BBB Accredited Business since

Urban Igloo, LLC

Phone: (877) 445-6632 1808 Eye St NW, Washington, DC 20006 http://www.urbanigloo.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Urban Igloo, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Urban Igloo, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 2010 Business started: 02/02/2009 in DC Business started locally: 02/02/2009 Business incorporated: 02/04/2009 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 0226021428.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license/pe
Phone Number: 410-230-6001
The number is 3107.

District of Columbia Real Estate Commission-DC
1100 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.pearsonvue.com/dc/realestate/
Phone Number: (202) 442-4320
Fax Number: (202) 698-4329
Leon.Lewis@dc.gov
The number is LL600255.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Gersten, Founder/Managing Partner Ms. Debbie Kaplan, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Gersten, Founder/Managing Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Kaplan, Director of Marketing
Business Category

Apartment Finding & Rental Service Screening - Tenant


Additional Locations

  • 1808 Eye St NW

    Washington, DC 20006 (877) 445-6632

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The complaint category could have been Advertising Issue, Billing and Collection Issue, Customer Service Issue, Delivery Issue, and many more. I agreed to allow Urban Igloo to present prospective tenants with the (1) assumption that I’d receive a complete application, (2) disclosure of what the tenants wanted (e.g., adds, moves or changes of something on my property/in the home), and (3) have the opportunity to interview the prospective tenants. Instead, I received an application on Dec 30, 2013 at 2:30pm with a move-in on Jan 01, 2014. So that my wife and I were not the “weak link,” my wife and I made changes to our home that evening (made the changes in our home as requested in the application). We then made arrangements to meet the prospective tenants. It turns out the tenants (a husband & wife) 1) did not want to move in Jan 01, and 2) the changes to the home differed from what we were told. I then looked closer at the application (I had assumed it would be complete). 3) The Urban Igloo contract showed no work history nor income history for one of the two applicants. 4) much more was incomplete. AT THE END-OF-THE-DAY 1) I coordinated the interview date with the tenants. 2) I had to establish move-in date and then communicated that to Urban Igloo. 3) I had to coordinate the tenant’s walk-through date. 4) I had to establish, from the tenants, what had to be changed inside the home -- Urban Igloo’s information was not correct. 5) I investigated & obtained disclosure as to why one tenant had no work history. 6) I gathered, from the tenants’, their employment contact information. 7) And, the lease was not 12 months. I contacted Urban Igloo on Jan 14, 2014 re the latter seven (07) issues. The question I posed is: “I don't see $2,150 of value and I'd like a mgr to speak to this process.” I was promised a reply but there was no response. On Mar 19, 2014, on the eve of moving onto another project, I again contacted Urban Igloo. President ******* ******* finally responded on Mar 19. President ******* ******* first written response, “I don't really have any thoughts to write primarily because I do not really know what I am being asked about…..” I responded by pointing him to the Jan 14 email, and copied-and-pasted the Jan 14 in the Mar 19 reply (which included Urban Igloo’s Jan 14 promise that someone would respond). President ******* ******* second response was, “i have read all this. what is it you want?” I again responded, “[sic, You’re] welcome to respond to the ~07 concerns bulleted on jan 14…. You are being asked to speak to your firm’s performance and/or, compensate your clients, us, for the hours of effort that we applied to make your proposed tenants viable.” President ******* ******* called – which I didn’t want – and began speaking about this and that (he discussed nothing about the issues/emails -- the point of communicating). I finally cut him off and asked, “will you be responding in writing?” and he said “no.” To cut my losses I hung up the phone and now, wasted this last hour on Urban Igloo letting readers know that Urban Igloo may take full commission and leave you doing the coordinating, vetting, information gathering; that the application Urban Igloo will present to you may be missing relevant items and that will not be disclosed to you; that, if you do have a complaint, President ******* ******* may spin you in circles because at the end-of-the-day, he will refuse to speak to his firm’s performance.

Desired Settlement: Verbally, President ******* ******* has already refused to respond and/or compensate for sub-par service. The original request to President ******* ******* was to respond to seven (07) issues.

Business Response:

**. ******,

We are responding to BBB complaint # *******. We are sorry ** ********* was disappointed with the service we provided to lease his home. Recently, the tenants indicated they are satisfied in the unit, have no complaints about the home or the process, and have paid their rent in full.  

As stated clearly in our contract and on our website, Urban Igloo represents the tenant, not the homeowner. We provide homeowners with whatever information we collect on prospective tenants, and the homeowner is free to accept or decline them for occupancy. We only take a fee from the homeowner when that homeowner accepts for occupancy the tenant we brought.  That is what happened here. 

Whether or not **. ********* chose to call the prospective tenants on his own and try to negotiate with them directly does not negate the fact that UI introduced the tenants to ** *********'s unit. Some owners attempt to save on our fee by fabricating issues after the fact. That may be happening here. In any case, we emphasize that the tenants are pleased with the home and the process, and the owner is currently receiving full rent and has not contested any aspect of the tenancy.


Very truly yours,
 
******* *******
 
******* ******* :: President
Urban Igloo, LLC 
DC's and Philadelphia's Apartment Finders
1808 Eye Street, NW :: Washington, DC 20006
******************* :: http://www.urbanigloo.com

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The details being spoken to, in Urban igloo's response, do not address poor business practices highlighted in my initial statement/email, and the statements I made are there as a warning to consumers -- yes & true, urban Igloo will look out for the tenant and not the homeowner which is the point and, exactly converse to the discussion I had with Urban Igloo when I allowed them to represent my property.  Moreover, working for the tenat vs homeowner is mutually exclusive from performing reasonable effort (eg, about everything stated in the initial email).  And true, I could have said "no" to the tenant; again, that too is mutally exclusive from performing reasonable effort (eg, about everything stated in the initial email).

My wife and I purchased more properties and going forward, request no more back-and-forth emails.  Respectfully, either the BBB posts my (the homeowner's) experience or elects not to disclose it to the public. 

***** *********