BBB Accredited Business since

Haller Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (717) 625-1500 Fax: (717) 625-1600 View Additional Phone Numbers 212 Bucky Dr, Lititz, PA 17543 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hallerenterprises.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ALSO PLUMBING,HEATING, COOLING, ELECTRICAL&WATER CONDITIONING


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Haller Enterprises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Haller Enterprises, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Haller Enterprises, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1984 Business started: 05/01/1981 in PA Business incorporated 10/03/1983 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA001867.

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA003244.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. J. Richard Haller, CEO Mr. Michael Weiss, President Mr. Mark Weaver, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J. Richard Haller, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Weaver, CFO
Principal: Mr. Michael Weiss, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
Quality Air & Sheet Metal, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 138 Front St

    Quakertown, PA 18951

  • 212 Bucky Dr

    Lititz, PA 17543

  • 33 E Main St

    Palmyra, PA 17078

  • 801 Loucks Rd

    York, PA 17404

  • 9 Brenneman Cir

    Mechanicsburg, PA 17050

  • PO Box 375

    Lititz, PA 17543

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Haller Enterprises installed a basement dehumidifier and within the initial warranty the unit required replacement with a brand new same company unit. The 2nd unit broke again now 1 month "out of warranty" The model is discontinued and initially Haller was not going to honor anything. When told that I was calling the Better Buisness Bureau there was some willingness to offer the same brand unit again. I told them I do not want a 3rd ********* product so it would break again out of warranty and need to go through this again. I told them they should be responsible for providing a different more reliable product. The unit and installation costs were approximately $2500 and was installed about 5 years ago. We are loyal customers and even have service plans with this company.

Desired Settlement: Refund so I can find a new Company or replace with new reliable unit

Business Response:

On November 10, 2008, a ********* dehumidifier was installed at this customer’s home. The unit failed and was replaced July 21, 2009; this replacement was covered by both Haller Enterprises’ one year labor warranty as well as the manufacturer’s 5 year part warranty.

When it was discovered that the dehumidifier had failed on September 11, 2014, our technician on site was then in contact with our HVAC Service manager. At that time, it was determined that the unit had failed outside of the manufacturer’s 5 year part warranty period; however, due to this second failure within a short time, Haller Enterprises and our supplier offered to replace the unit with a newer ********* model at no cost (including no labor cost) to the customer.

The customer did not feel comfortable installing another ********* dehumidifier in their home due to the concerns with the previous units. After discussion with our supplier, Haller Enterprises was able to secure a ***** ** brand dehumidifier in the place of the ********* dehumidifier.

Over the course of the last week, we have been in contact with our customer to resolve this issue. At the time of this writing, the customer is determining whether they will approve this offer to replace their unit with a similar unit from another manufacturer. When we receive approval from the customer we will then order the unit and install at the customer’s home.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 9th 2014 there was a power outage and resulting surge when power came back on. HVAC system not working. Called Haller enterprises, they installed system 3 years ago, $13,000, purchased through local Home Depot; Haller service man came out on the 10th and said they would have to order a part. Took until the following Saturday for part to come in and 2nd visit scheduled. That part didnt do it so ordered 2 more parts and they didn't come in and 3rd visit scheduled until today, July 28th. Still not fixed, now have to order new blower motor and wait til that comes in....... I feel the entire unit is toast. There should have been some type of surge supression on this unit if the electronics are that sensitive to variations. They did the install and wiring completely. There responses have been well when the parts come in we'll try to see if that does it. I feel that I should have at least been compensated with some loaner portable air conditioning. I asked service manager, Erin Gosher, for these loaners and he said that "he gives them out to friends". After I talked to another service manager, forgot his name, he said oh yes the service managers will on their own dime lend these out to some customers, usually the elderly. When I explained tha both my sons hane severe asthma and one pet has already died, he said he was sorry but there weren't any available. Their service managers Eric K***** ###-###-#### ext-*** also said today "yes mistakes were made and we should have done things differently." I am a "Preferred Customer" with full service contracts I would hate to see how they treat regular customers. I got the name of an upper management person in charge of service, Don N****, but he didn't return my calls. I am unsure where things stand now, but it is hard to juggle this and fight the utility company and deal with my homeowners insurance and work full time also. I would rate their service managers as poor and incompetent.

Desired Settlement: complete new system installed at no cost to me. I also would like a manufacturer's rep to approve the installation as the best possible for the structure, sometime this summer.

Business Response:

On July 31st, our technicians made final repairs to *** *******’s HVAC system. Upon completion of the repairs, the system was operating correctly following an electrical surge from the utility company’s distribution lines on July 9th. 

Due to the nature of the failure caused by a power surge, it was difficult to determine which parts failed at the time of initial diagnosis. Our technician initially ordered the parts that he could determine absolutely failed and in two subsequent visits he determined that the power surge caused more components to fail than initially determined; the parts that were replaced in successive order also work in successive order, and it therefore could not be determined that one part had failed until the part previous was replaced.

Ultimately, our technicians and the service management team have decided that in this type of extenuating circumstance it may be best to order all possible parts to resolve such issues in a more timely manner. However, part availability in this peak AC season affected our ability to provide service in a more timely manner. The final part that was needed was on back order from the factory and only available August 7th. Because of a good relationship with our supplier, we were able to secure the parts to resolve the issue before August.

In the next week we will be contacting *** ******* to schedule a skilled technician and a Trane representative to check the HVAC system for proper operation following repairs from the voltage surge. At that time, our technician and the Trane representative will review the repairs to confirm proper operation and confirm that the system was installed per manufacturer’s specifications and local code requirements.

Ultimately we strive to serve our customers and provide exceptional service. We always appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback so that we can further improve our customer’s experience as well as our process.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Haller tech responded to my request to fix blocked drain from AC. Upon arrival at my home at **** ****** ****** **********, PA, which is presently rented, he insisted on referring to it as an investment property during his call to me to tell me my extended warranty would not be honored. I told him to fix the blocked drain anyway which he did by cutting the PVC pipe & making some adjustments & then testing for full flow of water through the drain. I then received an invoice for the following:No AC. system low on charge. added 3lbs refrigerant & performed leak search. The AC was working when he arrived, I never authorized a leak search as there was none, there was no mention of fixing the drain which is what I had authorized & I don't think it needed 3lbs of refrigerant as the AC was working, just had water overflowing the drip pan because the drain was blocked. I personally feel that his fixation on my home being an "investment" plus I was a senior citizen living in FL contributed to the final bill. Again, no mention of what he really fixed was on my invoice.

Desired Settlement: Billing to reflect actual repair needed & honor my extended warranty if applicable.

Business Response:

On July 22nd, Haller Enterprises contacted ***** ***** to resolve the billing issue per the customer’s request. After discussing all concerns we came to a mutually agreeable solution to resolve the outstanding invoice.

It is our standard procedure to quote and communicate necessary repairs before completing them; in this circumstance the actions of the technician fell outside of our normal protocol and we adjusted the customer’s invoice to reflect this error.

We always appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback so that we can further improve our customer experience as well as our process. We will utilize this opportunity to coach our technicians and our entire staff the importance of clear communication.

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August, 2010 my wife and I had our central air conditioning system replaced by this firm. The ***** system supplied had a five (5) year warranty on the coil, which failed in the last year. This firm is associated with **** ***** and has a major web presence. On the firm's website, the firm advertises an installation/service presence in South Jersey, and had no problem visiting our **** to provide a sales estimate and installing the system. The firm had no problem installing the system. The firm contacted us quite aggressively to buy a "maintenance contract" for our system, but my wife and I opted to chose a maintenance contract with South Jersey Gas. The system needed service in the Spring of 2013, and the maintenance provider felt the cause of the refrigerant leak was a bad fitting at the condenser. We incurred a $500 expense, but the system worked through the summer. This spring, it was clear that the coil had failed. In accordance with the ***** warranty, we contacted the installing contractor, Quality Air. After 20 minutes on the phone, the warranty was validated and we were even told how much the repair would cost us, we were told that Quality Air does not service our area. I find it interesting that a firm that had no problem installing our system, and advertises a major presence in South Jersey, would not honor the warranty given with their system.

Desired Settlement: I would like Quality Air to reimburse us for the cost of a local contractor to replace our coil, including the refrigerant. This firm should have more integrity, and should be held accountable to provide warranty service to its customers.

Business Response:

****

This is in response for customer ******* * ******** *** ********* **** ****** ** *****

 

On August 2 2010 we gave an estimate to **. ******** as we are a part of the at **** servicers program for **** *****.  The contract is attached the warranty is 10 years on the Compressor and Coil parts and 5 years on all other parts with one year labor from time of install.  The install was on August 12th 2010.  According to our records they never any preventive maintenance  done since it was installed.  We received a call requesting service on April 25th and we told **. and ***. ******** no longer service that area but **** ***** still does and we referred the to call the **** ***** and they would send out the new service provider for that area.  The warranty is with the manufacture ***** not Quality Air or *****.  

 

 

******* *****

Quality Air

138 Front Street

Quakertown, Pa 18951

###-###-####

###-###-#### Fax

www.qualityair.com

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because it is totally ridiculous. The issue here is not the fact that the ***** coil failed, it did and that is not in dispute. The issue is about the integrity of this company, Quality Air. Facts that are not disputed are that Quality Air did install this unit in August, 2010. I have attached a copy of the ***** warranty which directs the consumer as follows: "You must promptly report any failure to the installing contractor or the distributor. Normally, the installing contractor from whom the unit was purchased will be able to take the necessary corrective action by obtaining through his distributor any replacement parts..." In this case, the installing contractor chose to take the position that although their firm will install units in ****** County, New Jersey for **** *****, and will solicit service contract business from those clients and any other household, in the case of warranty work, they "no longer have a presence". If one looks at the website, this firm has three (3) calling numbers for South Jersey, one number for central NJ and one for NJ. Clearly, this firm has a presence in New Jersey, they simply had no interest in doing "warranty work". With respect to the annual service, that work was done by South Jersey Gas through a maintenance contract with that firm. Our choice as a consumer does not alleviate Quality Air's responsibility (as well as an expectation of the manufacturer *****) that they stand by their work. This is a totally ridiculous argument made by Quality Air in this case. They say one thing, but their web site proves another. This firm is not reputable, and does not have common integrity.

Business Response:

In response see attached warranty that **. ******** provided it states   in the 7th paragraph HOW TO OBTAIN WARRANTY PERFORMANCE:  You must promptly report any failure covered by this warranty to the installing contractor or the distributor.  Normally the installing contractor from whom the unit was purchased will be able take the necessary corrective action by obtaining through his air conditioning distributor any replacements parts.  If the contractor is not available, simply contact any other local contractor handling the manufacture's air conditioning products.  The name and location of a local contractor can usually be found in your telephone directory or by contacting an air conditioning distributor which carries the manufactures's product.  If necessary, the following office can advise you of the nearest distributor.
P.O Box 17010
5600 Old Greenwood Road
Fort Smith, Arkansas 72917-7010
###-###-####
 
As I stated before we do not service ****** NJ. anymore if we did we would be more then happy to do the work. 
I am sorry for the issues they are having with the coil but ***** ****** *** who has been servicing the unit is highly  qualified to replace the coil as stated in the warranty attached and from the paragraph I typed in above. 

Consumer Response: This is ridiculous. At this point, I would ask that an impartial representative at the BBB make a determination. On previous submittals, I have shown that this firm, Quality Air, does in fact maintain an interest in South Jersey. If you go to their website, attached again for your convenience, this firm maintains no less than three numbers for South Jersey, one from Central Jersey and one from North Jersey. As far as them servicing "****** NJ", they installed the system, and actively solicited me for a maintenance contract (which actually offered very little value). As far as geographic proximity, ****** NJ is approximately 15 miles from the ***** **** Bridge and equal distance to the **** ******* Bridge. ****** is not in some distant, rural place in NJ, it is basically a suburb of ************, the 5th largest metropolitan area in the United States. I continue to assert that this firm is not a quality firm, that they have no integrity, and they do not stand by their work. As far as the language in the ***** warranty, congratulations to them: They provide contingencies to allow the consumer to get relief from scumbag firms like Quality Air.

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family purchased a furnace from Haller Enterprises. We had a working, but aged, existing unit which no longer would "push" heat up to our second floor bedroom. Heating this area of the home, I stressed to him, was the main objectives of updating our furnace. We obtained three quotes and then purchased a new high-efficiency furnace from a Haller. The salesperson promised us that the unit he was selling us would get heat to the second floor of our home. Many installation problems occurred including: incorrectly installed intake/exhaust pipelines, leaking pvc pipelines, and the need for an unsightly, and a huge 10"x12" hole in the plenum (air supply side of the unit.) Almost $3700.00 later and the salespersons promise never materialized. HVAC Techs had been out to see if they could figure out the problem. They all concluded the same thing: the ductwork was too small for the unit. One of the techs even said that he did not feel comfortable with leaving the door to the furnace room closed and insisted that we remove the "entire door from the hinges" for fear of carbon monoxide poisoning! Haller now claims that my wife and I were informed about our ductwork situation. This is a completely false statement from Haller. The need to upgrade ductwork was never presented by my salesperson. I have paperwork signed by the salesperson, installers and contract itself to this fact. Now, Haller has provided us with a "bargain" estimate of $3600 to replace our existing ductwork so that this unit will function properly. Haller has created a unethical, unsatisfactory and unsafe condition for my family. 1. Haller removed our old, yet fully functional furnace that worked fine with our existing ductwork, however, it was not strong enough to heat the second floor. 2. For $3700.00 they replaced it with a new furnace, that I'm told by their techs is overworking because it's "starving" for air and still "does not heat" our second floor. It's my opinion that it's lifespan has also been greatly reduced. 3. We now have a furnace room without a door and live in constant fear of carbon monoxide poisoning. In closing our records indicate: 1. paperwork signed by their own salesperson: "Is the ductwork properly sized to meet the requirements of: system airflow and standard velocity? He checked. "Yes" 2. paperwork signed by their own installers stated that the ductwork was sufficient. 3. "The Haller Guarantee" - "We offer you absolute peace of mind knowing that you have received the most for your money. We will never sell anyone something they don't want, don't need, can't afford or "doesn't make sense." (initialed by salesperson) I don't think it "makes sense" to sell and install a furnace knowing it has undersized ductwork.

Desired Settlement: 1. Upgrade existing ductwork to point at which current unit functions properly. (within specified factory parameters) Including heating 2nd floor as originally sold by salesperson. (at 100% Haller expense.) 2. Remove present furnace unit and replace with one that functions properly with existing ductwork. (at 100% Haller expense) 3. Honor Haller 100% Satisfaction Money Back Guarantee. Remove present unit so another unit may be purchased and installed. (at 100% Haller expense)

Business Response:

In response to complaint filed 12/03/2013, referencing Selling Practices, Haller Enterprises has submitted the following response:

Haller Enterprises was asked to provide an estimate to replace a furnace in the home of the complainant. During this initial consultation, our representative measured and noted ductwork deficiencies with the existing ductwork system and provided three separate quotes to replace the furnace.  Two of these quotes included ductwork modifications, to be completed while replacing the existing furnace. The ductwork modification quotes were offered to resolve the fact that the existing ductwork was undersized, which was limiting the system’s ability to deliver comfort throughout the home. After careful consideration, the customer exercised their right and chose the option to replace the furnace only. The signed contract clearly noted that the customer declined ductwork modifications at the time of the proposal.

After installation of the furnace, there were some installation-related issues that Haller Enterprises resolved when the problems arose; including the intake/exhaust piping and leaking PVC pipes. Haller Enterprises stands behind its work and actively seeks to resolve any installation-related issues in a timely fashion.

Regarding ductwork modifications, the customer did express that while the previous system did “operate,” it was unable to provide sufficient heating to the second floor due to ductwork issues.  A problem, that without ductwork modifications, will continue to exist.

In further efforts to resolve this issue and in continuing good faith, Haller Enterprises offered to fix the ductwork issues, after the fact, at labor and material cost only.  We also, in an effort to lessen any financial strain, offered three year financing to the customer.  Haller Enterprises, Inc. is committed to helping this customer find the best solution for this ongoing situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Haller Enterprises, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart