BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Beiter's Home Center offers retail sales of furniture, bedding appliances, televisions, air conditioners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beiter's Home Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beiter's Home Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beiter's Home Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1966 in PA Business incorporated 05/17/2004 in PA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bob Beiter, CEO Mr. John Grant, President Mr. Janice Hiller, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Bill Henderson, Chief Financial Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Beiter, CEO
Principal: Mr. John Grant, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Henderson, Chief Financial Officer
Principal: Mr. Janice Hiller, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Furniture - Retail Bedding

Alternate Business Names
Beiter's Inc Beiters Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 1125 N 4th St

    Sunbury, PA 17801 (570) 286-6414

  • 13 E Main St

    Lock Haven, PA 17745 (570) 748-7222

  • 1442 South Main Street

    Mansfield, PA 16933

  • 221 Water Street

    East Smithfield, PA 18817

  • 3000 State Route 405

    Milton, PA 17847

  • 370 East End Centre

    Wilkes Barre, PA 18701

  • 560 Montgomery Pike

    S Williamsprt, PA 17702 (570) 326-2073


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought new living room furniture From Beiter's less the one yr. ago and it began to show deep wear, poor quality. I phoned and reported the problem and the store manager came to the house and agreed this was a concern, the material was worn and the furniture was not stuffed properly. She informed the warranty is that they take the furniture back for repair. in which they would give me loner, the loveseat was take first and NO loaner was ever brought. They had the loveseat 2 days and it was fixed ? It had to be re stuffed and new material, I am not satisfied with this furniture at all, it is very poor quality and when I bought it was told it was top of the line. The frame on the couch was bent from the day it was delivered. I do not think it should be RE BULIT it is damaged furniture. Beware of Beither's Home Center's.

Desired Settlement: Since it is such poor quality, defected it should replaced not rebuilt.

Business Response:

My store manager- Nikki S*******- has been working with this customer and we are repairing the items involved at no cost to the customer including our picking up and re-delivering the products. we do not replace merchandise under our 1-year warranty and have never indicated that we would.


for your assistance

John G****

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase green 2 piece sectional in April 2012. When I received the furniture it was two different pieces. After a week the arms on the love seat caved in. I contacted the store and they replaced it. But I also mentioned several times this was not the furniture I purchased. I was told it was the lighting from the store that made it look different. The couch caved in the arms and the brought one that was sliced so had to bring another.That Sunday I saw the set I had in their flier for $588 a piece where I bought the $688 a piece. I contact the manager *** ***** and told him this was not the furniture I bought he said maybe it was furniture that was just left in the back.The brought another set and I told the delivery guys this was still NOT the set. They again said it was the lighting.I happened to go to the store in Aug 12, 2013 and saw I DID NOT have the furniture I purchased. The, manager, **** ******** told me to go pick out another set. I said I DID NOT want another set I wanted the one on the floor,but he said it was already sold. He told me to email him the pictures of my couch. After a week of no reply I contacted the main store and spoke with **** ******. He told me to resend the pictures and he would do something. After about 30 emails I called again. He told me I had to talk to a **** *****, the CEO. I called him and sent him the pictures. He told me it was because I dont take care of my things.I told him I DO take care of things that this was the cheaper set not the one I paid more for. After another 20 or so emails I called again. He was at the W-B store so I went there. I was told to wait. After a half hour he came out and put his hand right in my face and said "We are done with you good bye." I have been in contact with the manufacture of the furniture, ******** ******, and the supervisor there looked at my pictures looked into the situation and told me that is not the furniture that they produce for them and he doesnt know where that set came from.He also said ******s was the one who was suppose to contact them to have my furniture fixed. He said I have all the proper papers of purchase, the numbers from the furniture but it is not any thing I should have received. The set I received is grey, larger and of lesser quality than what I was suppose to have. IHe said he doesnt know where ******s could have gotten the set I have because mine is definitely grey and they only sell the green I wanted. called back again to the manager at W-B, **** ******** and he is now telling me "The furniture I have was not purchased from them." I have all the receipts.I would have taken the floor model just to fix all this mess but they wouldnt let me.

Desired Settlement: refund

Consumer Response:

 I have all the emails from both **** ******** and **** ***** CEO of ******s stating they contacted ******** ****** and were waiting to hear from them but in actuality  they never contacted them at al. If you could please send me an email that I could forward these emails to I would be able to do so. In one email **** ***** said he was contacting them and in a another days later said he refuses to contact them.
Here are the receipts from ******s. We accepted the furniture because every time I complained to any one, workers,,managers, even the delivery guys they would make comments and tell me it was the lighting in the store that made it look different or make me feel that I was being a pain or crazy. I spoke with a supervisor at ******** ****** who looked into all this and he said the numbers on my furniture and the receipt match but do not match the furniture  it is suppose to be on. ******** ****** said I was suppose to have a green set and from the pictures I sent them with all the windows and doors and lights on like the lighting in the store my set is grey.******** ****** said I do not have the set that they make compared to the numbers on this set that were applied only by a sticker. When I discussed this with **** ******** at Beites in W-B he then preceded to tell me I the set I have in my house was now not the set they delivered.. **** ********* of ******** ******, who is the supervisor I have been in contact with, also told me they were not contacted and said that is not the norm for the store to tell me to do this. That when there is a problem the store, not the customer , is to contact them. Thank you, **** ******** 

Business Response: Dear *** ******

The following is my response to you regarding **** ********. I would like to state first of all that her comment about putting my hand in her face is typical of the comments made by **** via emails and telephone messages. Over stating facts is her forte. After trying to assist her for many months and going above and beyond what any other retailer would do I did indeed tell her via email and telephone conservation that Beiter's was through assisting her with her demands. She confronted me in the store and I simply put my hand up standing at least five feet away from her and then proceeded to move closer to her and hand her the phone number on a business card for the manufacturer,which is what she had requested. Now for the history of this transaction.

