BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tuckers Air Conditioning & Heating LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tuckers Air Conditioning & Heating LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2002 Business started: 03/19/1995 in MD Business started locally: 03/19/1995 Business incorporated 03/19/1995 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
The number is 16009.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ken Tucker, Partner Mr. Mike Tucker, Partner Mr. Steve Tucker, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Tucker, Partner
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Tucker, GM
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Locations

  • 12 Meem Ave Ste E

    Gaithersburg, MD 20877


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have been longtime clients of Tuckers and have used them for annual maintenance of our heating and air conditioning. In March, our heat started going off and would start after the heater was reset. We had a service call on 4/2/2014 and were told we needed a new oil pump, which was installed 4/4/14. We were charged $372 for the oil pump. We went on vacation 4/11/14 and returned on 4/20/14 to a cold house and the exact same problem - the furnace continually shut down and needed to be reset. On 4/23/14, another technician came out and fixed a kink in the copper line, which he said probably happened when the new pump was installed and what likely what was causing the furnace to shut down. The following day, the furnace shut down again and would not restart. I phoned Tuckers and spoke to the manager, **** ******. I told him I did not believe that the oil pump was the problem, since installing a new one failed to correct the problem. He promised to check with *****, the technician who told us we needed the oil pump, and call me back. He never called back. On 4/25/14 a technician returned to examine the furnace. He found it was on lock out, pulled and electrode, realigned it for correct firing, and the furnace started. It has been running since. I believe the problem was incorrectly diagnosed and that I was sold a heat pump that I did not need. I phoned Tuckers, was told **. ****** was in a meeting, and left a voice mail message for him, explaining my concern and requesting a return call. After a few day, when I did not receive a return call, I phoned again and left a message for **. ******. He did not return my call.

Desired Settlement: Credit for oil pump which I believe was unnecessarily replaced.

Business Response: There were several issues with the oil furnace that resulted in the system shutting down and not producing heat.  On the first visit 4/02/14 the technician fired the furnace and heard a squeeling noise from the oil pump.  The noise was bearing related and the pump needed replacing (See attached invoice).  The furnace fired up after safeties were reset and the technician believe the safety was activate as a result of the pumps intermittent failure.  After replacing the pump, the system was cycled several times and the technician left with the system running properly.  We had technicians return on two additional dates as indicated in the complaint.  A technician found a kink in the oil line and believed that may have resulted in the system's most recent shut down.  On a subsequent visit it was determined that the electrode was not igniting the oil at the burner.  The electrode was pulled, cleaned and realigned and to my knowledge, the system has been operating since. The diagnostic of the failing bearings in the oil pump was correct as the pump was failing as evidenced by the noise from the pump bearings.  The electrode was cleaned and realigned.  There are no moving parts in this circuit that could be misconstrued as bearing noise.  It is true that the oil furnace failed multiple times and from the homeowner perspective it was the same problem; no heat.  Intermittent issues are the most difficult to pinpoint. The cause of the problem was from two different issues within the furnace.  Both were corrected. The replacement of the pump was appropriate.  Subsequent visits and the work on the electrode were not invoiced or charged as part of our guarantee and efforts to ensure the system was operating properly.  There is a comment in the complaint regarding the sale of a heat pump?  We have no record of a heat pump installation and a heat pump is not typically installed with an oil furnace.  We did install an Air Conditioner and coil (cooling circuit) on 3/22/12 two years previous to this heating issue.  That installation was the result of an outdoor condenser coil leak and the option to replace was chosen over an expensive coil repair.  The air conditioner is a completely separate circuit and only shares the blower in the furnace during the cooling season.  It is not tied to, nor does it affect the heating circuit.  These are two completely separate issues, years apart, that are unrelated.

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tuckers Air Conditioning & Heating LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)