attempt to deflect blame nothing more than a distraction.

Regards,

**** ******, Esq.
******* ****** , Esq.








3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a warranty contract agreement with **** ****** Alexandria Toyota over my 2007 Toyota Sienna Tag *******. On December 21st 2013 the vehicle develop a problem and was towed to my mechanic. He told me it was an engine problem and because my warranty had not expired I towed it to **** ****** Alexandria Toyota. on January 23rd 2014 I had a call from them that they've turn down responsibility because they thick there was neglect on my part. There has been regular maintenance on this vehicle since I bought it. This can be verified from **** **** at ****** **** in Alexandria. There was anti freeze in the car and the temperature indicator did not show any thing of over heating.

Desired Settlement: Complete repair of my vehicle and share cost at 33.3% for me and 66.7% for **** ****** Alexandria Toyota.

Business Response:

**. ****** misunderstood, it was the extended warranty company that denied coverage of the repair.  The dealer has contacted the customer and he has stated that he would retract his complaint and continue to work with the warranty company.  Alexandria Toyota is continuing to assist in helping him to work with the extended warranty company.

If any additional information is needed, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Controller

###-###-####

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It was the dealership which sold the warranty on behalf of ****** ***** ********* ******** ***. The dealership claim's it was the Insurance Services which turn down my request and gave me the number to call. I called them and they said their decision was base on report from the dealership. Both organizations are saying there was lack of servicing of the vehicle. This is far from the truth. I do regular servicing at ***** **** #*** at **** ***** **** ****** **********, VA ***** phone *** *** ****. The engine as a machine can generate problems anywhere and time and result in lost of oil or antifreeze. The temperature sensor did not indicate high temperature reading to alert me of over heating. Regular servicing is to mitigate and reduce any problem but cannot eliminate this hundred percent a problem. It is a conspiracy to deny  me the benefit of my warranty.

If this warranty had expired a day earlier they would have denied me service and hence if it is within the period then they have to fulfill  their part of the contract. They have to return the total cost of the warranty so that I add my money and repair it outside Toyota.

Regards,

******* ******








11/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership on Oct. 28, 2012. From the day I purchased this vehicle I have had so many problems with it, including the dealership throwing my warranty off that i paid over $1,500 for. The first day the vehicle was supposed to be detailed and the rotors and brakes serviced. They provided a loaner car for me and I was promised my car the next day, but i did not get it until three days after and the vehicle was not professionally detailed as promised. A couple of days after I finally got the vehicle back the car started running hard, the steering was off, the car hesitated to accelerate properly, and I had to crank the engine twice because the first time it would always cut off. I talked to the salesman and he told me to bring it back. So I did just that. He told me that they changed the oil, tuned the car up, rotated the tires, checked the transmission, and aligned the vehicle. Only to get the car back a week after and the same problems occurred all over again, so I called him back and he told me to bring the vehicle back in. Once again I did and they had my vehicle for another full week. Then i had to take it back again because the car once again was hesitating to accelerate and the steering was still off and it was causing a lot of wear on the tires. This time I returned the vehicle i ran into the used car sales manager. He knew nothing about me coming in and nothing about the problem. He grabbed the first technician he saw roaming around the dealership and told me to tell him the problems I was having with car, and then walked off. The technician explained to me that he could not do anything because he gets work orders from the service writer that works in the service dept. I had to go and find the manager where he was sitting at his desk doing nothing, and I knocked on the door and he asked me what did I need him for and I told him that the salesman told me that he made reservations for me to get ANOTHER loaner car. He went looking around and finally came back with some keys for a loaner car and said call the shop in the morning. I called the shop and they assigned me an adviser. When I told the adviser that i had just purchased the vehicle from lot he seemed to be shocked that the vehicle was sold there. He did an inspection and said that the car needed a rack and pinion. That took another week to get done. Got the vehicle back and nothing changed, I was still having the same problems. I kept the vehicle for a month and back in the shop it goes, but this time the used car sales department did their best not to have anything to do with it. The service writer told me that the car needed CV boots and they were leaking, my transmission was reset and that unless I was going to pay for it I would have to start using my warranty. But I found that to be funny because if they inspected the steering like they said the first time then they would have saw that the car needed CV boots. And to mention once again this is all within 4 months. I recently found out why the car has all of these issues, and it because it was in a front end collision that i was not informed about at time of sale. Everyday this vehicle breaks down more and more and nobody seems to want to do anything about it.

Desired Settlement: I would like another vehicle similar to the one I purchased or greatly reduce the price.

Business Response: The customer for the above case was contacted by our service manager, ***** **** and the issue was resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Alexandria Toyota Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart