BBB Accredited Business since

Bray & Scarff Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 470-3555 View Additional Phone Numbers 8610 Cherry Lane, Laurel, MD 20707 http://www.brayandscarff.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bray & Scarff Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bray & Scarff Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 56 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

56 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 21 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 52
Total Closed Complaints 56

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Bray & Scarff Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1930 in MD Business started locally: 01/19/1930 Business incorporated 12/12/1987 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 44961.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705019538A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Powell, VP Mr. J. Dennis Scarff Mr. R. Kenneth Dudson, President Mr. Bill Hurley, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Powell, VP
Principal: Mr. J. Dennis Scarff
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Bray & Scarff Bray and Scarff

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2016 Delivery Issues
3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ***** dishwasher on Dec. 27, 2012, with a 5-year warranty. I have had two service calls for a leaky drain hose. On these two occasions, the technician said that the leak was not in the hose. I accepted this although I doubted this. I kept close watch on the slow leak. Recently, the leak has increased; water pools under my sink and stinks, now every two-three weeks. I have contacted Bray three times; no call has been answered. This morning I contacted ***** directly. ***** does not honor the contract between me and Bray; I understand this. ***** sent Bray an email asking that Bray contact me. Bray has not contacted me. I am understandably furious. This leak could become huge at any time I run the dishwasher; I am very weary that the machine will flood my kitchen and dining room and cause extensive damage to furniture and rugs. My desired outcome: to have this leak fixed and refund for the warranty contract. I am angry and dissatisfied with B&S.

Desired Settlement: Fix the washer and refund the warranty fee because Bray has not honored its obligation under the contract.

Business Response: Good morning,

The repair of the dishwasher was completed on 9 June 2015. Debra from the Repair Dept attempted to contact *** ******* on 10 June 2015. Debra has not heard from *** *******, so we can only assume she is satisfied. If *** ******* has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact Debra directly at ###-###-####.
 
Best Regards,
 
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

6/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2014 we purchased a "*******" cabinet from Bray & Scarff that was unfinished and delivered in January 2015. Upon preparing the cabinet for painting, we noticed that the two drawers that came with the cabinet were damaged. I immediately called the Tysons, VA store where it was purchased and they forwarded the information to an employee in a different office to contact me the next day (Monday). We were contacted and explained the damages to the drawers, which were the frame of the drawer was split where the mechanism for the guide was installed, as well as the ends of the drawers sides were broken off (where the dovetailing was), and the second drawer had a split in the wood of the bottom panel of the drawer that was puttied in with wood putty. She put in a request for a new set of drawers. Three weeks later I had to call to find out where these drawers were, and oops the order didn't go through. A week later I had the replacement drawers. They too were damaged. I, at that time, took photos of the damage and sent it to the rep. She put in another order for new drawers. Again I had to call to find out where the 2nd set was. The rep. then sent me an e-mail that she had to call the cabinet manuf. and chew them out, but that I would be receiving the replacement drawers for the cabinet. The 3rd set of drawers arrived packed in the same box, with bubble wrap thrown into the box, loosely wrapped around the two drawers stacked against each other, nothing in between. This set was damaged to the point where the sides/back of the drawers, where they were put together with dovetailing, was all misaligned as well as the ends broken off. I called the next morning, again to the store where the purchase was made (the contact they gave me was out of town) and my information was then forwarded to the General Manager (which I asked for). The GM must have been too busy to call because I got a call from his underling. Disappointed with the manner in which the underling handled my complaint would be and understatement. His reactions were such that he could care less about my complaints or the lousy quality that they are selling to their customers. The best he would do is have the drawers picked up, not the next day, but the next week. At this time, I again requested to have the GM call and speak with my husband. That request, I'm assuming, fell of deaf ears. A week after they were picked up, I had to call AGAIN to find out where the drawers were. I received a call back saying they were being shipped out, not next day - that would be silly, but when they felt they could deliver them. Still haven't received the drawers, three days later. I, again reiterated that I would still like to hear from the GM, but at that point was so frustrated with the person I was speaking with, I hung up.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the drawers replaced with quality drawers, as the original cabinet was not inexpensive. I would also like to receive some compensation for all the headache this has been.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

Keith R******* contacted **** ********* on 12 June 2015. **** ********* has accepted a credit of $200.00 for the issues listed in the complaint. She stated she was happy with the credit and seemed satisfied. If there are any additional questions or concerns **. and **** ********* should feel free to contact Keith directly @ ###-###-####.
Best Regards
Wayne P.

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: By far the WORST company to deal with EVER!!! Purchased a ********** refrigerator from them last November and the freezer has never worked. Have had service techs out multiple times and it is always the same story, "Oh I need to order another part!" Have tried multiple time to get the manager on the phone at the call center and every time am told they will call me back. Guess how many times I have actually gotten a call back from the manager? You got it, zero times!

Desired Settlement: They are incapable of repairing the product and need to replace it 6 months with no freezer is unacceptable.

Business Response: Good morning,


*** ******* was contacted by John D***** in regards to this issue. John has authorized an exchange for the unit and it has been scheduled by the selling location. *** ******* seems fine with this outcome. If he has any additional concerns *** ******* should feel free to contact John @ ###-###-#### or the selling location.

Fyi
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I still find it ridiculous that I had to put this much effort into getting this problem resolved, that it took 6 months to do so and that the replacement has a dent on the stainless steel door. I don't think the company is capable of rectifying further and still highly recommend potential customers against using them. 

Regards,

***** *******

4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased appliances (range, refrigerator, and dishwasher) using the dimensions from my previous appliances. The range and refrigerator do not fit properly into the space allotted. At the time of delivery, I discovered that there is a measurement service that is available through the company to ensure a proper fit. I was not offered this service prior to my purchase. When I called with my concerns, I was told about the service and assured that they would make the adjustments necessary. An employee came out to measure the affected areas on 7 March, since that time I have not heard from anyone at this company. My purchase was in excess of $8K, and they do not properly fit my kitchen. I need adjustments made to the granite in my kitchen, and that had they properly measured prior to purchase, I could have selected different appliances.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


Ms. ******* was contacted by her sales person Curtis on April 3, 2015. Curtis offer to cover 50% of the estimated $450 cost to address Ms. *******'s concerns. Ms. ******* declined his offer explaining she would have her handyman address these issues.  If Ms. ******* has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact Curtis directly at the Columbia Retail location or call him at ###-###-####.

Best Regards,
Wayne P. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I purchases $8K in appliances from this business, yet I was not offered their presages measuring service prior to my purchase.  Consequently, the fit of the refrigerator was not correct, even though it has less cubic feet than my old one.  I was told by the sales person that the company would " care of the necessary adjustments".  Take care of does not mean charging me 50% of the cost.  I feel that the company should have made the necessary repairs in a timely fashion. Why did they send a person out to measure my space after the purchase, if they were not going to make the repair.  It has been weeks.   In no uncertain terms; I want to be reimbursed for the $250 that I spent on this repair.


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: Good afternoon,


As per Ms. *******'s request stated in this complaint (********) a refund in the amount of $250.00 has been issued on check number ******.  This check will be mailed at the close of business 15 April 2015.

Best Regards,
Wayne P.

4/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a service agreement with Bray & Scarff for my refrigerator at time of purchase. I have two water problems with it and the repair center is unable to repair it after several attempts. Original complaint was water leaking onto floor from icemaker. Two attempts over 60 day period and it still leaks. Water freezes in bottom of freezer then leaks onto floor. Technician replaced a plug but it still leaked. He ordered a part and was given a part for a dishwasher twice. Each time took over two weeks for the part. Service center said correct part was available 110 miles away and would have it shipped. That was two months ago. The second complaint is water flowing extremely slow from water dispenser. I replaced water filter with manufacturer filter purchased at Bray & Scarff when it was due. Technician came out and said he needed to order part for the pump. That was over a month ago. I call for updates but Im told a different part is on order each time. The icemaker still leaks and the water flow from dispenser is almost non-existent. I want the refrigerator fixed correctly or a new refrigerator. My wife is tired of waiting and someone may get hurt slipping on the water. I have slipped and so has granddaughter from leak.

Desired Settlement: I want the refrigerator repaired correctly or replaced.

Business Response: Good morning,


The repair has been completed and *** ******* seems satisfied. If *** ******* has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact Debra I***** * *** ******** *****

Best Regards,
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this moment.  

Regards,

**** *******

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought ****** appliances from Bray and Scraff, Bowie, Maryland, because the company is well known. Now I'm starting to believe that I bought appliances that are lemons, poorly manufactured, and defected. Please be advised that I purchased the ****** 22' French Door BM Refrigerator Monochromatic Stainless (**********) on 09/28/2013, delivered on 11/01/2013. The ice maker started making an awful noise in late October 2014. I first had it serviced on 11/28/2014. Since that date, the service technician had to come out 2 more times, wherein he finally advised he had to order a new ice maker. However when he came out the 28th, he ordered an ice maker, because the service department called to have me schedule an appointment for it to be replaced, which I believe was 12/26/2014. He didn't replaced the ice maker then because it wasn't making the noise, but me and my husband told him that it was still making the noise. Then on Thursday, 1/29/2015, the service technician came out and replaced the ice maker. It was working once he left and stopped working again on Saturday, 1/31/2015. I called the following week, 02/02/2015, to have the service technician come back out to my house on 02/06/2015, my husband's day off. I was told by an very unfriendly service operator that he was not available and I would have to wait until the following week. Why should I have to be inconvenience when my ice maker should have been fixed months ago. I asked that a supervisor from the repair shop call me back and no call has been received to date. I ended up calling back two days later and scheduled an appointment for 02/13/2015. Why did I get a message on my answering machine today, 02/11/2015, informing me that the technician "is in training all next week and my appointment has to be rescheduled for next week, with the next available appointment on 02/19/2015." Clearly the service operator didn't know what she was talking about and/or they are lying, because if he was in training all this week, I should have been called on Monday, 02/09/2015. a service call. Again, I asked myself why should I have to take off from work to have my refrigerator fixed when it should have been fixed months ago. So needless to say I have not had a full functioning ice maker since 11/28/2014. In addition, to the ice maker not working it's making all these strange noises. Even the temperature sensor has gone off. In addition, I also bought a new stove, Gas Freestanding Stove with Griddle (*********) at the same time. Why did I have to have the board (element) replaced that controls the cooking timer? As you can see, I'm not a happy Bray and Scraff customers or a fan of their service department. In addition, I'm sure Dan F******, my sales associate misrepresented these products. Clearly he was just trying to make a sale a quick sale. I wish he had been straight up and honest when I asked about the reliable of May Tag appliances. I have also called and talked to other sale associates at the Bowie store and they act as though they could care less about my issues or my concerns. At this point, I'm not even sure I would buy anything else from Bray and Scraff, or recommend them to family or friends, because this has been too much of a hassle for my ice maker to still not be working. I also must state that Bray and Scraff's service department personnel are not helpful, unprofessional, and non-responsive. Why should I have to wait to have my refrigerator re-serviced when it should have been fixed the first 5 times. If the service technician doesn't know what he is doing send someone else who does and maybe you need to hirer more technicians that service the Upper Marlboro area.

Desired Settlement: If the ice maker can not be fixed, I want a replacement refrigerator. In addition, I should be accommodated in some way, since Bray and Scraff wouldn't honor my rebate because my appliances could be delivered until 11/01/12013, for all the inconvenience and lies that I was told by your sales associates and service department personnel.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


The icemaker was replaced on 24 Feb 2015. Hollie spoke with Mrs. ***** on 25 Feb 2015, the unit was functioning properly and the customer seemed satisfied. If Mrs. ***** has any additional concerns or questions she should feel free to contact Hollie directly at ###-###-####.

Best Regards
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the response does include everything that Holly said to me during my phone call to her on 02/25/2015. I want them to acknowledge, in a letter, that although I spoke to Holly and told her  that the ice maker was working that she also told me the refrigerator was under contract (did she mean warranty) and she contacted the company about the problems with the ice maker. She stated that if the ice maker stopped working again the refrigerator would be replaced. In addition, Bray and Scraff didn't respond to all of my complaints, especially about their service repair department. Another recent example, Holly called me on 02/16/2015 (gov. holiday) and left a message on my work phone. I returned the call on 02/17/2015, wherein I was told Holly was on another call. I told the young lady to have Holly call be back on Wednesday morning (02/18/2015). I didn't hear back from Holly until Tuesday, 02/24/2015, the day the repair man came out to repair the refrigerator. Now how  professional is that? Then the repairman was talking about the parts that they receive. So my question is, are you using refurbished parts to make repairs. What compensation are they offering me for all this poor service.


Regards,

***** *****








3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray & Scarff Inc., sold a faulty refri**rator and are refusing to refund or replace it. I purchased the ** ******* home appliances, that includes cooking ran**, microwave, dish washer and refri**rator from Bray & Scarf on Feb 27 2014. The refri**rator Model Number *********** and Serial Number ******** was noisy with an electrical whir due to the compressor not cutting off. After our continuous complains, B&S chan**d the freezer line. They said that it is the normal fan noise. A friend of ours who was over for dinner said that the refri**rator doesn't cut off. Every time we call B&S it will be more than two weeks for them to come as Woodbrid** because, it's not in their service area. Their service representatives came multiple times but, did not fix the problem. With no result from the B&S service representatives, we contacted B&S sales person Craig D*****. He mentioned that, there is a known defect in the refri**rator and he will coordinate with his customer service to fix it. But there was no response after our conversation with the sales representative. **tting no response from B&S a few weeks later, I asked them to refund or replace the refri**rator as they have sold a defective refri**rator. Sale representative said that they have to **t permission from ** for replacement and he connected us to their Store Mana**r John D*****. John D*****, the store mana**r mentioned that the defect is well within the industry standard which is less than 3% and Bray & Scarff can't refund it. With the influx of imported appliances, they are running their business on a low margin of 12% and they can't afford to refund or replace the refri**rator. He further said that, Bray & Scarf is responsible only for the installation and not responsible for the appliance itself. He asked us to call ** directly to fix the refri**rator because, B&S can't do anything about it.

Desired Settlement: A full refund for the refri**rator $2339.00.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


We have made several attempts to contact Mr. ********* regarding this issue. There is a service bulletin (********) related to this issue which offers a solution. The customer will need to contact ** directly @ ###-###-#### and reference the fore mentioned service bulletin number. ** then will set up an appointment to visit the customer's home to correct the issue. In the unlikely event ** is unable to correct this issue John D***** will work with the customer for an exchan**.   If Mr. ********* has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact John @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards
Wayne P.

Business Response: ********Good Afternoon,


We understand and respect Mr. *********'s position, but we do not feel it is unreasonable to ask for his assistance to help us help him.  We have agreed if ** can not repair the unit we will exchan** it. We understand he did not purchase the unit directly from ** but the issue is addressed in a ** Service Bulletin. Since Mr. ********* feels ** made a faulty unit and there is a ** Service Bulletin related to this issue , we would like ** to handle the call as they are the manufacturer. Again if ** is unable to make the repair we will exchan** the unit. If Mr. ********* would like us to set up the repair call with ** for him we will. We are asking him to allow ** to make an attempt to repair a unit ** produces and if they can not we will exchan** it.  John D***** has offered to exchan**d the unit without ** doing a service call with a 20% restocking fee, we are willing to lower the fee to 15% to bring this to a close. Just to recap, if ** is allowed to run a repair call on the unit and they do not fix the issue Bray & Scarff will exchan** to unit, but if Mr. ********* does not want to allow ** to attempt the repair then we will exchan** the unit with a 15% restocking fee. We feel under the circumstances for a unit approaching one year of service that these offers are very reasonable. Mr. ********* should contact John D***** @ ###-###-#### to accept either option. 

Best Regards,

Wayne P. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. WayneP, 


Bray & Scarff had one year to fix it and failed to fix the issue. If it s a known issue, why was it not fixed since it was commissioned? Every time I complained about the refrigerator noise, your engineers told it is normal and it will shut down when it reaches the set temperature. I believed them until my friend told me that there is something wrong with appliance and it doesn't shut down. Also, I never said that I will not allow ** engineers, you could have brought them before when I complained about the issue, but what is the guarantee that is it will not come back again. 

I had it for a year as Bray & Scarff didn't want to resolve this issue. I want a replacement for free or my money back.

Regards,

***** *********








2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased four appliances for our kitchen approximately three years ago with an extended warranty. We have had a myriad of problems with the dishwasher, including a bad seal on the bottom which flooded the house causing over $15,000.00 in damage to our hardwood floor. That was over a year ago. In November, the dishwasher broke and the stove top lost one burner and one functioned only sporatically. While eventually they honored their warranty and replaced the unit (at the cost of $400.00 for a new warranty on the new dishwasher), the stovetop has never been completely fixed since. We have never had all five burners working since, and have been operating with a few as three. On Tuesday night the sporatically working burner stopped functioning all together. Most critically it is in the 'on' position. The creates a safety hazard. Bray and Scarff told us to call the gas company to turn off the gas, howver, the gas company refuses to respond because there is no 'leak' and referred us back to Bray & Scarff. Bray & Scarff did send a reparman today, who rold us he would 'order the parts', which are apparently a repeat of the parts ordered, supposedly, in November. He told us that it would be 10-14 days, if we were lucky. Well, we have been waiting 10-15 days since November, and its not getting better. Meanwhile, we went through the major holidays without a dishwasher and without a fully operational stovetop. Being as that we paid top dollar for allegedly top of the line, high quality products, one would expect them to work. We have called Bray & Scarff many times. It takes an average of four times before they answer the phone. Otherwise, it is a hang up. It does not matter from which phone one calls. The phone system seems specifically designed to drop calls. I called today to try to get a contact email so that I can file a written complaint with the company. I was told a 'manager' would call me back. That was not responsive to my request.

Desired Settlement: Immediate correction of safety hazard created by broken stove, preferably replacement of the same.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


*** **** was contacted on 12 Feb 2015. The unit was exchanged and the customer seems satisfied. If *** **** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact Hollie S****** @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards

Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  In fact, before even having knowledge of this complaint a supervisor took over the matter and all of my clomplaints were taken care of.

Regards,

**** ****

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late October (I believe 30 October 2014) I purchased a ****** ****** ****** Dishwasher. I also purchased an extended warranty from Bray and Scarff located at **** *** *** Arlington, Virginia 22207 for approximately $2,000. In early December (on or around 4 December 2014) the dishwasher gave us an error code (E4) and stopped functioning. I called Bray and Scarff's repair line and reported the issue and they sent a technician out to diagnose the issue. He came in and told my girlfriend that all we had to do was clear the error code and it should work. He cleared the error code, then departed my apartment. He did NOT check to see if that in fact fixed our dishwasher. I called the repair line again and was told that I would have to wait until the next day when they had the repair person's report. They called me back a few hours later and told me they needed to order a heating plate. After ordering the hearing element, Bray and Scarff came to my apartment to replace the heating element. This did not fix the problem. Now they say they need to replace the heating control board. On 9 January 2015, Bray and Scarff repair person came to my apartment to install the new heating control board. This did not fix my dishwasher. The repair person advised that I needed a new dishwasher and noted his recommendation on his paperwork. Today, 13 January 2015 I called Bray and Scraff repair line to ask about the status of my issue. I was told that they could come out on Monday 19 January 2015 to re-diagnose my dishwasher despite that on 2 January, I spoke with the manager of the repair team and she advised that if the heating control board did not fix the problem they would look into replacing my dishwasher. I was advised to call back on 14 January when the manager returns. This is unacceptable. It is obvious that I have received a faulty product. After a month of owning this dishwasher and it needs this many new parts and major repairs.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I do not want their product in my house. I want them to take their product back and refund 100% of my purchase price to include the price of the extended warranty.

Business Response: Good afternoon,


The unit was exchanged on 21 Jan 2015. Everything seemed to go well and the customer seems happy. If Mr. ****** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact John D***** directly @ ###-###-####.

Fyi
Wayne P.

1/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a brand new ******* *** dishwasher and it has not worked right since day 1. It has been over a month and we can not use our brand new dishwasher. Service dept. has very poor response time and technicians Local store has offered no help in this matter except standard repair delays

Desired Settlement: replace dishwasher with same or better model in a timely manner

Business Response: Good afternoon,


Holly S****** contacted *** ******. The unit was repaired on Nov 18 and the customer seems satisfied. If *** ****** has any additional concerns or questions he should feel free to contact Hollie @ ###-###-####.

Fyi
Wayne P.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The dishwasher still does not work!  It ran 2 full cycles and now does the same thing as before.

I have tried contacting Holly S***** with no success.


Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: From: <*******@brayandscarff.com>
Date: Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 3:03 PM
Subject: FW: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint #********.
To: *******@mybbb.org
Cc: John D'***** <*******@brayandscarff.com>


Good Afternoon *** ******

*** ****** was contacted by John D***** about his dishwasher. ******* *** went out to the customer's home and repaired the unit. John gave *** ****** a free 3 yr service contract for an inconvenience this issue may have caused. *** ****** seemed to be fine and the unit was working properly. If *** ****** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact John D***** directly @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Keith J*****

1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially contacted Bray and Scarff in late July 2014 for repair of ******* Microwave that was purchased from them in 2012. Problem is that the microwave turntable intermittently stops turning. No response till mid of August 2014, so went to the store and found out that there was no record of such service request. Made a new service request in the store. We were told that initial service calls are $89.95. Technician first arrived in early September and immediately concluded that the turntable shaft is causing the problem. He tries to pry out the turntable shaft and ends up breaking it. Provides us with a makeshift turntable shaft and leaves. Note that the turntable is still not turning. He insists that when the right part is in the turntable will start turning again. About the broken part, the technician told us that the part will be replaced at no cost since it was broken by him. Again Bray and Scarff does not reach out. To test their theory, I order the part from Sears and of course the turn table does NOT turn. I call them on September 18th I'm told that the service is put on hold because I did not approve the charge for the replacement part of $124.94. Note that the same costs $23.21 on Sears Parts Direct. When I try to fight the charge I am told that I have to pay it otherwise they cannot proceed with service. I agree and pay $214.89 ($89.95 for Service and $124.94). Again no word back from Bray and Scarff till I contact them again on October 6th only to be told that the part is on back order for over 3 weeks. I fight the charge for $124.94 and have it reverted. Bray and Scarff technician delivers the part to me early late October and tell us that the case will be escalated... I'm not surprised but Bray and Scarff has not contacted me since then.

Desired Settlement: Refund the service fee of $89.95. I will NEVER do business with Bray and Scarff.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

A refund of $89.95 has been approved and will be processed no later then 31 Dec 2014. Brenda from the repair department spoke to *** ******* on 19 Dec 2014. If there are any additional questions or concerns *** ******* should contact Brenda at *** *** **** or *** *** ****.

Fyi
Wayne P.

1/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 26th, while preparing our house to sell, we noticed our dishwasher leaking (an Asko, purchased about 3 years ago from Bray & Scarff). We immediately called Bray & Scarff service department in Laurel, Maryland, for service. They scheduled a repairman visit on Friday, October 3rd. On his visit, the repairman said the machine needed new seals, that he would order the seals, and that it would take 7 to 10 days to get the seals in stock. Expecting to hear from the service department when the seals arrived, we waited for 3 weeks. Hearing nothing, we called. The seals were there, but nobody had called to set up an appointment. The earliest appointment we could get was for Friday, November 7th. On that day the service technician came to install the new seals. While disassembling the machine the service man broke another part of the machine. Now he informed us that he would have to order another part before we would have a working dishwasher. We waited another 2 weeks. Hearing nothing, we called, only to learn then that it would take 4 to 6 weeks to get this part in stock. It is now December 13th, and we have been without a dishwasher since late September. We have had no use of the dishwasher, and we cannot expect to sell our house with a broken dishwasher. Twice this week we called the service department to find out what is going on. Both times we called we were told that the manager of the service department would return our call before the end of the day. We received no return call on either day. Will we ever get our dishwasher fixed, and if somehow we do, does Bray & Scarff expect us to pay for the part the technician broke? This whole episode is causing us enormous anxiety.

Desired Settlement: The conscionable act will be for Bray & Scarff to replace our current dishwasher with a new one. At the very least, we should end up with an operable machine at no cost to us.

Business Response: *** ****** was contacted on 15 Dec 2014. It was agreed to have the unit exchanged. The unit was exchanged on 19 Dec 2014. If *** ****** has any additional issues or concerns he should feel free to contact John D***** or Holley S****** at ###-###-####.


Best regards,
Wayne P.

9/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Faulty refrigerator which has known issues with the ice maker. Very shady business practices regarding service and milking money form customers.

Desired Settlement: I want a new unit.

Business Response:

Good Morning,
*** ************ has been contacted by John D*****. John offered him a discount on the parts and labor. *** ************ accepted the offer and seems to be fine. If there are any additional questions or concerns *** ************ should feel free to contact John directly @ ###-###-####.
Best Regards,
Wayne P.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The repairman shoed up today, charged me $284.00 and this did not fix the problem. So the parts I was charged for were not bad. They are now refusing to come back out to resolve.

Regards,

**** ************








Business Response: Good afternoon,

John D***** is currently working with *** ************ to resolve this issue. *** ************ has agreed to pay $150.00 for the repair and John has agreed to discount his next purchase of a major appliance from Bray & Scarff by $150.00. We are currently waiting for a part to arrive to complete the repair. Once the part is received *** ************ will be contacted to schedule a time for a technician to visit his home to repair the unit. If there are any additional questions or concerns *** ************ should feel free to contact John D***** directly.
Best Regards,
Wayne P.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I have accepted the resolution as follows from John D*****.

John has ordered more parts to change along with the tubing on the unit. Once these parts are received we will schedule an appt. All repairs will be covered under a charge of $150.00, less the $90.00 already paid for a final charge of $61.00. If this does not fix the issue I will be able to return the unit for a new one with a restocking fee of 30% which equals to $456.00 based off of the list price of $1520.00 with no additional charges to be added.

If for any reason this does not happen I will reopen this original claim under the claim# of ******** dated 8/18/2014.

Regards,

**** ************

9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a ********* suite of appliances (Refrigerator, dishwasher, oven and venting microwave) in February of 2013. Everything was delivered and installed on time. We started experiencing problems with the refrigerator in June 2014, only 16 months after purchase. We called our home warranty because Bray and Scarff only offers one year warranty with purchase and there was no need to purchase and over $500 extended warranty for brand new appliances when we have a home warranty that will cover our appliances. We were told that the issue was a "defrosting plate" that needed to be replaced (yes replaced not repaired on a 16 month old appliance) and it would need to be ordered. This part has been on back order since June, it is now August and it has been pushed back again to November. I contacted Bray and Scarff to see if they had any buy back plans or any recourse for replacing this lemon. I was told by the manager (or he said he was the manager) of the Columbia store that they don't manufacture the machine so its not their problem. Bray and Scarff knows fully that this machine is a lemon and still sold it to us and now wont do anything about it only 16 months later. We chose to purchase from Bray and Scarff because they are supposed to be "specialists" and knowledgeable about appliances, but all they want to do is take your money! A consumer report search showed that this refrigerator is a complete lemon and Bray and Scarff knows it! The part is on manufacturer back order because of the volume of replacements needed, so even Bray and Scarff's repair department can't do anything to fix this ever.

Desired Settlement: We would Bray and Scarff to replace this refrigerator! There is no reason to repair a lemon, just for it to break in another couple of months. I know i will most likely not get a replacement or apology for my treatment after spending over 5 thousand in your store, but i want you to know that your business practices are unacceptable. I will continue to work with my warranty company until this is resolved even though they didn't sell us the lemon!

Business Response: Good morning,

The customer has been contacted by **** ******. It seems the Home Warranty Company has obtained the part and will be able to perform the repair. It there are any additional questions or concerns the customer should feel free to contact John directly at ###-###-####.
Best Regards,
Wayne P.

9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in contact with this business for over 2 months now for a repair issue. Bray and Scarff has been terrible at handling our repair issue. Our fridge stopped making ice months ago, we ordered the replacement part through the company and still have yet to receive it. After a month went by we contacted Bray and Scarff to see what the status of the part order was and the associate informed us that our ticket had been closed already, as if it had already been taken care of. After realizing the error that they have made, they assured us that they would reorder the part and put a rush order on it. It has now been a month since that promise was made and we still have not received it. We have been in contact with them regularly and every time we speak to someone we get a different answer. We have hear responses from, "The part has been ordered and will be here in about a day or so," "The part is in transit," "We have received the part, we can schedule a date for the repair," "The part is on back order." "The part is on back order" was told to us on 08/12/2014. "The part is in transit" was told to us the week before. WE HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING ON WITH OUR REPAIR!!!! We are a medical professional office and need the ice for certain products that we keep here and they fail to realize the importance of this situation. Anytime we call to speak to a supervisor either one is unavailable or they will call us back, mind you we have yet to EVER hear back. This issue needs to be solved ASAP!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: With the unsatisfactory handling of this issue, it is only fair that we receive a complimentary service repair. The company is 100% at fault for the outcome of this ongoing issue.

Business Response: *** ****** was contacted on 18 Aug 14 by Brenda from the Repair Dept. During the conversation it was agreed upon to refund the amount of $215.38 to *** ******. The refund has been requested and will be issued to * ***** ******* ** **** in the form of a check. If *** ****** has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact Brenda @ ###-###-#### X***.

Best Regards,
Wayne P.

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refrigerator from Bray and Scarff on 7/16. This transaction was done over the phone, after extensive consultation with the salesperson. One feature that was a 'MUST HAVE' for me was the fact that the fridge must have dual temperature controls. I was told the model I purchased did. Upon receipt of the fridge (my wife was home at the time) I discovered that it did not. I was told that I could exchange the fridge, but I must pay a $210 restocking fee and a $50 re-delivery fee again. This was NOT my mistake! I was given misinformation by the salesperson and the company is refusing to make the mistake right. I have tried several times over the last several weeks to get back in contact with the company and have not been able to get satisfaction in this case. I was originally willing to make an exchange and pay the difference in costs of the fridge., but at this point, I only wish to return the fridge and cancel the whole transaction. I would like your assistance in resolving the matter, as providing misinformation, and trying the pass on the cost of that misinformation to the consumer is bad business.

Desired Settlement: I was originally willing to make an exchange and pay the difference in costs of the fridge., but at this point, I only wish to return the fridge and cancel the whole transaction. I would like your assistance in resolving the matter, as providing misinformation, and trying the pass on the cost of that misinformation to the consumer is bad business. A complete refund is the only outcome that will make me happy at this point.

Business Response: *** ******* was contacted by Sam Z****** from our ********* location. He offered to reduce the restocking fee to 10% and the sale of a new unit at a discounted price. *** ******* accepted this offer so we are in the process of setting up the removal of the current unit and the delivery of a new one. *** ******* seemed satisfied with the outcome and if he has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact Sam directly @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards,
Wayne P.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a microwave from BRay and scarf in November 2013. Some issues started appearing wiht a door switch in May 2014 but the microwave still worked. I called Bray and scarff to schedule a repair hoping that with warranty issue I would get a quick turnaround. The first available time was more than 2 weeks after my call. I waited but I still had a working microwave. The technician shows up, changes the switch but blows the control board of the microwave when turning the power back on. So at this point I have a non functioning microwave due to an error from the Bray and scarff technician. The Technician tells me that he ordered the parts and asked for a "rush" delivery that should be 3 to 4 business days. After 4 business days without any news from Bray and Scarff I called for a status (on 8/4/14) and the person cannot give me an estimate on the part delivery. When I mentioned the order was supposed to be rushed, she says that there is no record of it when I tried to figure out when I can have a working microwave, I am told maybe in a week if the technician can make it. when I said that it was unacceptable, I was told I would be transfered to a manager. After a wait of 15 minutes, I am told that the manager would call me back for futher information that same day. Towards the end of the day I called back asking if I could speak to a manager as promised in the morning. I was told that managers are buse and would call me back. When I expressed my disappointment with teh customer service I was just told there was nothing they could do. But still no call from the manager. My issues are multiple: first the products are no good quality if a switch breaks in less than a year. Second, a warranty repair should be done promptly and not wait more than 2 weeks. Third, if I lose the use of my microwave due to the fault of a bray and scarff employee, Bray and scarff should try their best to make it up and get the parts as soon as possible and schedule a technician within a week of the incident. Last, when I am promised a rush order of 3 to 4 business days, then told that it was never rush and it should be 7 to 9 business days, I don't see the customer service.

Desired Settlement: Bray and Scarff needs a way for customer to send feedback. This long delay is not acceptable especially when the loss of use of the appliance is due to the Bray and Scarff employee. And when I call for a status I shouldn't be treated like an inconvenience. Managers that promise to call back should do it and provide a solution to the customer's issue. So I would like an apology for the lack of customer service and a manager to accelerate this repair due to the fault of Bray and Scarff. If one can order from Amazon and receive a replacement board for a microwave in 3 days, I don't understand why Bray and Scarff shoudl take longer. Finally, warranty repair and repairs due to an error of a Bray and Scarff employee should take priority in scheduling.

Business Response: Good morning,

Brenda from the repair department has contacted *** ***** to inform him an exchange has been authorized. The unit is scheduled to be exchanged on 18 Aug 2014. If *** ***** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact Brenda directly @ ###-###-####.
Best Regards,
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and although they have made an effort to fix the issue they created, they still haven't issue the apology for the lack of customer service and the lack of response from their managers.  

Regards,

****** *****

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three years ago I purchased a mid-level dryer, manufactured by **, from Bray and Scarff for about $700. For 30 years, I purchased all my appliances from Bray and Scarff. I am a childless widow, living alone, I used the dryer no more than once or twice a month. Several months ago, it turned on when I pressed the 'start' button, but turned off when I lifted my finger. This seemed like a minor problem, I called Bray and Scarff service, described the problem and asked a man to come and fix it. They sent a man out promptly (6/2), he observed me taking my finger on and off the button, said the motor would have to be replaced, that he would give me an estimate, and charged me $90 for a service call, although nothing was fixed and he left with no more information than I had provided over the telephone. Yesterday (6/6), B&S called and said the "repair" would be $599. I said it made no sense to pay almost as much for the repair as a new dryer would cost. Apparently anticipating that, they thoughtfully offered me a $100 coupon if I bought a new dryer from them that was over $600. There was no warranty violation. However, what I bought was clearly a piece of junk: I should have been warned that this dryer was good for less than three years, even with very limited use, and would cost almost as much to fix as to replace. Clearly Bray and Scarff anticipated this, and made sure to charge me another $90 for an unnecessary "service call". What they did was not illegal, but it is clearly a scam, a company that does business this way does not deserve consumers' trust, and should not be permitted to hold itself out as a member of a "Better Business Bureau". I hope I do not have to buy a new $1000+ dryer every three years.

Desired Settlement: I would like the "service call" charge refunded, and ideally the dryer to be fixed for a far more reasonable amount, say $200. And Bray and Scarff should immediately stop selling this model or comparable ** dryers to other customers without warning them that the machine is likely to fail in less than three years.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

*** ****** has been contacted by ****  ******. **** issued a refund to her credit card in the amount of $89.95 on 6/24/2014. If *** ****** has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact **** @ ###-###-####.
Fyi
***** **

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  It is unfortunate that the business did not contact me until it received a letter from the BBB, which was more than two weeks after I complained to Bray and Scarf myself about the failure of the dryer after less than 3 years of light use, and the failure of Bray and Scarf to stand behind it.  I purchased a new dryer the day after Bray and Scarf told me repair would cost $600, but I delayed delivery hoping Bray and Scarf would offer a more reasonable solution.  By the time **** called, the new dryer, from a different merchant, had arrived.  I do appreciate the refund the fee for the 'service call'.

Regards,

******** ******

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract and installation agreement for a kitchen renovation on August 3, 2013. Work commenced the end of September 23, 2013 and was to be completed by 11/07/2013. The designer, *** ******, assured us that we would have a final walk through with the supervisor, *** ******* and us. To date, a final punch list of items to be finished, has not been completed. Additionally, a notice of violation from the ****** County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits was received. Bray and Scarff representatives assured us that they would take care of project management as part of this renovation. We had to coordinate a final inspection and meet with ****** County, which involved taking off work and walking through with the inspector. We are also coordinating services through a local company to re-install our microwave (purchased through Bray and Scarff) and our dishwasher that was improperly installed. We have also replaced a leaking faucet hose and a door which was cracked during installation ourselves. We have called and emailed numerous times with no response. However, the Bray and Scarff billing office did call last week and wants us to make a final payment for the work. We are dissatisfied with the poor service and installation services. This is not what we expected or what we were promised during the sales pitch!

Desired Settlement: Since we had to arrange a final inspection ourselves and take off work (loss of a days wage); installed a door and new faucet hose assembly; hire an appliance contractor to address microwave installation and re-install dishwasher, we request that the last payment be waived.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


We attempted to contact the ******* family on several different occasions via a variety of methods and were successful in receiving a phone call from **. ******* on Friday May 30th at approximately 3:30 PM. **. ******* and ***** ******** of the Kitchen Division are in the process of working together to bring this situation to a reasonable conclusion. According to our records the ******** have an unpaid balance of $8,776.84. We are willing to deduct the $1,200.00 from this balance as requested in this complaint leaving the ******** a total of $7,576.84 yet to be paid. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and feel this would be the quickest and most reasonable solution to this unfortunate situation. ***** and **. ******* have agreed to have a phone conversation this week to bring this to a close. ***** can be reached @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards
***** **  

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2year old ********* washing machine purchased through Bray and Scarff stopped working* The repair technician came out under the 5-year extended warranty* He was unable to perform any diagnostics beyond turning the machine off and on* He called ********* and was unable to clear the error message* After 15-20 minutes of pressing button with the machine turned off, he left* I called Bray and Scarff service center, I was then referred to *** the service contract holders; who stated that they need to be called first for a work order number to be created and they sent me back to the service center at Bray and Scarrf* The manager at Bray and Scarff informed me that it is not necessary to go through ***, and that another repair technician would be sent* The manager stated that it is standard procedure for repair technicians to call the manufacturer and not know what the error codes mean.

Desired Settlement: Service in a timely manner, with arrival within the stated repair window, and service by qualified technicians who are able to fix or diagnose the problem within 1 visit.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

**** ******** requested another service company to come out , as she did not feel our technician was qualified* NSI assigned the call to *** ******* ******* on 2-20-14.  They diagnosed the problem as a main control board.  *** ******* ******* installed the part on 3-10-14 and was able to repair the unit.

We consider this complaint as resolved.

Thank you,

***** ******

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray and Scarff informed me that they would be out to fix my ** stove on Feb 7,2014 between 1 and 5 pm . They called at 4:50 pm and stated they would be at my house and 6:00. I called and they sated they would be there at 7:00pm . They finally showed up at 8:15pm and left a note on the door to reschedule. I call on Monday Feb 10,2014 at 10:00 am they stated they would be out between 1 and 5:00pm. It is now 6:30 pm and they have not arrive and the office is now closed. The Attorney General needs to get involved with this company because they have taken my money and have not delivered on the service. Please Help. I would like a refund of all monies totaling $150.00. Thanks **. ********

Desired Settlement: Refund my money $150.00

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**. ******** was contacted by **** ******. The part needed to complete the repair has arrived and a message was left for **. ******** to set up a service call. **. ******** just needs to call the Repair Dept or **. ****** @ ###-###-#### to arrange for a day to complete the call. If he has any additional questions and/or concerns he should feel free to contact **. ****** @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** **

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a wall oven on 11/29 from Store Manager, **** *******. The oven was installed on 12/6. During installation the service person, ******, discovered that a fit kit sold to me by **** was incorrect for the job. ****** adjusted the install procedure and was able to place the wall oven. As a result of the error, a different part is required to complete the install, a 30" x 6" filler. It took over a week to get **** to order the necessary part. Once ordered the part was to be delivered and installed. Complaint #1: The original install left a mess in my house. Debris, trash, broken drill bits were left in my kitchen. This was communicated on 12/6, but nothing was done; not even an apology Complaint #2: A second install time was scheduled for the filler, but no one ever showed up. After I contacted the delivery department I learned that the part was not even in stock and should not have been scheduled for install. I took a day off work to support the install and lost that pay as a result. After exchanging emails, phone calls, and even a visit to the store on 1/31 I have nothing but broken promises. The part is not installed, not delivered, and every promise I have from **** or others in the store for a phone call has been unfulfilled. Most recently I went to the store on 1/31 and met with one of the two employees there that evening. I learned that **** no longer works in the store and was told that this new person would look into it and get back to me the next day. Now, two days later... nothing. Complaint #3: Lack of follow-though and extremely poor customer service. If a call is promised, then make the call. After over 2 months since purchase this job has not been completed as promised, and I have emails to document those unfulfilled promises. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $199.95 installation and completion of the job (delivery of 30" x 6" stainless filler)

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

**. ******** has been contacted by ****** from customer relations. The filler required to complete the install has been put into place. **. ******** has also been approved to receive a refund of $199.95. This refund will be processed no later than 26 Feb 2014 in the form of a check. If there are any additional questions or concerns **. ******** should feel free to contact ****** at customerrelations@brayandscarff.net.

Fyi

***** **

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a service contract on my wall oven. The glass on the inside of the door shattered and I requested a service. Three weeks later they had still not completed the repair. I called every week and never received a call back. They never sent out a technician and did not order the glass for over two weeks. Two days before Thanksgiving they advised me they had the wrong part, and offered no help to resolve this issue. I paid over $500 for this contract, and feel they have woefully failed to keep up their end of the agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fulfill their contract

Business Response: Good morning,

 
The unit was repaired on 11/26/2013. For her inconvenience **. ******  will receive a refund of $250. The customer see** to be satisfied. If she has any additional issues or concerns she should feel free to contact ***** @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** *.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased appliances and an extended warranty from the company. The freezer has not operated correctly for over 1 year. The first service technician incorrectly assessed the problem. The second technician diagnosed a different problem after about 2 minutes of reviewing the unit. That was in August. Since then, the company has cancelled my service appointment 3 times on the day that they were to come out.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to honor its service contract in a timely fashion and to perform the necessary work to complete the repair correctly so that no further service calls are required. I would also like the company to provide adequate contact information, not just a fill in form, but email contacts for actual persons with supervisory capacity with whom complaints can be made on its website. I would like BBB to investigate the company's service history with customers holding extended warranties to see whether the company should not be disapproved by the BBB.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**** ***** has contacted **. ****** and scheduled to have a tech to his home on the Oct 10. **. ****** is aware and seems to be fine. **** will continue to work with **. ****** until this issue is resolved. If there are any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact **** directly @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** **

10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Bray and Scarff the last week of May to report the ice maker on my refrigerator was not working. October is right around the corner and the issue has not been resolved despite numerous phone calls, letters to the VP of the company and going on six days taken off work to get the problem fixed. Over the past four months I have had unreturned phone calls, incompetent repair men, no show repair men, wrong parts ordered, wrong parts installed. The most unbelieveable was a letter to the VP of the comapny detailling months of issues trying to get this issue taken care of and NO response. Once I checked out the reviews on this company so many people had the same issue I had so maybe they just don't care. The initial sales people are good but the appliance repair division is a joke. I had fully itneded to have a kitchen installed this fall by Bray and Scarff but I have changed my mind and have contacted a competitor to do the work.

Desired Settlement: I would like an e-mail from someone in the company but I know that won't happen...so JUST fix the item!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**** has contacted **. *****. The parts are in and **** is working with her to schedule the repair since she is a school teacher. If **. ***** has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact **** directly @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** **

10/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a gas range and installation services. WSSC failed the installation because a carbon monoxide detector required by code was not present. Contacted Bray & Scarff and was told I needed to purchase the CO detector because they didn't carry them. Their contention was this was a new code requirement and they weren't aware of the requirement. I purchased the CO detector and attempted to reschedule the inspection with WSSC. WSSC informed me Bray & Scarff needed to pull another permit before I could reschedule. Contacted Bray & Scarff and was told they would get the permit. I've been waiting for 2 weeks to receive the permit with no results. I've been in contact with this company 5 times to resolve this. Original installation 8/2/2013 now 9/10/2013. All avoidable if Bray & Scarff informed me up front the CO detector was required and they would not provide.

Desired Settlement: Provide the permit so I can schedule the re-inspection with WSSC. Understand the code requirements for the services you propose to provide.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted and a technician is scheduled to go to the customer's home on Oct 10 to correct the situation. If there are any additional questions or concerns **. ******** should feel free to contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-####. T

 
Thank you,
 
***** **

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray & Scarff's service department is inept and has not fixed a leaking sub-zero refrigerator for the last three months. It has involved at least four service calls and two that they cancelled. The warranty ($500) only allows for B&S sub-zero repair people to show (Not sub-zero authorized repair people). I will never buy anything from them again, will spread the word to others and advise never to deal with their service dept. The same thing happened with a dryer repair and I gave up and bought a new on from someone else.

Desired Settlement: fix the broken sub-zeero or replace it

Business Response:

Good morning,

The unit was repaired on 9/20/***3. ***** from the Repair Dept contacted **. ****** on 9/23/***3 and the unit seems to be working properly. If any additional issues or concerns arise with the unit **. ****** should contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-#### X ***.

Fyi

***** **

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There really should be an option to select multiple complaints. We have complaints with defective products, delivery issues, and repair issues, all over a one year period with Bray and Scarff. We bought a new home in June 2012. As a result we bought several appliances from Bray & Scarff - a Kitchenaid refrigerator, a Kitchenaid dishwasher, and a Whirlpool upright freezer. We have had issues with all three appliances, although the freezer is the primary source of complaint. First, the dishwasher was delivered damaged, and a new one had to be ordered, which took several weeks. Second, the fridge has had at least two service calls due to pitting on the "stainless" steel exterior, and has already had one door replaced. This process took multiple service calls. Finally, the freezer. The freezer arrived weeks later than promised, and was damaged upon installation (dented door). We agreed to accept the freezer with the small dent. Below is a list of things that have gone wrong with the freezer during the year we have had it: 1. Door lock installed backwards - new door ordered 1a. Uninsulated door delivered - had a second fridge door sitting in our basement for at least a month while service procured the correct item - please note that the initial door itself took several weeks. 2. Uneven freezing in the unit - this required multiple visits (at least four from June - January), and has not been fixed. The bottom of the fridge is cold, but the top shelves do not function properly - recently we opened the fridge to find the top shelves barely cool. All of the food on the top shelves was ruined, as has happened before after Bray and Scarff has made "repairs" to the unit. Bray&Scarff service staff has ranged from inaccessible to incompetent throughout this process - frequently unaware of the repairs needed, unequipped to fix the issues, or worse yet, cancelled service calls at the last minute - as recently as today, in fact. Throughout the more than four service calls on this issue, we have had multiple appointments cancelled, and the problem persists. Our salesperson has been the only responsive member of the B&S team so far as our complaints have been concered, and we have resorted to reaching out to him in order to spur action from the service side of the house. Don's efforts have resulted in call backs from service, but have not been able to deliver us a functioning product. Bray & Scarff has been proactive on one count though - they were very interested in contacting us - to sell extended warranties on the products we purchased! Needless to say, we would just like the products we have purchased from B&S to (a) work as promised, and (b) be repaired correctly, in a timely manner while under the initial warranty.

Desired Settlement: We request a replacement deep freezer, as multiple fixes throughout the year have not resulted in a properly performing unit. We also request reimbursement for the food ruined when the most recent Bray & Scarff provided repairs did not work. We will update the complaint with pictures of the food and an itemized list.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
The unit was approved for an exchange on 9/5/2013 and the new unit was delivered on 9/13/2013. If there are any additional questions or concerns please contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** **

9/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray and Scarff dishwasher repair person came on 7/17 under 5 year complete warranty service contract paid for at time of purchase. Repair person spent 3 minutes at house, diagnosed problem, and supposedly ordered parts on that day. We were told they would arrive in 5-10 business days. We called back after 2 weeks of hearing nothing from Bray and Scarff and were then told parts had never been ordered. We were also told it "takes longer" for parts and service under warranty. I am not sure why this should be the case since I paid for that warranty! Also, they did not seem to have any knowledge or ability to track the parts or arrival timeframes, which seems fishy in this day and age of Fed Ex and UPS tracking. After many failed attempts to speak to someone in a position of authority and calls that were not returned, my husband finally spoke to a manager and was then told there was a "worldwide back order" on one part and it would be weeks before it came in, which seems to be an outright lie, as we called the outside warranty service company Bray and Scarff contracts with and they said the part had already been shipped to Bray and Scarff. Then when the order finally arrived they were *missing* one of the three necessary parts. They placed another order for the missing part. Today, 8/16, a repairman finally came to our house to fix it. He then said he could not repair the dishwasher because they had ordered the wrong hose! It was a wasted trip and three more hours of my valuable time wasted waiting in my house for a repair that didn't happen. This sort of incompetence is inexcusable. I feel like they treat the warranty customers as second class citizen/lower priority, and I almost feel like some of the delays and oversights were deliberate because we called and complained -- sort of like a payback for us bothering them. Shame on Bray and Scarff! They need to learn how to treat their customers. And, after an entire month of back and forth, I still have a dishwasher that does not work!

Desired Settlement: Expedited repair, with none of this b*s* about it taking more time to get parts and get someone out here. Overnight the part and get me on the priority list for a repair person!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
The part has arrived and the repair department was out to **. *********'s home today. The unit was repaired and **. ********* seemed satisfied. If **. ********* has any additional questions or concerns, she should feel free to contact ****** ******* @ ###-###-#### X***.
 
Fyi
***** *.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a barely one year old Kitchen Aid dishwasher with an extended warranty. The dishwasher broke near the end of June and they sent a repairman out on July 3. He said it would take "five to ten business days" to get the part and that they would then call to schedule the repair right after that. It's now August 9. I've called repeatedly and been given different excuses for the delay: 1) It's because of the holiday 2) It's because you have an extended warranty, those take longer than "regular" customers 3) The parts department didn't follow through when we asked them to track this 4) The part is on back order, it's the suppliers fault, we have no control over that. I've called them repeatedly. They promise to follow up and get back to me. They never have. I have emailed their customer service and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job and fix my dishwasher!!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
Unit was repaired today. If there are any additional questions or concerns, ****** ****** should feel free to contact Holley @ ###-###-#### X***.
 
Fyi
***** **

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A brand new oven, installed on May 21st, failed to work on June 20th. Bray & Scarff's response time on a brand new appliance was interminably slow, stating that the reason for the delay is that I, the customer, am located in Virginia. With stores in Viriginia, and other customers in Virginia, it seems the company could establish a service center in Virginia to service it's Virginia customers. The over would be working today, IF the ordered part has been correct. Another fault mysteriously in the workings of Bray & Scarff's ordering department. Now, I am waiting on the second ordering of the part. I'm informed that the earliest the part can be installed, assuming it arrives in time to schedule, is Thursday. Fully 3 weeks since the first call to customer service about this very problem. It would be quicker to acquire a new oven.

Desired Settlement: Expedition of repair. Although, it might be too late for me. I would like for Bray and Scarff to establish a more timely service schedule for it's Virginia customers.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

 
**. **** has been contacted by the service department and *******, her salesperson. **. **** used another company to complete the repair. Working with the service dept, ******* has made it possible for the customer to have her unit covered for 3 years from the date of delivery at no additional charge to her. This will in able her to use a network of servicers if we are unable to service her unit in a timely manner. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope the 3 year service contract (if needed) helps in the future. If **. **** has any additional concerns she should feel free to contact ******* @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** *.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me - to a degree. It is a small consolation for my NEW appliance being out of service for a month.I sincerely hope that Bray and Scarff make changes for the timely servicing of customers in the future. 

Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Bray & Scarff Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart