BBB Accredited Business since

L.H. Brubaker Appliances, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 299-2351 Fax: (717) 293-5781 View Additional Phone Numbers 340 Strasburg Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lhbrubakerappliances.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that L.H. Brubaker Appliances, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for L.H. Brubaker Appliances, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 21, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1973 in PA Business incorporated: 01/04/1972 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Steller, Vice President Mr. Donald Frank, General Manager Mr. Todd Shertzer, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Shertzer, Controller
Principal: Mr. Michael Steller, Vice President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 340 Strasburg Pike

    Lancaster, PA 17602 (717) 299-2351 (717) 796-0150 (800) 546-6161

  • 5303 E Trindle Rd

    Mechanicsburg, PA 17050

  • 896 L Plaza Blvd

    Lancaster, PA 17601

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (717) 796-0150(Phone)
  • (800) 546-6161(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a microwave from LH Brubaker through our builder. In hindsight, my husband and I decided that we wanted to change to a smaller size microwave. After speaking/emailing with the salesperson, he recommended a ** Profile microwave. I did online research on the recommended microwave and saw many people list issues with this particular model. I sent my concerns to the salesperson and he stated that he had never seen issues with this model and that LH would take care of any issues if they arose. I went to the store and exchanged the microwaves in early January 2013. On January 21st, 2013, the microwave was installed and the door did not work, which was one of the issues I saw online. I emailed the salesperson and he said it could be fixed and he would set up the service appt. and they would call me soon. I never received that call, so I called LH to find out what happened. The sales room said that my service request was submitted but the service team said they had never even heard of me. I called several times and spoke with the service manager and service specialist to identify and clarify the issues we were having so they could figure out if they needed to send out a technician or just replace the microwave. On 1/23, speaking with a service rep, *****, I was told that they would finally fix my microwave on 1/29. I was then called again about rescheduling due to bad weather for 2/4, between 12-3. On 2/4, I called again and they confirmed that they would be coming out to my house. At 3:30, I called again and was told I was not even in the system. In speaking with the service manager, he told me that I was incorrect that the woman who called would give me a timeframe last week for the service call. Basically, he called me a liar. I am so upset by this because I booked the appointment in my calendar WHILE I spoke to her. I would not have made up the time. In all it didn't matter because I wasn't even in the system. Apparently, after they called to reschedule to 2/4, they just dropped my service request. Now, the service manager, will 'see' if he can get someone out tomorrow - all this after insulting me. 1. I was concerned about this model from the get -go but was assured by the salesperson that it would be fine 2. I have called many many times to get this resolved ; to no avail 3. When I actually get an appt, the service calls gets dropped from the system 4. I can't find one person to own the resolution to its end 5. The service manager was rude 6. The sales and service teams don't seem able to communicate to each other 7. There is no history of the conversations I had with their teams, so they don't even know what they are fixing

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the service manager and I would like my microwave repaired when they say they are going to repair it. I have wasted hours calling and waiting for LH Brubaker to show up and do the right thing.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

There are many things happening with this complaint, some of which have to be the responsibility of the customer.  The customer purchased a microwave from us on 10/30/2013. At the time of this purchase the customer was also doing some work on their kitchen, so the microwave was not installed at the time of the original purchase.    During that conversation which is attached below you can see that the Customer and our Sales person discussed four different models of microwaves, all similar in design and function but with different “labels”  and looks from the manufacture, but the same pieces none the less.  

Written to the customer for our sales person:

I have taken some time to look into all of the options for you.   There are 4 models I am going to list here, but there are some issues with some of them and I will explain. I have attached to this email the quick info, and quick spec sheets for each of the 4.

 

********* is the model I listed on the quote I sent you.  It is the model that will match your appliances for look.  It is regularly 299, with ********’s discount price at 286, and an even better price on the floor model of ours at 244. 

 

********** is the model you asked about, it is a ge monogram piece.  Regular price 519  & the discount is 494. 

 

 

** is currently transitioning their lineup to the new model year.  The *********  we have the floor model available, as well as ** still having 54 available.  The ********** is no longer available, and we do not have any in stock.   The one other thing I would point out about these two models is that they are the same exact microwave made in the same place, with the only changes being the look. I would say that the same issues that occur with the ***** would be in the ******, and the reason you may not see much reported is that the *** sells a lot more than the
***

 

The next two models listed here are the replacements for the last models that they are phasing out.

