BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kenwood Sunoco meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kenwood Sunoco include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kenwood Sunoco
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2008 Business started: 10/31/1997 Business incorporated 11/01/2007 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James S. Spicer Jr., Member/Manager Mr. Gary Winters, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James S. Spicer Jr., Member/Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary Winters, GM
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ******, service manager at Kenwood Sunoco cant be trusted. The BBB is denigrated by allowing Kenwood Sunoco to use its insignia. Here are the facts, versus what **. ****** did and said.Fact: It takes less than 15 seconds to scan system for engine light or to pull all the diagnostic codes for the cars problem. **. ******: told me and charged me an hour to hour half or between $101-$151.50 charge to scan system for engine light, or to pull all the diagnostic codes, alleging that was the only way to diagnose the problem. Fact: The only error code was 14 or MAP Sensor, $138 part and less than hour of labor or $50.Because when the MAP sensor failed less than 2 months later, it took him only 15 minutes to replace and scan system for diagnostics because I waited for the car. **. ****** also claimed that my calipers were frozen. I told him I had no problem with my brakes, especially since there were only 33,938 miles on the car. He claimed it was the rear brakes were stopping car, scaring me into what proved to be not only an unnecessary, but fraudulent repair of replacing the calipers, brake pad set, and brake rotors. Fact: Less than 2.5 years later, the calipers actually froze, causing the odor of burning rubber, smoke emanating from the tire, and making the car un-drivable. It would have been impossible to drive months and years on frozen calipers because the heat generated burns through everything.Fact: Not only were the calipers never frozen, and there had never been any smoke or burning rubber, but the calipers he allegedly replaced were defective, probably taken from another car and superficially made to function for a short time period, (or he never actually replaced them) similar to what he did with the first MAP sensor he put in my car that broke only 2 months later. Fact: He also charged me more than 3 times more for the parts: calipers, new brake pad set, and brake rotors than when I had to replace them again 2.5 years later. Fact: I never authorized the Intake/Injection cleaning Kit he put in my car for $149.50 nor the $101 labor cost. When he called to tell me the price and what the car allegedly needed, he never mentioned that part or service because I never would have authorized it. He then added several hours to the bill by bundling scan system (15 seconds), replace MAP sensor (15 minutes) and tune-up charging 5 hours, on top of the unauthorized hour for intake/injection, and 2.50 for replacing calipers, rotos, disc pads, and 2.00 hours for drive belts. He wrote at the end that I approved the repairs, but I didnt. He forced me against my protests and better judgment to sign a sheet that stated a phone call was authorization, since then it is impossible to prove that I didnt authorize something. Fact: When the MAP sensor broke after a couple of months, he kept on telling me that other things were also wrong but I stated I only want MAP sensor replaced, and it was replaced in 15 minutes including diagnostics and nothing else was wrong. Then I had proof he was a rip-off artist but didnt want to waste any more of my time so I let it slide. It was when 2.5 years later, my calipers really froze, and I had to replace the calipers, brake pads, rotor, at the cost of several hundreds of dollars again, then I knew I had to inform the BBB, to prevent other people from becoming victim to unnecessary and substandard parts and repairs, and over charging. This service station should be prohibited from printing BBB on their business card.

Desired Settlement: Not only is this for BBB information, but the BBB must remove accreditation from this business as this is not an accepted way to conduct business. This is the type of repair service that the BBB should be protecting customers from, not accrediting. As I wrote, it denigrates the BBB by having such an organization using its insignia. I want BBB to keep this posted on their website for as long as possible so the word gets around to avoid doing business with Kenwood Sunoco.

Business Response:

**. **** is mistaken in many of her claims. I will try to explain as much as possible.

It all started when **. **** came to us because a repair shop that she was using claimed to not have a scan tool to perform the diagnostics.

The 1.5 hrs. scan that she is referring to includes all diagnostic work done to find why the code has been set causing the check engine light to come on, not just for the scan for the diagnostic codes.

The failed map sensor repair (which I did under warranty at no charge) was replaced in short time, as we did not have to do any testing and just reordered the same part number as before. We replaced it while she waited as courtesy, so she would not have to leave her car.

The front calipers were seized causing overheated brake rotors and brake pads. So we replaced the brake calipers, brake rotors and pads, at normal labor prices so the vehicles brake system could function properly. The brake hoses were not replaced since there was no problem with them at the time of the repair.

Her claim of us taking them off a another car , or not replacing them at all, is absurd, as i can produce the parts ticket for the parts purchased for her car. All other parts were returned to her except for the brake calipers because there was a core on the brake calipers.

There is not a charge for brake fluid, simply for the fact I did not want to make the bill any higher than need be, as she was very upset about the price of repair and I had an estimate I was trying to stay within.

The five hours that she is referring to scan the system, and replace the sensor is explained on the printed repair order. It also included the major tune up, and a spray clean of the throttle body,which she must not of read, which is normal price for this engine size.

She did authorize the intake/injection cleaning, since the system was completely was completely sludged up, due to the way the engine had been running prior to the tune-up and sensor repair.

My biggest problem with this claim, other than her hurtful remarks about me not being trustworthy, is the fact that it took her so long to file this claim. I have been doing work in the ******** area since 1979, I worked at **** **** ***** for 18 years and I have been here for 17 years.

We did the repairs Oct. 18,2011 and her claim was submitted on may 14,2014, i am very sorry that the calipers failed again, but parts do fail.

She also did not mention that the car continued to run ok, after our sensor and tune up repairs were made that she indicated was not needed.

**. **** could have handled this by contacting us ,instead of slandering my name on the internet.

I am not interested in refunding any amount of money to her, as I did nothing dishonest, and I feel that the money is why she made this claim since she knew the vehicle was out of the warranty that is provided.

Thank you for accepting this letter and will wait to hear from you.

**** ******

Service Manager

Kenwwood Sunoco

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


******’s response sounds exactly like a defense attorney whose job it is to defend his client against overwhelming evidence of guilt with illogical and absurd explanations. 


****** wrote that “she did not mention that the car continued to run ok after our MAP sensor and tune up repairs were made that she indicated weren’t needed.” The reason I didn’t mention it was the car did NOT RUN OK after the MAP sensor and tune-up repairs were made.

FACT: Within one week after having this major car tune-up which ****** claimed I needed, MY CAR RAN IDENTICALLY and HAD THE IDENTICAL PROBLEMS as before I brought it into him and paid $2,300: the check engine light came on, went off, came on, went off, the engine ran rough, and the car stalled. Regarding the claim of frozen calipers (which I refer to below), there was absolutely no difference in the braking of the car. (See invoice of January 30, 2012)  I was very upset seeing the engine light on again and the engine running rough, the car stalling after paying $2,300 which ****** alleged “fixed” all the problems.

FACT: What ****** failed to mention was that I did call him very soon afterwards and told him the engine was running rough, the check engine light kept coming on and off, the car was stalling again and that I was sure it was the MAP sensor that was the cause, because the car ran IDENTICALLY as before I brought it to him to repair. His response was the check engine light could be on again for many reasons. Remember this was only a week after he allegedly did a complete diagnostic and major tune up for $2,343.30??? and now he’d have to do another diagnostic test for another ($150)!  Although I argued with him on the phone, repeatedly telling him that because the symptoms and problems were identical as before that it was the MAP sensor. He insisted it could be anything and the only way to find out was to do $150 diagnostic again.

That’s when I realized he was the type who found all sorts of problems with cars that didn’t exist and claimed perfectly good functioning parts needed replacement, finding  thousands of dollars of “necessary repair work” in order to “fix” the problem. We are also talking about a car with a book value of only a few hundred dollars and only 34,133 original miles on the odometer engine. Because it was my deceased father’s car, I had a sentimental attachment to it, and wanted it properly fixed, the only reason I would spend approximately 8 times the car’s book value.

So I was then determined to find out how to find the code(s) that would tell me what was wrong. When I finally did, by endless searches on the internet, I went to my car and tried it and it worked. ONLY THE DIAGNOSTIC CODE for MAP sensor appeared, NO OTHER CODE. I did it four times to be certain. That’s when I called ****** back, and told him I only authorized for him to replace the MAP sensor since I knew how to pull codes and that was the code that caused the check engine light. Although he protested, insisting it could be anything and continued to try to scare me in to thinking all sorts of other things  could be wrong with the car, I said I know how to pull codes and it is the MAP sensor. End of discussion. That’s when I started to think he might have knowingly put in a defective MAP sensor so I’d have to bring the car in again and he could find more things wrong with it to get a another few thousand dollars from me.

FACT: Only after ****** realized I knew how to pull codes did he apparently order a new, good MAP sensor, knowing he could no longer scare me into believing other things were wrong.

FACT: When he replaced the defective MAP sensor he put in originally, the motor in the car ran again exactly how it ran before the major tune-up, which had always been obvious that I didn’t need. The cause of the rough engine running, stalling and check engine light was all caused by faulty MAP sensor, nothing else. My car ran no better or differently than before my MAP sensor failed.  

****** wrote I authorized the intake/injection cleaning since system was completely sludged up, due to way engine had been running prior to the tune-up and sensor repair.

