BBB Accredited Business since

McCrea Equipment Company Inc.

Phone: (301) 423-4585 View Additional Phone Numbers 4463 Beech Rd, Temple Hills, MD 20748

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCrea Equipment Company Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCrea Equipment Company Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McCrea Equipment Company Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 1995 Business started: 01/19/1935
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
The number is 5102.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Wayne Lanhardt, President Ms. Benita Kemper, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Benita Kemper, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Wayne Lanhardt, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Mc Crea Heating And Air Conditioning Total Comfort HVAC Company

Additional Locations

  • 4463 Beech Rd

    Temple Hills, MD 20748


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My AC unit was installed by McCrea heating and air conditioning. I moved into my newly constructed single family home in January 2012. My AC unit stop working on May 29, 2012 (four months after moving into my home). A technician from McCrea came out and got the AC working. On July 1, 2013 a technician came out because the AC unit was making a loud noise. The technician noted that the unit needed a new blower and that the wheel blower was out of balance, I was told that 2 new parts needed to be replaced. A technician came out on July 3, 2013 and replaced the wheel blower but did not replace the second part (blower motor) because McCrea either ordered the wrong part (vent motor) or was sent the wrong part. The AC unit stop working on July 6, 2013. A technician came out on July 7, 2012 and I believe he said that the new part that was put on the unit on July 3, 2013 needed to be replaced again because the part that remained on the unit damaged the new part. I was told that I would probably have to wait another 4 or 5 days before the correct parts came in and before it will actually be fixed, I said this was unacceptable. July 8, 2012 all the parts were supposedly replaced and my AC was working again. In August 2013 my AC unit stop working again. On October 9, 2013 my heating unit stop working. July 1, 2014 here we go again with the AC unit not working; the technician said the compressor is bad. When the AC unit stop working the first time I was pregnant and temperatures were in the upper 80’s and 90’s. I now have a Toddler and the heat index is 100-105. At this point I feel like the whole unit need to be replaced. I have been in my house for over 2 years and my AC unit has stop working about 4 or 5 times too many. Mr. L******* in an article titled 'Contractor does it right for 75 years. (contracting)' I see he quoted "We call it 'the McCrea way'--do it the right way the first time." This is the fourth or fifth time someone from McCrea came to look at my AC unit because it’s not working. I need the units replaced and done the right way immediately.

Desired Settlement: I want the ac and heating unit completely removed and replaced with brand new ones.

Business Response:

***  *******


                Thank You for taking my call this morning. I’ve put together a timeline of activities at **** *****’s home over the past couple years:


07/07/2013  Diagnosed service issues ordered Blower Motor parts

07/08/2013  Returned to replace defective parts

08/14/2013 Serviced system replaced contactor

09/03/2013  Serviced system replaced blower squirrel cage wheel

10/07/2013 Serviced system remove clogged air filter

07/02/2014 Diagnosed service issue ordered compressor

07/05/2014  Returned to replace compressor

08/11/2014  Service system with factory representative along with senior service technician installed time delay at Factory rep recommendation.

08/15/2014  Returned to install filter drier also modify duct at factory reps request.


                Overall there has been some services issues with the heating and air conditioning equipment at **** *****’s but McCrea has made every attempt to service and repair in a timely manner. I expressed this view to *** ***** in July when I reviewed service history and scheduled the factory representative and a McCrea service technician to check the system operation. We take customer satisfaction very seriously we use all of our assets to provide the customer the McCreaway experience.  Currently *** *****’s heating and air conditioning equipment is operating without issues, we made all necessary repairs recommended by the factory representative and find no reason to replace the heating and cooling equipment.


Please advise with any questions or comments.




David N*****

General Manager

McCrea Heating and Air Conditioning Services of Maryland

4463 Beech Rd

Temple Hills, MD. 20748

W: ###-###-####

C: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

Email: **************************


3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: No heat in home currently, and received a quote that is 3 times the price of the actual part $286.00. I was informed that with my purchased Silver Contract, that i would not be charged installation/labor charges, that i would only be charged the cost of the part with a 10% discount. When i called today, i was informed that the $286.00 price included installation cost. I informed the gentleman who answered the phone that the price quote from ******* (************************) ***** and ******'s HVAC supplies where substantially lower then the price quoted for the ******* Draft Inducer Assembly (************). the price ranges from $87.00 to the highest of $110.85 from *******. I wanted a full explanation to validate their higher charge, especially since my agreement stated that i should only be charge for the part, which was found to be lower. The final explanation i received before declining service was that the higher charge was McRae's charge which i find unfair based on market comparison. Being that McRae is the original owner of the maintenance agreement for my home through the building, I look to them with trust and respect to offer the best service at a fair price, which i currently am not getting.

Desired Settlement: I want a full itemization of cost. I want them to honor the maintenance plan and remove all extra charges that exceed the actual cost of $110.85 for the part to be replaced.

Business Response:


***** ******

Trade Practice Consultant

The Better Business Bureau


Reference: ******** *******


**. ******,


Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. As always, we appreciate your help in resolving this matter.


In response to the statement from **. ******** I offer the following; McCrea uses ******** ***** flat rate pricing. This is a service that is recommended across the nation by ACCA (Air Conditioning Contractors of America). This paid service has been used since 1990 and will continue to be used in our industry. In our busy society time is important, and consumers do not want to spend their time watching the clock on a service technician making a repair. Consumers do not like open ended repair bills, but prefer overwhelmingly to know the total price. This pricing is used in many businesses today and if you look you will find flat rate everywhere. Doctors flat rate office visits, lawyers flat rate divorce and bankruptcies, home services such as pest control, lawn service, and others are flat rate, automotive repair has been flat rated by major manufacturers for over 60 years, dentists, restaurants, and a host of other services are provided by a fixed price delivered.


The contract that was purchased covers the labor to install the part – less a discount on the actual part itself. There is shipping fees, shipping paperwork, fuel costs, insurance costs and other such propriety information that are obviously needed to operate a business which are factored in to this flat rate pricing structure. The cost to do **. ********* repair without the Silver labor contract would be $646.00 instead of the $286.00. The silver contract also comes with 2 manufacture recommended inspections – normally 109.95 each.


McCrea has been in business for over 76 years. We value our homeowners and work diligently to offer the best service at the most affordable cost. The pricing structure we practice is also used by the majority of LICENSED and insured HVAC contractors across the nation. Market comparison for the same repair would show this as being accurate. Searching for parts on line as well as other companies may show different values but are not truthful in actual delivered costs.  


Best Regards,



***** ********

General Manager / Hers Rater

McCrea Equipment Company, Inc

4463 Beech Road

Temple Hills, Maryland 20748