This business is not BBB accredited.

Hanlin Automotive, Inc

Phone: (703) 823-1907 Fax: (703) 370-8107 6009 Farrington Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hanlin Automotive, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hanlin Automotive, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1981 Business started: 03/19/1980 in VA Business started locally: 03/19/1980 Business incorporated 03/20/1980 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edison Flores, GM Mrs. Millie Flores, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edison Flores, GM
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Auto Craft Body And Paint Co.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6009 Farrington Ave

    Alexandria, VA 22304 (703) 823-1907

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my **** ***** in for 4 brand new tires and was recommended additional work that my truck needed( shocks, rear differential seals).I felt like I had got such a genuine referral from a friend that I felt I could really trust these guys. I WISH I NEVER DID!! It took forever for me to get my truck back, and once I finally got it back, the minute I drove it home I heard a loud, discomforting sound coming from the rear. I took it back to the owner, EDISON F***** and he told me that it was my brakes. Well, I had just had my brakes done at ********* so it was still under warranty, so I took it back to them. They said my rotors needed to be resurfaced, but the noise was not coming from the brakes. I took it back to **** ***** and this time the owner told me that he fired the mechanic who worked on my truck. He said he would have his top mechanic work on it and this time it would get done right. They had my truck for a few more days and then I was told that everything was fixed. I got my truck back and still could hear that horrible sound. I got fed up and had enough, so I took it to my local **** dealership and explained to them what I was hearing. Within a few hours, the service advisor called me and told me that I needed to rebuild my rear differential. They said who ever changed the seals never torqued the pinion bearing down to the proper specifications, causing the pinion bearing to pre-maturely wear out. I called the owner once again, and this time he said he's not paying for anything. He said he would file a claim through his insurance, and meanwhile I have no truck to drive! I am very dissatisfied with **** ***** and the way they handle their business! Now I feel like I have a bigger issue to deal with because of them!

Desired Settlement: I just want my truck fixed right by a certified **** tech or my money back.

Business Response:

****** ******

**** ********** ****

*********** ** *****

Daytime Phone: ###-###-####

E-mail: *********************

Repair Issues:

Better Business Bureau:

To whom this may concern:

We have received a letter complaint from *** ******* and we have come to the attention of the situation. I want to begin by stating that once we gave *** ******* her vehicle back, after replacing her four brand new tires and the rear differential seals, she came back in to have her car washed. While she was driving here, she mentioned hearing a noise. When she asked what it was, I told her that it might be her brakes but that I wasn’t positive. However, we did not inspect it and for all we know it could have been that the tires where leaking, between the wheel and the tire which is a common chrome issue. In the letter she stated that she went over to ********* to have them look at it but they said that it wasn’t a problem with the breaks but that the rotors needed to be resurfaced. A gentleman on her behalf called in explaining what had happened and I told him that he could bring in the car back and that I would have my top mechanic could take a look at it. However, no one ended up bringing in the car. In the letter, she mentioned that she did bring in her car and that they had it for a few days and that they fixed it but no one brought it in. She stated in the letter that she took it to her local **** dealership to explain what she was hearing and that they said that they needed to rebuild her rear differential. Although she said that they mentioned that if we changed the seals, we never torqued the pinion bearing down to the proper specifications, causing the pinion bearing to pre-maturely wear out, it is important to understand that if they didn’t disassemble the car there is no guarantee that this was the issue or if the pinion was low on fluid, causing there to be more leaks, more friction, more heat and finally more noise. Meanwhile, I had been talking to the gentleman the entire time. *** ******* ended up calling us back mentioning that she wanted her money back when I previously told her I could have taken a look at her car in the first place and later mentioned I could file a claim through the insurance company. If we had dealt with the situation earlier I could have provided options for her like giving her a rental car until we fixed her car. During the telephone call, she involved my family, which had nothing to do with this issue and then filed the complaint. I entail that this provides a better understanding of the matter and that we are able to process this situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hanlin Automotive, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)