BBB Accredited Business since

Sewing By Lois

Phone: (717) 392-7718 1741 Marietta Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603 http://www.sewingbylois.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sewing By Lois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sewing By Lois include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sewing By Lois
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 05, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1970 in PA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Lois Buckwalter, Owner Mr. Mervin Buckwalter, Manager/ Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lois Buckwalter, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mervin Buckwalter, Manager/ Owner
Business Category

Alterations - Clothing Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom


Additional Locations

  • 1741 Marietta Ave

    Lancaster, PA 17603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lois butchered my dress. It was completely different from the last fitting I had, before I picked it up. After trying it on at home I called Lois about being unhappy. She argued with me and would not let me speak. My mom called her back after, and Lois hung up on her refusing to fix her mistakes. There was blood on the dress, purple marker, she made the bustle with neon colored ribbons that showed through the dress, did not cut off the excess fabric (just folded it under the seam). It looked horrible. I spent $300 for her services and she did not complete, fix, or preform the argeeed upon services. She left me to have to find someone else to fix my dress by refusing to help herself. I could not believe the way she treated my family and I after I nicely asked to to fix the mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my $280 for the repairs on my dress, plus, the cost of the second dress I had to buy due to irreversible damage by Lois ($130). The work was unfinished and done poorly. Even after alterations on my wedding dress from another party to fix her mistakes, they were unable to get it back to looking completely normal. I ended up buying another dress for $130

Business Response:

This letter is not true.  The girl was very nice to work with.  Took the dress in 3 times at no extra charge ans she continually wanted it tighter.  At final fitting, everyone like the dress, even hugged me thanking me for all the extra time I spent on the dress.  Everyone was happy.  Nothing else was done to the dress except steaming it for pick-up and adding a few extra bustle ribbons.  I always use color-coded ribbons to make it easy for the girls to match up for proper bustle.  Could have easily been switched out for white if she only asked.  The purple marker is self-dissappearing ink, but can be instantly erased with other end of pen- a 2-minute fix.  I could have missed some.

However I have some special cleaner for that if needed-2 minute fix, but nothing was mentioned about this.  At first, I left the excess fabric in-common practice-in case with wt gain it needs to be left back out later.

I tried to tell them we always fix anything no charge, but the mother only ranted and screamed at me on the phone, about how I ruin her dress.  I tried to reason with her, but she only screamed at me constantely, a contiual tireade.  Yes, I finally hung up as I could get nowhere to reason with her.  I'm totally baffled as to what the problem was, she would not tell me and refused to let me see the dresss.  She said she had no time to bring it to me, but fixing any problem would have take far less time than unnecessarily buying a new dress.

I felt so bad, since the day before they were all so nice, everything was fine and nothing changed after that, except pressing, stringing and a few ribbons- anything would have been a few minutes to fix.

I do hundreds of gowns a year, with customers coming from PA, NJ, Delaware, Maryland and VA just to get my services.  I pride myself in always going the extra mile so everyone is completely satisfied and happy.  I have a 45 year record of excellence, anytime something is wrong I fix it no charge, which times are few.

I am totally puzzled as to what set off her tirade, or even what was wrong.  She only screamed at me on the phone.  To this day I do not know what was wrong.  I cannot refund anything since she refused to let me see any so-called problem, or let me fix it.  

She is welcome to persue this in small claims court, but here again, I would require me to see the dress on her and see what her problem was.  Everything was fine when she left here.

We have an impeccable track record, and am totally baffled as to what happened here, certainly nothing that could have been easily fixed.

Completely puzzled

LOIS

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sewing By Lois
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)