BBB Accredited Business since

Sherman's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (703) 765-3409 Fax: (703) 765-9385 View Additional Phone Numbers 6804 Rock Creek Ct, Alexandria, VA 22306 http://www.shermanshvac.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sherman's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sherman's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sherman's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 03/19/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705010611A.

Business Management
Mr. Robert Sherman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Sherman, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
AAA Sherman Heating & Air Condition

Additional Locations

  • 6804 Rock Creek Ct

    Alexandria, VA 22306

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently Sherman heating and air replaced the air conditioner at my house. The new unit is about twice the size of the previous unit, and is located in an interior fence which houses both the air-conditioner and our trashcan. The service tech placed the new air conditioner in the center of the interior fenced in area, making it so the trash can no longer fit inside the fence. Having called the company to ask if a service tech could come and move the unit, they said they would charge $500 to have the unit moved. The service tech never once inquired as to the desired location, though it seemed obvious that both the AC unit and the trashcan had to fit within the fenced area. Where there any confusion, I would have expected the service tech to ask about the location of the unit. Having paid well over $3000 for the install, I would expect a company with as much business in the area Sherman to be a little more attentive to the details of their work.

Desired Settlement: The service tech needs to come back out and move the unit to the location where should have been placed in the first place with no additional charge to the customer.

Business Response: The customer did not say they wanted a different place
 Did not object that day
We do not move units weeks after installation because of customer wants different weeks latter

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The service technician never asked for the desired location of unit to be placed. It was placed where he desired without asking for assistance from the home owner or the person overseeing the house on the day of installation. While someone was at the house to allow the technician access to the home, it was not the home owner. The home owner contacted the company on the next business day after returning home and seeing the mis-placement of the air conditioner unit. 

Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: The customer asked for a bid to replace his unit
The customer did not ask for the unit to be moved 4ft
If he did we would have added $400 to $500 to the job
He now weeks after wants it moved 4ft
For us and all I now of charge more to move a unit than  replace where it is
He gave us no indication in bidding or when installed that he wanted a different location
We installed at the same place as old as we bid at
Reason given is he can no longer get his garbage can in and wants it moved 4 ft

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I didn't ask for a bid to replace my unit. I had a non-working unit for which I asked for someone to inspect to see if it could be repaired or if a replacement was needed. When the service tech arrived, it was clear that the trash car was stored in the same fenced area as the AC unit. Following an inspection of the unit, it was determined a replacement was necessary. At the time, it seemed unnecessary to specify where the unit was to be placed as it was obvious the trash can needed to be located in the fenced area. The new unit was not placed in the same location as the old unit as the new pad is larger than the old pad, requiring the new unit to take up more space. Instead of inquiring or asking me, the customer, if I had a preference, the service tech simply installed the unit. Not 4ft out of the way, but a simple foot and a half. However, the foot and a half makes it impossible for the trash can to fit back in its place in the fenced in area. Hence the call to have it moved. Sherman's is correct in their reply, "reason given is he can not longer get his garbage can in," however, I only want it moved 2 feet. 

This complaint has been filed for inferior service. The company cut corners making their job easier at the inconvenience of the customer. If they are unwilling to move the unit, or to offer a refund in the amount it would cost for me to have another company move the unit, their lack of customer care should be reflected in their BBB rating. I will also be sure to note on other review sites of their poor customer relations and inferior work. 

Regards,

****** *****









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sherman's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)