BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alexandria Hyundai LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Alexandria Hyundai LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Alexandria Hyundai LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2001 Business started: 10/20/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB)-VA
2201 West Broad Street Ste 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Reilly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Reilly, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 1707 Mount Vernon Ave

    Alexandria, VA 22301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2 ½ yr old car has sat for a week at the dealer and it seems I have to drive down each and every time to get a status update (no one call you back there). I picked Alex Hyundai due to the positive and proactive conversation I had with the service dept adviser Brock (I had initially asked for the service manager, but Brock said he could handle things.) I’d describe Brock as energetic, and seemingly proactive when we spoke (and later met) My wife’s Hyundai ****** ******* turbo (all the bells and whistles), started spewing oil out of the tail pipe. It got bad enough that we decided to stop driving and had it towed to my mechanic. He said it had a bad turbo. This cars designed to be run in the hot of the Sahara Desert, and the cold of Alaska, so here in Wash DC, a car with a 10 yr 100k warrantee should last well past that, right? Well that’s what my service adviser led me to believe, they went and spoke to their Warrantee Rep after I mentioned that my less than 3 yr old car actually has 106k miles on it. (wife has a long highway commute to work) and then called me back and said they would diagnose it for free, and more likely than not they Hyundai would cover the whole bill. (And if not the while bill, a large portion of it. I said to Brock, if you only cover say half, I might be better off elsewhere, because already know can have the turbo replaced for half of what you say it will cost. (you know the drill, lots of hands in the cookie jar whenever something has to go to the dealer) Brock said, not it would probably be lore like 90%. So, I head down to my mechanics to discuss, and on the way stop in Alex Hyundai and meet Brock face to face and discuss the plan. He said if I have ti there today, he will have it diagnosed the next morning and through their warrantee person, off to Hyundai for approval. But it was not that simple, initial diagnosis conformed a bad turbo, but they believed the bad trbo was caused by the engine leaking oil into it (causing it to do bad) and that the engine (because its leaking oil in the cylinder) is also bad. They ask Hyundai for a new motor and new turbo. Hyundai has some questions (pictures of the turbo and cylinder) and then I hear nothing, Another day goes by, nothing, then another, nothing. I go there, and its brocks day off. I go there another day, Brock is thee, but the warrantee lady’s day off. Still nothing. Several times I’m told id get a call back and nothing. So today I go over again,(it’s not been a week) and I see Brock. Brock says hey, I “Just” heard back, they say “denied”, “sorry”. I say something to the effect, of so much for this slam dunk. I ask that he would round up the Service manager and the warrantee lady and the General Manager so we can all talk. It took a little time but the Service Manager Gerald A*******, and Warrantee Lady Sean C******** did sit down with me (the GM/ Owner Kevin R***** was on vacation). So, here is where I have a couple concerns. 1) They denied based mileage, on providing no service records, and based on not providing an analysis of what they found in the oil pan and under the valve cover. I said we knew we would have to seek approval for the 6k (6%) over mileage (for a car that’s about 25% into its 10 yr portion), Brock asked me about records and I said my wife can get them, do your want them. He Said “No, let’s wait to see if they want them first”. Early on he said he knew how to (working with the warrantee lady) make a strong case for Hyundai warrantee. … I think to myself, well that’s strike one. I said they wanted to see more, why didn’t you provide them more? Gerald says I need a preauthorization to do more and it’s going to cost you $340 to get into the valve cover and the oil pan. I think to myself, so much for a free diagnostics,… strike two. I agree, but ask if they will now provide a loaner because the current time in their shop is approaching $300 in rental car coverage, and we have not made the strong case to Hyundai warrantee that they promised me they would. He agreed. (plus one point). Then I think, ok, they did not respond positively to this 2nd Manufacture request, that’s strike three. (I guess this is T – Ball where you have to give them more then there strikes) . I ask for copies of the information, including diagnosis sent to the Manufacture and their responses. Gerald looked it up, but was unsure he could give it out, so he’s going make an inquiry. I ask about a summarization but he does not have access to it. I ask for the pictures that the manufacture requested and that Brock said were sent, but apparently he didn’t have those either. I’m a degreed Mechanical Engineer with a specialty in design, I want to review the exchanges and see the basses for the diagnosis and the basis for the denial. I’ll give him some time to see what he come up with. So, there you have it, a bad first impression with the manufacture (thanks to this dealer) , and 1 week to get an answer that should have taken a day, and now a $340 diagnostics fee ( that was free, though it now comes with a loaner) , I’m seeing nothing but lemons so far. I’m dealing with the Service Manager now, and initial impressions are mixed but generally positive. If they manage to make Lemonade, you might see and update to this review, if not, you know it’s continued down this path. Update (next day) I take the nice things I said back about the service manager. I called this morning after a 2 hr metro ride from Md so I could pick up the loaner car he promised (he said he had plenty), he said , hold on I don’t see any, I’ll call you within 20 mins. During that time I call Hyundai customer Care and start explaining things to them, and they say they will begin looking into it. The, just over 2 hrs later he calls me. He says he can’t give me a car, he said Hyundai will not re-evaluate the denial (see what I said about first impressions). I said I can’t believe it, and that I want to meet with the GM. He says he will see what the can do. I call a few mins later and remembering what my attorney told me, asked for the paperwork and denial latter and supporting docs. (Remember I already asked for his, and he said he would have to look into it) . This time he tells me I don’t think can do that. I’ve opened up an issue with Hyundai Customer Care, and they are investigating, but I can see already, Alex Hyundai says whatever they can to get you in the door, and then they STICK IT TO YOU!

Desired Settlement: Dealer has not provided any documentation of anything, Not in initial discussions, not when dropped off, not the initial diagnostics , not initial denial, not final denial. I feel I was not represented well, and the dealer si covering their tracks by refusing to provide me documentation to support my conclusions. There must be some laws about this. The dealer promised a loner ,then reneged. The dealer refused to provide me the documentation in the initial denial, and then later today on the final denial (nor would they provide me details of what they provided to the manufacture (saying we cannot provide that (though I’ve been told by legal experts I’m entitled to that. Perhaps its reattribution for me writing in initial experiences online? In any event, the initial impression that’s been made with the Manufacture cannot be undone. I would like to meet with the owner (whom they say is on vacation) and will try and arrange a meeting for me. I’m sure I would have been better off with ********** Hyundai who I knew the GM, big mistake on my part I’m afraid.

Business Response:

April 15, 2015

Dear *** ******:

I received your letter on April 8, 2015 regarding *** ****** and his 2012 Hyundai ******.

In short, I’m happy to report that *** ****** and I were able to come to an acceptable resolution with Hyundai Motor America. Since last Monday April 6th, *** ****** and I have been in consistent contact, and have had many productive discussions leading to a positive outcome, *** ****** will be coming to the dealership in the next few days to get a loaner vehicle while the parts are ordered for his vehicle, and then the work performed.

To the extent it helps, here is a bit of the background.

I returned to the office on Monday, April 6, 2015 and contacted *** ****** that evening regarding his issues. Although his Hyundai ******, at 106,000 miles, was beyond the Hyundai Motor America warranty period, he was seeking to have Hyundai Motor America cover the repair, or some portion of the repair under goodwill.

I expressed my willingness to help *** ****** with his efforts with Hyundai Motor America (as it is the ultimate determining body regarding warranty claims such as this). To that end, I coordinated a meeting with *** ****** and a Hyundai Motor America representative Mr. B***** on Wednesday, April 8, 2015. Mr. B***** indicated that due to the mileage and significant sludge in the engine, Hyundai Motor America would not cover any portion of the repair.

Mr. B***** indicated that warranty determinations of this sort are made out of Hyundai's Prior Authorization Department. He suggested that *** ****** may want to propose to Hyundai Motor America a goodwill repair whereby Hyundai Motor America would cover 50% of the Parts and Labor cost, and *** ****** would cover 50% of the Parts and Labor cost; however Alexandria Hyundai would have to agree to bill out the parts at cost. Alexandria Hyundai agreed to do so in an effort to reduce the total amount of this repair for all concerned parties, and achieve a successful outcome for *** ******.

*** ****** asked me to submit that 50% / 50% proposal to Hyundai on bis behalf. I personally contacted Hyundai's Prior Authorization Department and asked them to accept *** ******'s proposal. On Monday, April 13, 2015, Hyundai Motor America accepted that 50% / 50% proposai. That same day, I communicated that fact to *** ******. Subsequent to that discussion, *** ****** and I were able to work out a resolution to get his vehicle repaired.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####

Best regards,

Kevin R

Owner / President


Consumer Response:



Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Letter of acceptance and appreciation attached

Regards,

******* ******

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled a warranty back in June 2013 with your dealership (****) in financing department. I have spoken to him on numerous occassions who stated that my warranty was cancelled per my request as of June 2013 and that a check will be mailed to my home address. I have not received any refund check nor has anyone returned any of my calls regarding this matter, including ****. I am in the process of obtaining a lawyer for this matter. This is been ongoing for over six months. I would appreciate any assistance in resolving this matter as soon as possible. Thank you.

Business Response: November 30, 2013

Dear **. ******:

I received your letter on November 26,2013 regarding the issue **. ********* was encountering regarding the pro rata refund of her service plan cancellation.

Immediately upon receipt of your letter, our accounting department processed the check for **, ********* and sent it out that day via Federal Express overnight delivery, The FEDEX tracking site indicates that the check was delivered the next day, November 27, 2013.
On behalf of our finance and accounting department, I apologize for the delay in processing. I have followed up with the parties involved to ensure this does not occur again.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this delay caused **. *********.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####

Best regards,

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car info: 2011 Hyundai Sonata, purchased 9/7/13, still under warranty October 18, 2013: - Car will not start towed to Alexandria Hyundai October 19, 2013 - Car repaired, brake light switch replaced, multipoint inspection completed (included battery check), results: OK November 8, 2013 - Car will not start towed to Alexandria Hyundai November 9, 2013 - Initial service reports car battery is dead - Upon retrieving a few things from my car, tested, it started with no problem - Decided to leave the car until Monday 11/11/13 when the service manager was available to provide inspection November 11, 2013 - New service reports brake light switch and battery need replacement Additionally ****** reported the brake light switch was replaced on 2/20/13

Desired Settlement: A three consecutive brake light switch replacement within 9 months is unacceptable. I would like a fair assessment/inspection of my vehicle by another authorized service department, and if the problem cannot be resolved I would like a replacement vehicle. If indeed a replacement is needed I would expect it to be the same year or newer, model, trim, color exterior/interior.

Business Response: November 30, 2013

Dear **. ******:

I received your letter on November .26, 2013 regarding the issue **. ******** is encountering with her Hyundai Sonata.

Immediately upon receipt of your letter, our Service Manager, ****** *******, contacted **. ******** and discussed her concerns regarding her vehicle.

**. ******** indicated that she has a meeting with the Hyundai dealer that sold her this vehicle (******* Hyundai in Richmond, VA) on Monday,

**. ******* and **. ******** agreed to follow-up on Monday afternoon after her meeting with ******* Hyundai.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ************ ****

Best regards


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Alexandria Hyundai LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart