BBB Accredited Business since

Academy Ford Sales Inc.

Phone: (301) 419-2700 View Additional Phone Numbers 13401 Baltimore Ave, Laurel, MD 20707 http://www.academyford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academy Ford Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Academy Ford Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academy Ford Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 1980 Business started: 10/19/1962
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Woods, GM Mr. Brian Hunter, Sevice Director Ms. Rebecca Smith, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Woods, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Smog Inspection Auto Alarms & Security Systems

Alternate Business Names
Academy Ford

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the sales person is not correct pricing with me he is not fair with me, he gave wrong price and cheat me now i want to return my car but they are not agreed

Desired Settlement: if possible some kind of credit

Business Response:

**. ******** as we have offered previously, we invite you to come into the dealership.  We can go over your paperwork.  You seem to be confused as to how the financing options work and we would like the opportunity to clarify this with you in person.  There are many options with financing and you selected a lower rate in lieu of rebates.  We would welcome you to return to the dealership at your convenience and go over everything, so that you feel comfortable with your purchase.   We look forward to working with you to resolve this misunderstanding.  

11/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/18/13, my fiancé received an email (we have it available for review) from Academy Ford's internet manager that indicated Academy Ford would sell vehicle ***************** for the purchase price of $24,973. On 10/24/13, my fiancé took his trade-in into the dealership to be evaluated. The dealer agreed to $3700.00 for the trade-in, but said the above referenced vehicle would now cost $25,260. Although this was above the initial price, my fiancé was eager to purchase the vehicle so they compromised to a sale price of $25,000. I returned with my fiancé the evening of 10/24/13 to sign the loan documents. We received a printout of Academy Ford's Retail - Extended Detail list. This included a selling price of $27,561.00; a down payment of $3,032.16, a rebate of $1,500.00; and other "fees" totaling $2137.00. I have the printout in my possession. When asked about the costs associated with the "down payment" of $3,032.16, I was informed that this represented the tags, taxes, and freight associated with the vehicle that I stated I would pay out-of-pocket. I then asked how this differed from the other "fees" listed on the list associated to the "Document fee, registration, title fee, tire fee, lein fee, CVR fee, and Maryland fees," and I was told it was the same costs represented differently on the sheet. I asked for a few moments to use my personal phone to calculate the fees and make a determination of the actual price of the vehicle. When I brought to the dealer's attention that the agreed upon $25,000 was not the actual sale price, the gentleman responded that "there was no way he way selling this car for that price." I referenced the email and then the "hand shake" agreement with my fiancé for the sale price of $25,000. He said the "bot*** price" is $25,000, but this total was after I was expected to put a down payment of #3,032.16 and pay taxes, tags, and freight out of pocket. I want other buyers of Academy Ford to be aware of this experience and how they attempted to take advantage of customers.

Desired Settlement: We want the vehicle for the $24,973 price that is written in the email we have on file. Additionally, I want the owner of the company to be made aware of the unfair sales practices that are being conducted in his/her store.

Business Response:

Hi *****,

At Academy Ford we pride ourselves on a 50+ year tradition of honesty & integrity, so fairness is always our goal. If you feel as though we failed to live up to that goal, we sincerely apologize. The email you are referencing included a description of the $24,973 price which was, “*Internet price includes all available rebates and excludes tax, tags, freight and dealer processing.”  Also the trade that you mentioned in your complaint was valued by us at $3,700, however you still owed a considerable amount of money on that loan that is why you were required to put down the $3,032.16.  Please review the correspondence that was sent to you and if you need any further clarification do not hesitate to reach out to our General Manager, *** *****.

Sincerely,

Academy Ford

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Academy Ford Sales Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)