BBB Accredited Business since

Backyard Amusements LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 375-8892 Fax: (240) 209-0207 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 636, Bryans Road, MD 20616 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Backyard Amusements LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Backyard Amusements LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Amusements LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2010 Business started: 03/17/2006 in MD Business started locally: 03/17/2006 Business incorporated 09/30/2009 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chistopher F Avery, Member/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chistopher F Avery, Member/Manager
Business Category

Amusement Park Equipment Party Supplies - Renting

Additional Locations

  • 4540 Printers Ct

    White Plains, MD 20695

  • PO Box 636

    Bryans Road, MD 20616


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the company that I have listed. We rented a water slide, and a moon bounce for my sons birthday party on Aug. 17 2013. The contract stated that they would remove the items at 8pm. They came at 7:24 pm that day and started removing the items. We had also rented 25 chairs from them. At 10:54 pm that same evening they called me, waking me up saying that they were missing 10 chairs. I got out of bed and went down stairs to confirm that the chairs were not here. I told him the chairs were not here and why didn't they count them before they left.

Desired Settlement: Would like a 1/2 of money returned.

Business Response:

**. ******--

Attached is a Word document of our response to **. *********** and **. *****.  Should we send them the letter directly or do we need to wait for a response from the BBB?  Please advise, as this is the first time a customer has file a complaint on Backyard Amusements, LLC.

Backyard Amusements, LLC
P.O. Box 636
Bryans Road, MD 20616
###-###-#### - Fax

Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook and receive $10.00 off of your next inflatable rental!

August 30, 2013

**. ***** *********** and **. ***** *****:

This is in regards to the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding your rental.  We have spoken with the driver and learned that his untimely arrival and late phone call did not align with Backyard Amusements, LLC policies an procedures.

We apologize on behalf of the driver.  The company's policies and procedures have been reiterated to the driver.  We
understand your frustration, but assure you that such behavior will not be repeated in the future.

Our goal at Backyard Amusements, LLC is to provide our customers with affordable and quality equipment, fun and
exceptional customer service.  We value you as a customer and have enclosed a refund check for $75.00.  Additionally on your next rental from Backyard Amusements, LLC,  you will receive 15 percent off for the inconvenience.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, your opinion has helped us to improve our operation.