BBB Accredited Business since

Bray & Scarff Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 470-3555 View Additional Phone Numbers 8610 Cherry Lane, Laurel, MD 20707 http://www.brayandscarff.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bray & Scarff Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bray & Scarff Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 63 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

63 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 53
Total Closed Complaints 63

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bray & Scarff Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1930 in MD Business started locally: 01/19/1930 Business incorporated 12/12/1987 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 44961.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705019538A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Powell, VP Mr. J. Dennis Scarff Mr. R. Kenneth Dudson, President Mr. Bill Hurley, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Powell, VP
Principal: Mr. J. Dennis Scarff
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Bray & Scarff Bray and Scarff

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a microwave from BRay and scarf in November 2013. Some issues started appearing wiht a door switch in May 2014 but the microwave still worked. I called Bray and scarff to schedule a repair hoping that with warranty issue I would get a quick turnaround. The first available time was more than 2 weeks after my call. I waited but I still had a working microwave. The technician shows up, changes the switch but blows the control board of the microwave when turning the power back on. So at this point I have a non functioning microwave due to an error from the Bray and scarff technician. The Technician tells me that he ordered the parts and asked for a "rush" delivery that should be 3 to 4 business days. After 4 business days without any news from Bray and Scarff I called for a status (on 8/4/14) and the person cannot give me an estimate on the part delivery. When I mentioned the order was supposed to be rushed, she says that there is no record of it when I tried to figure out when I can have a working microwave, I am told maybe in a week if the technician can make it. when I said that it was unacceptable, I was told I would be transfered to a manager. After a wait of 15 minutes, I am told that the manager would call me back for futher information that same day. Towards the end of the day I called back asking if I could speak to a manager as promised in the morning. I was told that managers are buse and would call me back. When I expressed my disappointment with teh customer service I was just told there was nothing they could do. But still no call from the manager. My issues are multiple: first the products are no good quality if a switch breaks in less than a year. Second, a warranty repair should be done promptly and not wait more than 2 weeks. Third, if I lose the use of my microwave due to the fault of a bray and scarff employee, Bray and scarff should try their best to make it up and get the parts as soon as possible and schedule a technician within a week of the incident. Last, when I am promised a rush order of 3 to 4 business days, then told that it was never rush and it should be 7 to 9 business days, I don't see the customer service.

Desired Settlement: Bray and Scarff needs a way for customer to send feedback. This long delay is not acceptable especially when the loss of use of the appliance is due to the Bray and Scarff employee. And when I call for a status I shouldn't be treated like an inconvenience. Managers that promise to call back should do it and provide a solution to the customer's issue. So I would like an apology for the lack of customer service and a manager to accelerate this repair due to the fault of Bray and Scarff. If one can order from Amazon and receive a replacement board for a microwave in 3 days, I don't understand why Bray and Scarff shoudl take longer. Finally, warranty repair and repairs due to an error of a Bray and Scarff employee should take priority in scheduling.

Business Response: Good morning,

Brenda from the repair department has contacted *** ***** to inform him an exchange has been authorized. The unit is scheduled to be exchanged on 18 Aug 2014. If *** ***** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact Brenda directly @ ###-###-####.
Best Regards,
Wayne P.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and although they have made an effort to fix the issue they created, they still haven't issue the apology for the lack of customer service and the lack of response from their managers.  

Regards,

****** *****

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three years ago I purchased a mid-level dryer, manufactured by **, from Bray and Scarff for about $700. For 30 years, I purchased all my appliances from Bray and Scarff. I am a childless widow, living alone, I used the dryer no more than once or twice a month. Several months ago, it turned on when I pressed the 'start' button, but turned off when I lifted my finger. This seemed like a minor problem, I called Bray and Scarff service, described the problem and asked a man to come and fix it. They sent a man out promptly (6/2), he observed me taking my finger on and off the button, said the motor would have to be replaced, that he would give me an estimate, and charged me $90 for a service call, although nothing was fixed and he left with no more information than I had provided over the telephone. Yesterday (6/6), B&S called and said the "repair" would be $599. I said it made no sense to pay almost as much for the repair as a new dryer would cost. Apparently anticipating that, they thoughtfully offered me a $100 coupon if I bought a new dryer from them that was over $600. There was no warranty violation. However, what I bought was clearly a piece of junk: I should have been warned that this dryer was good for less than three years, even with very limited use, and would cost almost as much to fix as to replace. Clearly Bray and Scarff anticipated this, and made sure to charge me another $90 for an unnecessary "service call". What they did was not illegal, but it is clearly a scam, a company that does business this way does not deserve consumers' trust, and should not be permitted to hold itself out as a member of a "Better Business Bureau". I hope I do not have to buy a new $1000+ dryer every three years.

Desired Settlement: I would like the "service call" charge refunded, and ideally the dryer to be fixed for a far more reasonable amount, say $200. And Bray and Scarff should immediately stop selling this model or comparable ** dryers to other customers without warning them that the machine is likely to fail in less than three years.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

*** ****** has been contacted by ****  ******. **** issued a refund to her credit card in the amount of $89.95 on 6/24/2014. If *** ****** has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact **** @ ###-###-####.
Fyi
***** **

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  It is unfortunate that the business did not contact me until it received a letter from the BBB, which was more than two weeks after I complained to Bray and Scarf myself about the failure of the dryer after less than 3 years of light use, and the failure of Bray and Scarf to stand behind it.  I purchased a new dryer the day after Bray and Scarf told me repair would cost $600, but I delayed delivery hoping Bray and Scarf would offer a more reasonable solution.  By the time **** called, the new dryer, from a different merchant, had arrived.  I do appreciate the refund the fee for the 'service call'.

Regards,

******** ******

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract and installation agreement for a kitchen renovation on August 3, 2013. Work commenced the end of September 23, 2013 and was to be completed by 11/07/2013. The designer, *** ******, assured us that we would have a final walk through with the supervisor, *** ******* and us. To date, a final punch list of items to be finished, has not been completed. Additionally, a notice of violation from the ****** County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits was received. Bray and Scarff representatives assured us that they would take care of project management as part of this renovation. We had to coordinate a final inspection and meet with ****** County, which involved taking off work and walking through with the inspector. We are also coordinating services through a local company to re-install our microwave (purchased through Bray and Scarff) and our dishwasher that was improperly installed. We have also replaced a leaking faucet hose and a door which was cracked during installation ourselves. We have called and emailed numerous times with no response. However, the Bray and Scarff billing office did call last week and wants us to make a final payment for the work. We are dissatisfied with the poor service and installation services. This is not what we expected or what we were promised during the sales pitch!

Desired Settlement: Since we had to arrange a final inspection ourselves and take off work (loss of a days wage); installed a door and new faucet hose assembly; hire an appliance contractor to address microwave installation and re-install dishwasher, we request that the last payment be waived.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


We attempted to contact the ******* family on several different occasions via a variety of methods and were successful in receiving a phone call from **. ******* on Friday May 30th at approximately 3:30 PM. **. ******* and ***** ******** of the Kitchen Division are in the process of working together to bring this situation to a reasonable conclusion. According to our records the ******** have an unpaid balance of $8,776.84. We are willing to deduct the $1,200.00 from this balance as requested in this complaint leaving the ******** a total of $7,576.84 yet to be paid. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and feel this would be the quickest and most reasonable solution to this unfortunate situation. ***** and **. ******* have agreed to have a phone conversation this week to bring this to a close. ***** can be reached @ ###-###-####.

Best Regards
***** **  

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2year old ********* washing machine purchased through Bray and Scarff stopped working* The repair technician came out under the 5-year extended warranty* He was unable to perform any diagnostics beyond turning the machine off and on* He called ********* and was unable to clear the error message* After 15-20 minutes of pressing button with the machine turned off, he left* I called Bray and Scarff service center, I was then referred to *** the service contract holders; who stated that they need to be called first for a work order number to be created and they sent me back to the service center at Bray and Scarrf* The manager at Bray and Scarff informed me that it is not necessary to go through ***, and that another repair technician would be sent* The manager stated that it is standard procedure for repair technicians to call the manufacturer and not know what the error codes mean.

Desired Settlement: Service in a timely manner, with arrival within the stated repair window, and service by qualified technicians who are able to fix or diagnose the problem within 1 visit.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

**** ******** requested another service company to come out , as she did not feel our technician was qualified* NSI assigned the call to *** ******* ******* on 2-20-14.  They diagnosed the problem as a main control board.  *** ******* ******* installed the part on 3-10-14 and was able to repair the unit.

We consider this complaint as resolved.

Thank you,

***** ******

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray and Scarff informed me that they would be out to fix my ** stove on Feb 7,2014 between 1 and 5 pm . They called at 4:50 pm and stated they would be at my house and 6:00. I called and they sated they would be there at 7:00pm . They finally showed up at 8:15pm and left a note on the door to reschedule. I call on Monday Feb 10,2014 at 10:00 am they stated they would be out between 1 and 5:00pm. It is now 6:30 pm and they have not arrive and the office is now closed. The Attorney General needs to get involved with this company because they have taken my money and have not delivered on the service. Please Help. I would like a refund of all monies totaling $150.00. Thanks **. ********

Desired Settlement: Refund my money $150.00

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**. ******** was contacted by **** ******. The part needed to complete the repair has arrived and a message was left for **. ******** to set up a service call. **. ******** just needs to call the Repair Dept or **. ****** @ ###-###-#### to arrange for a day to complete the call. If he has any additional questions and/or concerns he should feel free to contact **. ****** @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** **

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a wall oven on 11/29 from Store Manager, **** *******. The oven was installed on 12/6. During installation the service person, ******, discovered that a fit kit sold to me by **** was incorrect for the job. ****** adjusted the install procedure and was able to place the wall oven. As a result of the error, a different part is required to complete the install, a 30" x 6" filler. It took over a week to get **** to order the necessary part. Once ordered the part was to be delivered and installed. Complaint #1: The original install left a mess in my house. Debris, trash, broken drill bits were left in my kitchen. This was communicated on 12/6, but nothing was done; not even an apology Complaint #2: A second install time was scheduled for the filler, but no one ever showed up. After I contacted the delivery department I learned that the part was not even in stock and should not have been scheduled for install. I took a day off work to support the install and lost that pay as a result. After exchanging emails, phone calls, and even a visit to the store on 1/31 I have nothing but broken promises. The part is not installed, not delivered, and every promise I have from **** or others in the store for a phone call has been unfulfilled. Most recently I went to the store on 1/31 and met with one of the two employees there that evening. I learned that **** no longer works in the store and was told that this new person would look into it and get back to me the next day. Now, two days later... nothing. Complaint #3: Lack of follow-though and extremely poor customer service. If a call is promised, then make the call. After over 2 months since purchase this job has not been completed as promised, and I have emails to document those unfulfilled promises. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $199.95 installation and completion of the job (delivery of 30" x 6" stainless filler)

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

**. ******** has been contacted by ****** from customer relations. The filler required to complete the install has been put into place. **. ******** has also been approved to receive a refund of $199.95. This refund will be processed no later than 26 Feb 2014 in the form of a check. If there are any additional questions or concerns **. ******** should feel free to contact ****** at customerrelations@brayandscarff.net.

Fyi

***** **

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a service contract on my wall oven. The glass on the inside of the door shattered and I requested a service. Three weeks later they had still not completed the repair. I called every week and never received a call back. They never sent out a technician and did not order the glass for over two weeks. Two days before Thanksgiving they advised me they had the wrong part, and offered no help to resolve this issue. I paid over $500 for this contract, and feel they have woefully failed to keep up their end of the agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fulfill their contract

Business Response: Good morning,

 
The unit was repaired on 11/26/2013. For her inconvenience **. ******  will receive a refund of $250. The customer see** to be satisfied. If she has any additional issues or concerns she should feel free to contact ***** @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** *.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased appliances and an extended warranty from the company. The freezer has not operated correctly for over 1 year. The first service technician incorrectly assessed the problem. The second technician diagnosed a different problem after about 2 minutes of reviewing the unit. That was in August. Since then, the company has cancelled my service appointment 3 times on the day that they were to come out.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to honor its service contract in a timely fashion and to perform the necessary work to complete the repair correctly so that no further service calls are required. I would also like the company to provide adequate contact information, not just a fill in form, but email contacts for actual persons with supervisory capacity with whom complaints can be made on its website. I would like BBB to investigate the company's service history with customers holding extended warranties to see whether the company should not be disapproved by the BBB.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**** ***** has contacted **. ****** and scheduled to have a tech to his home on the Oct 10. **. ****** is aware and seems to be fine. **** will continue to work with **. ****** until this issue is resolved. If there are any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact **** directly @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** **

10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Bray and Scarff the last week of May to report the ice maker on my refrigerator was not working. October is right around the corner and the issue has not been resolved despite numerous phone calls, letters to the VP of the company and going on six days taken off work to get the problem fixed. Over the past four months I have had unreturned phone calls, incompetent repair men, no show repair men, wrong parts ordered, wrong parts installed. The most unbelieveable was a letter to the VP of the comapny detailling months of issues trying to get this issue taken care of and NO response. Once I checked out the reviews on this company so many people had the same issue I had so maybe they just don't care. The initial sales people are good but the appliance repair division is a joke. I had fully itneded to have a kitchen installed this fall by Bray and Scarff but I have changed my mind and have contacted a competitor to do the work.

Desired Settlement: I would like an e-mail from someone in the company but I know that won't happen...so JUST fix the item!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
**** has contacted **. *****. The parts are in and **** is working with her to schedule the repair since she is a school teacher. If **. ***** has any additional questions or concerns she should feel free to contact **** directly @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** **

10/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a gas range and installation services. WSSC failed the installation because a carbon monoxide detector required by code was not present. Contacted Bray & Scarff and was told I needed to purchase the CO detector because they didn't carry them. Their contention was this was a new code requirement and they weren't aware of the requirement. I purchased the CO detector and attempted to reschedule the inspection with WSSC. WSSC informed me Bray & Scarff needed to pull another permit before I could reschedule. Contacted Bray & Scarff and was told they would get the permit. I've been waiting for 2 weeks to receive the permit with no results. I've been in contact with this company 5 times to resolve this. Original installation 8/2/2013 now 9/10/2013. All avoidable if Bray & Scarff informed me up front the CO detector was required and they would not provide.

Desired Settlement: Provide the permit so I can schedule the re-inspection with WSSC. Understand the code requirements for the services you propose to provide.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted and a technician is scheduled to go to the customer's home on Oct 10 to correct the situation. If there are any additional questions or concerns **. ******** should feel free to contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-####. T

 
Thank you,
 
***** **

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray & Scarff's service department is inept and has not fixed a leaking sub-zero refrigerator for the last three months. It has involved at least four service calls and two that they cancelled. The warranty ($500) only allows for B&S sub-zero repair people to show (Not sub-zero authorized repair people). I will never buy anything from them again, will spread the word to others and advise never to deal with their service dept. The same thing happened with a dryer repair and I gave up and bought a new on from someone else.

Desired Settlement: fix the broken sub-zeero or replace it

Business Response:

Good morning,

The unit was repaired on 9/20/***3. ***** from the Repair Dept contacted **. ****** on 9/23/***3 and the unit seems to be working properly. If any additional issues or concerns arise with the unit **. ****** should contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-#### X ***.

Fyi

***** **

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There really should be an option to select multiple complaints. We have complaints with defective products, delivery issues, and repair issues, all over a one year period with Bray and Scarff. We bought a new home in June 2012. As a result we bought several appliances from Bray & Scarff - a Kitchenaid refrigerator, a Kitchenaid dishwasher, and a Whirlpool upright freezer. We have had issues with all three appliances, although the freezer is the primary source of complaint. First, the dishwasher was delivered damaged, and a new one had to be ordered, which took several weeks. Second, the fridge has had at least two service calls due to pitting on the "stainless" steel exterior, and has already had one door replaced. This process took multiple service calls. Finally, the freezer. The freezer arrived weeks later than promised, and was damaged upon installation (dented door). We agreed to accept the freezer with the small dent. Below is a list of things that have gone wrong with the freezer during the year we have had it: 1. Door lock installed backwards - new door ordered 1a. Uninsulated door delivered - had a second fridge door sitting in our basement for at least a month while service procured the correct item - please note that the initial door itself took several weeks. 2. Uneven freezing in the unit - this required multiple visits (at least four from June - January), and has not been fixed. The bottom of the fridge is cold, but the top shelves do not function properly - recently we opened the fridge to find the top shelves barely cool. All of the food on the top shelves was ruined, as has happened before after Bray and Scarff has made "repairs" to the unit. Bray&Scarff service staff has ranged from inaccessible to incompetent throughout this process - frequently unaware of the repairs needed, unequipped to fix the issues, or worse yet, cancelled service calls at the last minute - as recently as today, in fact. Throughout the more than four service calls on this issue, we have had multiple appointments cancelled, and the problem persists. Our salesperson has been the only responsive member of the B&S team so far as our complaints have been concered, and we have resorted to reaching out to him in order to spur action from the service side of the house. Don's efforts have resulted in call backs from service, but have not been able to deliver us a functioning product. Bray & Scarff has been proactive on one count though - they were very interested in contacting us - to sell extended warranties on the products we purchased! Needless to say, we would just like the products we have purchased from B&S to (a) work as promised, and (b) be repaired correctly, in a timely manner while under the initial warranty.

Desired Settlement: We request a replacement deep freezer, as multiple fixes throughout the year have not resulted in a properly performing unit. We also request reimbursement for the food ruined when the most recent Bray & Scarff provided repairs did not work. We will update the complaint with pictures of the food and an itemized list.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
The unit was approved for an exchange on 9/5/2013 and the new unit was delivered on 9/13/2013. If there are any additional questions or concerns please contact ***** ******* directly @ ###-###-####. 
 
Fyi
***** **

9/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bray and Scarff dishwasher repair person came on 7/17 under 5 year complete warranty service contract paid for at time of purchase. Repair person spent 3 minutes at house, diagnosed problem, and supposedly ordered parts on that day. We were told they would arrive in 5-10 business days. We called back after 2 weeks of hearing nothing from Bray and Scarff and were then told parts had never been ordered. We were also told it "takes longer" for parts and service under warranty. I am not sure why this should be the case since I paid for that warranty! Also, they did not seem to have any knowledge or ability to track the parts or arrival timeframes, which seems fishy in this day and age of Fed Ex and UPS tracking. After many failed attempts to speak to someone in a position of authority and calls that were not returned, my husband finally spoke to a manager and was then told there was a "worldwide back order" on one part and it would be weeks before it came in, which seems to be an outright lie, as we called the outside warranty service company Bray and Scarff contracts with and they said the part had already been shipped to Bray and Scarff. Then when the order finally arrived they were *missing* one of the three necessary parts. They placed another order for the missing part. Today, 8/16, a repairman finally came to our house to fix it. He then said he could not repair the dishwasher because they had ordered the wrong hose! It was a wasted trip and three more hours of my valuable time wasted waiting in my house for a repair that didn't happen. This sort of incompetence is inexcusable. I feel like they treat the warranty customers as second class citizen/lower priority, and I almost feel like some of the delays and oversights were deliberate because we called and complained -- sort of like a payback for us bothering them. Shame on Bray and Scarff! They need to learn how to treat their customers. And, after an entire month of back and forth, I still have a dishwasher that does not work!

Desired Settlement: Expedited repair, with none of this b*s* about it taking more time to get parts and get someone out here. Overnight the part and get me on the priority list for a repair person!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
The part has arrived and the repair department was out to **. *********'s home today. The unit was repaired and **. ********* seemed satisfied. If **. ********* has any additional questions or concerns, she should feel free to contact ****** ******* @ ###-###-#### X***.
 
Fyi
***** *.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a barely one year old Kitchen Aid dishwasher with an extended warranty. The dishwasher broke near the end of June and they sent a repairman out on July 3. He said it would take "five to ten business days" to get the part and that they would then call to schedule the repair right after that. It's now August 9. I've called repeatedly and been given different excuses for the delay: 1) It's because of the holiday 2) It's because you have an extended warranty, those take longer than "regular" customers 3) The parts department didn't follow through when we asked them to track this 4) The part is on back order, it's the suppliers fault, we have no control over that. I've called them repeatedly. They promise to follow up and get back to me. They never have. I have emailed their customer service and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job and fix my dishwasher!!

Business Response: Good afternoon,

 
Unit was repaired today. If there are any additional questions or concerns, ****** ****** should feel free to contact Holley @ ###-###-#### X***.
 
Fyi
***** **

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A brand new oven, installed on May 21st, failed to work on June 20th. Bray & Scarff's response time on a brand new appliance was interminably slow, stating that the reason for the delay is that I, the customer, am located in Virginia. With stores in Viriginia, and other customers in Virginia, it seems the company could establish a service center in Virginia to service it's Virginia customers. The over would be working today, IF the ordered part has been correct. Another fault mysteriously in the workings of Bray & Scarff's ordering department. Now, I am waiting on the second ordering of the part. I'm informed that the earliest the part can be installed, assuming it arrives in time to schedule, is Thursday. Fully 3 weeks since the first call to customer service about this very problem. It would be quicker to acquire a new oven.

Desired Settlement: Expedition of repair. Although, it might be too late for me. I would like for Bray and Scarff to establish a more timely service schedule for it's Virginia customers.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

 
**. **** has been contacted by the service department and *******, her salesperson. **. **** used another company to complete the repair. Working with the service dept, ******* has made it possible for the customer to have her unit covered for 3 years from the date of delivery at no additional charge to her. This will in able her to use a network of servicers if we are unable to service her unit in a timely manner. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope the 3 year service contract (if needed) helps in the future. If **. **** has any additional concerns she should feel free to contact ******* @ ###-###-####.
 
Fyi
***** *.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me - to a degree. It is a small consolation for my NEW appliance being out of service for a month.I sincerely hope that Bray and Scarff make changes for the timely servicing of customers in the future. 

Regards,

***** ****

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 23, 2013 To whom this may concern: Could the BBB and the Maryland Attorney General help me expedite a timely service response and repair from the Bray and Scarff ****** branch for a brand new washing machine that has not been working? I’ve been in contact with them almost daily several times over the past week, but between my experiences so far and similar experiences I’ve read about this branch since on **** and BBB, I don’t seem to be making any traction. I have already spent several hours on the phone with both Bray and Scarff and Whirlpool, and have had to take several hours off fromwork waiting for service appointments, so your help would be greatly appreciated. Since the 1990s , I have bought nearly all of my major appliances from Bray and Scarff ****** and have not had any issues, which is why I continually buy my appliances from them. However, I paid $701.56 by credit card June 1, 2013, for a brand new Whirlpool Front Load Automatic Washer Model #********* that has not been functional and continues to need repairs. Here is the timeline: 06/01/2013 – Saturday: I spent $701.56 by credit card to buy a brand new Whirlpool Front Load Automatic Washer Model #********* from Bray and Scarff ******. 06/15/2013 – Saturday: I installed the washing machine. (Since purchasing it, I had to paint the closet in the interim before moving the washer in. The washer was otherwise left intact in its original packaging.) After installing, I saw that the machine wasn't working and was reporting a F23 fault code, so I called Whirlpool. Whirlpool was closed, so I called Bray and Scarff and spoke to a salesperson. The salesperson told me that per company policy I needed to schedule an appointment with their repair department, and that they wouldn't be able to do anything until their repair department looked at it. 06/17/2013 – Monday: I called Whirlpool, explaining that the machine was giving me a fault code F23. They said that it was likely a water inlet issue and that I needed a certified appliance repair person to come. They were willing to schedule, but I said I'd call Bray and Scarff because they offered that service. 06/18/2013 – Tuesday: I called Bray and Scarff to schedule a service visit for the following afternoon, Wednesday, June 19, during a 1 - 5 PM window. 06/19/2013 – Wednesday: I took off work to be home between the 1 – 5 PM window they scheduled. By 4:45 PM, I hadn’t heard anything, so I called Bray and Scarff for a status updates, and was told the repairman would arrive shortly. At 6 PM, I called again, but no one picked up. A service person finally arrived around 6:45 PM. He called Whirlpool to find out what F23 meant, plugged in a wire, and said the machine was fixed. We left the empty machine running to complete its cycle, but didn't run any additional laundry yet that night. 06/20/2013 - Thursday Around 3 PM, I saw the machine actually still didn't work, so at 3:35 PM, I called Bray and Scarff to inform them that the washer still didn't work. They said they had to schedule another service appointment. At 3:57 PM, they called from a ###-###-#### number to confirm a 1 - 5 PM service window for Friday, June 21, which I agreed to. 06/21/2013 - Friday At 9:16 AM, the Bray and Scarff service person calls while I was at work to say he's at the house. I explained that I was still at work and that Bray and Scarff had given me a 1 - 5 PM window. (He says his schedule showed a 8 AM - 12 PM window.) I called Bray and Scarff again, whose receptionist told me that I was wrong and said I was scheduled for 8 AM - 12 PM. (I personally spoke with a woman from Bray and Scarff the previous day confirming a 1 - 5 PM appointment.) When I asked if the service person could return from 1 - 5 PM as scheduled, the receptionist said, "No, we can't, because we did nothing wrong and it's your fault". I asked to have a supervisor call me so I could reschedule, but no one called me back. At 10:12 AM, I called Bray and Scarff again and spoke with ***** (Salesperson #**), our salesperson, who said that Bray and Scarff would call me to reschedule. 06/22/2013 - Saturday I still hadn't received a call from anyone at Bray and Scarff to reschedule, so I called ***** again to inquire and ask what was going on. He repeated that someone would call, but as of Sunday, 06/23/2013, no one from Bray and Scarff has called to reschedule the service call. We are requesting BBB and the Maryland Attorney General’s help in expediting Bray and Scarff’s repairing of the machine. I am happy to provide additional information. Thank you in advance for your help,

Desired Settlement: Could the BBB and the Maryland Attorney General help me expedite a timely service response and repair from the Bray and Scarff ****** branch for a brand new washing machine that has not been working?

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

**** has been in contact with **. ******. As per **. ******'s request a tech went to his home today. There is a part that is needed to complete the repair. **** is working with **. ****** and the parts department to obtain the part as quickly as possible. Once the part has been received **. ****** will be contacted to schedule a time to install the needed part. If **. ****** has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact **** directly @ ###-###-####.

Fyi

***** **

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a washer and dryer from Bray and Scarff in February 2011. At the time of purchase, the Bray and Scarff salesman recommended I purchase a three-year comprehensive service package with the washer/dryer, which I did. I was told that any parts/labor required for repair during that three years would be covered. On May 2 we called to report that the washer (which they had been called out to look at some four weeks prior) was now no longer operational. BRay and Scarff did a service call on May 7 at which time I was informed that a part was required, and it would take "3 to 5 working days". Starting the following week, we have now received a different estimate on when these parts would arrive -- today (May 21) I was told it would be "next week". I was also told that this isout of Bray and Scarff's control because the parts have to come from "the company that holds my service contract". It was actually suggested to me today that I call this other, as yet unnamed company, to check on the status of the parts orders. I believe that I was decieved at the time of purchase into believing that I had a service contract with Bray and Scarff. I was, at no time, informed that my service contract was held by another company. We have now spent in excess of $300 on laundry services.

Desired Settlement: I would like the service contract fees refunded so that I can purchase a replacement washer from another vendor.

Business Response:

Good morning,

Since working with the warranty company to obtain the parts needed to repair *** *********'s unit have been unsuccessful, the contract has been satisfied and an exchange has been authorized for the same unit or one of equal or lesser value. **** ***** of the Repair Department has attempted to contact *** ********* @ *** ******** on 22 & 29 May to discuss the issue but has been unable to speak with him. We understand based on this complaint *** ********* is requesting the refund of his service contract in the amount of $349.95. Since the service contract is being satisfied he will be unable to have it refunded. By satisfying the contract he is entitled to an exchange. Bray & Scarff is willing to give *** ********* the option to have the purchase price of the unit refunded to him in the amount of $679.95 + tax of $40.80 for a total of $720.75 if he declines the exchange. This option is being offered because of the challenges with obtaining the parts. The old unit will be needed to complete either option. *** ********* needs to contact **** ***** @ *** ******** **** to discuss his options so we can proceed with handling the exchange or refund. We will be unable to proceed without speaking with *** *********.   

Fyi

***** **

6/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a stackable Bosch washer and dryer on 07APR2013. The washer stopped working less than two weeks after delivery, and the Bray and Scarff technician came to my house on 22APR to diagnose the problem. He returned on 10MAY2013 to replace a motor and a control. After about an hour and a half, the technician told me that the washer still would not work due to a computer problem. The technicians said I should call the number on the work order to find out what would be the next steps. The two technicians left my home around 10:30 a.m. After about four hours, at around 2:30 p.m., I called the ****** Maryland Bray and Scarff Customer Service phone number that appeared on the work order. I was immediately put on hold without being given a reason why or for how long. After a few minutes, I hung up and dialed a different phone number that was given in the Bray and Scarff web site. I told the person who answered that the technicians had been to my house earlier today, and that I wanted to know what would happen next to resolve the problem, be it additional repairs or a replacement of the washer. The Bray and Scarff Customer Service Representative addressed me in a rude tone of voice and said that they would not be able to give me an answer until Monday, then changed it to sometime next week. Today is Thursday, 16MAY2013, and I still have not heard back from the Customer Service Representative to let me know what is going on with my washer repair/replacement. This afternoon, I dropped in at the store where I bought the washer and dryer to ask the salesman for help in the matter. I told him what had happened since I bought the Washer/Dryer from him, and the salesman said he would give Customer Service a call, and that I should hear from them sometime today. It is now 7:00 pm, and I still have not heard back from Bray and Scarff for them to tell me how the matter will be resolved.

Desired Settlement: As the washer seems to have several problems, and I have only been able to use it for about a week and a half, I would like to have the washer completely replaced with a new version of the same/similar washer that is compatible, in function and size, with the Bosch dryer as a stackable set. And, as a Bray and Scarff customer, I fully expect to receive excellent, proactive, and pleasant customer service.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Unit was repaired on 24 May 2013. Tech stated everything seemed to function properly and the customer seemed fine with the repair. **** ***** called after the repair was complete to ensure everything was functioning properly and *** ******* was satisfied. There was no answer so *** ***** left a message. If *** ******* has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact **** directly @ *** ******** ****.

Fyi

***** **

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing regarding the poor quality of the service department at Bray & Scarff. I have had countless problems with scheduling appointments and have had to make numerous appointments to solve the same issue. The technicians are never provided with the proper part needed to fix my appliance, regardless of the detail of information I provide to the service department representative at the time I request the appointment. They have required the technician to come to my home to diagnose the problem, and then make a return trip, sometimes as long as a week later, to actually complete the repair. I purchased an extended warranty that is of virtually no value whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: The company should believe the customer as to the nature of the repair and send a properly prepared technician to complete the repair in one appointment. Customers should not be inconvenienced to have products purchased from Bray & Scarff repaired.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The unit was repaired on 6 May 2013. **** from the Repair Dept talked with the customer on 7 May 2013. The unit seems to be fine and the customer is OK. If there are any additional concerns or issues please feel free to contact **** directly @ *** ******** ****.

Fyi

***** **

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The repair that was the reason for the complaint has been resolved, but the issue with Bray & Scarff's service department has not.  It took far too many phone calls and repeated appointments to have the issue fixed.  The company policy that requires at least two visits per repair is unacceptable.  The company should do more to prepare the technician, i.e. with proper parts in hand, on the first visit.  The repair tech is always pleasant and professional, but that is not the norm for the other employees that must be dealt with to schedule a repair.  I should not have to leave 5-7 phone messages to speak to  supervisor, and it should not take a BBB complaint to resolve a basic repair.  The gentlemen I spoke with following this repair was pleasant and was concerned that I was happy, but it was a bit too little, too late.  The exact requirements for repairs are not specified in any literature that is provided when appliances and/or maintenance agreements are purchased.  They are eager to collect the fees for extended warranties, but care little about fulfilling the terms of said warranties.

Regards,

***** ******








Business Response:

Good morning,

*** ****** has been contacted by **** ***** the Manager of the Repair Dept. She has been given the ability to contact **** directly going forward to resolve any additional issues. Unfortunately because of the many different brands and product types we service it is not possible to have every part for every unit on hand or in every van. **** will make every attempt to order the necessary parts to complete any additional repairs prior to the service tech's initial visit provided the parts can be identified via a phone conversation. The customer should be aware this would be an "educated" guess based on the information provided by her and the tech may still need to obtain additional parts to complete the repair. We understand the customer continues to have some concerns but we are making an effort to keep the concerns to a minimum.

Fyi

***** **

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ** Cafe Refrigerator I purchased from Bray and Scarff freezes food placed in the lowest refrigerator drawer. Bray and Scarff has been out 3 times to fix it. ** was called 2 weeks ago because Bray and Scarff could not fix the problem. ** also came out and did not fix the problem. This has been going on for 6 months! I have lost food, and I can no longer put anything in the bottom drawer of the refrigerator. I have been patient, but it appears the refrigerator is not repairable.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

Unit is scheduled to be exchanged on 18 May 2013. If *** ******* has any additional questions or concerns he should feel free to contact his salesperson ******* ****.

Fyi

***** **

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our dishwasher is broken. The company has been unable to order the correct part to fix this appliance twice. They are unable to explain why they are unable to order the correct part.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The correct parts have been received and checked by the technician.  The customer is scheduled to have the parts installed this Thursday 5/9/2013.  **** *****, our Service Manager, will follow up with the customer after the repair is completed to make sure everything is in working order.

Thank you,

***** ******

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: I purchased a washer and dryer from Bray and Scarff a few years ago. Last year I had an issue with the seal around the door. After a number of phone calls and about 3 weeks of waiting they finally resolved the issue. Now here we are again playing the same game of calls and waiting. I called nearly a month ago because my washer was making a noise when it ran. They stated to me that it was a warranty and they would call me to get scheduled for installation of the new parts. After 2 weeks they still hadn't called me, so I called them. They told me that they would be installing the parts today March 25th. Today is March 25th and unfortunately it is snowing. They called me to let me know that due to the weather conditions they would not be able to get the parts installed today. Understandably so, however when I asked when I could be rescheduled they told me it would be next week. I have 3 children including a 17 year old boy who is heavily involved in sports. I need a washer and dryer that function properly and it seems to me that when I go to the company that I purchased them from they put me on the back burner. Maybe it is just that they are very busy or maybe it is TERRIBLE customer service. What ever it is I assure you that I will be ending my relationship with Bray and Scarff and letting anyone I know who asks about their service exactly what happens when you call them to fix something under warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like my warranty issues resolved in a timely manner since they acknowledge it is warranty. I do not want to have to wait weeks for a response and then initiate it myself due to lack of contact.

Business Response:

Good morning,

*** ******* was contacted on 3 April 2013 by ****** from the Repair Center. The unit was repaired on 28 March 2013 and he seemed satisfied. If there are any additional questions or concerns *** ******* should feel free to contact ****** directly @ *** ********.

Fyi

***** **

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our washer/dryer combo in 2009 April 27th. The sales person convinced us that we should buy their extended warranty service (5 year) for 219.95 dollars. He said for a purchase this expensive it is peace of mind since if the machine breaks down more than 3 times they will not even try to fix it they will give us a replacement machine. It sounded good to us. In our experience if a machine keeps breaking down in the beginning it is a good indicator for the future. 2009 October 12. we called Bray and Scarff - the machine was extremely loud, the drum was banging inside like crazy. They came and diagnosed the problem, ordered the needed parts (promise date April 1st. 2010!), and they asked us to call the manufacturer for repair because we have 3 years of manufacturer's warranty. After not hearing from Bray and Scarff for a couple of months I called **** and scheduled a repair with their technician. 2010 February 12th the technician came, diagnosed the problem, ordered the parts. 2010 June 10. the parts came and got installed. The machine worked (Please not, that at this point I had hauled my laundry to the laundromat for almost 6 months!) 2010 July 26th I called **** again because the machine started to have the same noise. The technician came on July 30th and said it was not THAT loud. (when we bought the machine it was whisper quiet now we can't have a conversation when it is turned on!). 2011 January 25th I called the service because it smelled like electric burn and the machine was unbelievably noisy! 2011 February 3rd the technician came and listed 3 problems that needed to be fixed. As much as I can tell we need the very same parts replaced over and over again. 2011 February 27th the parts came got installed but the technician realized that the air duct needed some work. He ordered the part later got installed. The machine never performed perfectly, it was noisy, we started it only when we were not home but I got tired of calling in and being told that it runs a little rough but it is okay??????? 2012 July 5th I called Bray and Scarff (*****s warranty ran out) because the machine worked randomly. On July 10th the technician came and diagnosed the machine, ordered 3 parts (including the plate that's been replaced twice already). 2012 August 29th they installed the parts. 2012 September 14th I called in because the machine was doing the same. It was starting and stopping as it pleased. The dryer came on randomly. In the end there was only one cycle (the whites) that would finish sometimes. The technician came on 2012 October 9th and diagnosed the problem saying the main control unit needed to be replaced. Also the burning smell came back. He had to order two parts that has been replaced multiple times before?????? We asked Bray and Scarff to replace the machine. It is obviously not built well. The very same parts keep breaking and I am taking my laundry to the laundromat for months for a lot of money. Also I have a baby now and not being able to do laundry when I have to is fairly inconvenient. Multiple times we called and went to the store where we bought the machine. They said they think the machine is bad and 90 percent of these machine got replaced in the past. Than after months of not being called back they called us and said *** the warranty (3rd party) company has no intention to replace it. The machine is serviceable. I was surprised. We bought the machine from Bray and Scarff along with the warranty. They never said a word about a 3rd party company that is in ***** (!). We thought we are dealing with Bray and Scarff all along. We made our purchase with them because they are accredited by BBB and have an A rating! 2012 December 31st I called *** directly asking for repair or a technician who would assess the machine and possibly to have them to replace it. 2013 January 7th the technician came and diagnosed the machine. It needs 3 parts to be replaced (among it the main control unit!) 2013 February 14th technician came to install the last part we needed for the machine to work again. 2013 February 15th I tried to do laundry and the machine would turn on but would not do ANYTHING! We called *** they want us to call a different repair company. We called Bray and Scarff after all they sold us the unit and the warranty I would have thought they stand behind their promises. Mistake. At this point I am without a working machine again. I take my laundry to the laundromat and to friends and family we visit (fairly embarrassing!). My fear is that they are trying to drag this thing out until we run out of the extended warranty as well and I will be there with a machine that need hundreds of dollars worth of work a few times a year.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to do my laundry at home, possibly with a machine that is quiet enough so we can carry a conversation while it is running. Everybody I know is very surprised by Bray and Scarff's conduct. All my friends and family recommended them when we were shopping around for our washing machine.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

The contract company (**********) spoke with the customer on 3/25/13. The customer has been given an offer of replacement for the unit with one of ***********s online vendors. ********** is waiting for a response from the customer before proceeding. If the customer has any additional questions or concerns ********** should be contacted @ * *** ******** or **** ***** of Bray & Scarff @ *** ******** ****.  

Fyi

***** **

3/15/2013 Delivery Issues
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/4/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service