BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Body Works of Virginia Inc

Phone: (703) 777-5727 19427 James Monroe Hwy, Leesburg, VA 20175 http://www.thebodyworksofva.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Body Works of Virginia Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Body Works of Virginia Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2000 Business started: 01/19/1976 in VA Business started locally: 01/19/1976 Business incorporated: 02/07/1985 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William T Lickey Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William T Lickey Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Towing - Automotive


Additional Locations

  • 19427 James Monroe Hwy

    Leesburg, VA 20175

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 23, 2013 I was rear-ended in Fairfax County Virginia. The Body Works in Leesburg was the selected repair shop, as my dad knew some of the staff and felt they would do a good job repairing my car. Once the estimate was completed, the damage came out to be $4261.01. I gave the approval for the Body Works to begin work on May 29, 2013. The car was promised back to me on June 10, 2013. There were no updates provided to me by the body shop regarding the car during this period of time, with the exception of me giving the "ok" to start the work on May 27 and ******* calling me to tell me my car was ready to be picked up Friday, June 14, 2013, 4 days later than I was promised. Upon return of the car, I immediately noticed significant damage still to the car, as well as large amounts of overspray on the right side and roof. I also noticed one of my magnets was missing from the back of my car. I immediately contacted the adjustor regarding the work who appeared to be unhappy and stated all of these additional damages to the car should have been caught in the inspection of the car before it was released to my father. The car was returned Sunday June 16 and remained at the auto shop until Wednesday June 19. The car was picked up by my father on Wednesday, as I was in New Hampshire for a business trip, **** from ***** issued the check to the body shop and closed the claim; although I hadn't approved the work. The only look I had at the car was two pictures that were texted to me by the adjustor. The car still had damage, the bumper did not fit properly and overspray on the right side of the door, the trunk wouldn't close without being slammed and the body shop had painted the car and returned a magnet to the bumper, causing a permanent mark. When I informed ***** I was dissatisfied with the work, I was told the claim was closed and any other concerns I had needed to be noted directly to the body shop. Friday, June 21, I contacted the Body Works directly, as I was fed up that I had not received any updates on the car, all updates were provided to my dad, who is not the owner, nor the policy holder for the insurance on the car. I was told no one was available to speak to me and they would have to call me back. Due to poor phone service, I told them they would need to call after 3:30 when I left work. The owner called me and wanted to have the car towed back into the shop for a third time, which I refused. They had my car for the better part of a month and then again for 3 days, sufficient time to handle all of the damages. At this time, the owner was argumentative with me and rude, going as far as accusing me of putting a sports team magnet on the roof of my car. The magnet was on the back of the car and I am only 5 foot tall, hardly tall enough to see the roof! I told him I would bring the car in and wait for it. The car went back for a third time Saturday June 22. The shop had a hundred excuses as to why the overspray was missed for a third time and the owner acknowledged he hadn't inspected the vehicle. He stated the bumper not fitting was how the car was and that he didn't know how the car was before it was wrecked, nor did he has another Jetta bumper to compare it to. The bumper clearly sticks out on both sides of the car, which is not how it is supposed to be or was prior to the accident, the car had never been in an accident before and the panels between the back of the car and side are always smooth in transition. He told me that mark from the magnet was my fault for not moving the magnet, despite me moving the magnets frequently to wash the car and never having a mark before. The owner made a mockery of the trunk closing and while I was standing there trying to discuss this situation, he took a phone call, while I was mid-sentence. The adjustor went on to essentially argue with me regarding the dates my car was promised, despite it being documented in both the adjustor's paperwork, as well as the body shop. I left the body works, upset, with a car that I will never be able to sell and a car that was not fixed correctly. They even made a joke out of me contacting the BBB, stating "we can't wait to speak to them". I was hit, the accident was not my fault; however, the owner felt inclined to repeatedly state to me I was in accident where there was $4300 in damage...my response, I know, I was in it when it was hit. This body shop should not be allowed to complete work without approval, notification or to the satisfaction of the owner!

Desired Settlement: The way that the Body Works handles customers is unethical and there is no excuse for it! My car should have been fixed correctly the first time, not having to take it back 3 times. I shocked that they stay in business, because now as I've learned, they don't have a good reputation. They ruined my car!

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

On July 19, 2013 the car was taken to ********* Auto Body in Leesburg Virginia per directive of **** ******, supervisor for *****. Upon evaluation of the car, it was confirmed that the car had indeed not been fixed correctly. The car will now have to be taken back in and fixed again due to poor work conducted by the Body Works. The accident was 2 months ago today (7/23) and the car was not fixed properly. Not to mention, it had to go back twice for overspray, and have the exhaust system tightened, as they didn't even do that prior to releasing the car. I am 100% dissatisfied with the work on the car. There were other people there who work for the Body Works who could have taken a phone call. At 9:00 am, I doubt many people are going to be calling there for a tow. I have spoken with several people, who have had similar experiences with this body shop. I refused to leave my car again because they had it for a month and the work should have been done correctly before it was ever released. In addition, I work 3 jobs and am still suffering severe anxiety as a result of the accident, I did not want to be in another car I was not comfortable with, when a licensed and bonded entity was supposed to fix it correctly. Now, it has been to 2 different body shops on 4 different occassions, which is highly unacceptable. The professionalism and the way I was treated in general by the Body Works was terrible. I was treated with no regard or respect. I will not accept this poor response, making excuses for the unprofessional and generic work that was done on my car. The car was not returned to me in pre-accident condition and the best **. ****** can do is tell me he doesn't have another Jetta to compare the bumper to?? Really?? As soon as the folks at ********* saw the car, they immediately saw it wasn't correct. I will not accept excuses or an inaccurate response, nor will I ever use or recommend the Body Works to anyone.


Regards,

******** ******








Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response:  Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
My car had to go back to another shop 2 additional times before it was fixed correctly. All of the bolts that were placed in the bumper area by the Body Works of Leesburg to secure it, were loose. This is something that a body shop should have known how to do. As a result of their insufficient work, my car continued to be unsafe after the accident until the car was taken to ********* Autobody and the manager, **. ****, arranged to have one of his people drop everything and fix the car correctly. **. ****** seems to minimize the fact that "it only took 15-20 minutes to fix the car" when his body shop had the car for nearly a month and did not tighten the bolts in the trunk area of the car! Not to mention, the bumper was replaced twice because neither time it fit the car correctly. **. ****** continuously stated that he didn't have another Jetta to compare the truck of my car to, yet all vehicles have bumpers that are correctly aligned with the rest of the body of their car. I was in a car accident May 23, 2013 and it took a full two months to have the damage full repaired correctly, by another body shop. I'm tired of the excuses made by this body shop. They were paid over $4,300 and although money should've been taken away because the work was not done correctly, nor to my satisfaction, they kept the money and someone else had to acrew the bill of what they did not do.

Regards,

******** ******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.