 

********* is the new ***** model, and it has a different look to it than the old ones.  Regular 319 & discounted your price 305

 

********** is the new *** model, and it has a slightly different look than the old one, but very similar to the new *********. Regular 519  discounted 494

 

These two models are different than the last years models, and I believe they have addressed some of the paint issues.  All of these pieces may have a latch issue at some point, and that is just a design deal with these models. 

 

The new ********* is available @ **.  The new ********** is not available yet, but is expected in the next week or two. 

 

All of these pieces can use the hanging kit to mount under a cabinet.

 

I hope this info helps you see the options that are out there.  Please let me know which way you would like to go, the ********* (floor model or new), *********, or wait for the **********.

 

If you have any other questions, please let me know.

 

LH Brubakers

The customer decided to switch microwaves to the ***** model because it matched her current appliances.  We train our sales staff to give the customer all the information possible, they do not make choices for the customer, we may recommend but the customer makes the final choice.  This transaction took place on or around 1/13/2014. It is at this point after installation that the customer had issues with the door. 

The way our company processes all customer calls is that, upon receiving the phone call an order is entered into the system, in this case a service call was entered on 1/23/14.  We then have our in house trained and certified tech, take a look at the issue and proceed with getting any need parts to properly fix the appliance the first time we go to the customers home.  We were scheduled to arrive at the customers home on 1/29/14.   On 1/27/2013 our in house tech looked at the issue he found that the manufacture was recommending a fix of which we did not stock the part, so we had to order it.  At this point our in house tech called the customer and informed her of this development and rather than coming to the house twice they both agreed to wait until the arrival of the part.  If a service call requires parts to be ordered we NEVER set up a service call with a customer until that part arrives, it would be a waste of our time and the time of the customer.  Again she agreed to wait for the part to arrive. 

Her statement claiming that during that conversation she was given a time frame is also incorrect. As I stated before we do not do that.

Here is what happened on a later date referencing her waiting for us on 2/4..We received a call from a customer ******* (notice the name), they called into cancel their service call for the time frame of 12-3 on 2/4/2013.  After that phone call the customer ******* called in asked about her service call (which is not scheduled because we do not have the part yet), our call taker said that she already canceled the service call, to which ******* said she did not, but our call taker thought she was talking to ******* (again name).  So our call taker, called back our service tech and sent him to the ******* call, to which no one was there because it was canceled. 

Customer ******* then called back in upset that she was at the house waiting for us and we never showed up, when we explained to her that she was never scheduled she went back the conversation with our call taker which our employee thought she was talking to someone else.  She called began to get upset, accusing our staff of caller her a liar etc.  Again I repeat, we do not set up service calls where parts are on order, nor do we ever give out time frames until the day before.  Company policy is we can give out dates, but NO times until the day before.  So she is inaccurate in much of her compliant.

This still does not change the fact that we DO NOT EVER schedule a service call (when waiting for a part) until we have the part in hand.  We did not have the part, as we would have just ordered on the 27th and the part only arrived on 2/5/2013.  Once part arrived we scheduled the repair and went the customers home and replaced the faulty part.

The customer in this complaint may have reason to be frustrated with **, the manufacture of the appliance in which she chose, but as far as LH Brubaker is concern we made our best effort to take care of the issue as quickly as possible.  Please remember she chose the microwave, we did not make her purchase it. 

We accept the miss communication and how unfortunate that is, but she was told we would call her when the part arrives to schedule a time to come out.  Currently the customers appliance is fixed and working properly.

Thanks

**** ******** – CFO/Controller

L.H. Brubaker Appliances, Inc.   