On 4/17/12 she purchased the items listed on invoice #*******. We delivered these items to her on 4/25/2012 and she signed for these items. No issues were recorded on the invoice as all was fine. Then she called and said the loveseat was damaged. We proceeded on 5/16/12 to replace the loveseat at no charge to ****. Once again she signed for it on slip #******* and again no issues were reported at the time. Please note in all cases so far the model numbers match exactly to what she purchased. Now on 5/25/12 she calls again claiming the sofa is now damaged. We then proceed once again, at no charge to ****, to exchange her sofa on 5/30/12 on slip # ******** Lo and behold we hear from her once again on 7/11/12 that the sofa is again damaged. We go the extra mile, once again, to take care of the customer and exchange the sofa, at no charge for delivery or any other costs we are occurring since the exchanged items were in non-saleable condition due to excessive use. We exchange the sofa on 7/27/12 on slip 3 7-18097. ***** ******** signs for it and once again no concern for this being the wrong sofa or any other problem is listed. Every exchange matches the items originally purchased. I know she is now claiming that the items were never the ones she picked out but the serialized numbers on the bottom of her products match exactly to her sales invoice and she signed the invoice accordingly. Then if this wasn't enough **** calls again on 11/14/13 and claims both pieces were damaged again. We now do the unthinkable and exchange both pieces again 11/21/13 on slip #******* and **** again signs the invoices stating everything is ok.

At this point we have lost all profitability with this transaction but we are satisfied we have gone way over and above the call of duty in taking care of this issue but since it was within "Beiters one year satisfaction window" we did all as I had mentioned. Please note that the manufacturer's warranty is one year on the fabric from date of purchase and at no time was the wear of the fabric ever questioned.

Now, well after all warranty periods have ended we get yet another call to take care of another issue. At this point I made the decision that our obligations under any warranty has been fulfilled and we were done trying to assist her. She tied up many of our employees with telephone calls, emails, etc and enough is enough.

She now brings up information that ******** ****** is saying these items are wrong color or something to that effect and once again I would inform her that ******** ****** would have to handle it if that is what they have told her. We provided the serial numbers and models numbers that **** gave us form under her sofa and loveseat and if ******** ****** works with her and believes they put the wrong serial number on the product and shipped us the wrong product then they need to make it right with ****. We will not be involved with this process as this will be between **** and ******** ******.

I highly doubt the product is not correct, but if so, then ******** ****** will have to correct the problem, not Beiters. We have sold over fifty of these sofas in the past two years and we have had no other complaints from any other customer regarding poor performance or wrong colors. This is a medium priced product and performs well at this price point.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


***** ********

Business Response: This is a rehash of the same comments made earlier and our response is the same as before. The serial number on the items placed by ******** ****** indicate that the merchandise the customer has matches all signed invoices and anything to the contrary is between the customer and the manufacturer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

This is a total shame for a business to act this way. All we wanted was the furniture we picked out and purchased. What is the point of continuing this if neither the business nor the BBB is going to do any thing about this. I have included the emails from 3 ******s management in regards to they were in fact contacting the manufacture for weeks while letting me  think they were doing so when in fact THEY WERE NOT.This proves the consumer (little guy) always gets the screwing. No wonder their store is going out of business in my area. IT S THE WAY THEY TREAT PEOPLE.  I thought by contacting the BBB we had someone that would be on a consumers side but I was wrong. All these months I was told by employees and delivery drivers of ******s that my furniture was different because of the lighting. Now the manufacture is telling me it is not even the correct color. WHY DOESNT ANY ONE WANT TO COME AND EVEN FIND OUT WHAT THE HECK ACTUAL COLOR I HAVE because IT IS NOT WHAT I EVEN WANTED. This whole situation is a total shame and if this is the way they treat people it will also happen to them one day and they better not think why. Just remember how you treated us/ 
 Complaint: ******

I am rejecting this response because:


***** ********

Business Response: no additional comment

Consumer Response: I can not believe this is allowed to go on. As the wronged consumer where is the BBB to help US? 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


***** ********

9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a lounge chair about 2 and ahlaf months ago, well the material on the arm is coming off, it is frayed, as it is a courdoroy fabric. I called WB Beiters on Sunday, July 21 and spoke with a man named *** who was the manger. He said that he would take care of it ordering us another chair, as he put it, you only had it for a little over 2 mos and that shouldnt have happened, Well, I called on Wed, Jul 24 to see what the status of our chair is, andd thw woman who anwered the phone said that she would have to get back with me because *** was in the warehouse, no one got back to us. So, my husband called today, July 28, and someone is suppose to get back to us again and no ne did. I called the headquarters and spoke with a woman named ***, and told her what was going on, well, the reason why everyone was nlowing us off was that because ***, the wonderful man who was suppose to order us a new chair, never did. So, here we have 2 people lying to us in the store, because they knew that *** never ordered us a new chair. Nice right. Also, our name in not ******** as it is on our bill and he said that he would change it and never did. Also, when we ordered the mattress and chair, we told them that we would pick the mattress up, made a special trip and when we got there, we waited 20 min and they ordered the wrong mattress, so we had to wait for anothe one to come in and get it delivered. You know my money is good right.

Desired Settlement: I want some sort of discount on the chair and I think that *** should be fired, the woman who answered the phone and gave me a line of bull crap, and the person who was suppose to call me back today be fired and handed us a line of bull crap.

Consumer Response: I want them to give me a discount like I said, and a new chair. Thank you and call when the chair will be delivered.

Business Response:



**** *****


3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service