FACT: There was absolutely no difference in the way the engine was running after the alleged “tune-up” once a functioning MAP sensor was installed. The way the engine was running was caused by a failed MAP sensor, nothing else.

****** wrote that “the front calipers were seized causing overheated brake rotors and brake pads.” I talked to four qualified mechanics and his claim is IMPOSSIBLE that calipers had seized, and the rotors and pads overheated. They unanimously told me that it would have been impossible for me to drive the car with seized calipers, and the other facts mentioned below.  NOTHING was nor could have been WRONG with my front brake calipers and consequently there was no need to replace the calipers, brake pad set or rotors.

FACT: As written above, four certified mechanics unanimously agreed that it is impossible that my front calipers were seized for the following reasons, which I subsequently did experience when my brake calipers really did seized May 1, 2014 (see invoice) . Besides, brake calipers last a minimum of 10 years to the life of the car.

FACT: Signs of seized or frozen brake calipers 1. It is IMPOSSIBLE to drive a car with seized front calipers. 2. The front tires begin to smoke from the overheating of the brake rotos and pads. The smoke is visible. 3. There is a strong smell of burnt rubber. I never experienced any of that until my calipers really did seize on May 1, 2014.

****** wrote the reason “there is not a charge for brake fluid, simply for the fact that I did not want to make the bill any higher than need be, as she was very upset about the price of the repair and I had estimates I was trying to stay within.” That is preposterous since cost of brake fluid is $20 and would have added less than .0001% of the total bill. If he really didn’t want to make the biller any higher than it need be, he wouldn’t have claimed seized calipers, since they weren’t, he wouldn’t have done anything besides replace the MAP sensor.

FACT: Further proof the calipers were not defective and were not changed. Every certified mechanic I spoke with (six to be exact) all told me “It is IMPOSSIBLE to change calipers, replace brake pads and rotos WITHOUT CHANGING THE BRAKE FLUID, as it drains out when they are changed, which is obvious. Brake fluid costs $20, or less than .0001% or the total bill. With a bill of $2,343.30, that is the most absurd and ridiculous explanation one could give! Just look at the breakdown of his bill.  And one doesn’t do all that brake work for all that money and not change the hoses, which only cost $58. He forgot to charge for brake fluid and hoses because he didn’t do any brake work. That was his fatal mistake, proving unequivocally he couldn’t have done the work.

His claim for producing parts’ tickets, and returning parts to me is bogus. Those parts could have been ordered for any car in a garage repair shop and the parts he gave me (which were not complete) could have come from any discarded, used or defective parts from other customers’ cars who didn’t want them returned. In fact he also tried to discourage me from wanting the parts.

****** writes “my biggest problem with this claim---is the fact that it took her so long to file.

FACT: Although I suspected his shady business practice, I would not file a claim until I had unequivocal proof, i.e. hard evidence beyond a reasonable doubt that my calipers were fine and were not replaced. And I did not have that evidence until May 1, 2014 when my calipers really did seize and experienced first-hand what really happens: your car is undrivable; your tires smoke; you smell burnt rubber; and (the smoking gun) you can’t change calipers, pads and rotors without draining and refilling the brake fluid.

As to ******’s claim that “money is why she made this claim since she knew the vehicle was out of warranty” is a mistaken, misguided, and untrue as all the other mistaken, misguided, and untrue claims and defenses he has written.

FACT: My original complaint to the BBB didn’t request any money, only that the BBB remove their accreditation from Kenwood Sunoco. Proof of that is below, which is an exact, true copy of the email the BBB sent to me in response to my filing my original complaint against Kenwood Sunoco.

Before processing the complaint, we need you to provide some additional information.  Please respond to the following points:

In order to process a complaint it is essential that we have all of the necessary information related to resolution you are seeking from the firm that the complaint is being filed against. Currently, you ask us to downgrade the company's rating with the BBB, however your desired outcome must be what you want the company to do to resolve the issue not what you want the BBB to do to the company.

FACT: It was only in response to the BBB’s requirement that I must write what I want the company to do for me to resolve the issue, not what I wanted the BBB to do to the company that I added to my complaint to refund the money for charges for work that either couldn’t have possibly been done, or were unnecessary or unauthorized as detailed above. And then I am only requesting around a little more than half ($1,265.79) of these fraudulent and unnecessary repairs, which actually totaled around $2,000, since the only problem with my car was the MAP sensor, which cost around $300 to replace. Even with this request, I’m still paying more than $800 of unnecessary repairs.   

Regards,

***** ****








Business Response: We have decided to make a goodwill gesture to **. **** and refund the $1265.79, with the understanding that we are not accepting any guilt in this matter and all repairs were needed during the transaction. As a company our name and reputation is more important than **. ****'s money.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kenwood Sunoco
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart