BBB Accredited Business since

Rod Miller Inc

Phone: (301) 587-1517 View Additional Phone Numbers 9157 Brookville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rodmillerhvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rod Miller Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rod Miller Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rod Miller Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1962 in MD Business started locally: 01/19/1962 Business incorporated 01/16/1963 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 7172.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 13295.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Tolbert, President Mr. Abraham Ajenifuja, Vice-President Mr. Don Colville, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Tolbert, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Rod Miller Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

  • 9157 Brookville Rd

    Silver Spring, MD 20910 (301) 587-6525 (301) 328-1256 (301) 587-1517

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a maintenance contract with Rod Miller, which includes two services per year and includes warranty + service on maintenance. The technician came to our residence for the periodic maintenance, and suggested to replace some parts indicating that "they were going bad" (the parts were not damaged/broken, the replacement was suggested as precautional); the cost should therefore include only the spare parts, which was billed for 326,00 $. After the maintenance, I was surprised and reviewed the previous service conducted in April 2013, discovering that a similar price was paid also to replace parts which were "going bad" also on the previous periodic maintenance. I checked online and discovered that the cost for buying online the same parts was 69.24 $ including shipping cost to my residence. I contacted the company by phone on October 8th and by email on October 10th and asked clarifications about my queries (why a 370% pricing difference, about the maintenance contract and other points). At close of business day October 17th, I had not yet received any response.

Desired Settlement: Explanation of Charges, ethical billing, explanation about contractual terms of the maintenance contract

Business Response:

We arrived at the customers residence for a maintenance inspection, upon completion the customer was quoted recommended repairs on site, they approved the repairs on site. The repairs were preventative, at no time were the repairs presented as anything other than a recommendation.  After the work was completed they called to complain about the pricing, stating they found the parts on line for a cheaper price. I explained that our pricing is done through a national corporation called ******** *****.  I also explained that as a ****** Factory Authorized Dealer  Rod Miller Inc will only install factory authorized parts direct from the Manufacturer. I offered a refund in part of the charges incurred via email, and asked them to contact me at the office. I never received that phone call. We are willing to refund $200.00 of the repair in the spirit of customer service.

 

**** ********

Service Manager

###-###-####

###-###-#### (fax)

****************************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I wrote to the company Rod Miller and NEVER received response to the specific queries , beside Some incomplete standard explanations.

 
I had a maintenance contract where Rod Miller was supposed to charge us only the cost of the parts and not the labor; it is therefore not fair to surcharge the cost of the parts to hide the cost of the labor, besides that the replacement was done during the periodic maintenance service and because the parts "were going bad", what does this means? (They were not broken!)
 same thing had happened in the previous service in spring.

After the replacement done on the moment I was surprised by the cost and checked on the web finding different options with much lower prices. I called and wrote to Rod Miller for explanations.
IN my email, I provided to the company a quote from an internet provider of the same spare parts produced by the manufacturer (original parts) which Rod Miller had overbilled to us. by phone the company representative responded this could not be true, so I wrote them with the quote demonstrating it but Rod Miller never responded. 

Regards,

***** & ******* *****








Business Response: Once again the customer was recommended these repairs as precautionary preventative maintenance. The inspection of the system revealed a high resistance value for the ignitors that presented a potential for failure.  The technician recommended replacement of these components and quoted a repair price, the customer agreed to the repairs and they were consequently completed and payment was rendered.  When the customer called about the price of the repair it was explained to him that we only install parts direct from *******, and that our pricing is done by a national corporation. Furthermore it was explained to him that his maintenance agreement covers the labor to inspect and repair his system, but he will be charged for parts.  Had he not had this agreement in place the price would be much more than he was charged.  The parts he located on the internet are irrelevant as we do not install customer supplied parts, nor does ******* sell parts direct to homeowners.  In order to warranty our work it is our policy to supply the parts at our predetermined price, the customer has the option to accept or decline the repair.  Our offer to refund a large portion of the repair price still stands. We are offering a refund of $200.00 of the $326.00 the customer agreed to pay.

9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues