BBB Accredited Business since

Cherner Collision Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 893-0800 View Additional Phone Numbers 8550 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, VA 22182 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chernercc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cherner Collision Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cherner Collision Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cherner Collision Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 03/12/1999 in VA Business started locally: 03/12/1999 Business incorporated 01/14/1972 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Cherner, Principal Dealer Mr. Andrew Cherner, Member Mr. Jonathan Cherner, Principal Dealer Mr. Bob Hubbard, CFO Mr. Larry Spielberg, Business Development Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Cherner, Member
Principal: Mr. Andrew Cherner, Principal Dealer
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Cherner, Principal Dealer
Customer Contact: Mr. Bob Hubbard, CFO
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Action Auto Body Action Auto Body of Alexandria Action Auto Body of Forrestville Cherner Automotive Group Cherner Collision Center of Rockville Cherner Collision Center of Tysons Cherner Collision Centers of Washington, DC. Spring Mall Auto Body
Additional Information

Cherner Automotive Group maintains several locations. This report includes BBB experience with the locations of the firm.


Additional Locations

  • 2402 Oakville St

    Alexandria, VA 22301 (703) 548-5111

  • 241 Derwood Cir

    Rockville, MD 20850 (301) 315-6008

  • 5013 Georgia Ave NW

    Washington, DC 20011 (202) 722-5000

  • 7708 Backlick Rd Ste G

    Springfield, VA 22150 (703) 866-1710

  • 7970 Penn Randall Pl

    Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 (301) 736-4222

  • 7970 Penn Randall Pl

    Uppr Marlboro, MD 20772 (301) 736-4222

  • 8550 Leesburg Pike

    Vienna, VA 22182 (703) 893-0800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, February 24, 2014, I dropped my 2012 ****** ***** off to the Cherner Collision Center located at **** ******* **** **, Washington, D.C. *****. In the weeks prior to arrange a date for repairs on the damages on my rear bumper I had been in touch with representative, **** **********. On the day of drop off, I inquired about the time frame to take care of the repairs and I was quoted 3-4 business days. It sounded reasonable to me and so I turn in my car key which was a remote key (it was not broken, missing buttons; the key was still very new. I purchased my vehicle in November 2013). By Friday, February 28, 2014, my insurance provider, *** ***** followed up with me to let me know that they visited the collision center to review the damage and make the proper payment as it related to the decision to replace the rear bumper. The representative then told me that my vehicle would be ready by the following Monday, no later than Tuesday, March 4, 2014. During the course of two weeks that my vehicle was in Cherner's possession, there were two days of inclement weather that could have impacted the service on my vehicle. I contacted **. ********** on Wednesday, March 5, 2014 to receive an update on my vehicle. I was then informed that the bumper arrived but was damaged and that he needed to re-order the bumper and that my car would be ready by Friday, March 7, 2014 . I promised to call and follow up on Friday. Around 1:30 p.m. on Friday, March 7, 2014, I contacted **. ********** to follow-up as promised and again, I received another excuse. His response to me then was, "What had happened was because of the bad weather, we received a damaged bumper and had to re-order another. We have the bumper but we have to put it on and paint it. We want to make sure that it is right." I said, "okay" and he then said that the car should be ready by Monday and that he would call. Monday, March 10, 2014 came and by 3:30 p.m. , I reached out to him. Again, I was told that my car was not ready and that the rear bumper had to be painted. I will say that I was frustrated with the entire process; yet, I remained as patient as I could be. On Tuesday, March 11, 2014, I received a phone call at 11:49 a.m. from **. ********** regarding my vehicle and he informed that my car was ready for pick-up. I informed him that I would pick up my vehicle after work. When I arrived to pick up my vehicle and once I received my key, I headed towards my vehicle and noticed that my key was not the way that I gave it to them when I turned my key in for service. The key buttons were missing in my remote key. I turned around and went back into the shop and inquired whether or not it was in fact my key. The receptionist looked at the key and confirmed that it was my key and handed it over to **. **********. He then looked at it and walked out the door towards my car and begin to press the uncovered buttons on the key. I, then, heard the chimes on my car and it my confirmed my suspensions. **. ********** opened the driver's side door for me and handed me the key. I, then asked him about my key because he seemed anxious to walk away from what was obvious about my destroyed key. He took another look at my key as if he hadn't noticed the damage (the missing buttons) when he was trying to unlock my doors and responded, "I don't know." I looked at the key again in disbelief and I informed him that my key was not given to them they way that it was returned to me. So, why am I am handling a damaged key? What happened? In order for my key to have every single button missing, someone had to meddle with it. That it is my conclusion. He responded that he would put an order in for a blank key to replace the keys as if it would be that simple. I did leave displeased and unhappy as I informed him that service received and the return of my personal property was in fact, 'ghetto'. Once I got settled into my car, I contacted my dealership where I purchased my car in November 2013 (******* ******) and inquired about rather or not key damage was covered under my warranty. I was informed that my remote key is not covered under warranty and that a replacement remote key would cost $230.00 (which includes the proper programming). My concern here is this, my key was damaged; no one reported the key damaged or took proper responsibility for the damage, and offered little to no resolve for the damage. I am concerned that because my access buttons are exposed-anything could damage how I get in and out of my vehicle (water damage, dust, etc). There was no apology of any kind...and it was quite disappointing. I have never received such terrible service where my valuables/ my property is disrespected and not cared for. This is simply, totally out of line when it comes to quality customer service. It is bad enough to suffer collision damage on my personal vehicle and then to endure another damage at the hands of a collision shop that was entrusted to take care of my car and the key that was given to do the work on my car. (Note: I do have photo images of my damaged remote key)

Desired Settlement: I honestly prefer Cherner Collison Center to be held responsible for my damaged key and replace my key through my direct dealership,******* ****** in ****** ******, Maryland. The key is a remote key- it requires programming and I simply do not trust Cherner Collision Center to deliver when it comes to the key that was damaged in their care. I was quoted $230.00 for another key and that is what my request would be for. I deserve a key that was not destroyed, bandaged up; and not explained to me. I no longer have any trust for this center and I do not wish to conduct any other business with them as it relates to my vehicle.

Business Response:

Hello-

I received an email this morning alerting me to this complaint from March 11, 2014. I immediately called the shop manager, ******** *****. He informed me that within a few days of filing the complaint, ******** contacted **. ***** and informed her we were ordering a new key. When it arrived, **. ***** came to the shop and picked it up.

If there are any other issues, please let us know.

Sincerely,

****** * *******, CFO

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service