BBB Accredited Business since

Olympic Aire Services Inc

Phone: (301) 638-1118 View Additional Phone Numbers 4384 Hackett Pl, White Plains, MD 20695 http://www.olympicaire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Heating and Cooling system service, repair, and installation --All Makes and Models
Geothermal systems
Hot Water Heaters
Ventilation Cleaning


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olympic Aire Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Olympic Aire Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Olympic Aire Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2001 Business started: 06/01/1996 in MD Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 North Calvert Street, Suite 402, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance
Phone Number: 410-230-6100
Fax Number: 410-333-0475
finreg@dllr.state.md.us
The number is HVAC#12229.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 North Calvert Street, Suite 402, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance
Phone Number: 410-230-6100
Fax Number: 410-333-0475
finreg@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 89811.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Distefano, President Mrs. Cheri Distefano, V P
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Cheri Distefano, V P
Principal: Mr. Rick Distefano, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air Duct Cleaning

Products & Services

Olympic Aire Services Inc sells the following brand(s): ALL MAKES AND MODELS, American Standard, Carrier, Frigidaire, Goodman, Lennox, York

Olympic Aire Services Inc offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Filters, Furnaces--Oil, Gas, Electric, Geothermal Systems, Heat Pumps, Thermostats

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash, Check
Financing Available
Industry Tips
Air Duct Cleaning

Additional Locations

  • 4384 Hackett Pl

    White Plains, MD 20695

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Olympic Aire replaced my HVAC system with an inferior system that does not support my heat pump.I have had to pay other technicians to come out and attempt to resolve the problem; however it was concluded that the aire conditioning system that was installed was not a match for my previous system because it does not have a heat reversal valve. I spoke with the owner and he contends that there is no problem, I was told that the system has to be replaced at a cost of approximately $8000.00 ( in addition to service fees that I have already paid which resulted in no resolution). I am currently heating my house with space heaters (also purchased because of this problem). before they installed the new system I had no problems with my heating unit.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of unit

Business Response:

We were contacted August 21, 2012 by previous customers of ours, **. ****** ***** and **. ******* *******, to inquire about a problem with the air conditioning at the property located at ***** ****** ****** ******** ** *****.  Upon arrival at property our technician found and confirmed with **. ******* that the outdoor a/c had been damaged by a weed trimmer, slicing the coil causing all the Freon to leak from the unit.  **. ***** contracted us to replace the outdoor air conditioning unit at the price of $2,385.00.  The new unit was installed on August 22, 2012 and ***. ***** paid our company $2,385.00 with personal check #****.  The unit came with a one year labor warranty. We were called back to the property on April 11, 2013 (nearly 8 months after the installation) and the technician found a broken wire in the thermostat, which he repaired at no charge, even though it was a pre-existing thermostat which we neither installed nor ever previously serviced. (this repair was unrelated to our installation).  Our next contact in regards to this property was from **. ******* on Saturday, November 23, 2013 (15 months after the installation and outside of the 1 year labor warranty period and 7 months after our last contact with the property) and our office was already closed for businessOur operations manager, who handles our after hours calls, spoke to **. ******* and explained the charges relating to an after hours service call.  **. ******* felt that we should come out to service her heat at no charge.  We had NEVER previously serviced the heat system at this location (indoor air handler with hot water coil for heat) and any problem with the heat is unrelated to the outdoor AIR CONDITIONER which we installed.  The call from **. ******* on November 23, 2013 was the FIRST time we were ever contacted in regards to the heat at the property, both other contacts with the home were in regards to the cooling system only.  We called **. ******* on Monday, when our office opened, and explained to her that we never serviced her heat and so a service call on her heat would be a chargable call.  She refused to pay and threatened that if we didn't come out for free she was going to report us to the better business bureau.  Our operations manager and owner both attempted to discuss the situation with **. ****** and she hung up on both of them when they would not agree to come service her heat for free. 

**. ****** has NEVER paid our company any money EVER for any service on her old or new system nor did she pay us for the installation.  ******* **** Services was contracted to replace her existing outdoor air conditioning unit with a new air conditioning unit.  Apparently she has contacted another company which is suggesting to her that she should have a heat pump system installed and is quoting her $8000.  We have never given **. ****** any pricing for a heat pump system.   We replaced only the cooling component of her HVAC system (the air conditioner) which also consists of an indoor blower and indoor hot water coil for heating. If there is a problem with her heat, it is related to those components which we've neither installed nor serviced.   Also, **. ******* heat worked just fine for the entire winter following her initial installation and we were only notified of a problem 15 months later when, apparently, her heating components failed.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Information submitted by **. ****** is not true. The heat system DID NOT work last year and I have receipts to prove that a company was contacted on October 29th 2012 to determine why my heat was not working. At that time it was determined that the heating unit was dependent on a reversal switch that was supposed to be located on (and had previously been located on) the hvac unit. ******* **** was not initially called because it was not known that the heating unit was not working due to an incompatible hvac system. 
When Olympic Aire was called I was told that the problems were resolved and that my system would work for air conditioning and heat. 
It is not possible to test the effectiveness of the heat in the summer months. Once again, when the season changed and we attempted to turn on the heat it did not work. ******* **** was contacted and would not come out. ******* heating and Air came to diagnose the problem and wrote on the receipt that the wrong air conditioning unit was installed and is incompatible with my heat pump. 
I again informed Olympic Aire and was told that they were not responsible for the problem. I did not threaten to call the Better Business Bureau; I simply informed **. ****** that I did intend on pursuing a consumer complaint because of the ongoing issues that I have had with the unit they installed indicates inferior products, incompetent technicians, or both. As a homeowner I have never experienced such dissatisfaction on a large scale and expected this company to be more professional. I did not hang up on anyone; I made several calls which were not returned.
The fact regarding the financing of the unit in my home (by a third party) is completely irrelevant. The fact remains that the ac unit installed Was not compatible with my heat pump and needs to be adjusted or replaced.


Regards,

***** *******








Business Response:

To Whom it may concern, 
 
I received a call from your representative, *****, stating that you were still waiting for my response to **. ******** rebuttal.  I was not aware that you were waiting for a response from us since (as shown in attached picture) your website says the complaint is awaiting BBB decision and there is nothing for us to do at this time. 
 
As for **. ******'s rebuttal, there are several issues with her response. 
 
 #1 We installed an air conditioner, not a heat pump, which is what we were contracted to install and what she had originally.  An air conditioning unit does not operate with a reversing valve.  The system that we installed was an inexpensive option designed to work with **. ******'s existing indoor air handler and hot water coil.
 
#2 If **. ****** had a problem with her heating system within the first year, she never contacted our company for the first time until 8 months later, in the cooling season, for a problem unrelated to our installation.  At that time, nothing was mentioned to our technician about the heating system.  
 
#3 **. ****** did not receive inadequate equipment, she did not purchase a heat pump with a reversing valve, but rather an air conditioner designed to work with her existing hot water coil for heat.  I believe **. ****** is confused with the difference between a air conditioner and a heat pump.
 
#4 When **. ****** called our company, 15 months after the installation, she called after hours and expected us to send a technician out to her at no charge.  **. ****** received a 1 year labor warranty and at no time within that 1 year did she complain about her heat, nor did she mention inadequate equipment.  **. ****** had a contractual responsibility to contact our company within one year of installation if she felt there was something wrong with her system. 
 
If **. ****** would like to purchase a heat pump system from us and have it exchanged out for the air conditioner, we will offer to apply the amount paid for the air conditioner to the cost of the heat pump.  We except no responsibility for any problems with her pre-existing indoor air handler and hot water coil.  In making this offer, ******* **** Services maintains the facts that our company installed a quality air conditioner as contracted.  The customer was billed for an air conditioner, not a heat pump and no mistake was made on our part.  


Have a Great Day!!
***** *********
Vice President


Olympic Aire Services, Inc.

Office: ###-###-####

Cell:  ###-###-####

Fax:  ###-###-####

 

www.facebook.com/olympicaireservices