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired LHBrubaker to repair a Viking oven and the light dimmer switch on a Viking hood. They came to our home three (3) times. The first time one repairman came to check the oven. He indicated he did not know what was wrong, that it may be a relay in the oven and they would have to make another service appointment where two (2) men would come out so the stove could be taken out and serviced from the back. He also made note of the dimmer switch for the light in the hood that was not working to be ordered. I received a call some weeks later to schedule another service appointment. One (1) repairman showed up the second time. This repairman noted that the wrong part was ordered for the light dimmer switch that the right part would need to be re-ordered. LHBrubaker indicates that they replaced the relay on the oven at this time. I did not see the repairman do this, nor was a broken relay showed to me. The oven still did not work. I stayed in the kitchen watching the entire time he was at the home. Additionally, since two (2) men were needed to move the stove, he indicated he could not investigate the cause of the oven not working and would have to have the office schedule another appointment whereas two (2) men could move stove. Several weeks later, I was out of town and received a call to schedule a service appointment. I contacted my husband to call LHBrubakers to schedule the appointment when he could be home, in which he did. Two (2) repairmen did come out and pulled out the stove. Upon pulling out the stove or placing it back in they broke our countertop. The repairman then replaced the switch for the fan in the hood, which was working fine. When the two (2) repairmen left, they indicated to my husband that thought they may know what was wrong with the oven but said nothing about the light dimmer switch in the hood. Late that afternoon I returned home and my husband told me the repairmen had been at the house that day. I went over to check the light dimmer and it still didn't work. I called LHBrubakers and asked them why it still wasn't working. The woman told me she would have to get back to me. She called back and said that the repairman knew that he switched out the wrong one and they were ordering a new one and would call to schedule another appointment when that switch came in. At this point I became a bit frustrated with this company and told my husband that he would have to deal with the issues of the stove from that point forward. At some point after speaking with LHBrubakers the second time, I noticed the countertop was broken. My husband called LHBrubakers and they must have been closed because a recording came on and he left a message indicating the countertop had been broken by the repairmen. Someone did call him back and the discussion was about the repairs to the hood and oven thus far, our frustration with the service and the broken countertop. The man indicated he was sorry that we lost confidence in their repairmen and they would send us a bill. I received a package from LHBrubakers which contained 2 bills, a letter and a part, which they later told me was the switch that was removed from the hood in error. Invoice No. *******-** is for a total of $86.17. This amount is for a Viking Blower Control (which was never broken) $56.29 and $25.00 for them to service the Viking Blower Control. $4.88 sales tax. Invoice No. *******-** is for a total of $185.28. This amount is $78.79 for a Viking Relay. $96.00 for service call. $10.49 tax. When I received this package I was a bit confused by the part inside and the bills. I called and a service manager called me back. He indicated that they returned the part that they removed because it was not broke. (however, on the invoice it states that the wire on fan switch is frayed and they will repair and return. I can tell they did not repair it because everything on it is greasy, however a screw is missing out of it.) I indicated that I did not want to pay for a switch or service call that ultimately did not fix what was wrong to begin with. He indicated that they would have come out to put the old one back in and put the new one in the correct place. At this point I have heard several different stories about this dimmer switch. I am not confident in the service they provide. Additionally, this part they sent back to me has bounced around their warehouse and then through the mail and it has a screw missing. I am not sure this part, which worked fine before they took it out, is now going to work. The Relay they said they replaced - I cannot confirm or deny that they did this. All I know is they said they replaced it and the oven still does not work. I am additionally confused as to why they charged $25.00 service charge to replace the dimmer switch/Blower Control and charged $96.00 service charge to replace the Relay. At both times only one (1) repairman was present. I also spoke with him about the broken countertop. He said he had heard nothing about this. He asked me to send him a picture (which I did with my phone and sent to him immediately after our call) I ended the conversation indicating I would provide my husband with the information and that he could decide what we should do. My husband called LHBrubakers today, November 4, 2013. He spoke with a manager. He went over his frustration again and that he did not feel invoice was accurate for the service they provided. The manager indicated that I told him we would pay the bill in full. This is a false statement. They also spoke about the broken countertop and the the manager said these things happen. The manager told my husband that we must pay the Invoices and that he is sending the invoices to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I should pay for Invoice No. *******-** in the amount of $86.17 (dimmer switch for light that was broken - invoice indicates it is Viking Blower Control) I am willing to pay for Invoice No. *******-** in full. LHBrubakers pay for repair to countertop. I do not have estimate on countertop as of yet

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us to respond, attached is our information regarding this customers concern.

Thanks