BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Woodbridge Public Auto Auction

Phone: (703) 643-1189 View Additional Phone Numbers 1108 A Horner Road, Woodbridge, VA 22191 http://wpaa.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodbridge Public Auto Auction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodbridge Public Auto Auction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 20, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1993 in MD Business started locally: 08/01/1993 Business incorporated: 08/01/1993 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stavros Koudellon, President Mr. Theofanis Koudellou, Sales Manager Mr. Bill Martinos, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stavros Koudellon, President
Principal: Mr. Theofanis Koudellou, Sales Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Martinos, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Auctions Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
S & S Service Center

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 499-9684(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought the truck on 7-06 -2012 but haddent put it on the rd until justrecently.. because we drove it home from the auction barn the transmission light and the overdrive light was on. I called and they said that it wasn't under warrenty nothing they could do without me paying for it.. so the car sat at my house for several months until I could get enough money to get it looked at. I installed a new solenoid for 500. but the light still on.THEN:took it to get new tires and they had to sledge hammer off the rims because of so much corrosion, sand and rust. on the wheels bolts and calipers. ******* guys thought it had been in a flood..so we then started looking at the engine and u could see corrosion and rust on the engine partsthe back hatch had two big rusty bolts. but the rest of the inside was rather refurbished and new looking.. but the rails of the seats were old and rusty. Today June 17 I called and talked to the manager ****. and he said its been a yr. and I explained y. he said nothing he could do im on my own andlets bring in the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want the transmission fixed and all the lights off I pd 6000 for this explorer it should be operational without problems.all 4 rims, calipers and bolts that are rusted and corroded need to be replaced. they are aluminum rims.a 3 yr warrenty on all engine parts and labor.. OR 3,000 DOLLARS BACK. OR A COMPLETE REFUND...

Business Response: This vehicle was purchased nearly one year ago.  It was purchased AS IS and all appropriate bill of sales and buyers guides were provided to the customer.  A full vehicle history report was given to the customer at time of sale in 2012.  The vehicle history was was clean and did not have any issues reported.  This customer contacted WPAA nearly a year later on an AS IS sale to complain about the condition of the vehicle.  It does not seem reasonable for WPAA to have any responsibility to do repairs to a vehicle after it has been in the owners possession for such a long period of time.  WPAA has no way of knowing what has transpired with this vehicle in the year the customer has owned it.  We feel that any and all claims made by the customer are unreasonable and there are no remedies we can offer at this time.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
We called u as soon as we left ur auction barn to tell u that the transmission light was on and stuck in overdrive. 

. in. u told me because i didnt take out a warranty that we were on our own. and wouldhave to pay for repairs.
i also called the auction barn. & complained to ****.
u did sent  hisotry report and on it says no water damage title which an adjuster needs to look at this vheicle to see the damage on the rims and drums and inline stuff of the wheel
and the engine. there is lots of corrossion. several mechanics have told me this 
shurely an automotive company as yourself knows when they see a water damaged vhicles..with rust and corrossion.. 
the  ford sat in my yard. for 7 months.  because of the transmission and the rotton tires. 
i bought the ford with over 135 thou on it 
it has 136,000 on it. so
u can see i havent driven the ford at all.
i feel the ford was misrepresented  and that i was quite obvious it wasnt in good condition like he bluebooked the ford to us.
it was in poor condition and needed rims tires, all inner guts ot the wheels from sand salt and corrossion.
and the engine itself shows water damage. who know how long it will last 
this ford is a salvage vheicle they tried to sell to the public. 
i have 2 reports saying they had to sledge hammer the tireds off  and how corosioned all 4 tires were,  
the second is from a mechanic t  ***** **** dealers on ********* **, saying the transmission is shot & cheaper to replace than to fix
and thirdly the guy whos given a quote on fixing the transmission. 1600.00
there is a tire in the rear side of ford that is constaqnly flat it was when we left the auction barn and still having issues.
  even with the new tires its loosing air .
its the rim and all the corrossion they said.
the ford shuld have come with decent rims and tires and inner guts of the tires threads, callipers exc, this is an important part of any vheicle
it shuldnt have passed inspection without a horn either. sonmeone could get killed. The horn doesnt work.. which is another 85 for the part..
the engine needs a warrenty .or help pay for transmission and decent rims and whatever else is rusted in the wheels all 4 of them... .. 




Regards,

****** ******








Business Response: WPAA makes all attempts to help its customers with any issues that arise post sale.  WPAA does offer extended warranty plans to all its customers, this customer refused any warranty. 
WPAA does provide free vehicle history reports to its customers, this vehicle did have a clear history.  All vehicles sold at WPAA are sent thru independent Virginia State Inspection.
WPAA has a full service department, we offer discounted repairs to all our customers. This customer elected to take the vehicle to an outside service facility.  The customer has also been in possession of the vehicle for a year.  There is no way for WPAA to know or be responsible for what has been done to a vehicle in that amount of time.  WPAA is still willing to offer discounted repair service to this customer.  The vehicle history for this vehicle shows it is a ONE owner from ************ ******** .  The vehicle also passed the VA State Inspection prior to sale ( By an independent licensed State inspector ) also unlikely that an inspector would miss these issues.  The vehicle has a CURRENT ***** Blue Book retail value of $8900,  WPAA sold this vehicle for $6000 last year.  We have attached the vehicle history report for your review.  We have also attached a copy of the bill of sale indicating that the customer signed twice acknowledging the AS IS contract as well as declining the warranty ( signatures on file on hard Copy).  All state and company regulations and policies were adhered to in this transaction.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I already explained  to u that the vheicle sat in my yard because u refused to fix the problems for us.. Like i said I called as soon as we got home and told u about the transmission overdrive light on. 

I didint know about the rims and rust issues until i registered the vheicle and got new tires on by ********.
If a state  i nspector checked the vheicle out before stickering it he would have found that the horn needs an 88.00 part to work
and the tire didnt hold air in fact you pumped up that tire before we left the auction barn. .. the rims are rusty and corrossioned and so is the engine.
 the rims wont hold the tire seal is what im told..too much rust and corrossion..
and the tires  were so dryrotted they would not have inspected. . Also engine light was on... 
need i say more..
being greenhorns at buying vheicles,  and u being an auction barn..  the battery was apparently unhooked so the transmission and tire  lights wouldnt come on until
the truck was sold  down the rd.. this is a clever trick used by auto companies.. thats uy we have a BBB . to help customers like myself that have been 
taken advantage of.
the vheicle was just appraised FYI by ***** **** **** ** ********* ** for 2,500. 
so much for your blue book value.. 
the truck has rust  on all 4 hubs and rims that need replacing.. can u help me with that.?? would u like to have it for your children and family use.. ITS UNSAFE!!!!!
then its gonna be 1600 for transmission to be rebuilt .best price i could find..  
the truck cannot be drove  in overdrive and u sold me the truck that way.. for 6ooo with transmission problems and bad tires.
truly. u should consider helping me with repairs. its not the DEPENDABLE TRUCK IU SAID  IT WAS FOR MY FAMILY...!!! 
thats y i came 3 1/2 hrs to your auction so u could help a poor nurse find good transportation for a decent price for my family..
i feel like i been kicked by a horse instead.. so im asking u again for new or good used  17 inch rims and callipers and blolts for the inside of the tires
and the 1600 it will be to rebuild the transmission.  thanks.. 
Lets let a state inspector look at the vheicle !!! Im shure he will see the rust corrossion on the rims hubs and callipers  are not safe on  this vheicle. it should have never gotten passsed by inspection.. 
and needing a transmission which is common in theese trucks. Im shure your mechanics knew the overdrive light  was on and hard shifting was obvious tramsission problem
give me back 3000 so i can fix the vheicle so its driveable ...  



 .



Regards,

****** ******







BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2002 Toyota Highlander from Woodbridge public Auto Aution on 3/21/2013. The salesperson told me that the vehicle was in a good condition. on leaving their premises, at about 11 miles away from thier lot, the vehicle broke down on the highway. I contacted them immediately, and I took the vehicle back to them. After diagnosis, It was discovered that the vehicle had a bad engine. But they were not willing to refund my money. They said that because the vehicle was sold as is.

Desired Settlement: They were not willing to take responsibility.

Business Response: *** ****** visited our dealership on 3/19/13. He found a 2002 Toyota Highlander stock number *****.  The vehicle was offered for sale at a price of $7425.00.
The vehicle had a NADA average retail price of $9125.00.  *** ****** inspected and test drove the vehicle.  Woodbridge Public Auto Auction encourages test drives as well as mechanical inspections.  After his inspection *** ****** offered $6300 for the vehicle.  The offer was accepted and *** ****** was told he could leave a deposit if he wished.  The vehicle was offered for sale AS IS , *** ****** was aware of this and signed the bill of sale indicating such.  He also signed the ** state approved buyers guide, a seperate document which also indicates the AS IS condition of the sale.  A seperate extended warranty was offered to *** ****** which he refused.  This is also indicated on his bill of sale.

After taking delivery of the vehicle *** ****** contacted us saying the vehicle had a problem.  We offered to take a look at the vehicle.  Upon inspection the vehicle had an engine issue.  The vehicle had 149 miles more than at time of delivery.  We informed *** ****** again that the vehicle was sold AS IS but since he just purchased the vehicle we would help him with the labor cost to repair the vehicle in our shop.  This resolution was not acceptable to *** ******.

After reviewing this transaction WPAA has done everything in accordance with our company policies as well as Virginia state statues.  Our offer to help with the repairs is still open

Thank You
**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1