BBB Accredited Business since

Car Trendz

Phone: (703) 360-5570 View Additional Phone Numbers 8164C Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309 http://www.cartrendz.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Car Trendz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Car Trendz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Car Trendz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1986
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tai Nguyen, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tai Nguyen, CEO
Business Category

Auto Alarms & Security Systems


Additional Locations

  • 8164C Richmond Hwy

    Alexandria, VA 22309

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ******** Navigation system from Car Trendz on March 17, 2011. The navigation system worked properly but there were numerous times I had to return to the business because the ** tuner wasn't acting properly. Each time they fixed it until another problem arose. I am in the military so now I am stationed in California vice Virginia. After arriving to California, I noticed that the ** tuner was going in and out. I assumed it was the connection in the area but it was happening everyday. In the middle of January, my truck wouldn't start and I took it to the *** dealership. They said that there was something wrong with the theft deterrent so they fixed it. But when I got home the ** tuner was not showing on the navigation system. I called the dealership to ask them what happened and they told me to bring the truck back. I took the truck to the dealership and they called a ****** dealership. ****** stated that the ** tuner was probably bad. I emailed CarTrendz and *** emailed me back and said that *****, I think your ** radio tuner module bad. nothing is built for life. Manufacture only offer one year warranty. we only offer lifetime warranty on labor. I then took my truck to a ****** dealership and they stated the ** module was no good and it was discontinued and that I had to order the piece from online. I emailed ***, but he didn't respond back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $1700.00 (Navigation System) and $53.16 (3 month ** subscription).

Business Response: Electronic products have only one year of  warranty from the the manufactures since the date of the purchase from any retailers.

The ** satellite tuner module was purchased since  03/17/2011.  Problem occurred within the the warranty period was fixed at not cost.
Customer reported problem with the unit on 02/07/2014 but it is a discontinued and out of warranty item.  
*** ******
CAR TRENDZ
05/18/2014

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: **. ****** stated that he would fix any part that breaks and the receipt states lifetime guarantee. 


Regards,

***** *******








Business Response: Please see attached Sale Receipt.

Our Store and Warranty Policy stated that All products sold are covered under manufacture's warranty.  We only offer Life-Time Warranty on Installation.
Thank you.
***

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the Navigation system was purchased with the ** radio included. Now that the ** radio no longer works, it has affected the control panel on my steering wheel. When I try to adjust the volume on the system nothing happens. When I touch the source button on the steering wheel, the entire system turns off instead of showing the radio, CD or **** sources. There is no longer a ** source on the navigation system. 


Regards,

***** *******









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Car Trendz
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)