This business is not BBB accredited.

Woodbridge Public Auto Auction

Phone: (703) 643-1189 View Additional Phone Numbers 1108 A Horner Road, Woodbridge, VA 22191 http://wpaa.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Woodbridge Public Auto Auction include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Woodbridge Public Auto Auction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woodbridge Public Auto Auction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1993 in MD Business started locally: 08/01/1993 Business incorporated 08/01/1993 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stavros Koudellon, President Mr. Theofanis Koudellou, Sales Manager Mr. Bill Martinos, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stavros Koudellon, President
Principal: Mr. Theofanis Koudellou, Sales Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Martinos, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Auctions Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
S & S Service Center

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1108 A Horner Road

    Woodbridge, VA 22191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a young mother and nursing school student. I have 2 small boys ages 1 and 4. I lost my job last year and since then have gone back to school to train to be a nurse. I am striving to make a better life for myself and my family. My old car got to the point where it was no longer reliable. All I had was 5,000 dollars in my emergency fund/savings account, and I used it all to purchase a car from Woodbridge Public Auto Auction (WPAA) on 4 Oct 2014. I bought this car in hopes that it would get me through the next 4 months so I could finish school. Once I was working again I planned to purchase something better. I did as much research as I could. I brought my kids with me and test drove the vehicle multiple times. I looked up the car facts report, and worried the sales man Douglas half to death with my questions. I expressed how important it was to me as a mother to have a safe and reliable vehicle. All the major concerns I had with the vehicle seemed to check out, no service lights were present. On 12 Oct 2014 on my way to church the check engine light came on. From that point up until today I have been in a battle with WPAA. My husband and I visited WPAA multiple times trying to resolve the issue with them. They patronized and pacified us, wasted our time, blew us off, tried to intimidate and bully us with their harsh language, and stated that there is nothing we could do to them, because they’ve been doing business like this for years. Billy and Manuel are the guys who my husband and I dealt with. Billy stated that the people at the DMV of Woodbridge are incompetent for informing me that I can’t register my vehicle without a clean emissions test for Virginia. He also stated that I didn’t need to preach to him about doing the right thing, he has bills to pay. He also stated that he is not at liberty to share anything about the vehicles, he just needs to sell them. I subscribe to a pre-paid legal service, and had a lawyer draft a letter in order to settle this issue with them, since I wasn’t getting anywhere and I was running out of time on my temporary plates. They disregarded the letter. The issues with this sale are as follows: 1. WPAA had their mechanics manually disabled the check engine light codes in order to sell the vehicle. We have proof of this through the emissions report we obtained from the State of Maryland, which clearly displayed the same check engine codes that our mechanic found. My husband did an experiment where he cleared the codes himself, and after driving the vehicle around, after about 100 miles the codes returned. 2. They failed to inform me that I would be able to properly secure the vehicle. The key doesn’t lock the car, so I have to pray that no one steals my car every time I have to leave it. I have to lock it from the inside and get out on the passenger’s side. I always look like I am breaking into my own car, because the key doesn’t unlock the car either. 3. We are currently unable to register the car in Virginia, due to the fact that we would have to pay over 3,000 dollars to fix the issues behind the check engine light, in order to pass the emissions test. My tags from my old car and the 2nd set of temporary tags they gave me will expire 12/31/2014. We’ve been going back and forth with this company since Oct. 12th 2014. Initially, I couldn’t register the car because their department had issues with getting me the car title information, which took a month, and the DMV was suspecting that the car had been stolen, so that wasted time as well. Then I was going back and forth with them begging them to provide some assistance with the check engine light because we couldn’t afford to get it repaired and we couldn’t register the vehicle. I was also worried about my tags expiring and not being able to use my vehicle for school and my families daily needs. We suspected foul play and misrepresentation of the vehicle, but they angrily denied our claims, and furthermore at that time we couldn’t prove it. 4. By 12/31/2014 I will be without a vehicle, and all my tags will be expired. My car is unable to pass emissions testing for the State of Virginia, even though it passed in Maryland. It has to do with the type of codes, because they are related to emissions. It has put my family and I in a really bad situation. I am trying to finish out nursing school and my schedule is the total opposite of my husbands which makes it impossible to share a vehicle. When we saw that we weren’t getting anywhere with WPAA, we decided to seek legal counsel. Our lawyer wrote a letter in order to help settle this matter, however it has been ignored. We can’t seem to take them to small claims court because they are a corporation. We can’t afford legal representation of a greater capacity to fight this, even with our proof which would stand up in court. The lawyer told us more than likely this has happened before, where they can get away with ignoring our letter because they know most people can’t afford to take them to a higher court system to handle this matter. This story has a lot more layers, but I did my best to shorten it and give the important facts and details. I am not sure what will result of this, but at the end of the day I truly just want the money to fix the vehicle, or for them to accept the vehicle back and refund us our money. I want justice for myself and my family. It’s the holidays, I have two small children and I couldn’t even get them any gifts this year. I need a vehicle to get to school and to transport them. My husband needs his vehicle to get to work to support our family. I don’t understand what would make a company so heartless. 5,000 dollars is a lot of money to just throw away and to be stuck with a vehicle I can’t drive. That is why I have to fight this, and I will keep fighting until I can get a fair and just resolution. I am praying for a miracle because our family truly doesn’t have an additional 3,000 plus dollars to fix this vehicle right now. I don’t know what to do, but I am hoping that by reaching out that maybe we can get some type of support in this matter and if nothing else maybe it could be a cautionary tale to other young people, so that they don’t get robbed of their money. Woodbridge Public Auto Auction is the most heartless company I’ve ever done business with in my life. These men looked me straight in the eye, while I had my small children in my arms and took advantage of me. You have to truly be heartless, greedy, lacking all moral fiber, to put a mother and her 2 children in a horrible situation like this. It is the middle of winter and in 2 weeks I may not have a vehicle. This situation is just very overwhelming. Finally I have proof in documents and recordings to back up all my claims.

Desired Settlement: Today it is 18 Dec 2014. I've gone to the DMV, and DEQ and they have informed me of the options I have at this point. My temp tags will expire 31 Dec 2014, they encouraged me to use a credit card or obtain some extra money somehow, to charge at least $780 dollars worth of work in-order to obtain a waiver, so I can atleast continue to drive the vehicle and to ensure is will be safer. I took the car to ********* ***** Gas Station on 17 Dec 2014 to get an emissions inspection done and my car failed and they told me they were deeply concerned about the vehicle and have encouraged me to drive it minimally if at all, to ensure the safety of me and my children. With that being said, I have 2 options for what I would consider a desired outcome. #1 is to return the vehicle and get a refund of $5,007.14, which will now include any additional work charges. I have to find a way to get the repairs now because I am running out of time and the holidays are coming, and I understand that my filing process will take some time and I can't afford a rental, and I can't be without a car at this time. OR #2 Keep the vehicle and WPAA pays $4,000 to repair the vehicle. This would help make this situation right for me and my family.

Business Response: *** ****** placed a $300 refundable deposit on the 2003 CRV on Oct 3, 2014.  The advertised price was $4850 plus processing.  *** ****** came in on Oct 4 and test drove and inspected the vehicle.  She negotiated a $550 discount and took delivery of the vehicle.  She declined to purchase any extended warranty plans provided by outside vendors.  All vehicles are on site and mechanical inspections are encouraged 7 days a week.

WPAA sells all vehicles "AS-IS" with no warranty.  *** ****** signed a VA state approved buyers guide and Bill of sale stating such. The vehicle had passed VA state safety inspection as required.  *** ****** was well aware of the terms under which she purchased the vehicle.

*** ****** contacted us on 10/22/2014 stating her check engine light was on.  We reiterated that it was an AS IS purchase but we would be happy to inspect it at no charge.  She brought the vehicle in on 10/23/2014. The vehicle had 2 codes, WPAA gave *** ****** discounted estimates to do the repairs. *** ****** elected to do one of the repairs. We ordered the parts but *** ****** did not come back for the repairs as she had agreed to.

*** ****** than said that the DMV would not register her vehicle.  We informed her that was not accurate and even offered to register the vehicle for her.  Which we did.  All of this was done within the prescribed 30 day time period.

It is unrealistic to expect not to need any service on an eleven year old vehicle.  *** ****** had essentially 60 days to take care of her emissions.

The CRV has a current ***** Blue Book fair value of $6497, *** ****** paid $4825.  WPAA has done everything expected of a fair and reasonable company.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is not true. I have proof that contact was made on the "12" of October not the "22". The conversation I had was with Manuel and he stated that he was going to talk to Billy and follow up with us to let us know if we could work out a settlement, because he agreed that some of the issues with the sale were not right. I called and I came in a few days later to pick up my title and I asked Manuel if he had spoken to Billy yet and he hadn't. He said he would later that day and he would call me. He never called. I waited 2 weeks. They never agreed to order any parts, or anything. We were supposed to discuss cost and assistance. Manuel attempted to make it right, but he never followed through. More than likely Billy said no. Additionally I spent 30 of those 60 days waiting for the car title. You didn't do us a favor by sending Paula to do it, you did it to cover up a mistake. I spent 15 days dealing with you guys regarding repairing the vehicle, contacting our lawyer once you ignored us and waiting for you all to respond to the letter he sent. This wasn't as simple as getting the emissions done. $3,000 plus worth of work is needed to pass the emissions test. We got it done and it failed. We spent the money hoping for a reliable vehicle, not a deceitful sale, which is what this is. You can say what you want, but I have proof that you are lying. I recorded all of our conversations, I have the original car title, and I have documented dates. You can say what you want, but unlike some of these other people on this site. I recorded you because I had a feeling you would lie like you are doing now. This is not over. BILLY! You are wrong and I will keep fighting until I get justice. We are a young family, it is Christmas, it is very cold outside we don't deserve this. Can you really look yourself in the mirror and think that what you are doing is right? My God, I know that there are some bad people in the world but .... I don't even know what else to say this is just a really bad situation for my family right now. I have 2 babies. How dare you..... I truly am mortified at this response.


Regards,

******** ******








Business Response: Just to reiterate.  The vehicle has a Kelly Blue Book value of approximately $6800, it was sold for $4850.
The title was given to the customer free and clear within 30 days of sale, we have the customers signature.
The customer purchased the vehicle AS IS. Extended warranty was refused, we have the customers signature.
The customer brought the vehicle in on the 22nd.  We gave the customer a discounted estimate to do repairs,
we ordered parts and the customer was supposed to bring in the car in the next day,  we have the customers signature
on the work order and still have the ordered parts.

The repair and service of the vehicle is the vehicle owners responsibility.  At this point the customer is getting personally malicious and
no further response will be made.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is still a lie. The vehicle was purchased on the 4th of Oct. I have the receipt that I signed.  I wish you all would stop saying that it was the 23rd. You must have me mixed up with another customer. I am not trying to be malicious. I just don't like that you try to paint yourselves as being so innocent. I didn't refuse an extended warranty, one was not offered to me, because of the amount of miles on the vehicle. The last conversation we had was with Manuel. He said he was going to talk to Billy about helping us to repair the vehicle without it being 100% out of our pocket due to all of the inconsistencies of the sale. I followed up with him to ask him if he had spoken to Billy and he said he would and he would call me. He took me and my husbands information. We were and are still waiting, i.e. he never called us back, and that was where we left off. So everything else that you have stated is not true. "AS IS" has nothing to do with being dishonest, it has nothing to do with us not being able to register the vehicle in the state of Virginia. As I stated in the last response, I have the same signatures you have, you marked that I refused a warranty when in all actuality you probably mark that for everyone, and they don't realize you are checking the box for them, additionally and most importantly, I audio recorded our transactions and that among other things is my proof. At the end of the day I am asking that you all make this right by covering the costly repairs we've had to ensue due to your dishonesty. Who would buy a car that they can't register? I am prepared to keep fighting this because this is wrong on so many levels.  What comes around goes around, I pray that no one ever does something like this to someone in your family, because as we know it's all good until someone does this to you. I hope you all have a Merry Christmas-hopefully that is less malicious for you. I don't understand why you keep quoting the "Blue Book Value" of this vehicle? Is  this suppose to be justification for selling us a vehicle that you knew had these codes (P0420 and P0845).The actions taken to erase the codes, took away my right to purchase a vehicle being aware of what was a documented issue. Additionally the price you are quoting me, what is that based off of? Is it based off a car in good condition without check engine codes? I feel that you expect me to drop this because you think we got such a great deal. We are slated to pay more than that in repairs.

p.s. Since you are so keen on time, here is the timeline of events, during this transaction:

On Friday Oct 3 2014 viewed a 2003 ***** **** on website.

On Saturday Oct 4 2014 bought the vehicle I didn't drive it until Weds Oct 8th.

On Sunday Oct 12 2014 the check engine light popped on in the vehicle around 10am as I was driving to church. I called Douglas at 10:30 and left a voicemail

13 Oct 2014, sent an e-mail to Charlie, he responded and told me to come in and have the car scanned for free, and they would give me an estimate for repairs

On Thursday Oct 16th 2014  I called to ask about my title, they stated they didn't have it yet

On Thursday Oct 23rd 2014  I went to WPAA. I was greeted by Billy and I explained per Charlie I was there to get the car scanned and I gave them the key. I also talked to him about the driver door not locking or unlocking with the key, and I requested the title for the vehicle since it was past the 2 week mark. Billy found it and gave it to me. Billy and I spoke about repairs, but nothing was solidified and I never signed a work order to have anything done, because I was concerned about the legitimacy of the codes being erased before.

On Saturday Nov 1, 2014 I went to the DMV to register my vehicle and transfer my plates. After waiting 1 hour and filling out a lot of paperwork. I was informed by the DMV representative that my title is incomplete it is missing and important signature and that the car needs and emissions to be performed before registering it.

On Sunday Nov 2 2014 10am My husband and I talked to Manuel another manager at WPAA about the challenges we had been having registering the vehicle. This conversation was recorded. Manuel seemed sympathetic to our situation and stated that he would try to speak with Billy and work something out with us to resolve the issue. He took our information (i.e. phone number, and e-mail address) and stated that he would speak with Billy and get back to us the next business day.

On Monday Nov 3 2014 I returned to WPAA around 3pm to collect my temporary plates. Paula had them ready and I paid the fees associated. She apologized again for the inconvenience and told me to have the emissions done. She also handed me the title with my name printed on it, and stated that she was able to get power of attorney to sign off and clear the title. I saw Manuel on my way out and asked him if he had a chance to speak with Billy. He said no and that he would talk to him today and get back to me.

On Thursday Nov 6 2014 My husband called the MD DMV to see if we could obtain an emissions report to end this drama with WPAA however with the report came proof of what we suspected after all, that the codes were already there when they had the car in their possession. This leads us to believe that this car has been tampered with and the codes were erased by WPAA mechanics in order to sale the vehicle.

15 Nov still waiting for Manuel call us back about the repairs

Regards,


******** ******







3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle, not in an auction, on the lot on Saturday 1/17/15. I test drove a few cars there and chose to purchase a 2004 ** ****** with only 95,000 miles n it. Test drove it, notices a little smell which salesman (Mark) said was from the new brake pads. Bought it, brought it home and an hour later noticed oil in driveway. Called them on Sunday 1/18/15 and was told to call back Monday and speak to Bill, which I did that morning after having my mechanic look it over. Explained to Bill that I have not even driven the car other than from there to my house, then mechanic and that it needs 956.00 worth of work. Bill informed me that it is an as is sale, no warranty and my job was to test drive it, which I did, and my job to make sure it was a god car. I told him I did but it is not my job to crawl under the car to see it as I am a consumer, not a dealer or mechanic. It is their job to at least sell half decent cars as a used car lot. I did not expect an 11 year old car to be perfect but I did expect it not to be spewing oil all over the place and need another 950 right off their lot. He said basically Too Bad So Sad (not in those words but you get the jest). No help offered. They do have mechanics there but I am not sure what they do since they do not make sure the cars are sell able. I know and understand what AS IS means but they should not be selling cars that should not be sold. I have bought used cars many times AS IS and they have eventually needed this and that since they are old cars but they were sold in respectable condition. This is outrageous and Bill was very rude. I paid my mechanic the 950.00 to fix the vehicle since it was needed before ever driving this car. My mechanic is at ***** **** ***** in Fairfax. I will never, ever buy a car from Woodbridge Public Auto Auction as there business practices should be against the law! Selling cars that should not be allowed to be sold..who does this? Outrageou

Desired Settlement: Since they refused to make my car drive able themselves, I would like them to refund me the money I paid out for my mechanic to make the car I bought from them able to be driven. They should have never sold that car in the condition it was in. I was lucky it did not blow the engine on way home from purchasing it. I have the bill of sale from them and I have my invoice and receipt from ***** **** ***** for repairs. 166.00 of that 956.00 was for a new surpentine belt as it was cracked but that was my choice to have that done before it broke and it was from normal wear and tear for an 11 year old car...so I would like to deduct the 166.00 from bill and have them refund the rest....I will send you the paper work you need for proof. Thank you ******* ******

Business Response: The ****** in question was a Virginia inspected vehicle originally offered for $4950.  Thew customer came in test drove the vehicle and after inspecting the vehicle she offered $4000 for the vehicle.  WPAA accepted her offer and sold her the car AS IS .  Warranties are offered and mechanical inspections are allowed.  The customer elected not to do either of these.
The ****** in question has a ***** Blue Book value of approximately $7000. 

When the customer called Monday I explained that we could give her an estimate in our shop to do any repairs she needed at a discounted rate.  $900 for valve covers and a belt seemed very excessive.  The customer than said she did not trust us to do the repair and we should pay her mechanic to do the work.  I informed her that was not our policy, and repairing the vehicle at another shop would be her choice.

In summary the vehicle was offered well below market value, the customer inspected and made an offer on the vehicle, and it was understood that it was an "AS IS " sale.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are not telling the whole truth. I offered and paid 4400 for the cat, not 4000. I have the paperwork. That right there is a 400.00 difference. Since filing the complaint about the issue I had that very day I bought it...the next Sunday it had been raining and the entire front passenger floor was a pool of water so we thought it needed to have the window seal done...however, we vacuumed it up and drove it right after getting the water out, for the second time since owning this car...all lights in dash came on and stayed on..the Airbag warning came on as well and stayed on, the car was sluggish and when I stopped on side of road..it would not shift into gear again for at least a half hour...again took it to my mechanic and turns our the moon roof drains were clogged and the water just ran into the car..also got in the control panel and connections. they had to replace a trans,. box ( I have the paper work) and all connections were rusted from this happening before apparently. so not only did I need a new part, they had to clean off all conncections and let everything dry..kept car for a week to get it all taken care of this time, This repair was another 645.00 so lets see, I paid 4400.00 (not the 4000.00 you claim) then paid 950.00 2 days after purchase, then another 645.00 the week after...yeah great car. I want it corrected that I paid 4400 for this car. NOT 4000.00 I have proof of what I paid....4400.00 for car and 1595.00 for repairs on car within 8 days...Woodbridge Public Auto Auction is a horrible place to buy a car and I am making sure other people all over know it! The salesman was a nice man and should consider working at a better car dealership.  They are awful and also rude... I would not want them to touch the car with as rude as their people are on the phone and how dishonest they are..would not trust them to fix anything and who knows what else they may do/


4400.00 for car
1595.00 in repairs in 8 days of purchase.  great deal guys great deal! NOT How do you people sleep at night? I am out so much money for this car


Regards,

******* ******








12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2002 ****** ****** from Woodbridge Auto Auction in April, 2014. I went get a oil change and the mechanic told me that there was a rear main seal leak. I couldn't drive it because the engine was ticking and the oil was dripping right out of the bottom. I called Woodbridge auto auction to let them know what was going on and they told me they can have it towed back to them and fixed for $250.00. I told them great because I needed the truck to travel back and forth to work. They came and got the truck and took it to their service department located at the same address. When they told me it was ready I came to pick it and payed them the full $250.00 and drove it home. I took it to my mechanic to have it looked at to make sure it was fixed correctly and he told me there was still a leak from the rear main seal that they had just fixed. I called them back to inform them and Bill(the manager)told me to bring it back in. They fixed it for a second time. I replaced the starter because it went out and my mechanic told me my rear main seal was still leaking from the second time they fixed it. So I've been calling them over the past few months and they informed me that if I wanted it fixed I would have to pay them $800.00. I don't feel as if I should have to pay them again to fix the same problem twice. They also sold me the car with everything passing on the inspection statement, but everything they passed it for was not working on the truck when purchased.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to refund me the services I payed for or the full amount of the truck and they can have it back. If that isn't possible then I would like for them to fix the rear main seal correctly, and all the things they passed on the inspection that wasn't actually working on the vehicle.

Business Response: Response to complaint filed by ***** ****:

**** **** purchased the 2002 ****** ****** in April of 2014.  She purchased the vehicle "AS-IS" with no warranty.  She signed a VA state approved buyers guide and a bill of sale stating such.  When **** **** initially contacted us shortly after purchasing the vehicle that she had a problem we offered to tow the vehicle for free and repair it at a very discounted cost.  WPAA had no responsibility to repair the vehicle but did so in the interest of customer service.  There was a problem with the initial repair and we repaired the vehicle at no charge under the service warranty which is for a 90 day period.

The warranty on the repairs done to the vehicle expired in July 2014. *** **** contacted me  for the first time in the end of October stating that the vehicle had a problem.
I asked her when the service was performed and she said she did not know and would call me back.  I informed her that all work performed had a ninety day warranty.
She asked if the vehicle could repaired again at the same price and I informed her that the first repair was done as a courtesy at that price. A new repair would be at the standard rate of approximately $500.  With the vehicle being 3 months out of warranty and other mechanics having serviced the vehicle we could not offer the same price.

**** **** never brought the vehicle back to our service facility and that was the last time we spoke.

Thank You
Bill M*******
General Manager


Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That is not true at all. I paid $249.55 for the service to be fixed on 5-7-2014 which was not repaired properly. I have attached the documents proving that I did in fact pay $50.00 for towing and the rest in repairs. Please let me know if you have successfully received the documents.

Regards,

***** ****








10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Greetings, I secured a loan from ******* Financial Services for $4,799.25 along with $5000.00 of my own funds for a 2004 *** from Woodbridge Public auto auction at the sales department. The next day after taking possession of the vehicle I took it through inspection at The District of Columbia Department of Motor vehicle Inspection station. At that time the vehicle fail miserably.They inform me the vehicle smokes badly and that the obd monitors are inoperable therefore its no way possible to test the vehicle for emission. That renders the vehicle useless and will not be able to be registered. Before purchasing the vehicle 'as is' Woodbridge told me it failed Virginia State inspection for 2 tires and tag light bulbs. I contacted Woodbridge Pubilc Auto Auction and informed them of the situation. They told me to bring the vehicle back and I did. They took the vehicle to Pep boys for diagnostics at which time the technician informed me they were also unable to get any readings related to emission, The same results as The District of Columbia. Next they took the vehicle to have it tested for emission which yielded the same results. The managers At Woodbridge Auto tried to persuade me that it's the sensors that are bad which is not the case. All test indicate the sensors cant read to determine it they are good or bad. I indicated that I don't want the vehicle or the hardship such problem presents and they refuse to cancel the deal and refund my deposit. The vehicle is useless to me as well as Lendmark and will not pass any state emission as required by law. I need help getting my money back. I refuse to pay for a vehicle that cannot be registered in accordance to the law. I returned the vehicle within 24 hours and was very disappointed in the way the handled the matter. Please contacted me as soon as possible at ###-###-####. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money back.

Business Response:

Dear Sirs

We will fax repose and supporting documents to *** *** ****

Thank You

Bill M*******

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the auto auction searching for a vehicle, and I ended up purchasing a 2000 ****** ****** off the lot, not thru the auction. I test drove the vehicle and it seemed to be pretty decent. Upon getting back to the lot, I further inspected the car and noticed that the oil was not on the dipstick and appeared to be low. So I asked the car salesman about it and he said that it was just filled with oil. He also said that the vehicle had a fully functional engine and transmission, with no issues. So I purchased the car. On the way home, which is 100+ miles, i made it about 65 miles, when the check engine light came on. I pulled of the interstate to a local gas station, where I immediately checked the oil, assuming that was the problem. Upon checking it, still no oil read on the dipstick. So I went into the gas station and purchased oil, a whole gallon worth, which would all go into the vehicle, proving there was no oil in the car when leaving the dealership. When I turned on the car, it blew a large amount of thick white smoke from the exhaust, and started clicking, then shut off. I managed to to make it up the road to a church parking lot where the car would stay for about two weeks, until I was able to tow it. The next day I called the dealership, only to be pawned off for three days. On the third day I was able to talk to the general manager of the dealership, only for him to basically say, sorry for your bad luck. They knew they were selling a defective vehicle, and covered all the questions asked with blatant lies.

Desired Settlement: All I want out of this is a refund, and for them to take this faulty vehicle back.

Business Response: Dear *** ********, As mentioned in our phone conversation we sincerely regret the misfortune you have suffered with this vehicle. We have a standard procedure here when a vehicle comes in to us on consignment. The vehicle arrives and is immediately booked in and all the drivetrain fluids are checked and topped off as necessary. The vehicle is then driven to a local VA State inspection station. The particular vehicle you purchased Passed VA State Safety Inspection. The vehicle is then placed on our property for sale where customers can test drive the cars on the road and even bring their mechanic here to check them out.

In your case the vehicle was test driven by you and also driven by you 65 miles. Obviously the car could not have covered these miles with no oil. It is obvious we could not have possibly known that the vehicle would develop this issue. Even though we have sold you the vehicle AS-IS we did offer for you to bring the vehicle to us where we can provide a fair estimate on the necessary repairs at a heavily discounted rate, to which you responded that you did not want to pay for towing.

We have sold over 131,000 cars in 20 years and pride ourselves on the way we conduct business, and in these rare cases we try and offer as much help as is possible to clients. A refund in this case is simply not an option. You purchased the vehicle for $1650 and there is always a possibility that some repairs may be necessary.

Please feel free to contact us any time.

Regards

Bill M*******

Consumer Response: A refund is not possible because you do not want the broke down car you sold me back. And I was not given the option to bring it back, for any reason, I was told I was out of luck essentialy. The vehicle had to have pre exciting problems because when the proper amount of oil was placed in the vehicle, it simply burned the oil, that doesn't just happen. Your salesman told me there was the correct amount of oil in it, and assured that to me, which was not the case at all. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Woodbridge Public Auto Auction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)